WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Judge Dredd" Remake Details Revealed

Posted: May 11th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Judge Dredd" Remake Details RevealedSubmit Comment
Deadline is reporting DNA Films has made a deal with Reliance Big Entertainment and IM Global to finance a new "Judge Dredd" film, which will be in 3D and sold at the Cannes Film Festival latest this month.

The new version will not be based on Sylvester Stallone's 1995 film, but will instead go back to the original 2000 AD comics. So I guess it's not quite a remake. It will be directed by Pete Travis (Vantage Point) from a script written by Alex Garland (28 Days Later, Sunshine).

"Judge Dredd" is set in a futuristic world filled with violence, and the character is empowered to act as judge, jury and executioner. The budget is set at under $50 million.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 47 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SofaKing writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 5:26:25 AM

"I am the LAW!!"

The first one was pretty good when I was a kid, I am sure it is stupid now. It's a cool setting and theme so I am curious to see what they can do...
trailertrash writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 5:28:18 AM

I didn't mind stallone's judge dredd (i'm in the minority here i know).

But it did kill danny cannon's movie career as a director, after young americans (good movie) there was high hopes for him , but that movie ended that.

With all the super heros out there now, is there a place for the judge anymore..
encoreyourface writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 5:33:45 AM

never read the comics but when films rely more on source material they'll probably be better ...
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 5:36:09 AM

I agree with sofaking on that being good then bad now
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 5:47:39 AM

Never watched Judge Dredd when I was young, but I saw it for the first time last year. It was really bad. However, it was quite funny how they tried to pass Sly as some kind of giant. Somewhere in the movie he is mentioned to be 1.90 cm. Which he clearly isn't.
lost_addict writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 5:50:35 AM

-you betray the LAW!!!!

-LAAAAAAAAWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!
SofaKing writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 5:54:04 AM

He was definately wearing platform boots in that movie... I think he looked the part actually it was just cheezy.
bale01289 writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 7:25:35 AM

O please bring back Rob Schneider for more wonderful comic relief..............*sigh*
J.A.Ottley writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 8:27:06 AM

So basically the budget is 40 million.

Its costs 10 million to do 3D :)
eddie499 writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 8:27:40 AM

Stallone's version was complete trash. I was 15 when it came out and I even knew it was junk back then.

I'm glad to see they have a decent writer on the project. I'd love to see this character done properly.
Bunny X writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 8:49:46 AM

Stallone's version was bad, sure. But I have hopes for this. Dredd is great material for a movie if done right by the comics and with Travis (I really liked Vantage Point) and Garland in the mix, they have a pretty good shot at delivering a good flick.

@Trailer, you have great point. With all the big recognizable comic names out there getting movies, I'm afraid Dredd would get buried. Before Stallone's movie, you could count the number of people on an amputee's hand who heard of Dredd.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 8:55:41 AM

@Freud: LOL!!! He was wearing lifts the whole film.

Stallone's Dredd was an embarrassment to the comic and to film in general. Its one of the biggest arguments against PG-13, action movie comic relief, and American adaptation in film, and should be taught as an example of what not to do with a comic book movie. I'm all for remaking this bullsh*t and doing the source material "justice".

I AM THE LAAAW!!!
ZenShark writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 9:22:45 AM

judge dred should show up in batman 3 directed by christopher nolan...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 11:12:32 AM

What did we learn from the first one :

A. NO Sly.

B. KEEP THE f*ckING HELMET ON.

C. DEFINITELY NO Robert Schneider.

D. Max Von Sydow can turn any piece of sh*t
into bloody, f*cking Shakespeare

E. NO Armand ASSante

F. No brothers plot.

G. This isn't " Demoliton Man II "

H. If the soundtrack is more popular than the
f*cking movie and your not Quentin, you are
in f*cking trouble.


Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 11:13:45 AM

What, no Tank Girl ? ?

I mean, Lori Petty and Malcolm McDowell must realllllly need the work.
Inception writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 11:19:50 AM

We saw one and that was enough, why more? Because Hoewood ran out of ideas. Plus i bet they will cast Tatum as Dread.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 11:21:55 AM

I want Clive Owen, Ray Steveson, or Kevin McKidd for the new Dredd. He needs to be a hardcore soldier that spits lines with the precision of the Brit commandos in CoD Modern Warfare or Dog Soldiers. If Hwood is in charge of this I could see them casting Statham or Worthington as the lead. Statham is too short but wouldn't be that bad, but Worthington would destroy the film....AGAIN.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 11:25:13 AM

They misnamed the first movie ... it was supposed to be Just Dread(ful)
Inception writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 11:26:23 AM

Agree Sac, he will literally destroy it.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 11:26:29 AM

The only job Sam Northington should be doing is ushering the aisles for popcorn and c*m stains or cleaning the toilets with his tongue.
Inception writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 11:32:10 AM

Well he can play the role of Mr. Clean he kinda has a similar look, only shave him and there you go.
coldplayesence writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 11:33:06 AM

@SofaKing- "I knew you'd say that".
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 12:02:52 PM

"Max Von Sydow can turn any piece of sh*t
into bloody, f*cking Shakespeare"

Thank you ever so much :)
Bunny X writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 12:31:15 PM

@SAC I was thinking Owen and as much as I love him and know he can work any movie he wants, I just couldn;t take him as menacing. Dredd is an intimidating SOB and Clive just doesn't strike fear. Hell, even as Arthur, he just didn't deliver that awe inspiring presence.
As much as I'll get sh*t for this, I really wouldn't mind seeing Gerard Butler. He just has that persona of someone who both should have a gun and at the same time shouldn't.
They could toss in Idris Elba or Chiwetel Eijofor as I would love to see them in action using their native accents.

Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 1:19:06 PM

I'm just saying: Vinnie Jones
darthraige writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 1:29:37 PM

Let's just keep remaking already great movies. f*cken Hollywood.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 1:46:31 PM

@Bunny: Yeah Owen was kind of a stretch. I left out Butler on purpose considering his track record. I used to think he was the next big thing, but now I hear his name attached to something its almost guaranteed to suck. He's kind of a bust if you ask me.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 1:49:34 PM

They really need to think about streamlining Dredd's uniform for this reboot. The helmet is the most important part of the outfit, but the rest can be changed for the sake of realism.
Bunny X writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 1:57:36 PM

I like Vinnie Jones for it, but #1. You attach his name as the star and it's going straight to DVD. #2. He'd be better off playing the bad guy. The guy is just born to be a villain.

@SAC, lol sorry about Butler but I hear ya. I sat through The Bounty Hunter and almost lost my mind!!
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 2:04:42 PM

At least the guy writing the script is decent, both of his movies were great
rocketman writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 2:24:54 PM

Aw f*ck i hope they do this justice and stick to the dark comics.I f*cking love Dredd but my ass is still sore from that f*cking disgrace of a film with Stallone.Small budget though...Mega city 1 won't be that mega i guess,i bet it goes off into the cursed earth which is cool.Just don't take the helmet off this time...and cast a 6+ foot badass.f*ck im excited.
rocketman writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 2:29:42 PM

Woody Harellson for Dredd,he has the chin and build,plus he can do mean badass in his sleep.

@Sac,spot on.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 4:12:57 PM

I'm a big Woody Harrellson fan but you don't really want Dredd to be a cowboy do you?
rocketman writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 4:46:56 PM

He has the look.if he can tone down the texan drawl don't see why not.Dredd i suppose is a New Yorker,or there abouts,i'll settle for looks right,can act and is a yank.The other Favourite is the guy off 300 and the wire,Dominic West i think.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 6:49:07 PM

Channing Tatum for Judge Death ... it can match his career, his acting style and his brain waves.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 6:49:48 PM

@trailertrash

When Stallone was doing it, he might've thought he was onthe set of Cobra.
trailertrash writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 7:09:20 PM

@bunny- lol

I just think this will get missed and kids would rather see the new spiderman, batman, the avengers so on , maybe make it an R and go for the older audience.

VINNE JONES this guy is a legend here , i watched him play football loads of times and now he's in hollywood making movies, live the dream Vinny , he's a good guy.

Maybe one day you will all know wayne rooney when he comes to hollywood in 15 years time LOL
CCBlev writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 9:37:58 PM

^I love Vinnie, he needs to be in more movies.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 10:25:32 PM

@CC Blev

If you want to see Vinnie at his best, I recommend " Mean Machine "
Troy Williams writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 1:00:32 AM

HAHa my mom used to hate me watching this movie, its so violent. 90's ftw, plz God dnt let this suck!!
Man in Black writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 1:26:14 AM

any takers that they go over budget ?
Troy Williams writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 1:40:52 AM

wouldent be surprised at all, dsnt seem like a 50mil kinda film.
trailertrash writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 2:34:13 AM

@cc- max has to be lock stock for the best of vinnie , That was his first job and people here thought guy ritchie had gone mad , this was a guy who more famous for grabbing gazza's balls, but he was pretty good and boy he knew how to shut a car door LOL

http://www.southdacola.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2008/12/gazza.jpg
kagai writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 2:37:27 AM

Having collected the comics, I had high hopes for the first movie, but Rob Schneider, and pretty much everything else, killed those hopes quick.

If they go the dark/dark humor R-Rated route and base it off the comics, we could be looking at a winner...but, I'm holding my hopes close this time.

'Cause, I'm sure it's going to be PG-13 and 3-f*cking-D! We all know 3D makes it better!

"Is that a Lawgiver in my face, or are you just happy to see me? OMG, I can almost TOUCH it!"
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 3:34:28 AM

i agree vinnie jones is a legend he does need more love his badass role like in gone in 60 seconds
dAnKoNe23 writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 8:49:13 PM

Apparently my definition of "details" greatly differs from yours, wp. Thanks!
groove68 writes:
on May 15th, 2010 at 8:11:33 AM

Pete Travis' previous film was ENDGAME, a political thriller about the end of Apartheid with Chiwetel Ejiofor, William Hurt and Jonny Lee Miller.

http://www.realeyz.tv/en/pete-travis-endgame_cont3369.html

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved