WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

David Fincher to Direct "20,000 Leagues Under the Sea"

Posted: May 16th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
David Fincher to Direct "20,000 Leagues Under the Sea"Submit Comment
Director McG (Terminator Salvation) has been working on a new "20,000 Leagues Under the Sea" movie, which Disney eventually cancelled. Everyone thought that was the end of the story, but it has now been announced that the studio is in negotiations with David Fincher to direct and Scott Burns (Bourne Ultimatum) to write a new take on the classic Jules Verne tale.

The project came together after Fincher approached Disney this winter, wanting to work on a big blockbuster movie, somewhat of a departure from the dark, R-rated dramas such as "Fight Club" and "Zodiac" that he's done in the past.

Last year, Disney was fast-tracking a $150 million "Leagues" that would have served as an origin story for Captain Nemo. But the project was the first of several to be cancelled by the studio after President Dick Cook was fired. Ironically, given Fincher's involvement, the dark tone of the McG version was a concern for the new regime.

While the plot is being kept a secret, the Fincher take on the material is described as being in the vein of "Star Wars" or "The Empire Strikes Back." It will aim to be visually dazzling.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
encoreyourface writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 4:28:16 AM

isn't there a book by the same name?
dissident187 writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 4:46:43 AM

After Curious Case, I've lost faith in Fincher.

Has anyone seen the Asylum version?
trailertrash writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 5:12:00 AM

I didn't mind Curious Case , Its his new movie about facebook, that seems more of a worry !!

encoreyourface writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 5:32:15 AM

facebook can go get raped anally by a f*cking semi ...
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 5:44:07 AM

I didn't like Benjamin Button and I really don't look forward to the Facebook-movie, so I should be worried about this. But if we are in speaking baseballterms, even if you have two strikes, you can still hit a homerun on your third try (you have three chances, right?)
trailertrash writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 6:23:58 AM

3rd times a charm so they say !!
CCBlev writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 8:37:32 AM

@trailer
Thats what Gay Bay is saying bout Transformers 3, "3rd time is a charm." and look how thats turning out.
trailertrash writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 10:43:33 AM

@cc- COC dad said that when he brought of his 2 man friends round with him on gang bang tuesday's !!!!
trailertrash writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 10:47:51 AM

Sorry that was 3rd c*cks a charm !!
darkraven28 writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 11:04:24 AM

I can see Fincher doing something in the style of Empire Strikes Back. Remember that that's the f*cked up Star Wars movie where all the bad sh*t happens to our heroes and the Dark Side wins. "Dark Side Wins" is David Fincher's f*cking middle name.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 11:20:43 AM

I don't think Fincher would go for sloppy seconds ... especially if they were given first to McG(agReflex Boy)
CCBlev writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 2:21:54 PM

@Trailer
Thats how he likes it, 1 in the mouth and 2 in the pooper.
dougieperzo writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 2:25:09 PM

dissident187

give curious case a chance at first i thought same as you after a couple viewings I grew to find a much deeper and touching movie
SACdaddy writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 10:48:25 PM

So is David Fincher officially the biggest sellout in Hollywood now? He's one Jolie film away from being kicked of the island if you ask me.
MadHatter writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 12:23:01 AM

I have a feeling that Johnny Depp is going to be in this movie, for a reason i can not explain. Don't get me wrong though, because i do think Johnny Depp is a good actor.
Aaron writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 2:42:04 AM

Yeah, what a sellout.

Fincher should make it a point to do seven and fight club clones for the rest of his career. Just. to please. YOU.

SACdaddy writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 10:31:51 AM

^^You are absolutely correct sir :)
SACdaddy writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 11:05:18 AM

"Yeah, what a sellout.

Fincher should make it a point to do seven and fight club clones for the rest of his career. Just. to please. YOU."

LOL!!! This is so funny coming from a poster with a Lost Highway avatar. That is exactly why I still respect David Lynch. He knows what he's good at and he keeps delivering without having this need to do something flashy and studio driven. He must have learned his lesson with Dune way back in the day.

Actually when you step back and look at Fincher's career, you realize that Seven and Fight Club are the only rights in a sea of wrongs. Alien 3, Curious Case, and Panic Room are clear examples of what happens to DF when he goes commercial. So when I hear he's replacing a sh*tty director like McGay and bringing a much lighter (more Disney) tone to a film that could have a sh*tload of potential in a darker text, its hard not to think he's fallen off the deep end never to return.
Aaron writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 2:47:10 AM

You skipped Zodiac.
I hardly remember Panic Room, so I'll give you that.
Facebook sounds like an interesting story to me.
Fincher and 20,000 leagues makes me think of "The Abyss" which i'm all for.

I'm not arguing for studio driven drivel - I'm saying that where you see sellout, I see a director who does wan't to turn into George A Romero.
Aaron writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 2:56:25 AM

*doesn't want
SACdaddy writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 12:46:04 AM

I skipped Zodiac because I felt like Fincher tried to get back to his roots only to find out he had no mojo left in the tank. A serial killer that just shoots people is lame by today's standards even if it was a true story. Even RDJ couldn't make that snoozefest interesting.
Aaron writes:
on May 19th, 2010 at 3:09:09 PM

I see.
There's no accounting for taste (on either my part or yours.)

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved