WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Hurt Locker" Producers to Sue Thousands of BitTorrent Users

Posted: May 13th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Hurt Locker" Producers to Sue Thousands of BitTorrent UsersSubmit Comment
Producers of "The Hurt Locker" are putting together a massive lawsuit against tens of thousands of people who downloaded the film illegally online. The suit will mostly target BitTorrent users.

"The Hurt Locker" first leaked onto the web more than five months before its US release last June, and was a hot item in peer-to-peer circles after it won six Oscars in March. Despite all the recognition, the film grossed only $16 million in the US.

Internet Service Providers must turn over their records in an effort to match IP addresses of the users. According to lawyers, 75% of providers have cooperated fully. Others are simply taking time to hand over the names.

After individuals who have illegally downloaded the film are found, the US Copyright Group will send a modest settlement offer. Those who don't settle, will be sent another round of offers. If that's rejected again, the group promises to then serve lawsuits.

Source: THR

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 74 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Troy Williams writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 5:27:58 AM

f*ck it, thats wht they get for stealin sh*t. Theres always somthing gaff about bootleg movies anyway even if they're HD or w/e...y am i awake right now.
RepoMan20 writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 5:28:40 AM

aw hell
Ted Mosby writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 5:39:09 AM

thank god I own the DVD
trailertrash writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 5:41:52 AM

Never Down loaded never will !!
VDODSON writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 5:47:50 AM

jigsaw23 writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 5:48:49 AM

nope well nope
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 5:57:47 AM

I downloaded The Hurt Locker. Why did I do that? It didn't go up in any theatre near me and it was released on DVD a month ago. So, yeah, I downloaded.
But I don't see why chase the downloaders so furiously, when it would be easier to check out your own security. I'm not talking about cam-version, because only retards watch those and they doesn't count, but how does DVDrips come out before the DVD itself is released? Somewhere along the productionline someone took a copy and released it. Couldn't this be prevented by some tightened security?
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 6:25:51 AM

Messing with people on the net is a bad bad thing.

This will bring their own type of 'Hurt Locker' to the producers.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 7:53:49 AM

it was online 5 MONTHS before it was available anywhere else! find the moron that leaked it and claw your money back from him! Wouldnt worry too much Freud, pretty sure it wont be a world wide thing, too many conflicting privacy laws in other countries, most providers would tell them to get f*cked. I do watch downloaded movies, usually AFTER i go to the cinema to see them and BEFORE i BUY them on DVD or bluray, should i be sued? i also see so much crap that i would have been angry at spending money on!! you wouldnt buy a car without a test drive, unless its a porsche then you know what your getting (most of the time)
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 8:40:30 AM

@Ayt: I ain't worried. They passed some laws last year to making it easier for the companies to hunt down those who downloaded. It has so far ended in zero convictions and zero trials. I'm not too worried.
And I bet I pay to go the theatres more than they do, what is my crime there? And any I download that I feel is good, I'll later buy. So I feel I contribute with more money than they.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 8:54:39 AM

@Freud - Same here and as for the crap that i see that i dont go out and buy! well they should be trying harder and not bringing out second rate crap! lol
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 8:56:42 AM

Lol good luck with that f*ck tards!
trailertrash writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 9:11:14 AM

Sometimes i wish i had watched a free/illegal download of a movie (the last final destination and the box spring to mind lately)

That would have saved me a fortune on some of the crap i have brought over the years !!
rabid writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 9:24:15 AM

Hollywood is so freakin butthert that they can't come up with a new business model. If they aren't prepared for business in the 21st century, then they shouldn't release their film.
Besides, Hurt Locker didn't show in theatres around here.
I rip movies all the time. If someone can't control their product, it's hardly my fault.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 9:37:32 AM

on a side note i went to see the Foo Fighters live and they told everyone there to get hold of the new CD and didnt care if we downloaded it or got it from a friend as long as we enjoyed it, cos they love what they do for the fans! listen up hollywood! you will still make your money but dont attack fans!
drshakalou writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 9:45:53 AM

never gonna stick
SACdaddy writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 9:50:04 AM

HL made $16 because of it limited release and lack of advertisement. It showed at one arthouse theater here in Austin, TX. I saw the movie online in DVD quality months before its release, but I didn't have to download it. It was obviously a studio leak. They'll probably just end up blaming some Mexican again like they did with Wolverine.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 10:25:13 AM

Good luck with that.

I'm still gonna download my music for free. I hate itunes.
Projekt SHIN writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 10:35:41 AM

nothing is gonna happen....

and the producers need to stop acting all butt hurt about it... the movie won oscars awards.... that should be a director and producers main GOAL... the art of the movie itself... NOT the cash value... greedy faggots

I honestly wouldn't have watched the hurt locker... even after the recognition.. unless it was for free.. on my computer.... but because i did.. i'm buying the blu ray... getting the picture here?? it does more good then harm... so they need to STFU

besides.. i always D/L on my laptop... using WiFi elsewhere bitches
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 10:36:18 AM

I found this if it helps, y'all.

'Hurt Locker' producers about to sue an army of pirates
Tue May 11, 2010 @ 12:41PM PST
By Eriq Gardner

EXCLUSIVE: The war against movie piracy is getting downright explosive. We've learned that the producers of the Oscar-winning "The Hurt Locker" are preparing a massive lawsuit against thousands of individuals who pirated the film online. The case could be filed as soon as tomorrow.

Voltage Pictures, the banner behind the best picture winner, has signed up with the U.S. Copyright Group, the Washington D.C.-based venture that, as we first reported in March, has begun a litigation campaign targeting tens of thousands of BitTorrent users.
According to Thomas Dunlap, a lawyer at the firm, the multi-million dollar copyright infringement lawsuit should be filed this week. He declines to say exactly how many individuals will be targeted, but expect the number to be in the tens of thousands, if not more. "Locker" first leaked onto the web more than five months before its U.S. release and was a hot item in P2P circles after it won six Oscars in March. Despite the accolades, the film grossed only about $16 million in the U.S.

The U.S. Copyright Group has already filed lawsuits over about 10 other films, including Uwe Boll's "Far Cry," "Call of the Wild 3D" and "Uncross the Stars." Reports of those suits raised alarms in some circles, whereas others joked that the movie industry was merely suing those with poor taste.

"You can guess that relative to the films we've pursued already, the order of magnitude is much higher" with "Hurt Locker," says Dunlap, adding that the lawsuit will also cover other Voltage pictures such as "Personal Effects," starring Ashton Kutcher.
If the addition of "Locker" to this litigation campaign could shake things up, so too could news about cooperation by ISPs in this escalating fight.
After filing the lawsuits, the plaintiffs must subpoena ISP records in an effort to match IP addresses with illicit behavior on BitTorrent.
According to lawyers at Dunlap's firm, 75 percent of ISPs have cooperated fully. Those that have resisted are mostly doing so, they say, because of the amount of work involved in handing over thousands of names. But the clock may be ticking. For example, in the lawsuit over "Far Cry," Comcast has until next Wednesday to file motions to quash subpoenas. (Here's the stipulation by the parties.) By the end of next week, thousands of Comcast subscribers could be turned over.

Of the some 50,000 individuals who have been sued thus far, only three have tried to quash the subpoena. In one instance, a Georgia man tried to invoke the state's shield law protecting journalists from having to disclose their sources. The judge denied the motion. In another instance, a woman successfully got a court to throw out the subpoena because her IP address wasn't listed in the original complaint. Unfortunately for her, the complaint was then amended.
After unmasking individuals who have illegally downloaded films, the U.S. Copyright Group then sends a settlement offer.
Lawyers at the firm are seeing some returns on the first two lawsuits filed back in January. About 40 percent have settled, according to the U.S. Copyright Group. Those who haven't settled will be sent another round of settlement offers, and the group promises to eventually serve lawsuits on these individuals.
Since we first broke news about the litigation campaign, Dunlap says he's been besieged by e-mails from 20 to 30 independent film groups that have expressed frustration about rampant piracy and interest in joining up. The firm plans to send people to this month's Festival de Cannes, where they've already arranged meetings with a number of other film producers to discuss further lawsuits.
Affliction writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 10:45:59 AM

Hahahaha... Get the f*ck out of my face. I would knock you off the earth if you came at me with this BS. hahahahaha....

The producers are getting sued by the men depicted in this film. and now they want to sue others so they can make that money back.....

Once again....hahahahahaha
SACdaddy writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 10:51:45 AM

So who are they gonna blame for Hurt Locker's dismal dvd sales? I still think that's a very mediocre film that would have made more money if it was worth a sh*t. Just an opinion though.

Mister Pickles writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 10:52:51 AM

oh, yeah. cause this worked soo well the last time around.
Mister Pickles writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 10:52:51 AM

oh, yeah. cause this worked soo well the last time around.
rabid writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 11:04:20 AM

hahahaha they're also sueing people who downloaded FarCry.
ian_918 writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 11:18:08 AM

It aint gonna help.. lol.
otis writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 11:18:39 AM

@ Max
"Since we first broke news about the litigation campaign, Dunlap says he's been besieged by e-mails from 20 to 30 independent film groups that have expressed frustration about rampant piracy and interest in joining up"

Thanks for sharing that tidbit Max. I'm sure James Cameron is one of those producing entities, because he hasn't raped us of enough money.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 11:19:21 AM

This is why you use PeerGuardian to block your IP address from being tracked.
jeffw1978 writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 11:20:41 AM

There is a reason I stopped Downloading movies (except porn) a while back, and I think I am starting to remember why.
trailertrash writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 11:21:19 AM

and Call of the Wild , they should be happy at least some people are seeing these movies !!!! albeit for free...
AYT BALL writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 11:36:48 AM

@ rabid - Should be slapped not sued! lol
ChainsawX writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 11:57:44 AM

The irony of this was the fact that the hurt locker wasnt worth watching let alone downloading
triggax writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 12:17:37 PM

f*ck the hurt locker..

I tried and tried to get summit to release me a reel of this film and they didn't ever even get back to me.

Perhaps if they were more keen on putting the film out they would have made more money... It was a totally undeserving film...

Summit distribution kind of sucks lately, money wise, i can almost understand.. But honestly, those f*ckers released twilight... and new moon.. they should be doing okay i would think...

Either way.. I downloaded the f*cking piss out of this movie... dvd rip.. 720 rip.. then eventually a 1080 blu ray... I live in Canada without all of the retarded americans that just sue everyone constantly over everything... so good luck trying me for sh*t... I f*cking download everything... if its good.. ill try and get a reel while its out.. if its really good ill buy the film when its released on dvd... Hurt Lockers was mediocre at best...
lost_addict writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 12:23:51 PM

All those iraq movies don't interest anyone...take "The green zone"...it had everything-Big Budget and the winning team of Damon+shaky cam Greengrass...result?FLOP!it wouldn't matter sh*t if there wasn't a pirate copy 5 months before...'the hurt locker' is a b movie with no star power and deals with iraq...WHO THE f*ck WANTS TO SEE IT?
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 12:44:03 PM

This is why I buy my pirate DVDs from the little Chinese lady that wonders into my local pub.
lost_addict writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 12:47:37 PM

you mean that cop that works undercover as a chinese lady?
Ranger writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 1:13:00 PM

I'll give Kathryn Bigelow $10. right now if she blew me ($12. if she swallowed).

$20. if she gave up her bum.

$25. if she called me 'Stallion' whilst doing it.
trailertrash writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 1:28:21 PM

Big jim wants 50% of any money Kathryn earns though sexual favours !!
Bunny X writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 1:44:42 PM

With NetFlix and the others around, it was recently so much more easier and more convenient to just rent a movie rather than buy it. Especially with BluRay prices still up there. Only if a movie is one of those epic films like Avatar or Lord Of The Rings etc, people just aren't buying much anymore
As much as I liked The Hurt Locker, it's not a movie I'd buy. Sure I'd eventually watch it again at some point but not frequently enough to own a copy.
And now with NetFlix and Warner Bros in bed together to screw over everyone...(Sherlock Holmes JUST came in the mail a week ago)
the whole joy of renting has a foot in it's ass.
WB made the move to only allow rentals one month AFTER their DVD release because their sales were hurting. But do they honestly think that will help? Sure they snag a few of those "gotta see it now" folks but most of them saw the movie in the theaters anyway so even that number is lower.

The rest of us will just wait the time out until they become available to rent or go to on demand because it's just not worth buying a copy outright regardless of the tactics they use.
TimTimMcgumis writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 2:19:33 PM

if the modest settlement is the price of a theater ticket, then I'll pay up.
Ranger writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 2:30:18 PM

If payment c*ms with an 8x10 nude glossy of Kathryn Bigelow (no worries... I'll apply the gloss!)!
thetheeyecreature writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 2:32:50 PM

Glad somebody is going after thieves.
TeemSelami writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 2:49:09 PM

I am glad I didn't waste my time with that movie
rabid writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 3:12:04 PM

these people that get caught are all using bit torrent. Why download it when you can just stream the movie faster and never have it in your possession?
Lowryder writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 3:24:28 PM

lol i download movies all the time, but the hurt locker is one of the few i didnt download =D glad to know that i wont be gettin anything in the mail from the us copyright f*ckers
AYT BALL writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 3:42:39 PM

@ TimTimMcgumis - i wont talk about the disgusting price of a cinema outing or the price a dvd when they cost only pennies to mass produce.....but if i PAY to see it at the cinema, then download it in the 4-5 months it takes to come out on bluray, then i go and BUY the bluray.....im a thief am i??? only thieves out there are the f*ckers putting 80% mark up on the discs when they hit the shops!
AYT BALL writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 4:22:26 PM

MY BAD, above comment was @ thetheeyecreature, sorry tim
trailertrash writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 5:07:16 PM

@ayt- I agree with what you said my friend , But it's the studios who earn the money out of the dvd's , blu rays and cd's in the stores not the retailer i can tell you.

I used to be involved in a chain of music/dvd stores around essex and london, and we used to pay 10.89 (rrp 15.99) or 13.61 (rrp 19.99)for a new release dvd, you could get a little discount on those price's 10-20 % but you still had tax to pay on that, the mark up is terrible because you always had to cut the RRP to sell the film in the end you would earn about a 1 out of each dvd.

So with all your overheads that come with having a shop ,it was bloody hard to earn a living out of selling dvd's and add to that stores like Tesco and Asda's selling films at cost price or less (using them as lost leaders to get people in their stores)and the birth of the internet (which is now the cheapest way to legally get your music and movies) , all the small stores have slowly gone from the highstreet, only really HMV remains and they are struggling.

It's the film companys who make and distribute the dvds or cd's who earn the most money out of the product.

Thats what makes this story a joke ,if they weren't so greedy and maybe change their prices to reflect the change that has happened over the last 10 years in the way we buy our music and films , people might not be so quick to illegally download their movies and music all the time. (maybe lol )

That's just my opinion on the matter anyway..
Ranger writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 5:08:52 PM

@AYT - you're an artist. And you know me well enough to take my comments in the right light.

You are saying cinema ticket prices are high... but you still pay (so they're fair in your eyes).

You say you pay here, but not there, and pay there again, so it should be OK. But you are choosing the when and where, the producer's of the art that is The Hurt Locker (in this example) are not.

You wouldn't like someone scabbing off your work and not paying you. Would you?

You're just justifying that these BIG Hollywood Producers are in a (financial) position to lighten up. But who decides where that line of enlightening is to be... based on your finances or theirs? A

And if they did loosen up, budged even an inch, you and I KNOW that would be the inch, then the public would want the mile.

You'd be as protective of your work were you at their level. And every 1 degree of business means millions of $'s (to produce more, to do more of what you love to do). Let's be honest.

Ranger writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 5:11:31 PM

And that post isn't only directed towards AYT - I just know he has the stone to take it and hear my thoughts on it. But it does apply to anyone that thinks theft (in ANY form) is OK.

Sure getting a free copy of a movie seems kewl, if/when you do it. That's one less seat in the theater to pay the salaries for those involved in the kinds of productions you're ripping off. So HOW do they make up for that lost/stolen revenue? They RAISE ticket prices at the theater.

The rich never lose out. The poorer ALWAYS pay. Keep f*cking with the rich, and you'll pay even more. You don't have to like it... it's just a fact of life.
Ranger writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 5:11:53 PM

stone = stones (ugh!).
AYT BALL writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 5:27:09 PM

@ Trailer - Sorry man totally agree with you there, think i worded it badly, i meant the studios when i said they mark it up to send it to the retailers. And ive been saying for years, if they brought out a DVD/Bluray (lets say for arguement it costs them 1 to produce each disc) stick on 3 which is all profit, retailer sticks on another 2, we get awesome movies for 6 with nice glossy covers, everyones making money and illegal downloads would drop dramatically!! we would all prefer the real deal with all the extras etc!

But no, they all want more! Like one guy said if they come knocking on our doors and sue us, they should sue us for the price of a cinema ticket!! but no, again all about the money.

I remember a few years back at my local shopping mall, HMV was having price war with OUR PRICE, each week the DVDs and CDs were being cut lower and lower, got down to about 7! it was great, then our price went bust and HMV went back up to 15! lol no lesson learned, everyone should have paid attention to that little battle, sales went through the roof!
Ranger writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 5:34:10 PM

@AYT - the price war was because they were headed for receivership, knew it... and only went down little by little to grab the max. cash they could.

And everything in life IS about the money, everything and always.

I'm VERY familiar with manufacturing... the $'s you're quoting are WAY, WAY off for what a DVD costs to produce. What's in that 'cost'? Actor's salaries, marketing (in the 10's of millions of $'s), insurance against set injuries, lawsuits, lawyers, agents, publicists, printers, distribution, everyone taking 100%++ margins. And why sell something for so cheap when people are ALREADY paying the prices for theater seats and Blu-Ray disks? WHY lower them if people are paying in #'s that make the studio happy.

I'd rather sell 20 million Avatar DVD's at $25. and sell out, and willing to make more if the market indicates that, rather than have to make 100 million of the f*cking things and sell them for only $5. - it's MORE work... why?

The studios, and gas companies and what you pay for groceries - those prices aren't determined by those producing them... they're decided by the consumer and what they're willing to pay. The buying PUBLIC is the place to point a finger.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 5:36:34 PM

@ Ranger - lol its cool man, for the record im no master downloader or anything, and i love going to the movies and i own two ROOMS full of DVDs and a loft full of VHS, they have made their money of me! just wanna make that clear, but alot of movies i download dont even come out over here! the movie INK for example, was NOWHERE over here and there was a big buzz online over it, so much so that it became IMDBs highest downloaded movie at the time, the makers even went online and thanked everyone for the priceless exposure to their small movie, they of course urged everyone to buy it if they liked it, and thats exactly what i did, directly from them via their own website. My point is not every movie is WORTH going to see at the movies, a night out at the flicks with food costs me about 20!!!! so should i go pay that for every movie? or save that for special ones that really grab my interest? if they want asses in seats they need to market movies better, I did a better marketing job for kick-ass than the studio did in my area, i was telling everyone to go see it and no one knew what the hell it was or even that it was on the cinema! But i went to see it, ive downloaded a DVD rip since then and when its out on bluray im happy to go buy it, cos it past the "im a quality movie" test, not many movies do these days, make better movies, lower your prices and kill piracy, simple :-)
AYT BALL writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 5:44:24 PM

@ Ranger - The prices i mentioned werent quotes, i know the rough cost of physically producing CDs and DVDs, its actually alot less than i mentioned and i know im cutting alot of other incurred costs out in my generalisation, but the studios should not be counting the profit from DVD sales to cover budget and salaries etc. If you have a quality movie then market it right and good things will happen, asses in seats and i huge kick back from DVD sales, if you have a piece of sh*t movie and you market it smartly and fool people into handing over their money at the cinema, then f*ck you guys, you dont deserve money from DVD sales and hope you all learn a harsh lesson, try harder, produce better movies and dont treat us paying customers like idiots.

I never have and never will say downloadings cool you should all go do it, but i truely believe i am no thief, if they make a movie i enjoy, they will get my money, if they dont then they would never get my money weather i download it or not.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 5:47:22 PM

and i do agree we consumers are mostly to blame for letting them charge us that much! which is why every so often a nice little "f*ck you" via an illegal download doesnt make me lose any sleep! lol
Ranger writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 5:49:03 PM

@AYT - good post buddy.

And you also know... the more they market a movie (= $'s) the more (again) you'll pay to see it, buy it... etc.

I like to stay 6-9 months behind on my movies. By then... I've heard all the pros/cons of a movie, then I'll decide. It's either on the movie channel (that I already pay for) by then, or the 'previously enjoyed' DVD's are on sale. Like Inglorious Basterds - didn't pay to see it in the theaters... just awaited a cheap DVD copy and bought it. Pay once, have it forever.

You're a good sh*t my friend.

And for the record (not giving up my location) - 2 people in my area, Avatar - 3D IMAX with a FEW snacks from the concession stand (drink each, popcorn, a couple of candy bars) = $75. - but we paid, so we were ok with the transaction. So it was almost 3 hours of distraction from our everyday lives... for what things cost today, I was ok with that.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 6:02:18 PM

@ Ranger - lol ive got a mate that does exactly the same, waits and waits then goes and picks up like 4 DVDs for 20! me personally if i like a movie, Kick ass for example, i CANT wait to see it again, want it as soon as its out and yeah the studios know we will pay for the very reason.

Just to touch on a couple of other things which does bug me about the whole industry, you mentioned my art, now if someone comes to me and says Mr Aytball, i would really like you to create me some art work and i want it for free, i will say f*ck you! However!! if ive created some artwork because im a creative person and love doing what i do, and then someone likes it enough that they ask for a copy of it....im happy to share for free (as you know) id be pissed if they then sold it as their own of course, but happy for them to enjoy it and anyone else.

I dont go to the film companies with lists of ideas and say please produce these movies, they SHOULD be making movies because someone is passionate enough to bring a great story to the big screen, but its turning into being all about the money, take starwars for example if they knew way back then it was gonna make so much money they would have spent MILLIONS more on it, but they made a crazy little sci fi movie with love sweat and tears (and plastic) because they were passionate about that sh*t. Thats the way it should be, money should just be a bonus.

Greats posts tho bud as always
masht7 writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 6:31:08 PM

I was caught downloading Quantum of Solace (after the release) and Sony found me and asked me to get rid of it or something something. I'm glad their doing this, just one question: is this the same producer who spammed are e-mails saying vote 'The Hurt Locker' for Best Picture?
ilovebooty writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 7:15:29 PM

It's their f*cking fault there was a dvd screener 5 months before a US release and it was leaked. It was their f*cking fault it was not properly advertised and released on a sh*tty date.

bunch of goofy f*cktards.
rabid writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 7:43:07 PM

The actors and crew get paid regardless of whether the film makes bank, so downloading is not cheating these people.
They were idiots to spread their dvd copies around before release. It's as if I passed out xerox copies of a book I wrote and then was shocked when noone bought it. If the film had real merit, people would want to own it regardless. It comes down to industry greed and thumbing your nose at that greed.
Ranger writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 9:55:01 PM

@AYT - funny you mention Star Wars. My fav. one is STILL Episode 4 - A New Hope. $10mil to make. and George was willing to risk every penny of his in court fighting the studio to retain ownership of his product, and he won, and set a new standard. Great on him.

To a lot of posts on here... YES, the main blame is The Hurt Locker and their pathetic 'security' letting a copy get out. The person that did that should face jail time. I doubt it was the main producer (although we have since learned at least one of their producers is an idiot for shooting out propaganda against Avatar instead of using the same energy to just promote his movie... f*cking douche bag!).

@rabid - I'm not defending the people that are paid whether a movie makes money or not (the staff and crew). The reason they get paid what they do (so much less than the producers), is they have no risk. They're not putting up the risk money. They get paid regardless. The people I am defending are the wealthy movie-makers. There seems to be an under/overtone of jealousy towards the wealthy - even when it's hard-earned and fought for and they are the one's putting up the risk $'s, while all WE have to do is decide whether we want to shell out a few measly $'s to see their movie or not). How is ripping them off of their work, art and property any different than I borrowing your lawnmower and never returning it (it's still theft... yes?)?

@AYT - good posting back Bro.
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 10:07:40 PM

i still haven't seen the hurt locker, i've been busy with my own locker
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 10:12:41 PM

They must need the money for settling the lawsuit put up by the sergeant they stole the plot and even the movie's title from (puts hand over mouth) ... oops! Did I let that slip ?
OneTime writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 10:12:59 PM

i live in canada...makes no diff to me..
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 10:30:47 PM

It makes the curious wonder how much the first " settlement " offer is ... I'm betting it's in the thousands of dollars.

I'm pretty sure it ain't the price of an admission ticket.
rabid writes:
on May 14th, 2010 at 12:06:50 AM

because Ranger, its more like you left your lawnmower unattended in the front yard in front of a machine that replicates as many lawnmowers as anyone needs. Your lawnmower is still there on your lawn. I'm cutting my lawn with a pale imitation clone. If i like the job it does, I might come back and make an offer on the original.
It wasn't that smart to not put your lawnmower away when you were done using it, especially considering it was a prototype that hadn't yet made to market.

The film industry is going to have to wise up if they want to survive. It's not that different a dilemma than when vhs or audio cassettes came out. Was it stealing everytime I made my 7th grade girlfriend a mixtape?

encoreyourface writes:
on May 14th, 2010 at 1:05:07 AM

good luck with that you c*nts most of those downloaders took the film from other sites and i doubt most of the lawsuits will stick sept the original thieves.
Ranger writes:
on May 14th, 2010 at 2:12:12 AM

@rabid - I hear ya. Sure they're pointing fingers when they should be cleaning up their own yard first (find the piece of sh*t that leaked the original copy - hang him). And yes, they should put more money into their own interests other than homes, cars, yachts, whores, blow, etc. (Nicolas Cage's Xmas Wish List!)

I still think the whores and blow are OK though (esp. if the whores blow).
trailertrash writes:
on May 14th, 2010 at 2:41:10 AM

@ayt, ranger great posts fellas

I remember the our price and their price war , that was pretty much the end for them, then Virgin took most of their stores over and even they have gone now.

We were targeted by woolworths to price match everything we did for new release they matched us penny for penny, I remember once Oasis cd came out we cut the the in the end on the day of release to 6.55 !!!!! and so did woolworths , stuff like that is great for the consumer and your right Ranger is the public who we should be pointing the finger at.

But i'm the worlds worst i buy films (alot) on day of release and sometimes i dont watch them for months, CRAZY !!! Wish i could do that wait 6 month thing it would save me a fortune , but i still dont download (and never will) i like the real thing to go in to my collection.

Ranger writes:
on May 14th, 2010 at 4:05:41 AM

@trailer - well, you and AYT are honest guys (expressing honestly). Yeah, I just get behind in my movie watching - so by the time I get around to it - it's all cheap(er)... it works out well, lol.

Got 6 DVD's at BlockBuster one day for $46. I keep a list of wanted movies on the BlackBerry (no worries... going to iPhone in Nov. - f*cking pocket dialing piece of sh*t BB!!!))!
OblivionT. writes:
on May 14th, 2010 at 4:26:08 AM

I remember last month ago I downloaded The Hurt Locker went to about 13% but i changed my mind i canceled it. think im safe?
trailertrash writes:
on May 14th, 2010 at 8:58:06 AM

@ranger- cheers dude !!

Love a good bargin , I have been converted to blu ray now so it's not so easy to find cheap movies at the minute and they keep rushing films out on blu ray and releasing them again 6 months later with more features on etc , Which is a bit of a liberty.

Same here with the blackberry i've got the bold and i'm swapping it in December for the iphone (which everyone told me to get in the first place) , bloody thing is useless most of the time !! lol
rabid writes:
on May 14th, 2010 at 10:29:39 AM

blackberry and iphone are both cheaply made garbage. I'm going to give each another generation before I buy again.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved