WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Spartacus: Blood and Sand" Prequel in Development

Posted: May 12th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Spartacus: Blood and Sand" Prequel in DevelopmentSubmit Comment
Starz has announced that it is in pre-production on a six-part prequel to its original series "Spartacus: Blood and Sand." The title is yet to be determined, but the prequel will begin filming this summer in New Zealand and will air in January.

Andy Whitfield, who played the title character in the series, will appear in the prequel briefly, but Lucy Lawless and John Hannah take center stage in this story of the rise of the House of Batiatus and its champions before Spartacus arrives as a captured Thracian slave.

New characters will also be added most notably the gladiator who was champion of the House of Batiatus before Spartacus or even Crixus (Manu Bennett) who will help fill in the story about the people and politics in the House of Batiatus and ancient Capua as a whole.

Produced by Sam Raimi, "Spartacus: Blood and Sand" was the highest-rated show for the 18-49 demographic among all cable networks for 12 of the 13 Fridays on which it aired. The second season was postponed this spring to allow Whitfield to be treated for Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma in New Zealand. His doctors indicate that the actor is responding well.

Source: Starz


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
The Real Joker writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 7:06:31 AM

I really liked Spartacus Blood & Sand. So i hope that the prequel will be awesome.

John Hannahs one-liners are the awesomeness.
SofaKing writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 8:13:50 AM

If you can overlook some of the cheezy blood effects this is actually a pretty awesome show. It is exactly what I would imagine ancient Rome (well Capua) like, lots of sex and violence. Looking forward to this.
warlord writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 9:25:10 AM

a prequel what about the up-rising i want to see more of that
jeffw1978 writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 11:07:24 AM

I haven't seen it yet, is it worth looking up or is it a waste of time?
Ranger writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 12:25:15 PM

Wow... never even heard of this... will have a lookie now.

Ques: does the black guy ever hump the ginger?
Ranger writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 2:36:13 PM

hump = rape.
SofaKing writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 3:26:42 PM

No he doesn't hump the ginger, but that ginger is Xena Warrior Princess and she does get humped... a lot. She looks pretty damn good for 40 something too.
oklahomaer writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 4:23:19 PM

by apollo's c*ck this will be good
oklahomaer writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 4:25:11 PM

steady your c*ck's men
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 5:16:06 PM

@ Ranger, I always did wonder why black men loved redheads. Odd.

Haven't seen it but from what I hear its a lot of banging Lucy Lawless, which I guess Im down with.
The Real Joker writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 5:23:00 PM

If you have not seen it. Watch it. It's like Gold
encoreyourface writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 6:47:04 PM

i think SAC was telling me about this once, forgot to check it out though ... might have to ...
SofaKing writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 7:12:02 PM

Hahaha, I am watching it currently and I had to get on WP to share one of Hannah's quotes:

Spartacus: "I'll do it but on one condition"

Batiatus: "A condition!? You kiss my cheek only to finger my *sshole?"

Tell me that line right there isn't enough to watch this show! I am surprised myself at how eager I am to watch the next episode as well...
Ranger writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 7:35:00 PM

Thx. for the updates guys. I will have to check this out.
Ranger writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 7:35:25 PM

And with a name like: 'Lawless' - you just know she does anal sans lube!
Bazinga writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 8:03:09 PM

You nailed it on the head sofaking with the effects.show has a great story and lots of t&a which is always good.Ranger I don't understand how you haven't seen the show seeing how it all takes place in lohans snatch.
Ranger writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 10:06:23 PM

lol... Bazinga! BBT fan... good to know.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved