WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Hurt Locker" Producer Calls a Fan "Stupid" and "A Moron"

Posted: May 19th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Hurt Locker" Producer Calls a Fan "Stupid" and "A Moron"Submit Comment
Around the time of the Oscars, news came out that "The Hurt Locker" producer Nicolas Chartier (pictured) was emailing Academy Awards voters to discourage them from choosing "Avatar" over "Locker." Chartier ended up getting his Oscar, but was banned from attending the awards ceremony.

Now the producer is involved in yet another controversy. He and Voltage Pictures are working to sue all the BitTorrent users who had downloaded "The Hurt Locker" illegally. And while you can argue whether that's the right thing to do, Chartier once again made himself look bad by responding to a concerned fan.

The fan wrote Chartier an email to explain why he disagreed with the decision to sue BitTorrent users. Here is what he said:

"I wish to register my disagreement with these tactics, and would like you to know that as a result of these actions I am boycotting your films. The majority of the people you are suing were not seeking to make money from their downloads, and will be financially devastated by a lawsuit or settlement. While it is completely understandable that Voltage Pictures wishes to defend its intellectual property, this is an inhumane way of doing so."

Chartier quickly responded with an email that can be broken up into two parts. The first part explains his point of view:

"Please feel free to leave your house open every time you go out and please tell your family to do so, please invite people in the streets to come in and take things from you, not to make money out of it by reselling it but just to use it for themselves and help themselves. If you think it's normal they take my work for free, I'm sure you will give away all your furniture and possessions and your family will do the same. I can also send you my bank account information since apparently you work for free and your family too so since you have so much money you should give it away... I actually like to pay my employees, my family, my bank for their work and like to get paid for my work."

Ok, Chartier explained his position. There was some sarcasm, but nothing to get offended about. However, the second part of the email got nasty. He continued:

"I'm glad you're a moron who believes stealing is right. I hope your family and your kids end up in jail one day for stealing so maybe they can be taught the difference. Until then, keep being stupid, you're doing that very well. And please do not download, rent, or pay for my movies, I actually like smart and more important HONEST people to watch my films."

Source: BoingBoing


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 113 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nzfilmmaker writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 5:29:17 AM

what an absolute faggot
encoreyourface writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 5:43:54 AM

haha ... i like it. reminds me of one our posts. however he is being a fagot becuase every f*cking film gets pirated like that and still makes a f*ck load of money.
SofaKing writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 5:58:07 AM

He's going to have to settle for 45 foot yacht now I hope your happy!
masht7 writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 6:00:19 AM

I like the fact WP got the information from a site called 'BoingBoing'.
ZeusReit writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 6:16:34 AM

As a filmmaker, I have to agree with his stance on piracy. It is stealing, no matter how you look at it.

However, with that said, calling the person a "moron" and "stupid" is just the pot calling the kettle black. This is a guy who was banned from the Oscars for being a douche. And that bit about "smart and more important HONEST people" watching his films? The real "smart and more important" people will steer clear of giving this guy any more money, if they are truly smart.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 6:18:44 AM

oh yeah i forgot this ar-tard got band from the Oscars ...
BDeck writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 6:21:34 AM

what a douche.

suing people for stealing your work is fine,because he has ground to do so.

but flat out calling some one who maybe in the future would see another movie that he produced is another.the guy is a real winner.
Andrassy writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 6:35:02 AM

Now you can sue him for an insult! I think that the producers are just jealous because The Hurt Locker is the lowest grossing winner of the Oscars ever.And they're just being c*cky because of an Oscar win. Movie is nothing special
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 7:15:08 AM

I'm not gonna say he's a douche, but I would like to arrange a rendevouz between his face and a brick wall. Somehow I think the wall would take the most damage.

It's sad that The Hurt Locker didn't do well on the box-office, it was a good film and it deserved better. But you can't keep complaining on the downloaders. Most of the people who downloads, they download movies they wouldn't have seen otherwise. I was never really interested in seeing The Hurt Locker, then I found a download and thought "it's either that or something by Uwe Boll".

And consider this: how can people download? Well, because someone, working close to the production, released a copy. Look over your security before you bitch about it. Take Book of Eli for example. It came out in January and it's only now that it's available for download. In other words, they have been good at prevent it to leak out. Take notes.

And if you only want "smart" people to see your films, then I think the box-office results are pretty fitting. Dumb people watch Transformers, Harry Potter and Twilight.

f*cking douche
Telly like it is writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 7:35:28 AM

In the Philippines, there are buildings filled with pirated DVDs. Good luck trying to remove all of that Chartier.
N8R writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 7:36:23 AM

Lawmakers around the world have tried to come down on torrents, but they can't. Any legal precedent they make will in turn make most of the internet illegal based on what the definition of a torrent is.

That said, the BitTorrent users didn't download the movie. They downloaded several pieces of information code from multiple sources that ended up being the movie. If he wanted a case, he'd go after RapidShare or someone like that.

Also, if viewing the pirated movie is illegal, then why wouldn't it be just as illegal to watch a DVD I borrowed from a friend of mine? Why wouldn't my friend get fined for illegal distribution?

I'm a musician. This piracy thing has been in debate in our community much longer than it has been in the movie industry. It's so bad now in the music industry that the only records that really sell well are bought by either kids who aren't allowed online (Jonas Brothers, Miley Cyruss, Justin Biber, etc) or country fans in parts of America that don't know how to use a computer (Country music). After years of debate and hard effort... nothing can be done to stop it. Movies, TV shows, and video games are next on the block now that download speed have improved.

Video games seem to have more of a leg up on it... for now.
CCBlev writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 7:39:30 AM

yea this guy is a douche, sounds like he needs to get his ass beat bad and get his mind set right.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 8:14:49 AM

N8R: well said

This guy is so full of himself its sad. Not only does he manage to take total credit for the film without ever acknowledging Bigelow's contribution everytime he opens his yapper, but he also never takes any blame for the ridiculous lack of promotion and distribution of the film. This is just some whiney *sshole trying to shift blame for his own shortcomings and missteps. Its pretty obvious that this same douchebag probably pissed off every distributer he pitched HL to around the world at the major film festivals. Any film so well received at these movie auctions should have been picked up for major disrtibution in a heartbeat, but with this c*cksucker as its frontman HL was probably doomed for limited release from the beginning. FU you f*cking child!
AYT BALL writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 8:16:50 AM

c*ck! dont think i will pay for another one of "HIS" movies again now, what a total bellend!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 8:18:09 AM

@N8R: Believe me, if they could fine people for letting people borrow their dvds and cds, they would.

If they really want too stop pirated copies, then why don't do like the videogame-producers? Sony has produced PlayStation 3 in a way that you can't add a chip in it to play pirated copies. Therefore you must buy real games if you want to play. Xbox recently did something (I'm not very techsavvy, so I don't exaclty know the terms) so that you can't play online with your pirated copies (if you do, your console will stop working).
Maybe they could use similar tech in the dvd- and cd-players? It won't stop pirating, they never will, but at least they do something different from whining.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 8:28:13 AM

If I was Bigelow I'd be pissed at this *sshole, not the downloaders. This was her first film in over 20 years to not see major distibution. This was no arthouse tour de force that wouldn't stand a chance in the multiplex theaters. It was a f*cking madbomber action film set in Iraq. Any other producer would have secured a major release for this kind of movie in his sleep, but this d*ck torpedoed the project every time he opened his mouth.
trailertrash writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 8:35:04 AM

This guy makes me want to DownLoad the Hurt Locker and then hand copies out for free in my high street this coming saturday !!!
trailertrash writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 8:40:52 AM

Guess he's just pissed because Rene zellwegers's New in Town took more money at the B.O than the Hurt Locker.

That would piss me off to i guess !!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 9:05:27 AM

Around the time of the Oscars, news came out that "The Hurt Locker" producer Nicolas Chartier (pictured) was emailing Academy Awards voters to discourage them from choosing "Avatar" over "Locker." Chartier ended up getting his Oscar, but was banned from attending the awards ceremony.

Now the producer is involved in yet another controversy. He and Voltage Pictures are working to sue all the BitTorrent users who had downloaded "The Hurt Locker" illegally. And while you can argue whether that's the right thing to do, Chartier once again made himself look bad by responding to a concerned fan.

The fan wrote Chartier an email to explain why he disagreed with the decision to sue BitTorrent users. Here is what he said:

"I wish to register my disagreement with these tactics, and would like you to know that as a result of these actions I am boycotting your films. The majority of the people you are suing were not seeking to make money from their downloads, and will be financially devastated by a lawsuit or settlement. While it is completely understandable that Voltage Pictures wishes to defend its intellectual property, this is an inhumane way of doing so."

Chartier quickly responded with an email that can be broken up into two parts. The first part explains his point of view:

"Please feel free to leave your house open every time you go out and please tell your family to do so, please invite people in the streets to come in and take things from you, not to make money out of it by reselling it but just to use it for themselves and help themselves. If you think it's normal they take my work for free, I'm sure you will give away all your furniture and possessions and your family will do the same. I can also send you my bank account information since apparently you work for free and your family too so since you have so much money you should give it away... I actually like to pay my employees, my family, my bank for their work and like to get paid for my work."

Ok, Chartier explained his position. There was some sarcasm, but nothing to get offended about. However, the second part of the email got nasty. He continued:

"I'm glad you're a moron who believes stealing is right. I hope your family and your kids end up in jail one day for stealing so maybe they can be taught the difference. Until then, keep being stupid, you're doing that very well. And please do not download, rent, or pay for my movies, I actually like smart and more important HONEST people to watch my films."


... he followed this up by doing the following :

a. f*cking fetus' in the eye until they screamed, then raping them and burying them in his basement

b. Hitting his wife over the head with a frying pan and calling her a bitch because his Chicken Alfredo was slightly overcooked, then remarking " I saw this in a movie once. "

c. Giving fellatio to his dog, Idi Hitler

d Driving his car through downtown Burbank, shooting pedestrians on the street and marking off ' points ' on a small spiral.

e. Picking up meth and a tranny named LaQuinta from his local dealer Puto and going to their secluded spot to see ' fireworks '

f. He then takes the tranny over to Andy d*ck's house and they re-enact scenes from ' The Human Centipede ' sexually

g. He leave's d*ck's house, drives over to Lindsey's Chateau and has mad, passionate, dangerous and UNPROTECTED sex with her, promising her he can " keep her from diking in jail, baby. "

h. Goes to the local drive-thru liquor store and scores a couple of 40s, popping in his favorite street mix CD of ripped of Tupac hits

i. Goes back to the house, wasted and bloody. Looks outside and sees the dents that have bits of human flesh and hair on them, not remembering what the f*ck went on. Goes over to his list of BitTorrent Users and notes one name over and over again : IPeeFreelyinCOCsMouth@yomama.net

j. Falls asleep on the couch, with a bloody dildo stuck 2/3rds up his pimply, hairy ass



I hope this asshat slips on the soap and cracks his f*cking neck.
N8R writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 9:14:19 AM

@Freudian

Xbox actually didn't do that much. They can see who's playing pirated games and they ban the console from the network. I'm pretty sure you can still use the console, just not on Xbox Live and you can't get more achievements from using it but you keep all the achievements you earned.

PS3 has the current advantage of using Blu Ray discs and not too many people have Blu Ray burners... for now. As well as the fact that the hardware is much more advanced.

And I TOTALLY hear you about stopping people from lending. Video games have already moved forward with that. EA recently announced that they will charge a $10 premium tax to play online. This will be included in the price of a new game, but will be charged if you buy it used, rent it, or borrow it. Plainly stated, the days of going to your friend's house to play Madden with them are coming back. Ubisoft is also looking at this model closely and I'm sure Activision will pick up on it and probably make it worse soon.
Bunny X writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 9:18:10 AM

@FN, good point on the Book of eli ref. It did bad at the box office but you can't blame it on the DL's.
As for me, I didn't hear of The Hurt Locker for a while. Just right before the Oscar buzz but well after it's release and I consider myself pretty well up on things like that. This moive sufferede because it was very much under the radar until the Oscar buzz started. In no way did the downloads hurt this movie as much as this c*ck skin idiot cries about.
You want to go after people fine. But you first need to get to the person that leaked it in the first place.
as was stated, those are the ones who deserve to be punished. They are the ones stealing.
This hemmeroid needs to shut up, tuck his bitch tail between his legs for his moronic actions prior to the Oscars and let this go. The more he opens his mouth, the more negative buzz gets dumped on this film.
If I were Bigelow, I'd cut his nuts off and ball and gag him with his own balls.
kasleari writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 9:19:37 AM

jackass
Hollywood1086 writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 9:27:15 AM

this guy is ridiculous. (the producer, not the fan)
darthraige writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 9:28:36 AM

Oh my God, "Stupid" and a "Moron?" Harsh words.
N8R writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 9:30:18 AM

@ Book Of Eli comparison

Book Of Eli wasn't eligible for these last Oscars because of it's January release date. The reason that's important, is because that's the way things get leaked ridiculously early around that time of year.

You all seem well educated enough to know how the Oscar nomination committee works, so I won't dishonor you with the specifics. But what happens is when someone receives the screener for Oscar nomination, their kids or someone gets a hold of it and posts it on the internet. This is how Sherlock Holmes was all over torrent sites within like 2 weeks after it's release.

Book of Eli was timed against this. As well as the fact that Hurt Locker was released in June of '09 and only gained real attention during the Oscar buzz.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 9:34:46 AM

@ N8R and Frued - The laws are kinda crazy, at least here in england, IF you recorded something from the TV, according to the law you were only allowed to keep it for 7 days before it became copyright theft, your not supposed to loan out DVDs or videos, if you had a party and showed the movie technically you should have a licence for a public performance, my mother owns a hairdressers and she needs a licence to play the radio on the shop!! otherwise its ulawfully broadcasting music that you dont have permission to.

They will never stop this completely and you know what, if i ever get caught i will quite happily cough up the price of a cinema ticket or the price of a DVD.....after all thats all they are losing right?? then why want so much? mmmmmm

as for him saying the guy should leave his house open and let everyone go in and take his stuff he should have said, leave you house locked up tight but give some total dipsh*t the keys and trust him not to f*ck up!

It was someone that worked for HIM that got the movie out there! sue that prick!!
AYT BALL writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 9:44:15 AM

@ N8R i love oscar season for that very reason! lol
N8R writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 9:45:58 AM

@ Ayt Ball

That's insane. I had no idea they were that stringent in the UK.

So, if I invited a girl to my house to watch some movie I really had no intention of watching but it was playing anyway while we HOPEFULLY did other things... I could be fined for that? Wow!

I don't think they care that much about that here in the U.S. but I could be wrong. I know alot of Asia could really care less and most of the movies alot of people watch are indeed pirated.

I personally enjoy having all my movies and music on external hard drives linked to my computer which allows me to stream them all over my house. And with my music, I can stream it to my iPhone which allows me to have all 115GB of my music collection everywhere I go.
N8R writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 9:46:43 AM

@ Ayt Ball

Yeah, Oscar season does kick ass.
trailertrash writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 9:47:05 AM

Why Anyone who would down load and then watch a camcorder copy of a movie amazes me, I wouldn't watch The Expendables like that now 3 months away from release.

Those people would not pay to watch that movie at the cinema (theater) anyway.

I dont see how they can stop this now the internet is so big and very hard to police.

Every film you watch now has an advert at the start featuring someone from the british film industry explaining all about piracy and all the effect it has on movie making and even threatening future productions (maybe Chartier should have threatened the emailer with there will be no Hurt Locker 2 because of you instead) but i dont think that does any good.

People think download it for FREE or £15.00 to buy or £9.00 to see at the cinema , it's a no brainer it must be stopped at source. But how you would do that who know's ?
trailertrash writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 9:50:11 AM

@AYT - those bloody performing rights people , wanted me to pay for the music that people hear when we put them on hold !! It's not even music it's like someone pushed the demo button on a casio keyboard !! LOL
SACdaddy writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 10:14:51 AM

Trailer: The HL download was dvd quality and obviously a promotional disc. Which also means its more Chartier's fault for its leaking than anyone he's suing.

I don't know why people wont admit that HL just wasn't that great of a film and be done with it. I still guarantee nobody who's seen the film could name the 3 main characters without having to look them up. Downloading rips doesn't hurt films that are worth a sh*t, it just exposes films like Wolverine and Hurt Locker for what they truely are....not worth my $25 (ticket, popcorn, drink). Somebody should sue the theaters for price gouging. It cost $6 for a small popcorn now!!!
AYT BALL writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 10:23:49 AM

@ N8R and Trailer - pretty sure those laws exist most places, its not really enforced over here but they do exist, the paying for a license to play music happens alot tho, u werent supposed to record songs of the radio either! soon you will have to pay every time you open your eyes or hear a noise! lol
trailertrash writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 10:26:00 AM

SAC- I just meant in general , why watch a bad copy of a movie , thats all....

I Don't want to start you off again ( lol ) but you were right on the new Elm Street movie very disappointing !!!
trailertrash writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 10:28:34 AM

@ayt - always been a law breaker i used to record the top 50 every sunday night on cassette tape as a kid !!! LOL
MyCircusLife writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 10:36:14 AM

Fish Face!!!!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 10:44:50 AM

@N8R: Then he should chase after the people who got a copy and didn't keep track on it. Ironic how the people in Oscar-juries are supposed to be smart and honest people

I don't know if the same rules apply when you buy DVD's, but if you buy a CD and burn it to your computer, with no other intention to move it to your Ipod, then you're breaking the law.

"You take the artist's work from a medium of his/her choosing to a medium the artist had no intentions for"

Pure brilliance.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 11:10:38 AM

lol ok well heres an interesting law for you all, your allowed to make ONE back up copy of anything you leagally purchase incase its lost, damaged or stolen, so copy it, keep the receipt and sell the fooker! lol

@ Trailer - pausing before the DJ came on was a nightmare!! lol
DeVries writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 11:17:37 AM

All right then. 99.999999999% of the living people will never got such money, prestige, luxury than guys like you. And you want us to cry cause people download your work for free cause they appreciate it? Just go f*ck yourself while I take a piss in the face of your mom.
rabid writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 11:58:53 AM

awesome, now i'm boycotting this fags films too.
triggax writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 12:05:24 PM

Well I can tell you that I will personally never watch another film this faggot produces... Why does this guy even still have a say in anything that goes on in the HL realm?? I mean after his faggotry surrounding the oscars why would they keep his name attached to the film? I mean.. Did he honestly have anything to do with the actual making of the film? I f*cking doubt it very much...

I live in Canada and we have literally NO f*cking laws against piracy here.. unless its canadian content.. I f*cking downloaded the Hurt Locker like 4 months before its theatrical release for f*ck sakes and i think it was an HD copy... If you don't want people downloading your film... dont f*cking flail it around and lose control of the content.. Its probably entirely this faggots fault as well.. He seems like the kind of fag that would just give out copies to people to impress them... he probably leaked the f*cking thing online...

The fact that other people in different countries.. just regular citizens can be tried/sued/arrest/fined for downloading a movie is f*cking sickening to me... its a f*cking movie... I downloaded that Iron Man 2 cam a week before its release here in canada... GUESS WHAT.. it was so bad ass that I was the first person in line at the imax that friday... If a movies worth it.. no matter what kind of down-loadable content there may be the ticket sales will speak for themselves regardless...

Wolverine last year, almost a dvd copy missing a few effects was released a week before the film came out... so the film comes out and still rakes in three times its budget... almost half a billion dollars worldwide... yet... they still take legal action against some guy that has kids and sh*t? and literally has no connection to anything at all.. just was lucky enough to get his hands on a copy...

They say that its stealing, i call it sampling... If the movies not good enough.. i will never pay the ridiculous amounts they charge at our theaters to go see something... I can't be expected to throw down 20 dollars a pop for every movie that i THINK looks okay.. I need to know a little more about the movie, watch a screener whatever... Then based on how I feel about it ill make the decision to either buy it on DVD or check it out in the cinema... but without torrents and sampling I would never be able to make those decisions and therefore probably wouldn't see anything in theaters.. i would always wait for a dvd release.. The Hurt Locker didn't make any money because the guy working the finances... this guy.. dropped the f*cking ball... released it against f*ckin transformers and other crazy summer blockbusters... how f*cking retarded are you? Obviously it was going to be a contender... Obviously you shouldn't have shopped it around the spring festivals... Because everyone knows that even in limited release films released during oscar season rake in tons of cash..

The whole thing was just so poorly handled.. and when you're talking about things like finances and a films money.. the only person to blame is the producer.. he made poor decisions and he's now slowly blacklisting himself... Its pathetic and stinks of homosexuality...

f*ck i hate this faggot...

Eat sh*t and die.
triggax writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 12:11:52 PM

Seriously Alex, What's your honest opinion on this? How do you feel about this, and do you download film torrents?

You're in a better position to at least be able to get something out there... To let people know that this guy is a complete f*cking d*ck sh*tter... I would just like to hear your opinion on the matter...

I think that this bullsh*t has really set off a lot of your users and has angered a lot of film-goers... This seems like a pretty big deal to me...
AYT BALL writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 12:12:05 PM

lol like i said, if they fine people the price of a ticket or the price of a DVD then thats fine.......guessing they want a little more than that tho!
Aingx writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 12:24:21 PM

Greedy sonovabitch......I hope he gets genital warts of the mouth.
Ranger writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 12:50:09 PM

This guy (the producer) has a good argument. He IS losing money on piracy.

But he sure weakens his argument with that Avatar/Oscar fiasco, and the first paragraph of his reply (above) made all the sense in the world... then he felt the need to go full: 'moron' and 'stupid' with that piss n' vinegar closing.

Does he deserve $'s from anyone that chooses to watch his movie, his art, his work? Certainly. You don't take a product from a store without paying for it.

Is he a twat? Clearly.
Ranger writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 12:54:25 PM

@AYT - they'd add 'costs' to the lawsuit as well. Lawyers, the prod. co's time...etc.

These people they're going after... they've picked the fight... they don't get to decide how it plays out. I'm not sticking up for this douche bag. But he's right... he (the prod. co.) have lost $'s to piracy. They should beef up their own security at least and catch the thieving ass within their own organization that leaked that first copy though... clean up their own yard first (maybe that person has already had 'an accident').

He's a twat fo sho though.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 1:07:40 PM

Mr. Chartier, With all due respect, you're a greedy, smug, callow c*cksucker that is a disgrace on your profession a reminder why hollywood has lost its way.

It's understood that piracy is plaguing the film industry and that money is being lost. However, what do you seriously hope to gain from all this??

Furthemore, the fan that e-mailed you treated you and your position with the utmost respect and understanding. So, in turn you thought it was a really keen idea to attack his intellect and family, which was uncalled for and in poor taste.

Frankly, You have no right to attack those who support/take interest in you simply because your a c*nt of a brat as a human being. Since you don't respond well to decency, I wish you the worst of health and may the you be ruined in all ways possible and may "The Hurt Locker" be you're only movie of interest/success since this world is better off with you not in it.

Best wishes and a 55-gallon drum "of go f*ck yourself", ACTION FIGURE.

P.S.-IF YOU GET THE CHANCE, STICK A GUN IN YOUR MOUTH AND DO US ALL A f*ckIN' FAVOR.
rabid writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 1:13:44 PM

"You don't take a product from a store without paying for it."

What store? File-sharing isn't a store. Hollywood still thinks of it in those terms, and that's why their business model is outdated.

Ranger writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 1:15:54 PM

@rabid - no argument that their business model is outdated. But you can't deny people are getting their entertainment for free. Would YOU go to work for a week, then just tell your boss to keep the money and not pay you?

1. Their business model is outdated.
2. Piracy hurts... sure it does. It's also part of the reason ticket prices keep climbing.
3. This Producer is a twat.

@Dave and AF - check your mail.
Ranger writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 1:19:08 PM

This Producer has a valid concern.

Just his approach (and again, that Avatar/Oscar stunt) isn't making him a favorite in anyone's eyes.
Ranger writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 1:21:58 PM

As for the initial person writing their letter stated: '...this is an inhumane way of doing so."

I do wish people (like them) would offer up some suggestions/options as to what the Production Co. should do in way of taking action.
rabid writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 1:37:15 PM

I get almost all my entertainment for free. If I can watch your program or movie without having to do anything but left-click a mouse, then you're making it too easy for people to steal.
Back to the shoplifting metaphor, it would be more akin to the store leaving everything on your doorstep and telling you not to take it. If they want to save their profits it's up to them, not the pirates to catch up to what they're doing wrong.
Morality has never been part of their business model before, but now they want it to save them.
Ranger writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 1:41:06 PM

No argument here (that the responsibility lay with them rabid).

But, when they do upgrade their business model... expect their added costs added on to every DVD (rented and sold), and movie ticket. They're not going to take that hit without passing it along.
Ranger writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 1:41:38 PM

Off topic:

And... 1 day to Lohan!


vaodsi writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 1:59:06 PM

that fan is stupid and an absolute moron.
vaodsi writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 1:59:56 PM

BRAVO CHARTIER!
lost_addict writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 2:02:08 PM

one of the worst movies to win an oscar
vaodsi writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 2:03:01 PM

Ranger.
solid posts (you know that allready)
Rabid.... see Chartier's above comment ;)
Ben Reilly writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 2:04:15 PM

"Please feel free to leave your house open every time you go out and please tell your family to do so, please invite people in the streets to come in and take things from you, not to make money out of it by reselling it but just to use it for themselves and help themselves."

How is that equivalent?! I take his couch, he no longer has one. I download your movie, it's remains in the theater and on store shelves. What a moron. It's more like I go into his house and make photocopies of his family photos.
vaodsi writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 2:06:27 PM

I actually loved hurt locker.. and avatar...
and sean pen is a tweat but i still watch his films cause he's F'ing brilliant. Into the wild is the BOMB
back to the subject of junk food... (ie- inventing the off topic of junk food)
Reece's Pieces are the bomb! and i dont' even like peanut butter!
vaodsi writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 2:07:59 PM

Ben reily... i saw your avatar and i thought you were PP and thought "what happened to him? He's saying banal sh!t"
Man in Black writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 2:08:14 PM

this has been covered here but people dont leave their houses open we have some semblance of security ... a lock , bars on the windows , a sign on the front of the house that says protected by walther and beretta ( some german and italian friends of mine ) if you dont want your sh*t to be stolen keep better track of it D bag ! and sofaking has it right he will have to settle for the 45 ft yacht boo f*cking hoo
vaodsi writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 2:12:34 PM

and It's-it icecream cookies!
ProfMovies writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 2:15:35 PM

This guy is his own worst enemy!
I can't believe after the Oscar debacle he would get ANYONE to work with him!
But now THIS???

The guy is a liability!
Ben Reilly writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 2:22:46 PM

@vaodsi:

I don't see the difference. I thought banal was the standard on this site.
rabid writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 2:29:14 PM

Doesn't anyone else think it's hilarious that this douchebag is calling copyright infringement theft over a film who stole someone else's life story? By his own logic, he owes that soldier some cheddar, no?
rabid writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 2:30:51 PM

LOL, he was banned from the Oscars.
dougieperzo writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 2:33:55 PM

the guy's an *sshole
Man in Black writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 2:41:41 PM

@ rabid forgot about that angle they ripped it off from a playboy article
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 2:53:07 PM

@Rabid: It's only stealing if you're poor. Otherwise it's artistic freedom of source material.
vaodsi writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 3:06:10 PM

it's called *sarcasm*
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 3:40:44 PM

@vaodsi-Question...so this had the right to down his family and berate him from expressing his view in a proper and decent manner? I'm I getting you right?
FBO writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 3:55:36 PM

If they don't want pirating they should stop paying actors twenty million a film. That way movie tickets would be more reasonable say $6.50 instead of $10 a pop.
FBO writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 4:01:14 PM

BTW, I don't download movies, I just understand why some people do
swoooop writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 4:19:34 PM

He likes to get payed he says. He should have written, LIKES TO GET PAYD MORE!
jeffw1978 writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 4:21:21 PM

@FBO - I only paid 6.25 for Iron Man 2 but that was a matinee and on a Sunday, so I guess it doesn't count.

On topic this guy is pretty much a megga douche.
tcu21 writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 5:24:32 PM

This guy should block himself from his own email account.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 5:37:04 PM

@ Ranger- i know we covered all this in a recent story and i hear ya, think the problem i have with this guy is his reasoning, the whole leave your house open etc, he should have said leave your house open, and let a member of your family run out in the street with your belongings and give them away before you realise they are missing, we didnt walk into his house, it was sent in the post to us by one of his own!

and i get that piracy hurts the industry, how much is still up for debate! but if the argument against torrent users is that its taking their money away from the industry, then sure, charge them the price of a dvd (and make them pay legal costs, thats fine) but they arent going after that, they are trying to destroy people! its harsh enough times financially without this sh*t. I mean IF they say that a torrent user isnt a spending customer, take that price! put it back in the big pot and shut the f*ck up! If they target these jobless idiots that sit at home burning discs, printing covers and selling the movies on then yeah! go to town on those morons! This guys just making the studios look like the big bad wolf, would like to hear what bigelow thinks of the situation and this man that calls her film HIS work, not OUR, but HIS.....mmmm

would be interesting if they caught someone that had downloaded it, took it to court then they produced a movie ticket and reciept for the DVD that they bought afterward, wonder how that would go down? guessing they would still sue which would prove its all about the greed
Ranger writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 5:41:30 PM

@AYT - good post.

And Bigelow can't talk right now... I'm in her mouth (I wish!).

trailertrash writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 5:47:00 PM

@ayt - burning discs printing covers your not talking about dodgy barry down at basildon market are you !! lol (good post dude)

ranger lol
Aaron writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 5:47:22 PM

Art is an opinion expressed.. there is something wrong about the person with the opinion defining what it's worth to society as a whole.
It seems like society should have that right. If someone says your opinion aint worth sh*t, than sorry - but your opinion aint worth sh*t and you should really question putting so much money and effort into expressing your opinion next time.

all of this Piracy business - it's essentially society saying that these things just aren't as valuable as the creators insist they are.

Eli_1994 writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 5:48:40 PM

@All: Megan Fox isn't in TF3! Maybe we can actually get a hot bitch that knows how to act and look good in slo-mo

here's the link if u dont believe me:

http://www.collider.com/2010/05/19/megan-fox-transformers-3-not-returning-michael-bay/
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 5:54:56 PM

This guy has the attitude of a "big time" producer, someone needs to give this f*cker a wake up call.

In other news: WP where the hell is the story of the day? Megan Fox gone from Transformers 3. Come on get on your game.
Ranger writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 5:59:59 PM

Exclusive: I've just learned that Paramount won't be picking up Megan Fox's option on Transformers 3 -- and that it was "ultimately" director Michael Bay's decision. (So he gets his revenge for her remark comparing him to "Hitler".) Right now Bay and writer Ehren Kruger et al are finishing up the script for the threequel and "giving Shia a new love interest makes more sense for the story," an insider tells me. Bay will start casting immediately for the new female co-star.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 6:01:39 PM

That fake Paramount twitter account also had something to say on the Bay-Fox debacle.

"The real reason we did not pick up Megan Fox's option for Transformers 3 is because we think that Marilyn Monroe tattoo on her arm is stupid" via @ParamountFilms
Ranger writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 6:03:19 PM

Maybe she didn't 'wash his car' the way he likes?
Ranger writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 6:06:22 PM

And her toe thumbs...
Ranger writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 6:06:46 PM

And the stench of rotting red snapper at low tide...
trailertrash writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 6:06:50 PM

maybe there was no wet T-shirt this time round !!
trailertrash writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 6:08:37 PM

maybe shia washed it , thats why he's getting a new story line !!
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 6:23:27 PM

guys an *sshole, i aint waychin his movies.
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 6:23:28 PM

guys an *sshole, i aint waychin his movies.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 6:28:30 PM

@ encore, Ranger and Freudian ...

I showed you earlier what this douchebag of a personality does on his daily itenerary ...

See above.
Carl Erik Rinsch writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 6:29:35 PM

Realmente algo que no se dan cuenta la gran mayoria de productores es que gracias a la pirateria es que su peliculas son ganadoras en los oscares, tienen razon en qye afecta las ganancias pero si realmente quieren que la gente vaya mas al cine a que compre o descargue una pelicula pirata, deberian invertir dinero en hacer que las entradas sean mas baratas, a mi me gusta el cine y voy la gran mayoria de veces al cine, prefiero esa pantalla a que mi prtopia pantalla de 21" , pero viendo desde el punto de vista de la gran mayoria ir al cine especialmente con tu familia es gastar una gran cantidad de dinero no solo por las entradas sino por la comida, yo tambien soy un cineasta y no entiendo la fascinacion por prohibir la venta o descarga de peliculas, sino quieren que las pirateen inviertan dinero en proteger mas sus circulos para que no se escape antes de ser estrenada, o lo mismo cuando sea estrenada no deje que la gente entre al cine con sus camaras, aunque la verdad yo no veo esa calidad de peliculas, prefiero las que tienen calidad DVD, no me importaria que la gente que no puede ir al cine compre o descargue una pelicula que haya hecho, en todo caso me concentraria en la persona que esta produciendo ese material de tan baja calidad, y prohibirselo a el, y venderia mis peliculas en DVD a un precio modico, no a $30 dolares cuando el costo real del DVD es $5 dolares, malditos malnacidos ambiciosos de su madre...

habiendo dicho eso, que nçbuena pelicula fue Hurt Locker, lastima que este ganando tan mala fama por un idiota como este, que esta llorando porque este año no podra irse de viaja al caribe o roma...
trailertrash writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 6:32:45 PM

^^English dude !!
bacci40 writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 6:35:36 PM

the email is nasty, but the true moron here is mr chartier

i will admit it. i saw hurt locker for free. but i didnt use a bit torrent

like most people, i watched it on one of the many streaming sites on the net.

i stopped downloading long ago...most intelligent users have (unless for some asinine reason, they want to make a dvd to watch on their big screen)

im sorry that mr chartier didnt make money

im sorry that the dinasours who run hollywood still havent figured out a new way to market and sell their product

suing and attacking fans and users wont work

just ask the record industry

and popular films are not hurt by downloaders....how much more could avatar have possibly made?
Kurskij writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 6:45:30 PM

As a russian, I'm too drunk to read it right now. But! Before I'm completely f*cked and forgotten:

@SAC

I finally had a chance to watch Iron Man 2.

Main points (we'll talk about it later, if you wish):

1. Mickey Rourke was badass but all of his russian dialogue was dubbed and DVD will be out in about month, so before that I won't be able to tell you how was his russian (the accent was pretty great, but old-school). The tattoos were incredibly accurate (if he really was a Vor - the most privileged rank in soviet and post-... criminal hierarchy) - as accurate as they were in Eastern Promises (btw Viggo's russian was almost f*cking spot on - which is amazing considering how hard it is for foreigners and had only few months to prepare).

2. The apartment he and his father lived in an shots of Moscow (aside from the opening air shot) look more like Saint-Petersburg. If you want to take a look at how Moscow looks and feels in winter - take a look at Bourne Supremacy and Carl Rinsch's "The Gift" short.

3. "Russkiy standart" ("Russian Standard") vodka is pretty expensive, so if Ivan Vanko was so damn poor he wouldn't have been able to afford it. But it's one of the most hardcore one's, so it suits the character.
trailertrash writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 6:58:41 PM

@Kurskij

Sounds like you are laying your hairy hands on as much as possible tonight !! lol

MeganFoxPlease writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 7:09:04 PM

Anyone interested in sending more complaints to this douche nozzel can reach him at:

nicolas@voltagepictures.com

Go to Voltage Pictures website, it shows all of their guys emails there.
sykora writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 7:14:48 PM

@ Triggax

Seriously dude? It's not called sampling, it's called theft. If someone stole your money and didn't spend it all, what would you call it? I'm not saying Chartier is anything more than an annoying malcontent who should bend over and take in in the @$$ nightly for having anything to do with this move (as his personality certainly doesn't deserve it). However, downloading is theft, and it does create an impact to the bottom line - just ask the producers of Zombieland who debated making a sequel because of how much it was downloaded.

If he wants to sue, he should be allowed to do so... for no more than the average price of a ticket for each downloader. If you want to further punish these people, make them pay for the price of a large popcorn, kidney dialysis sized coke and diabetes inducing sized box of butterfingers too
Ranger writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 7:17:48 PM

The ladies love it when I butter my fingers.
Valerie writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 7:23:36 PM

I wont go into this idiots story, because Fox getting the boot is way more worthy, but since there is not post about it, yet, i will go OT:

I'm sorry, am no fan of Fox, but i think its a huge mistake to let her go. Yes she said some f*cked up sh*t (at least it was honest, something we dont get from douche Bay), but wasnt she actually already seen on the set? So something must have gone down for this to happen. Did Bay demand she clean his new Porsche, and she refused this time?WTF is going on!
Ranger writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 7:29:39 PM

RE: Megan Fox not in T3.

'...something must have gone down for this to happen.'


I'll bet it wasn't Bay's spooch down her throat, is what happened.

Valerie writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 7:38:14 PM

Ranger lol;

But then there is Shia for that, i hear he likes to swallow!

No, but seriously, Fox, after the robots, was always the most i heard the nerds obsess over when it came to the first two movies. I guess sh*t really hit the fan on the set, and i want all the dirty details damitt!
Ranger writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 7:43:16 PM

@Valerie - you're a good sport (re: my comment). I was going to add, maybe he had asparagus for lunch and she really, really wasn't interested...

But I hear ya. Fox was only 1 of 2 reasons I'd watch the movies (when they transform is pretty amazing... more-so than the friggin story lines!).

As for Shia being there (to swallow)... LOL. Nice.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 8:15:11 PM

Yeah, gotta say i think Fox being booted is a bad call, reminds me of karate kid 2, after all the sh*t he went through to bag elizabeth shue he walks in at the start of part two calls her a cheating bitch and we never hear from her again, i felt cheated!! lol this will have the same effect
hunter207 writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 8:33:53 PM

what a f*cking douche
hunter207 writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 8:36:18 PM

let me clarify my statement. While I dont agree with piracy (being a small time filmmaker) I also dont agree with calling fans morons...
JonDrama writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 8:48:11 PM

He's an aboslute and utter *sshole... f*cking prick
Kurskij writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 9:44:32 PM

@Trailer

You still remember old Ollie, do ya!

LOL! Though I'm even more drunk now, yep, I'm trying, but it's just a home party with fellas, so most of the hand-laying comes tomorrow (thursday-f*ck-yeah!!!).
SACdaddy writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 10:38:18 PM

@Kurskij: Good to finally hear some thoughts on Mick's Russian performance from you. But its even better to hear that Viggo mastered the accent as well as I thought he did. It just proves what I've been saying for years, Viggo is one of the best actors of our time. He and Cronenberg are great together! I loved Eastern Promises, but then again I always loved films with hardass Russians characters. The one problem I had with EP was Kirill. That fruity Frenchmen didn't sound very Russian to me and he quickly became very annoying.

I'd love to talk IM2 with you my friend, but I'm working on a few beers too. I've also got a big thursday night planned with the 3 Bs (beers, bitches, and bong rips!) so I probably should get some sleep tonight. Enjoy the "house party" and steer clear of the drunken sword fights with the boys :)
darkraven28 writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 1:16:17 PM

Sorry but I side with the producer on this one. He's 100% RIGHT.
Aaron.Walkhouse writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 10:11:26 PM

Can you see the subtle difference between stealing someone's furniture and viewing a film without removing it from circulation?

Aside from the obvious fact that the film doesn't vanish from it's owner's hand, theft is a Criminal Code offence while copyright violation is a civil infringement on a civil right which may or more likely may not have a measurable effect on the owner at all. A speculative loss is literally worth nothing but free exposure tends to fill the seats and sell plastic with remarkable efficiency. Just ask Radiohead how well giving away "In Rainbows" on the internet worked for their bottom line.

Simply calling downloading illegal or stealing in the face of established fact to the otherwise does more to cast doubt on the speaker's intelligence and intentions than it could possibly make an argument for condemning an infringed right to copy anything, much less something thought to have monetary value.

Claiming that one will have to lay off employees or that their paycheques are on the line because of mere speculative losses is more of an admission that one would first choose to victimize his own employees when profits soften and then pass off the responsibility on the very same audience he holds in contempt. This is no way to inspire loyalty and confidence on the set and with shareholders.

That is the first part of what is wrong with the above rant. The other is far more obvious to all, that being you should try to avoid attacking a member of your intended audience in such a comically overplayed manner that leads both the public and one's own community to question your stability and profitability. Let your lawyers do the talking when it comes to copyright and legal matters and the first thing they will show you is how to hold your tongue when emotions and the stakes both run high.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved