WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Timur Bekmambetov to Also Direct "20,000 Leagues Under the Sea" Film

Posted: May 17th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Timur Bekmambetov to Also Direct "20,000 Leagues Under the Sea" FilmSubmit Comment
It was just revealed that David Fincher (Fight Club, Curious Case of Benjamin Button) is in negotiations with Walt Disney Pictures to direct an adaptation of the classic Jules Verne tale "20,000 Leagues Under the Sea."

THR is now reporting that producers Ridley and Tony Scott are developing their own "Leagues" project for 20th Century Fox. The script is being written by Travis Beacham (Clash of the Titans) and the studio is in talks with Timur Bekmambetov (Wanted) to direct. Insiders say Fox's version is set in the future (although it follows the novel's structure).

"20,000 Leagues Under the Sea" is in public domain, which means that anybody can adapt it without acquiring rights. The question is whether it will be Fincher's or Bekmambetov's version that will make it to the big screen first. Stay tuned.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 6:32:40 AM

I hate it when two studios make movies about the same thing and release them at the same time. One always sucks, and the other is usually worse.
dub031 writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 7:00:42 AM

same writer from Clash of the Titans??? - my money's on Fincher's flick!!!!!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 7:02:21 AM

^True that

And why this sudden urge to make everything in the future? It's still the same story and to just change a submarine to a spaceship isn't that much of a change. So why not just stay under the water? Besides, making it like the original story would actually be more original than have it in space. Space movies comes twice a dozen, but it's rarely we see a good deep sea-movie.
otis writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 8:52:01 AM

This little debacle reminds me of the Illusionist and The Prestige- each with their own redeeming qualities, but each also invariably competing against each other for box office sales.

Here's hoping Fincher gets more.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 9:53:49 AM

Put on your waders, folks ...

It's like an overbacked toilet at the Dennys with these stories
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 10:03:29 AM

Moby d*ck's next ... or maybe I'm thinkin' of the Lindsey Lohan story, " Open 24 Hours, with parking in the rear for the semis : The Lindsey Lohan Story. "
Bunny X writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 10:52:07 AM

@Otis, spot on!! Both pretty good films that just crushed each other.
Personally, I'm going with Fincher's version. Disney's behind it so you know it will be grand in the same vein as Pirates, Prince of Persia.
And as much as I like the Scott's and Timur, that Clash of The Titans writer just spoiled the fun.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 11:35:23 AM

@Freud: I don't get the future thing that much either other than the fact it may justify the awe of the Nautilis. Its supposed to be an amazing feat of technology far better than the ships of its time, so maybe a future setting makes this just a more reasonable concept.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 12:06:58 PM

I apparently a may be one of the few people out there that thinks the jury is still out on David Fincher. Seven and Fight Club are his only movies I really respect. All the others missed the mark in one way or another imo. Timur is a questionable director but so is Fincher if you ask me. Especially if he's going for this lighter/nicer appeal that he's pitching to Disney. f*ck that sh*t!
rocketman writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 12:38:25 PM

Theres only one 20,000 Leagues under the Sea flick and its got Kirk f*cking Douglas waggling his chin with admirable effect all the way through it.
TeemSelami writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 2:54:43 PM

Well said Rocket if there isn't a turtle shell guitar in these I'm gonna burn down the theatre. or just yell fire.
Bunny X writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 2:56:32 PM

If Disney wants to update a film, how about they take another shot at The Black Hole? I mean the technology used in that one is sorely outdated and an update would be visually stunning. Hell, they could go 3D if they wanted to on that and I wouldn't even be upset.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 4:07:22 PM

They are doing a BH remake film Bunny.

http://www.heatvisionblog.com/2009/11/black-hole-remake-by-tron-team.html
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 4:12:10 PM

I do my own version. The homeles bum that blows johns in any public bathroom of choice will make a great nemo.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 6:55:32 PM

well from what i heard about Clash ... f*ck this film.
Man in Black writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 2:55:12 AM

where the hell is my first comment WP it was on topic !

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved