WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Avengers" Director Says He Lacks Directing Skills

Posted: May 18th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Avengers" Director Says He Lacks Directing SkillsSubmit Comment
Marvel Studios recently announced that Joss Whedon has been hired to direct "The Avengers" and that he has already started re-writing the script. Many fans are confidant in Whedon's writing skills, but what about his work behind the camera?

During yesterday's conference call to promote an episode of "Glee," which he directed, Whedon admitted that he still has a lot to learn about helming. "I have no directing skills," he said.

Whedon hasn't directed much outside of television ("Buffy the Vampire Slayer," "Angel," "Dollhouse"). His only feature film credit is for "Serenity," a big screen adaptation of the "Firefly" show. So while he is a great writer and has a relationship with Marvel, maybe it was too early to hand him the biggest superhero franchise. It looks like even Whedon thinks so.

Click here to read more about "The Avengers."

Source: Collider


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 49 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BDeck writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 6:06:34 AM

i think this guy will be alright with the avengers.

his writing skills are great,especial in comics,and im sure well stick to the material pretty well.

i think this will be a real comic book coming to life.
trailertrash writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 6:08:17 AM

Oh Dear !! This is not a good start.

Maybe they have Joe Johnston is on stand by !!
The Real Joker writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 6:25:08 AM

This is great, I mean you don't learn anything from just doing tv-shows all the time. I think this is what Joss Whedon needs. A big project.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 6:41:10 AM

He directed Serenity very well. I know it isn't the biggest of movies, but it's character driven and he gets the best out of the actors. The special effects were good (considering the budget, the space-scenes is really good).
He might not have the experience, but he got love for it and that can take you quite far.
masht7 writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 6:45:41 AM

Its okay man, Christopher Nolan started from a low budget film called 'Following' (which was fantastic by the way) and he went on to direct one of the best fims of al-time 'Memento'. Don't be negative just yet man.
Ash20 writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 7:08:01 AM

I'm not so sure about his skills either. Most of Joss' career consists of T.V. shows, only doing screenplays and scripts for certain movies ( Alien resurrection, Titan A.E.) I'm not sure if he's ready to put on the big boy director's cap.. I could be completely wrong and this movie will be f*cking sweet or it could be a royal sh*tfest that murders his career. We'll just have to wait and see
KoJay90 writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 7:33:13 AM

He did Serenity so of course hes ready.

This article is also a waste of time because there is no followup or what was said before he said that, if there was a transcript, maybe I would give this article a chance but there is none.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 7:37:47 AM

The guy is lacking hair on his head
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 8:32:28 AM

Josh, you couldn't do any worse than : Ridley Scott, Uwe Boll, Brett Ratner, Timur Bekmambetov, Michael Bay, Oliver Stone ...

Give it a shot.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 8:33:59 AM

Whedon hasn't directed much outside of television ("Buffy the Vampire Slayer," "Angel," "Dollhouse"). His only feature film credit is for "Serenity," a big screen adaptation of the "Firefly" show. So while he is a great writer and has a relationship with Marvel, maybe it was too early to hand him the biggest superhero franchise. It looks like even Whedon thinks so.



To quote Rob Schneider from many of Adam Sandler's films, " You can do it! "

So just do it, Josh.
trailertrash writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 8:43:33 AM

@max- Uwe Boll just c*m in is pants after you've put him with those other directors on your list !!
trailertrash writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 8:46:08 AM

Normally his name would be with these guys !!

Jason Friedberg,Ulli Lommel and Vondie Curtis-Hall
CCBlev writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 8:56:00 AM

@trailer
They'll pass it on to Mcphag for Brett "I'm a retared tree f*cker" Ratner.
trailertrash writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 9:17:03 AM

@cc- LOL
MeganFoxPlease writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 9:33:09 AM

the avengers is a bad idea to begin with...

The reason superhero movies have improved in quality is because they spent less time doing Michael Bay crap, like blowing stuff up and trying to make bigger epic fights....

and spent more time on character development and story. THe very premise of The Avengers goes against what has helped make the superhero genre worth watching..
tcu21 writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 9:36:41 AM

Whaaaat? Joss, give yourself some credit the two films you have directed we outstanding

Serenity
Dr Horrible's Sing Along Blog

You da man, Joss. I have faith.
Sev writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 9:46:18 AM

f*ck
Affliction writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 10:08:38 AM

Ill give him a chance. Encore/Ranger...plesae remind me that if he messes up this movie, I am to do something really bad to him.
jeffw1978 writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 10:41:04 AM

Maybe he will be smart enought to stick with the material and not try to use any artistic freedom.
coldplayesence writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 11:17:27 AM

@CCBlev- lol.
f*cking retards on trees never gets old.
Ranma-Irias writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 11:39:03 AM

Serenity was a very good film, and I never watched Firefly not that I didnt want to but f*cking Portugal is a sh*tty country when it comes to movies and series
AYT BALL writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 11:56:57 AM

agree with Freud and others, serenity looked great, this movie is in good hands!
Ranger writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 12:00:14 PM

At least this guy is modest. Never see that these days.

Hey... are we having a 'Countdown to LesboLand' - Lindsay Lohan Jail Pool here on WP? Thurs. she's in deep CA-CA, yes (and I don't mean going down on her dad this time)?
rabid writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 12:26:29 PM

He's going to do great. The comic fans love the idea, and I'm impressed by everything he's done thus far.
ChainsawX writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 12:27:31 PM

yeah serenity sucked...NOT ...damn
Troy Williams writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 1:24:02 PM

Watch em f*ck it up, its the marvel movie way, they cant keep gettin lucky with iron-man. not that i dont want it to look bad i just expect it from marvel
Troy Williams writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 1:24:38 PM

Not that i want it to look bad**
Aingx writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 1:30:06 PM

Let him write it, but get Matthew Vaughn to direct it.
nope.com writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 2:25:43 PM

no sh*t, countless piece of sh*t episodes of Buffy would tell you
TeemSelami writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 2:46:11 PM

He lacks a d*ck too! hopefully Avengers is great there is no satisfaction in him f*cking it up. I told ya so isn't worth having too watch a ruined movie.

As for lindsay she has 3 classes to take before thursday and is now claiming she is stuck in europe. some how i think this bitch will avoid jail time. the good news is the french don't seem to like her anymore than we do.

http://www.oodora.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/11/lindsay-lohan-flour-fur-peta-activist.jpg
rocketman writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 3:07:52 PM

Steven Spielberg,like i said before,born to direct either Cap America or The Avengers.Joss needs to stick to his field.
rocketman writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 3:09:16 PM

Field as in TV shows.
Bunny X writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 3:27:33 PM

I've said it before and I'll say it again, The Avengers is right up Joss' alley. He's very adept in having plots equal revolve around multiple characters without it feeling like it's one and everyone else. This is exactly what The Avengers need. I do not want to see an Ironman and The Avengers or a Thor and the Avengers or a "fill-in-the-name" and The Avengers movie.

I think Joss is playing it smart here. Going modest and setting the bar and expectations low. But dammit man, you have got to deliver the goods.
With all these Marvel films doing pretty well.....well Ironman at least lol, there is going to be a huge expectation for The Avengers film. Failure on it just can't be shrugged off with a pat on the back and a "Oh well, we'll get em next time"
Failure on The Avengers would be catastrophic in the least.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 3:37:44 PM

U can do it, Joss!! And if u can't, we will f*ckin' fine you!!!
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 4:07:49 PM

get someone who wont f*ck it up
ian_918 writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 4:43:21 PM

GIVE IT TO NOLAN AND GOYER. nuff said.
BigUnit writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 4:56:52 PM

get christopher nolan to direct it. problem solved.
BigUnit writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 4:58:25 PM

JAMES CAMERON lol
billofill writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 5:01:11 PM

Ian dont you think Goyer especially and Nolan are a bit busy with the DC films they're working with Warners to produce. NUFF SAID....
coldplayesence writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 5:59:32 PM

Get Stephen Sommers, he did a great job assembling awesome characters last time! ... sigh...
whoever writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 6:03:55 PM

They have given him the job as he is a puppet for all the other directors and Marvel think he has cred with the fans!
encoreyourface writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 6:18:05 PM

did they mix up the names with Joe Johnson? lol.

this actually makes me sort of glad, i wish he had more confidence but it's never good to have an over-inflated idea of yourself.
rabid writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 9:53:02 PM

I think they gave him the job because it was Whedon that tidied up all their large comic crossovers the last five years. Quesada said they call him in any time they need several comics to tie together in a meaningful way, which is essentially what he's doing with Avengers. I trust the fact that they trust him. The SIEGE just ended at Marvel and that whole house is firing on all cylinders!
rocketman writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 12:22:59 AM

Ther are giving it to Joss for one reason.He's cheep,all about saying money.Splash the cash and get a biggie like Spielberg.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 12:31:52 AM

Somewhere Nolan is laughing :)

The DC movies are and will be so much better than this Marvel crap. I said I'd give Whedon a chance, but giving Marvel a chance after the mess they made of IM2 may be a little more difficult. Their movies are just getting to childish and goofy for my tastes. You can say TDK ruined me, but DC's been going dark since Superman 2 so its nothing new. What a shame Whedon has to go head to head with Nolan on his second time out. If I were him I'd be doubting myself too. There's really NO comparing the two, and a darker more realistic Batman 3 may just make The Avenger look silly.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 2:04:21 AM

rabid-Siege-was f*cking cool.
Bunny X writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 11:40:37 AM

@SAC, that's a good point you make and it's funny (ironic) because in the DC / Marvel mash up they recently did, it was the thoughts of the DC heroes that the Marvel heroes were the darker, more tragic folks who were in the shadows and were not widely accepted by their public as in the DC universe. So to me it's funny to see the DC film universe go darker than the Marvel film universe.

But you're right. Marvel has fully commited to the lighter side of their property on film. The obvious reason is the cross promotional potential there. Marvel wants to get their images on everything at the widest possibile age range as they can. And in order to do that, they must give each end of the spectrum what they want.
In that aspect, I will say Marvel is doing a great job. But what that does is it gives those that are looking for a more authentic Marvel product, a watered-down more tame version and is seen as a let down.
If the X-Men, Ironman, Hulk etc films were all done adhering to the tone of the comics, we would have seen much darker films indeed and would have been far more entertained. But they're looking beyond that and into what these properties can bring in beyond the movie screen.
rabid writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 12:14:10 PM

Its ok if Avengers looks silly next to Dark Knight. That is the essential difference between Marvel and DC comics. Marvel is more fun and over the top. DC is more somber and pander more to their adult readers. I think both directors are perfectly suited for the projects they're working on, and I wouldn't want the films too similar.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 20th, 2010 at 4:48:58 AM

very good point Rabid, and you're right it does seem to be that way.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved