WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Field of Dreams" House and Field for Sale

Posted: May 16th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Field of Dreams" House and Field for SaleSubmit Comment
In the 1989 movie "Field of Dreams," Kevin Costner builds a baseball diamond out of a corn field. Now the owners (Don and Becky Lansing) of the site where the field was built by Universal Studios are selling the property. The asking price is $5.4 million.

The baseball diamond is in the middle of a cornfield in eastern Iowa and along with the rest of the site, it is a popular tourist destination. Over 65,000 visitors come to the farm each year to buy t-shirts and post-cards, and also the chance to play some ball.

Up for sale is the diamond, a two-bedroom house, six outbuildings that include a concession stand, and a 193-acre parcel. The land includes the mystical cornfield where the ghosts of "Shoeless" Joe Jackson, "Moonlight" Graham and others emerge to play ball.

The site has already received a number of inquiries, with some people thinking of putting up a hotel, water park and even a minor league ballpark on the farm.

Photos: (click to enlarge)


Source: The Associated Press


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
encoreyourface writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 4:29:18 AM

so?
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 4:45:57 AM

If you sell it, they will come
CCBlev writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 8:42:53 AM

@Encore
Can you loan me 5 bucks so I can buy it?
CCBlev writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 8:45:02 AM

"it is a popular tourist destination. Over 65,000 visitors come to the farm each year"
So that many comes and see Lady Gaga's dong every year, is she a tourist attraction as well? Think not!
TheStig writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 11:06:02 AM

God you guys are stupid. This movie is phenomenal and the fact that they are selling is also far more relevant movie news than a lot of the headlines on here.
rabid writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 11:53:11 AM

phenomenal for an 80s film.
I have a hard time believing that there are that many people visitng this place every year. Sounds like something they made up for the sale.
or are they counting spectators at a softball game?
Ranger writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 12:33:33 PM

@TheStig - this movie is one of my all-time fav's. But I don't see where any of the comments on here are slamming the movie. They're talking about the sale of the property... so, what's your beef?

As to the article, Moonlight Graham (if memory serves) never emerged from the corn to play ball. He walked onto the field as a rookie, then stepped off to save the girl. So Associated Press... suck it!
trailertrash writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 1:08:01 PM

Good film !!

It was nice to have seen Burt Lancaster on the big screen in his final cinema release, by the way...
Ranger writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 1:11:56 PM

Yeah... he was amazing! GREAT casting call to get him into that flick!
Ranger writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 1:15:03 PM

... well, either low and away, or in my ear!

Look, he doesn't want to load the bases, so look for low and away... but watch out for in your ear!
trailertrash writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 1:34:28 PM

haha , This has inspired me , we were going to watch Mystic River, but now we are watching field of dreams instead !! lol
Ranger writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 2:05:10 PM

Nice.
Ranger writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 2:06:03 PM

James Earl Jones was also brilliant (as usual) in this.
trailertrash writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 2:16:24 PM

As you said great cast , and a young (ish) ray liotta as well, a year later he would play Henry hill what a contrast in characters lol
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 8:29:17 PM

@trailer

Loved Ray in this film. I would have paid the director to be Ray's fluffer in this movie.

Joking! (Not really)
encoreyourface writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 8:44:00 PM

CC-sure why not,lol.
Blank x2 writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 9:34:06 PM

Nice job being swift, WP. ESPN only beat you to this story by about THREE days.
CCBlev writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 11:00:11 PM

@Encore
Awesome, then I can take the 3.50 iIget back and buy a porno mag and jack off on my new front porch, awesome, thanks bud.
vwkombi writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 3:55:11 AM

So i take it Field of Dreams is worth checking out?

I've never seen it.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 4:08:05 AM

CC-can we do a back-to-back? OH PLEASE CAN WE DO A BACK-TO-BACK!?!?!!
trailertrash writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 5:25:19 AM

@Horror- LOL !!!

@vwkombi - well worth checking out !It's like the sort film's they used to make back in the Golden age of hollywood , make a nice change..
Ranger writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 12:55:13 PM

Field of Dreams has Shawshank-class casting and story.
minkowski writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 2:51:07 PM

One of the most boring movies in the entire known filmatic universe. Intellectually, emotionally and cinematically drier than Tutankhamen's crotch.

For two f*cking hours, Costner plays 'find my d*ck' on his porch, deciding whether to 'build' a baseball diamond. I say build, because all you do is clear the f*cking ground of grass. Lots of work THERE, right?

It takes him TWO solid hours to make a decision, all because dead people talk to him in the most mind-numbingly boring possible way.

(Costner is defintely NOT the guy to make snap judges, hence his role as advisor during the film 13 Days. Had he played the president, the whole world would have suffered nuclear meltdown while he decided on either french fries or mashed potatoes as a lunchtime side dish.)

Finally, Costner does what he should've done a billion years hence (I guess, considering how well the film drains your who-gives-a-damn reservoir of emotions) and a bunch of really old dead guys show up and play baseball, which also happens to be the world's most boring sport.

Yeah, I know, this is supposed to be about the connection between father and son, I think, but there are far, far better movies that broach this topic with far more wit, humor, action, drama and style. Hell, The Weather Man is a hell of a lot more watchable.

And if you want a better Costner flick, hell, DragonFly is defintely a superior film by far.

I cannot imagine just what the f*ck people saw in Field of Dreams. It's like Driving Miss Daisy and Fried GRFeen Tomatoes for old men with bowel obstructions.
Ranger writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 4:03:03 PM

lol... I haven't seen neither Driving Ms. Daisy (which I originally thought was a porn... thank God Tandy and Freeman didn't 'get it on!'), or Fried Green Tomato's.

I think FoD's holds different interest for some depending on their personal history. It was a calm, kind movie, about a guilt-ridden son getting a 2nd. chance to amend things with with passed father.

Still on of my fav's.
trailertrash writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 5:43:32 PM

Shawkshank Redemption Top Film !!

And JFK just while we are talking kevin costner love that movie also !!

@mink- I'm with you on Driving miss daisy and Fried green tomatos (have been forced to watch both) , But FoD is a good movie just not to everyone's taste i guess , Dragonfly though, had to turn that movie off that was poor ...
encoreyourface writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 4:20:20 AM

again nice post Mink
billofill writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 5:14:57 PM

Another IOWA film location ruined by tourism.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved