WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Colin Farrell is a Vampire in "Fright Night" Remake

Posted: May 11th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Colin Farrell is a Vampire in "Fright Night" RemakeSubmit Comment
THR is reporting that Colin Farrell (Miami Vice, Alexander) and Toni Collette (Little Miss Sunshine) will join Anton Yelchin (Terminator Salvation) in the remake of the cult 1985 film "Fright Night."

In the movie, Yelchin will play a teen who is convinced that his new neighbor is a vampire, though no one believes him. Farrell will play the vampire, named Jerry, who on the surface appears to be a cool guy but is really preying on the neighborhood.

Collette will be Yelchin's mom, who at first disapproves of the new arrival but changes her attitude when she meets the man and falls under his spell.

"Fright Night" will be directed by Craig Gillespie (Mr. Woodcock) for DreamWorks.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 64 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
encoreyourface writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 5:34:04 AM

who cares ...
trailertrash writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 5:38:13 AM

fright night is a good movie and doesn't need a remake nor did it need a sequel back in 1988 !!
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 5:42:54 AM

oringal wasnt bad but this will be sh*t and as always i will wait until the trailer
SofaKing writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 6:13:33 AM

It has a small amount of potential Anton Yelchin and Toni Collette are great and Colin Farrell is good about 50% of the time.
Whitta writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 6:18:41 AM

bloody hell, stop with the remakes please, the originals are just fine... except for Herbie Fully Loaded and I Know Who Killed Me
AYT BALL writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 7:04:29 AM

@ Trailer - Fright Night is one of my childhood faves!! I was really against this remake but gotta say the cast has me interested! could work out ok i recon
bale01289 writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 7:21:35 AM

I'm with Ayt. Even though I hate the thought of remakes, I can't help but want to see what they could do with this. Kinda hate to admit this, but I've enjoyed almost all of the horror remakes, stricktly since I'm a horror fan (yes, SAC, that means the new NightmareOnElmStreet too........don't hate me). I will keep my fingers and toes crossed for this one.
lost_addict writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 7:58:14 AM

his career down to zero since 'alexander' flop
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 8:06:07 AM

Colin is good when he gets to play weird characters, it's when he goes action or pretentious it falls flat. So he might work in this. Sadly I've always pictured him as Cassidy if a Preacher-movie ever gets made (probably not). I don't think he will play a vamp twice.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 8:13:44 AM

He nailed In Bruges!! the guys good when its not hollywood cheese
J.A.Ottley writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 8:22:56 AM

@ Encore & Trailer
You guys said it.

But alongside Bale & Ayt i am curious, but i dont have high expectations, alas it is a remake after all.

& Freudian
Nice choice, he does seem right
SACdaddy writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 8:25:15 AM

@Bale: You're killing me with that NOES bullsh*t but I still tend to agree with you (and AYT) about the horror remakes in general. Most of them have been pretty acceptible and have not diminished the legacy of the original. Fright Night is also one of my alltime favs (scared the piss out of me when I was a kid), but it is a very dated film in need of a facelift. They could easily go the NOES route and cheaply throw this remake together with a bunch of unknown actors and stupid jumps scares, but it looks like someone is putting some effort behind this. I haven't been the biggest CF fan over the last 8 years or so, but somehow I think he would be perfect for this role. He basically is this character in real life. He's a cool good looking guy at first, but by the end of the night he'll be crawling the walls, sucking on some bitches neck, and sh*t might just get a little bloody. It just seems like a great casting choice, which is a pretty good step in the right direction for this remake. Best of all, with CF involved there's really no need to make it PG-13.

I don't know if yall remember, but FN is a pretty gross film. There's people melting, bug eatings, and a lot of maggots in the original. The vampire makeup is some of the nastiest in film history and the effects are very "hands on" (vampire breaking bouncer's arm is some f*cked up sh*t). I hope that doesn't get lost or snubbed for CGI in this remake. I would like to start to see a return to the old creature effects that made films like Fright Night, The Thing, and NOES famous in the first place. Slither was a great example of the successful merger of the old school makeup art and the new school CG effects, so I know it can be done.
trailertrash writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 8:41:48 AM

@ayt- this was one of the 1st 18 vhs i ever watched and Stephen Geoffreys as evil ed scared the crap out of me , that dude was freaky !!

Just think Fright Night has that 80's charm to it, and that's something they can not recreate today.

I like colin farrell (in bruges is a really good film) so i will watch it i guess...
AYT BALL writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 8:44:16 AM

@ Trailer - still is one of my all time fave horrors, even got the LP soundtrack imported and had the cool poster on my wall!.....

by the way Stephen Geoffreys.......GAY PORN! no joke! lol
trailertrash writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 8:47:03 AM

i'm not suprised , he just got a little more scary !! lol
trailertrash writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 8:55:54 AM

@sac- old school horror rules , some of the things those guys did to make the shot look good was very inventive.

I know the effects today are amazing but films like Day of the dead, Thing, the fly, NMOES, Friday 13th etc seem a little more scary to me than some of the cgi heavy horror films of today....
bale01289 writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 8:56:08 AM

@SAC. - if it makes you feel better, I would have hated NOES had I not loved them as a kid.
Bunny X writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 8:57:08 AM

@SAC, OMG you nailed it. This won't be much of a stretch for Farrell!! I like the casting.
Toni Collette is phenomenal in everything she does and anton is really sticking out from the pack. I'd take him in anything over Cera.

the only thing I can say positive about these remakes is that it gives newer audiences a chance to check out some good material we enjoyed in our days. Sure, they don't stack up to the originals but with updated special effects, it makes up for it (somewhat).
I'm starting to turn the corner on remakes but I'm still a bit gunshy because I know Hwood will use them as a crutch like 3D and go remake/reboot over original ideas.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 9:25:29 AM

@Trailer: I agree. They showed some love to their craftmanship and with love come innovation. Doing everything in CGI is a lack of soul. Best example of this how Peter Jackson easily could CGI'd every orch, but he stayed true to his horror background.
BrundleFly writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 9:25:39 AM

The only Vampire Colin Farrel should play is Cassidy in the Preacher movie.
(Hey guys, make a Preacher movie)
CCBlev writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 9:32:51 AM

I love the original. i'm willing to give it a chance, but I think Timothy Olyphant would be great as the vamp.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 9:39:00 AM

Back in the day we had the likes of Stan Winston, Greg Nicotero, Tom Savini, Rick Baker etc.....These guys were heroes of horror movies because they lived for that sh*t and strived to go bigger better and more real every outing.

Who do we have now? Dreamworks! wheres the love of the trade gone? I pray they ditch the CGI and keep this REAL, if they have the balls to then i have high hopes
ian_918 writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 9:47:51 AM

Seriously? The guy who made mr.woodc*ck is the one helming this? ok then..
Moose756 writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 9:48:33 AM

Im curious to see how colin farrell acts in this one. I love vampires and hopefully this turns out to be good doubtful but you never know
AYT BALL writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 10:15:24 AM

Some old but interesting Preacher news

http://www.comicmix.com/news/2008/10/30/columbia-brings-preacher-to-the-choir/
SACdaddy writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 10:19:50 AM

@Freud: Great example my friend. With that enormous budget Jackson easily could have gone the CG route, but sticking with the hands on effects made for a much more realistic and entertaining film.

There is a great opportunity out there to make a really scary movie if the right effort is put into it. You can change many aspects of the original to fit a modern audience and Farrell's dynamic personality. I think it would be cool to make him a highly successful nightclub owner that preys on his clientele until his teenage neighbor (who idolizes his womanizing and success) stumbles across his secret. It also maybe an interesting twist if it turns out that the kid doesn't really mind being neighbors with a vampire. CF's character could convince him that being a vamp has its perks and what he does harms no one (maybe he only feeds off women but doesn't kill them), that is until he unknowingly bites the kid's best friend. After seeing what kind of a monster his friend turns into after the vamp feeds off him, the kid becomes a threat to expose his secret and must be elliminated. All 80s horror movies had some underlying message about the nature of teens in society. Maybe this remake could be a cautionary tale of who teens chose to idolized as role models in their world. Just a thought.

SACdaddy writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 10:45:41 AM

I don't know if anyone recognized it but Disturbia was basically a Fright Night remake. They just swapped the vampire for a serial killer and lost the gore, but almost everything else is exactly the same.
trailertrash writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 10:49:02 AM

@Freud- Ayt - As you say those guys live for the special effects like the stunt guys live for the action set piece, which is something else that is better off when it's not in CGI.



trailertrash writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 10:50:48 AM

so fright night was a horror version of rear window then, sort of lol
AYT BALL writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 10:56:08 AM

lol yeah Fright Night was basically rear window with vamps, but disturbia was like the kids version of Fright Night, its good that its out there, means they dont have to cater to that audience again! :-)
SACdaddy writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 10:57:27 AM

The death of the old school horror film can traced back to The Haunting and Hostel. One brought cartoonish CGI to the genre and the other snubbed fear for torture. Now the "thrill" is gone because that's all we get from horror movies anymore. That's probably why I don't mind the Halloween, Friday the 13th, and Texas Chainsaw remakes. They don't have to rely on CGI or torture to entertain.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 11:03:07 AM

And yeah, I can definitely see the Rear Window connection to Fright Night. Its just more proof that Hollywood has been repeating itself for a long time.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 11:03:51 AM

Just thought, whos your choices to play evil ed this time around?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 11:04:03 AM

Unless her blood contains 18% Guiness, don't expect his vampire to do much other than have barroom fights and flip the bird at the villagers.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 11:04:57 AM

We went from Chris Sarandon to Colin Farrell ? Wow. How many actors stood there going, " What the f*ck ??? "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 11:06:25 AM

Let's see ... He f*cked up Sonny Crockett ... he f*cked up BullsEye ... he f*cked up Alexander (who must've drug his blonde ass from Dublin on the way) ....
trailertrash writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 11:07:59 AM

The Haunting OMG forgot about that movie , what a pile of crap !!

That movie took more money than texas chainsaw, halloween and friday 13th remakes! how i will never know.

Hostel some of that movie was ok, in the end i think eli just wanted to shock you with the gore , and part 2 was just a bore...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 11:08:37 AM

@Moose

Couldn't be any worse than Grace Jones, Keifer Sutherland, Tom Cruise or ... (giggle)
Robert Patterson ... (ha!) ...


nope. it'll be a chucklefest.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 11:09:33 AM

At least this isn't TwatLit
Inception writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 11:11:34 AM

Hollywood days are counted. The only savior is Nolan but he is in the Titanic (Hollywood), a ship that will sink sooner or later.
Can he escape from this ship? Only fate knows.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 11:14:14 AM

even if he did some greedy bitch would just hog a big wooden door to herself and let him drown! lol
trailertrash writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 11:20:35 AM

ayt- thats a tough one , i bet Stephen geoffreys is one of those guys that still looks the same now !! if so let him do it again lol

just thought 976 Evil he was in that as well and that was robert englund 1st directing job if my memory is right...
AYT BALL writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 11:24:51 AM

@ Trailer - it was indeed! the UK version was cut to sh*t! you should get hold of the region 1 DVD if you can! still a pretty fun movie!

and i think after all that gay porn hes done (SERIOUSLY!!) its a little late to get back into mainstream, he wouldnt be going for the neck! lol

Someone like Mathew Lillard would have been good, too old now tho....mmmm
lebowski writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 11:28:45 AM

so is collin a vegeterian vampire who fells inlove with the boy next door and stops sucking the neighberhood dry.because the original wasnt about that.i dont have faith in the director but i have faith in the cast.i just hope that when fareii reveals who he truly is he will be as badass as the original vamp was and not like that f*cking twilight guy.NO MORE GAY VAMPIRES HOLLYWOOD
AYT BALL writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 11:29:24 AM

http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b110/calicocombs/ste-sam.jpg

ew!
SACdaddy writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 2:00:23 PM

AYT: I hated that f*cking actor anyway. Gay porn probably suits him just fine. Matthew Lillard is just as annoying but is also too old for the part. I don't know most of these young teen actors so I wouldn't have a clue who to cast as Ed.
SuluNakamura writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 3:27:04 PM

no. enough f*cking vampires.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 4:50:58 PM

@SACdaddy - thats my point though, they were annoying enough and creepy enough that you really hated them when they turned bad! lol hard to think of anyone around that could pull it off now tho
Flav writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 5:25:20 PM

Good Choice! Colin is underrated!
triggax writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 5:29:44 PM

Wow no sh*t... I think ferrel is a smart choice... Sarandon has a pretty f*cking "BIG" persona you know.. the guy is a legend in his own right.. Ferrel some what exudes the same amount of arrogance that made sarandon so convincing.. i think this is a great choice...
DeVries writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 5:57:14 PM

Vampire can't drink beer so Farrell can't be vampire.
Whitta writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 6:03:51 PM

I guess we can be thankful that it's only Fright Night, not Lost Boys.
trailertrash writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 6:49:30 PM

ayt- lol nice pic and neck joke !!

Next time i'm forced to watch Glee (next monday lol ) there is a really camp creepy guy in that he would be perfect for evil ed i will get his name, other than that can't think of anyone else...
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 8:41:36 PM

Thanks for bringing up In Bruges AYT. I rented that movie about a month ago and loved every minute of it.

I will actually try to visit this place once I finish my classes.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 11:48:50 PM

Topher Grace would have made a great Evil Ed about 5 years ago. McLovin would be a nice twist on the part.
Man in Black writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 1:28:23 AM

NO MORE VAMPIRE MOVIES none even blade needs a rest ... just take a time out ... have a smoke , something f*ck !
trailertrash writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 2:36:43 AM

sac- McLovin lol
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 3:36:28 AM

yeah colin had nothing lately.get fresh hollywood
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 3:38:54 AM

dammit lindsay....
telur writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 4:34:44 AM

hey, i have sex video colin farrel on my computer. It's stupid but in some way is cool
AYT BALL writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 4:53:49 AM

........ok
trailertrash writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 5:23:11 AM

ayt- Chris Colfer

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chris_Colfer

This is the guy !!!
SACdaddy writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 7:20:14 PM

Considering the last Evil Ed ended up doing gay porn, I'm sure some fruitcake from Glee should fit the role.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 7:20:22 PM

Considering the last Evil Ed ended up doing gay porn, I'm sure some fruitcake from Glee should fit the role.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved