WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Avatar" Could Become Highest-Selling DVD Ever

Posted: May 12th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Avatar" Could Become Highest-Selling DVD EverSubmit Comment
In less than three weeks, James Cameron's "Avatar" has become the best-selling title ever in a comparable period, with almost 20 million copies sold worldwide. The film has also sold 6.2 million Blu-ray units, which is 31% of its disc sales (both DVD and Blu-ray). Usually Blu-ray represents only 7%-12% of all sales.

To show how impressive these numbers are, "The Dark Knight" took 18 months to sell 2.5 million Blu-ray units. "Avatar" sold 2.7 million units in just the first four days.

Overseas, "Avatar" surpassed "Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix" as the bestselling title since it launched on DVD.

And given the speed at which "Avatar" has achieved record-breaking sales, coupled with special editions still to come (a 3D version is being planned), the movie could potentially become the highest-selling DVD of all time. Disney's "Finding Nemo" currently holds the record with approximately 40 million copies sold since November 2003.

Click here to read our "Avatar" review.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masht7 writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 6:25:34 AM

People of the world, don't lose Nemo.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 6:43:13 AM

Ill wait for the Betamax release.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 7:29:12 AM

So could any other movie in the world, doesn't mean it will.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 7:29:33 AM

""Avatar" Could Become Highest-Selling DVD Ever"

Duh?
Ronsauce writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 8:23:47 AM

This is retarded. I can kind of see the box-office success as being warranted what with the new 3D tech and all(which I didn't find all that great), but the movie really wasn't good enough to warrant the DVD sales it has received and will continue to receive.
CCBlev writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 8:36:01 AM

I'm holding out for Cameron's November release with all the goodies, then again I think I'll pass on it period, you ain't anymore of my money you money grubbing bastard!!
CCBlev writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 8:37:12 AM

^getting anymore of my money
BDeck writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 8:41:27 AM

hey coc check it out

http://theoatmeal.com/comics/misspelling
jeffw1978 writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 10:38:47 AM

So a giant blue cat is goint to beat up a little clow fish, what an *sshole.
Grumblestyle writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 10:49:33 AM

go ahead and file this one under who gives a sh*t
Ranger writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 1:25:45 PM

I got Finding Nemo right here Bitch!

Ranger writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 1:35:13 PM

And Freudian said it best... 'Duh!' - this comes as no surprise. I'm just amazed though that every single person that has bought this first release KNOWS the better versions (more footage, more features, 'how it was made' crap, etc.) are coming. Why not wait. I liked Avatar... but don't need my Navi' fix so bad I'd buy the first release that even Cameron admitted was the stripped-down version.

I'm still not buying the DVD. A best friend of mine bought the Blu-Ray version that was bundled with the reg. version... so he's giving me that copy. As I thought the 2D version was going to suck so bad as when compared to 3D, it was never on my list to buy. But after watching it (2D) on a big screen TV... it's not as bad as I was expecting.

And to those Avatar addicts from NaviBlew site that are depressed because they can't live on beautiful Pandora... get a f*cking life dipsh*ts!!!
rocketman writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 2:07:55 PM

Bought it in Bluray....sold it for 20 quid days later.sh*t film.
rocketman writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 2:10:49 PM

Sorry,10 quid days later.
Still a sh*t film.
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 2:25:11 PM

doesnt mean it will and i dont give a sh*t, and those people are just losers
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 2:27:50 PM

and those who want to kill them selves thing they will go to pandora get a life or kill yourself
J.A.Ottley writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 3:17:42 PM

I agree with Ranger

I saw this in Asda, i looked at the back and thought f*ck this...and literally refused to buy it at 7 pound, on special offer.

The world's most revolutionary movie with no special features not even bloody commentary...Do i really look like i have MUG 1st Class, stamped on my forehead?

I'm waiting for the special edition, i actually feel sorry for the people that are buying this version.
It be funny to see their faces when they realise they got ripped off :D
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 4:53:48 PM

Damn. Its units too, so its not like you can blame higher prices or something. I also watched it on Blu-ray the other day (my brother bought it) on a big screen TV and I gotta say, I was more visually impressed than I thought I'd be. I'll be waiting for special edition or one of those though.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 6:38:27 PM

... currently being sold in Mexico at every Wal Mart, along with a sack of limes, a bottle of Tequila and a copy of the autobiography of Lindsey Lohan,' Uterus a'Draggin the Ground. '
encoreyourface writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 6:54:29 PM

surprising .... how?
Ranger writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 7:36:23 PM

@Max - lol... f*ck man!
warlord writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 9:22:14 AM

and the worst movie ever on dvd
rabid writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 9:32:45 AM

I'm still holding out for the 3D version so I don't have to buy it twice.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved