WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Battle Royale" to be Re-Released in 3D

Posted: May 17th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Battle Royale" to be Re-Released in 3DSubmit Comment
Toei, a Japanese studio, is working on converting Kinji Fukasaku's cult action-thriller "Battle Royale" to 3D in order to have it ready for Japanese screenings in October and a release in November.

Released in 2000, the gory film grossed $26 million in Japan and sold to 35 territories worldwide. At the time of its release, Japanese politicians attempted to ban the film which depicts a group of delinquent students hacking each other to death on a deserted island in order to win the ultimate prize, their life. "Battle Royale" became one of the best-selling Japanese movies ever.

Since Fukasaku passed away in 2003, his son Kenta has stepped in to supervise the conversion. He has taken over directing duties on a sequel called "Battle Royale 2: Requiem," which was released later that year.

Source: ScreenDaily


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
telur writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 10:44:28 PM

its original movie from The Condemned (2007)
Rick Taps writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 11:19:06 PM

@telur...

what?

Battle Royale was released in 2000 based on the book was written in 1999.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 11:27:34 PM

"depicts a group of delinquent students hacking each other to death on a deserted island in order to win the ultimate prize, their life."

i'm sold.

telur writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 12:33:23 AM

@Rick Taps
The Condemned (2007) is a remake from Battle Royale
Inception writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 12:43:10 AM

This is a true classic or in my book a masterpiece, no need for 3D. This film in 3D will look lame as hell.

3D this, 3D that, what's next, the revival of Jaws 3D.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 1:48:51 AM

I say save the 3D and just throw buckets of blood out in the audience, followed by cutting off their primary limbs.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 1:49:31 AM

@telur

We're you born near Chernobyl ?

I just had to ask, dipstick.
trailertrash writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 2:35:11 AM

Battle Royale great film , Part 2 not so good , dont see the point of converting into 3D though...
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 2:50:13 AM

@Telur: I must say, I admire your persistence. Even after you hit rock bottom, you keep on digging.

Stop pissing on your father's legacy, Kenta. Wasn't the sequel bad enough? Must you really destroy a national treasure too?
BayHarbor_Butcher writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 3:25:15 AM

Everybody random bag now! what weapon you get?

ehh..got a switchblade... could be worse. could have been Lohans career... *wakawaka!
encoreyourface writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 4:02:18 AM

lol!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 4:40:04 AM

@bay- I would have thought to get Lohans career would be great, I mean who would go near you if you had that???
You will be the winner straight away.

Seen this movie and there is no way they should 3D it.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 4:47:27 AM

any good Dave?

on that note it's very late here, g'night all.
masht7 writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 5:00:22 AM

Soon Machete will be in 3D and critics wil say they were visully stund by the looks of LohRanga. Hollywood, build a bridge, jump of it.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 5:09:56 AM

@encore- good morning haha

Yep very good film, touchy subject matter, some people don't like it coz it is a little close to home, how it is all done for ratings and watching people be violent in the worse possible way.
sc_kg writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 5:22:12 AM

Telur- (via IMDB) Contrary to popular belief, this is NOT a remake of Batoru rowaiaru (2000) (Battle Royale). That remake is helmed by Neal H. Moritz and Roy Lee and has nothing to do with The Condemned (2007)
SofaKing writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 7:28:31 AM

I liked the book a lot and the movie did a good job more or less staying true to it. I am more curious about the sequel then a reboot in 3D, sounds like frivolousness at its best .
MyCircusLife writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 9:01:41 AM

Best Scene : Poisoning the girl which turns into an all out gun fight in a 10' x 5' room of a lighthouse.
Great flick, but the pacing was thrown off by all of those drawn out flashbacks and dream sequences.
KirkLazerus writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 11:22:29 AM

yay what else is 3D going to ruin maybe Ichi The Killer, 3D should stick to sh*tty movie like karate kid remake or anything with casey Affleck
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 11:44:16 AM

@circuslife- gotta agree, the 'lighthouse' scene is a classic. Read the book and the manga and saw the movie. In my mind the manga is easily the best. That sh*t made me permanently numb to violence.
secondbest writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 2:47:32 PM

Saw the Battle Royale and the sequel. The first one is f*cking awesome. The second one was lame as hell but had enough violence and gore so that my 2 hours weren't wasted.
ksplatt writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 4:48:53 PM

In 2008 my nip friend told me to see this movie cuz it was awesome. I did, and it was...if you haven't seen it, go watch that sh*t online, and the sequel if you have time...is it still not available to purchase in the US?
encoreyourface writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 6:27:10 PM

Dave-cool, have to see it then.
Rick Taps writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 8:04:10 PM

I loved the book, thought the movie was okay and am looking forward to checking out the manga. The story left me with a genuine feeling of dread... which was awesome.
Rodan writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 2:09:14 AM

Chigusa: [dying] God, can I tell him one more thing? You look really cool, Hiroki...
Hiroki Sugimura: You too. You're the coolest girl in the world.

Favorite quote of all time. Haha, she said that sh*t as she was DYING. Great movie.
bacci40 writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 6:43:35 PM

the entire movie is on youtube

im still hoping for an american remake with the using the entire casts of twilight, glee and high school musical

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved