WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Pixar's "Newt" is Cancelled to Focus on Sequels

Posted: May 12th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
PixarSubmit Comment
The Pixar Blog has received confirmation from Walt Disney Pictures that Pixar's latest animated movie "Newt" has been cancelled. This comes as no surprise, since rumors regarding the film's problems have been circulating since February.

The film was scheduled to be released in the summer of 2011 and clearly there was work done on it since early concept art leaked online back in 2008. Part of the reason that the project was killed is so Pixar can focus on their other films like "Brave," "Toy Story 3," "Cars 2" and "Monsters, Inc 2." That's right, the studio has become all about sequels.

"Newt" plot: What happens when the last remaining male and female blue-footed newts on the planet are forced together by science to save the species, and they can't stand each other? That's the problem facing Newt and Brooke, who embark on a perilous, unpredictable adventure and discover that finding a mate never goes as planned, even when you only have one choice. Love, it turns out, is not a science.

Source: The Pixar Blog


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
gimple writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 6:27:30 AM

Aw man, that actually sounds kind of interesting. I hope this isn't the beginning of the end for Pixar.
sc_kg writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 6:28:09 AM

This is very bad news, since I loved Pixars non-sequel strategy, so they can focus on original projects, and telling completly different stories set in different universes.
Don't get me wrong- in my opinion Toy Story 2 was even better than original, but still...

it's Disney of the XXI century all over again.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 6:48:39 AM

Sequels to good films isnt a problem with me. Bring them on.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 7:27:52 AM

Quite saddened (is that a word?) by this. Even they struck gold with the Toy Story-sequel, it doesn't mean we want sequels to everything. Pixar has always been about originality, that's what has made a standout studio. Now they might become Dreamworks.
masht7 writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 7:54:05 AM

Let's hope Wall-E and Finding Nemo won't get a sequel. They don't deserve sequels as they are both the best Pixar films.
Hollywood1086 writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 8:53:46 AM

aw no! that one sounded so cute!
tcu21 writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 10:29:58 AM

I guess the newt sex scene proved to be too controversial.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 10:33:52 AM

I never let a bad sequel ruin the original films. With the 1st four Batmans, I erased the last two from my memory and still hold Burtons with just as much respect.
jeffw1978 writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 10:41:38 AM

I think in this case Money is talking and originatlity is out the f*cking window. Way to f*ck your corporation management.
lost_addict writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 12:29:04 PM

They mostly come at night...mostly....
SaulSilver writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 12:47:24 PM

Was this supposed to be a prequel to Aliens? Newt : Adventures on LB-426?
Mr. Wednesday writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 1:30:56 PM

@sc_kg How could you ever say that Toy Story II was better than the original...come on!
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 4:57:53 PM

Cars and Monsters Inc? Do these movies REALLY need sequels? I'm all for it if the story's calling, but unless they got something awesome in the pipeline they shouldn't be cancelling original movies.
Noncentz writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 5:28:06 PM

Hopefully we won't see Rata2ie? Interesting that the only one I think is worthy of a sequel is The Incredibles. I could see another worthwhile story coming from that.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 6:48:09 PM

thank the Lord they canceled the retardation, and may he help us becuase of the sequels ...
Johnnyb writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 7:42:39 PM

The beginning of the end of Pixar¿? or the beginning of a new era for Pixar¿? Make your answers to me, ASAP!!!!
johnthemon writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 12:28:27 AM

I thought Pixar was all about avoiding sequels. The only reason they did Toy Story 3 was because of pressure from Disney. I'm so disappointed. Cars 2 will suck hard.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 3:03:58 PM

So Pixar is willing to destroy their nearly perfect box office score?

Aw well. It was fun while it lasted.
loneson writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 5:13:28 PM

WHAT?!?!?!?
this movie actually sounded interesting!
They should not be making a sequels!
Especially to as terrible of a movie as Cars.
And that movie Brave/The bear and the bow sound stupid!
NEWT SOUNDED AWESOME!
NO PIXAR NO

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved