WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Robin Hood" Can't Overtake "Iron Man 2" This Weekend

Posted: May 16th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Robin Hood" CanSubmit Comment
"Iron Man 2" remained in first place at the domestic box office weekend, beating out newcomer "Robin Hood," which re-teams director Ridley Scott with his "Gladiator" star Russell Crowe.

The "Iron Man" sequel grossed another $53 million in its second week of release for a domestic total of $212 million and a worldwide total of $428 million. The domestic take is only $35 million higher than the second week results of the original "Iron Man."

"Iron Man 2" cost $200 million to make, exactly the same as "Robin Hood," which went on to gross only $37 million domestically but a whopping $74 million internationally.

Amanda Seyfried's "Letters to Juliet" secured third place with $13.8 million, while other wide release "Just Wright," starring Queen Latifah," took fourth with $8.5 million.

Click here to read our "Iron Man 2" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
CCBlev writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 3:32:42 PM

I just got back fomr seeing Robin Hood, I didn't think it was that bad. There was no way in hell that it was gonan top Iron Man 2 anyway.
Bigcheese writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 3:36:22 PM

Iron Man 2 is amazing, and from what i have heard of Robin Hood, it sounds like King Arthur meets Russel Crowes poor accent. Goning to skip it.
SofaKing writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 3:51:40 PM

How in the Phuket did Robin Hood cost 200 million bucks!? How many hookers for Crowe did they have on the payroll? I mean it was just a bunch of dudes in the woods right?
Kid_A writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 4:24:23 PM

Can somebody from US tell that is there any good or better promotion of "Robin Hood"? Because I mean "Avatar" was yelling before its release, and nothing so much about this film.
shayhiri writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 4:29:52 PM

And Iron Man 2 was just some dudes in tin suits, SofaKing, so what's your point?
trailertrash writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 4:32:00 PM

Would be nice if Iron Man held off shrek next weekend , but i dont think it will !! Still go figures though..

See Elm Street is falling fast ...
trailertrash writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 4:36:10 PM

shayhiri- sofa is taking the piss , whats your point ?!
shayhiri writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 4:38:27 PM

No he's not.

He honestly believes there's no way you could pour 200m. in a period epic.
trailertrash writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 4:46:30 PM

i'm sure he does , sofa was just curious how much of the $200 mil went on hookers that's all....
trailertrash writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 4:48:37 PM

and they made the film in the uk , they did well to keep it under $200mil , if you ask me..
Rodan writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 5:21:36 PM

@trailer, you just reminded me, your lessons on "taking the piss" and "fanny" from a few posts back proved to be very useful when I watched Layer Cake the other day.
trailertrash writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 5:36:28 PM

@roden -lol, Glad i could help , always best to have a crash course on brit talk before you watch such films as Layer Cake, Lock stock or Snatch !!!

Or you will be wondering if they are all talking a load of old pony !! lol
Wallace writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 6:07:38 PM

That 200 Mio. budget was never confirmed. It's just the greenlighted budget for the early Nottingham budget after taxes. Officially it's 155 Mio, which in my eyes, is more appropriate.

Link:

http://www.thewrap.com/ind-column/revealed-true-cost-robin-hood-237-million-17202?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+thewrap%2Flatest-news+%28The+Wrap+RSS%29
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 6:41:21 PM

I fully believe Robin Hood could cost around 150-200 mill. I didn't like, but I can't deny the fact that it looked good. Everything looked very authentic, which I can imagine take a lot of work, and then the actors probably took some nice salaries. Max von Sydow don't work for free.

@Trailer: My favourite expressions is "sh*tfaced" and "pissed". Took me a while before I realized that "pissed" meant drunk. Suddenly stuff made more sense.

@Shay: Hello Shay! Hardly didn't recognize you without Momoa's d*ck in your eye.
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 7:16:36 PM

of course robin hood cant beat iron man 2 and plus i heard robin hood sucked major balls
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 7:20:03 PM

and robin hood doesnt look bad and i kinda hate crowe but his best is gladiator but come on robert downey jr or Russell crowe hmmm rdj
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 7:58:50 PM

@Sofa - it's not really "How many Hookers did they get for Crowe."

It's more like, "How much money did they spend on bleach and Hefty bags to clean up all the dead hooker pieces after Russell Crowe gladiated them with his short-sword?"
Charlie9 writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 8:03:10 PM

Everyone always goes on about lock stock and snatch, but the earlier films that that gave the influence are better like nil by mouth, sc*m, sexy beast, love honour and obey. Admittedly all ray Winston films. I can see y it is surprising they both cost a similar amount to make tho
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 8:20:24 PM

Sandwiched between Robert Downey Jr and Amanda Seyfried ... poor Russell doesn't know who to blow first.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 8:22:12 PM

* Robert looks around wide eyed *

" Did someone say blow ? , " Robert asks.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 8:24:06 PM

Russell must feel like Lindsey Lohan's prom date that found out he got herpes, AIDS, SARS, ghonnera and syphillis ...
encoreyourface writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 8:42:05 PM

damn Iron-Man is pwning ...
encoreyourface writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 8:55:23 PM

Max-i'm guessing you aren't reading the next few pages of disease right?
SofaKing writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 9:02:59 PM

OK, lets break it down. RDJr's paycheck, Favreau's paycheck, the rest... Thats probably on par with Russell and Cate's but the CGI and the explosions and such should (in my opinion) cost a lot more than a few horse riding lessons... I have not seen the movie but I can't imagine there is anything "over the top" that makes a 200 million (Euro?) dollar price tag feasible.
victor arroyo writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 10:09:58 PM

Yesterday I saw Robin Hood and it was a piece of sh*t, It felt like the time I saw "The new World" (Colin Farrell) and I cannot believe that this is a Ridley Scott movie.

On the other hand Iron Man 2 was amazing; I would have preferred Terrence Howard for the roll of Brody, but I guess Don Cheadle was ok.


@SofaKing:

"How many hookers for Crowe did they have on the payroll?"

hahahahhahha LMAO!
SACdaddy writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 10:39:43 PM

Half of that $200m probably went up Ridley's nose.

People are really taking a sh*t on RH. Kind of reminds me of the lashing that POS Kindom of Heaven movie took when it was released. $37m opening weekend? This is not a good sign for Hood or the Alien prequels.

Excuse me for getting sidetracked, but that f*cking "space jockey" story Ridley's pitching for AP sounds extremely stupid if you ask me. Maybe RH's horrible returns will put an end to the mess Ridley's already making of Alien.
Troy Williams writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 10:46:34 PM

The idea of Robin Hood topping Ironman 2 is retarded n im not even a Marvel fan
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 10:57:03 PM

The only movie I saw this weekend was "Casino Jack and the United States of Money". Great doc*mentary about the Jack Abromoff scandal. You guys need to check this film out.

lost_addict writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 11:14:34 PM

haven't seen robin hood yet but i agree with WP review,it would have been much more interesting project as it was intended in the beginning as it was called 'nottingham' in which crowe was suppose to play both robin hood and nottingham...
jeffw1978 writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 11:34:58 PM

Just saw Iron Man 2 today, and now I am more hyped then ever for the Avengers. (Note to Marvel Please do not f*ck up Thor and Captain America in the mean time!)
Man in Black writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 12:49:37 AM

good i hope it rapes shrek next wked also
MadHatter writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 12:54:50 AM

@jeffw1978-
Yes your right. I couldn't agree with you more there. I as well, am also hyped about the next marvel movies coming out too. They are expected to be very good movies, as long as the casting is done well. I hope the casting is done well, if not, there may be a few bad things going on with the marvel movies that are yet to be made and released in theaters in the near future. Lets all hope that the people they cast for the comic book characters in the future comic book movies are actors and actresses that were born to play the roles their given before next several comic book movies that are yet to be filmed, if not the future movie comic book movies is doomed.
Affliction writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 1:46:49 AM

I believe it.... Robin Hood prob did cost 200m. I mean its expensive to do anything here in England. Believe me....When I first got here the dollar was 2 dollars to the Pound. Now its around 1.5 to the pound.
trailertrash writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 2:54:21 AM

@freaud - LOL , sh*tfaced has multiple meanings we love that saying !!

Let's face it, it's expensive to do anything in the UK and they were lucky they made that movie last year , this year with our new goverment in you can bet the budget would be been near $300mil...
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 4:34:57 AM

another thing is that robin hood was already made before and iron man hasn't been so obviously iron man couldn't be so easily beat
deeroks1 writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 2:39:58 PM

robin hood = pure trash. rather insulting. i felt for NONE of the characters.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 9:43:14 PM

From what I heard on the reviews, Russell owes everyone their ticket price back ... maybe he can do a symbol of goodwill and pay off the producers of The Hurt Locker

Nope. Don't bet on both.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved