WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Oliver Stone on "Wall Street 3," Plus First "Wall Street 2" Reviews

Posted: May 15th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Oliver Stone on "Wall Street 3," Plus First "Wall Street 2" ReviewsSubmit Comment
THR caught up with director Oliver Stone at the Cannes Film Festival to ask about his "Wall Street" sequel and whether he is planning to develop a third installment.

"Why not? We left it open at the end in a way on which we can hang a 'Wall Street 3,'" said Stone. "We'll have Gekko (Michael Douglas) back and maybe Josh Brolin, too."

"Wall Street 2: Money Never Sleeps" has already made its premiere and the first reviews are in.

The Guardian: Money looks like it's dozing a little here: my advice is "sell."

Mirror: "Wall Street 2" is a proper return to form for Stone and Douglas, and comes just at the right time to tell its story. Gordon Gekko is back.

Movieline: Perhaps the most interest generated by the film wasn’t its acting or writing (both solidly mediocre), but simply in the timing.

THR: One of the better sequels in a long time.

Hollywood-Elsewhere: Moves along nicely for the first 75% to 80% of its running time -- not brilliantly but sufficiently, offering a more-or-less decent ride. And then it blows itself up during the last 25 minutes or so.

IndieWire: The movie pops in and out of satirizing and referencing itself and trying to create an authentic drama. And yet it moves along entertainingly, even if the resolution seems Hollywood pat.

Source: Reuters


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SamuelClayton writes:
on May 14th, 2010 at 10:56:41 PM

I'm happy to see critics appreciating the schlock appeal of Wall Street 2, since that was essentially the only lasting value of the original film. How Michael Douglas won an Oscar for such an absurd performance continues to amaze me.
Troy Williams writes:
on May 14th, 2010 at 11:08:04 PM

I have to see wall street again cant see a sequal if the 1st isent fresh in my head, Glad this movies apprently good.
Ranger writes:
on May 14th, 2010 at 11:08:43 PM

So... blah, then?
Ranger writes:
on May 14th, 2010 at 11:10:46 PM

@Samuel - clearly it was his 'greed' speech, and maybe a lame(ish) year for competition.

@Troy - and I had a different take from the reviews. I'm a HUGE fan of the first movie... but this reads (from the 'critics'... gag) to me, pretty much as I suspected/expected.
TeemSelami writes:
on May 14th, 2010 at 11:30:20 PM

I'd see it if it was called Falling Down
SamuelClayton writes:
on May 14th, 2010 at 11:30:46 PM

Yeah, I was thinking the same thing the minute I hit the "Submit Comment" button. But that was just one really good monologue among a big slice of overcooked ham. Perhaps it was just a weak year.

Still, it was a shame to see it recognized over unnominated work from Steve Martin (Roxanne), Nicolas Cage (Raising Arizona), Christian Bale (Empire of the Sun), or Gaspard Manesse (Au revoir, les enfants).
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 15th, 2010 at 12:26:58 AM

saw parts of the first one and will buy or rent it before this one comes out
Kurskij writes:
on May 15th, 2010 at 12:34:48 AM

"And then it blows itself up during the last 25 minutes or so"

So... average COC's tuesday then?

But, seriously, how can you go wrong with Gordon Gekko? You can't. You can make it worse than the origina, but hey, the original is the
"the one and only", just like COC's dad for the bitch.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 15th, 2010 at 2:00:17 AM

not exactly coming to a surprise it didn't look all that interesting. maybe the first is better still yet to see it
trailertrash writes:
on May 15th, 2010 at 2:52:13 AM

@encore- first movie is very good , you have alot of good movie to watch my friend !!

@sam- ranger - greed is good speach is classic !!

sam if they wanted to go with the big slice of overcooked ham , They would have given it to Robin Williams that year for good morning vietnam (i did liked that movie , though)...
trailertrash writes:
on May 15th, 2010 at 2:54:31 AM

Wish they would drop that subtitle money never sleeps , makes it sound a bit like a TV movie ...
SofaKing writes:
on May 15th, 2010 at 5:27:01 AM

I hate when the reviews use the title as a play on words:

The Guardian: Money looks like it's dozing a little here: my advice is "sell."

I feel like they give the movie the review that makes them look witty and clever but I find it annoying.

The Sofaking: This movie hits the wall and needs to be scraped off the street blah blah blah I'm a prick.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 15th, 2010 at 8:30:25 AM

Haven't seen the first, but I'm aware of the monologue. Angerfist used it as a sample in a sweet tune.
supaflywill writes:
on May 15th, 2010 at 3:08:16 PM

thats bone !
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 15th, 2010 at 6:27:18 PM

This sounds like Oliver Stone on Autopilot ... unless Gordon's character is taking a cleaver to the skull of Shia LaDouche's character like Rorsharch popping open that pedohphile's cranium like a ripe grapefruit, I'll pass.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 15th, 2010 at 6:29:46 PM

I hope this blows major chunks and is a diarrhea exposition on screen.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 15th, 2010 at 6:30:50 PM

Oliver ... Exhibit A : W.

You are in contempt, sir!
Ranger writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 3:06:48 AM

@Freudian - see the first one!

@Sofa - you're not a prick... lol. You're right... it'll be pretty hard for 'Money never sleeps!' (ugh!) to top the magic the first movie had.

@Max - ditto. Same comment... can't see this have the same Killer Gekko magic. A cameo by Charlie?! C'mon!

And Stone on autopilot... well said.
darkraven28 writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 3:45:38 PM

The best thing about Oliver Stone is that impersonation that John McGinley does of him. That's GOLD. As for his movies, he hasn't done anything of interest since U-Turn (a.k.a. the movie J. Lo hates the most because it's the only one where she's used properly) or Any Given Sunday, which was awesome.

Either way, I'm a late blooming fan of mostly Early Oliver Stone work.

Salvador
Platoon
Talk Radio
JFK
NBK
UTurn
Any Given Sunday

I could watch any of the ones in that last every single day and love them still. They're mostly great. But WTF happened to him?
darkraven28 writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 3:47:02 PM

Crap. I meant "in that list". Damn fingers.
Dre-EL writes:
on May 18th, 2010 at 3:42:44 PM

I think for this i'll wait till it hits video.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved