WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First Look: Jason Momoa in "Conan the Barbarian" Remake

Posted: May 10th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First Look: Jason Momoa in "Conan the Barbarian" RemakeSubmit Comment
We recently showed you some photos from the Bulgarian set of the "Conan the Barbarian" remake. Today, we have the first shots of a bulked-up Jason Momoa ("Stargate Atlantis") as the title character. Check everything out below.

Plot: The tale of Conan the Cimmerian and his adventures across the continent of Hyboria on a quest to avenge the murder of his father and the slaughter of his village.

The new movie is directed by Marcus Nispel (The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, Friday the 13th) and co-stars Ron Perlman (Hellboy) as Conan's father, Stephen Lang (Avatar) as Khalar Singh, Rose McGowan (Grindhouse) as Marique, Rachel Nichols (GI Joe) as Tamara, and Bob Sapp as Ukafa.

Set Photos: (click to enlarge)


Source: LatinoReview, Conan


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 79 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
AYT BALL writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 6:42:38 PM

ah, conan back in the small pretty days
Rush66 writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 6:57:30 PM

Looks as stupid as the originals
bale01289 writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 6:58:32 PM

hey, why is this dude wearing a skirt? Where the hell are his leather man panties? I call shenanigans!
Ranger writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 7:01:53 PM

I've said it before and I'll say it again. Arnie movies are not meant to be re-made, for various reasons.

1. The man's size alone.
2. Some of his movies are so bad (respectfully), why improve on that part of his charm.
3. He's truly an original.
4. Lohan is a c*nt.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 7:11:28 PM

Gahhhhh .... looks the a minature Great Khali ... ugggghhhhh.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 7:11:30 PM

he looks pretty gay compared to Arny. not exactly screaming power-house ... more like omg i like barbies ...
encoreyourface writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 7:12:01 PM

Ranger-100% agreed!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 7:12:24 PM

Looks like he fell and hit every tree limb on the way to the ground. Twice.
SofaKing writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 7:16:59 PM

haha Ranger, so true! and the first three are true too...
Ranger writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 7:17:58 PM

lol.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 7:28:28 PM

They should've went with Jack Black. Atleast when people laughed they could try to spin it so that it was meant to be funny from the beginning.
Ari Gold writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 7:36:55 PM

This looks terrible.. Arnold movies shouldn't be remade..

On another note, this sites getting bigger. Heaps of new people.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 7:40:38 PM

This sh*t ain't even funny anymore. Kevin Sorbo would have fit the part better than Somoan Joe here. Nightmare On Elm's short-lived reign of terror at the top of the worst reboot list is in big trouble the minute a trailer for this POS hits the net.
PLASTIC MAN writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 7:46:48 PM

All you dumbsh*ts listen up. Conan is a literary series first, not a film. So if they make a new Conan movie, it doesn't have to be a reboot.

And BALL Sacdaddy did you even see nightmare on elm street? IT was f*cking cool. Way cooler than you!
Ranger writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 7:53:54 PM

@PLASTIC MAN - blow me.
Ted Mosby writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 7:54:30 PM

this looks idiotic... why do this movie? the guy looks like a buff criss angel... PASS
Ranger writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 7:54:46 PM

@Ari - heaps of new... something.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 8:04:58 PM

@PLASTIC MAN - new nightmare on elm street was really bad, secondly Conan was always a caveman looking beast of a man, even in the "literary series", so your point?
Ranger writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 8:17:20 PM

... is in his pants as he looks upon the vision that is Jason Momoa.
jdl107 writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 8:17:39 PM

@ plastic man: Lol no f*cking way dude. I saw that movie two days ago. Hahahaha go f*ck yourself
jdl107 writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 8:23:43 PM

Well..... at least they decided to keep it right and not make him huge. But I just don't think Conan when I look at that guy
Inception writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 8:24:15 PM

"I've said it before and I'll say it again. Arnie movies are not meant to be re-made, for various reasons.

1. The man's size alone.
2. Some of his movies are so bad (respectfully), why improve on that part of his charm.
3. He's truly an original.
4. Lohan is a c*nt."

Completely agree with you.

Inception writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 8:25:44 PM

So this will be the sequel to Pathfinder.
Ranger writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 8:34:05 PM

Thx. Inception.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 8:34:30 PM

This looks kinda lazy. But since he is still screwing one of the Cosby girls, I'll keep my smarty mouth comments to myself.
rabid writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 8:36:33 PM

Looks great. Closer to the Conan from the books, and Mamoa is a much better actor than Arnold ever was.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 8:36:57 PM

PLASTIC MAN-i made a mistake you are just a f*cktard. i'm sure just about every single one on here knows it was a comic book you idiot. and the point is this guy looks like a p*ssy compared what Conan SHOULD look like, and Arny represented that best. if someone saw the original and then this remake, or read the comics, they would be wondering why the f*ck they chose this guy.

get blown
Ranger writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 8:40:02 PM

... again.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 8:41:04 PM

rabid-that surprised me ...
streetlawler writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 8:44:17 PM

Better actor than Arnold??? Have you seen Hercules in New York? I'm pretty sure he took home the Oscar that year.
Taranaich writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 8:45:33 PM

Ranger, you are correcting saying that nobody should remake an Arnold movie. However, a new Conan film isn't necessarily a remake of an Arnold movie, which is what Plastic Man was trying to say.

Unfortunately, Momoa just didn't have enough time to bulk up sufficiently for the role, but frankly, Momoa is the LEAST of this film's worries considering the script is utterly atrocious.
Inception writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 8:47:26 PM

Seriously this is f*cked up, this guy looks pathetic. They should have casted Danny Trejo instead.

The 1981 film will still look superior to this piece of sh*t. Well the 81 version will never be beaten anyways.

Some things are not meant to be touch, like Lohan's p*ssy.
Ranger writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 8:53:31 PM

@Street - lol... OK, better body than Arnie. Hercules was a B-Movie all over the place.

@Taran - well said. I was just busting Plastic Man's chops. I like his posts.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 8:54:04 PM

don't wanna be a douche about it but i think it came out in 82
Ranger writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 8:59:16 PM

It was '82
lost_addict writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 9:02:25 PM

looks like he just got out of a 'twilight' gay fan party
Inception writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 9:02:50 PM

true it was 82. Those pictures of Conan the Gayest, makes you literally forget there was one to begin with.
bale01289 writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 9:07:22 PM

@Plastic Man - You're a grade +A deuche, and show no class........away with you!
Tons of new classy peeps........thanks FaceBook and Twitter.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 9:20:27 PM

"And BALL Sacdaddy did you even see nightmare on elm street? IT was f*cking cool. Way cooler than you!"

LOL!!! I keep trying to come up with something that insults you more than your own comments, but I'm really coming up empty over here. I've already said plenty regarding NOES on every post since that bullsh*t started stinking up the theaters last weekend. Now I can just let the film's 15% score on the old Tomatometer speak for itself.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 9:23:38 PM

bale-! that must be it! i'm serious that is probably why all these ass-holes are coming on in greater numbers ...
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 10:19:25 PM

he is no arnold, but he is ok
CCBlev writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 11:23:36 PM

Helluva night on this thread.
1. Ranger is spot on as always!
2. Plastic Bitch proves yet again, he's a flaming imbecil, I just hope he was the only one in the litter.
3. This Conan is really looking gay and I think Plastic Bitch just may have a role in it as Momoa's sidekick/lil gay lover, only to be seen in the deleted scenes on the Blue -Ray dvd thank God!!!!
4.Encore,Sac,Bale,Max,AytBall, and everyone else, great stuff as always.
5. O and Plastic Bitch is really the left side of Lohan/s Blue waffle.
Man in Black writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 2:20:55 AM

gay ... the end
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 3:09:04 AM

Don't worry guys. These pictures are fake, because I can't see Shayhiri anywhere in them.

So Facebook is to blame for all the new idiots? Curse you Facebook!
encoreyourface writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 3:33:49 AM

CC-lol! yes today was busy. and PLASTIC is a p*ssy.
Troy Williams writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 4:15:57 AM

sucha LAME looking movie. i hope it bombs
J.A.Ottley writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 8:06:26 AM

@ Max

LMAO minature Khali, haha
J.A.Ottley writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 8:14:18 AM

LMAO Plastic Man

Props your a CLASS A JOKER

I went to see A Nightmare On Elm Street's reboot via the Nightmare Primere Screenings, the best part of the whole screening was when they began to play the 1984 original.
People slept during the remake to wake up in the original and i've never seen people cheer so much, not even when the Avatards found out about Avatar 2

:D

So stick freddy's glove up your pipe and smoke it
Bunny X writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 9:05:37 AM

dammit Plastic Man, why did you have to go and take one of my all time fav comic characters as your name only to be an absolute sh*thead.?

they seriously could have slapped any other ancient times tag to this movie other than Conan, and I'd be ok with this. To tag it with Conan, you are putting yourself up against Arnie's movie regardless. It doesn't matter a damn about the literary version of Conan. this will stand up to the Arnie movie and fail.

Hell, Conan O'Brien would've made a better Conan than Samoa Joe **lmao @SAC TNA ref ;)
kasleari writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 9:51:24 AM

gay
@nchorman writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 9:56:10 AM

i can see this f*cker getting on the band wagon for twilight and trying to get a gig as one of those f*cking gay body painted f*cking wolves from the movie...
if arnie was dead..he'd be spitting in his grave!!
i spit on your grave!! (all those bastards who are making this remake)
plus not a bad movie (i spit on ur grave ofc)
@nchorman writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 9:57:13 AM

btw conan does not wear a FKN SHIRT!!!!!!!!
and lol at plastic...i have a couple of uses for u...GET ON MY c*ck AND STOP ME FROM GETTING HERPIES !!!!
@nchorman writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 9:58:16 AM

skirt*** whoops pardon me ladies ;)
rabid writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 11:08:35 AM

This guy looks exactly how Conan is supposed to look in the novels and in the comics, so why is everyone downing it? Because he doesn't look like some cartoon character like Arnold?
Conan is supposed to have a physique similar to Tarzan, not the Incredible Hulk.
rabid writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 11:09:17 AM

Conan pretty much always wears a skirt. He also usually wears a Betty Page haircut.
Salvador writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 12:17:50 PM

Mhmmm....

I don't see this guy as "Conan".

'Arnie' is unbeatable, period.
Bunny X writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 12:42:38 PM

@Rabid, true, I've read some of the books and the descriptions in them of Conan but like I said, regardless of them, this movie will be held up against the Arnold movie and that's where the comparisons will be drawn.

It's like the Kull The Conqueror movie with Kevin Sorbo. That was originally to be Conan The Conqueror with Arnie but since they couldn't get him, they made the name change to move it away from what Arnie already established even though Sorbo fit the build of Conan / Kull according to the works.
But you really didn't hear much of a backlash when it came out because of the name change. Had they left it Conan The Conqueror with Sorbo in it, there would have been all types of comparisons to the Arnie movie.
If this movie didn't have that Conan tag, nobody would even grief over this.
rocketman writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 2:32:08 PM

PERM?

WHY?


rabid writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 2:34:49 PM

I like to think things have changed since Kull. Conan has had 4 or 5 volumes of comics, some fan-based books, a cartoon and two successful video games since then. Fortunately I think today's young audience is too young to remember and make the comparison to the old one.
TeemSelami writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 3:16:44 PM

FAGGGG
Orias writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 5:36:17 PM

Enough! I have been lurking for a while but hearing some people say that Conan from the Robert E. Howard novels is supposed to look like a Hawaiian trick made me choke on my bile. Conan from the books, from Robert Howard, to Lin carter and Sprague De camp, to Robert Jordan and he is not some pretty boy twink but a humungous 6 foot 4 to 6 foot 6 monster. Its just his muscles are quick twitch like a runner and not muscle bound like a modern day weight lifter. There are huge guys like that, freaks of nature, think of boxers. We are talking about useful muscles and not show and tell ones for the magazine that inhibit range of motion. Just because he occasionally fought a guy even bigger than himself doesnít mean he was a small guy himself. He is like one of those Norwegian Toughman contest guys that can do it from their genes alone and not from steroids of growth hormones, a beast, not a running back sized brown smurf. And on another note the new Nightmare on Elm street was pretty good, but I admit I am biased because they filmed part of it in my old High School so I thought it was pretty sweet seeing Freddy in my old Hallways.
HideousSecretion writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 6:33:24 PM

Looks like the manboob character on the front of trashy romance novels. Guess Conan is being marketed to horny old ladies who don't have American Gladiators to rub it out to anymore. And fags. What's the point of making a Conan film if you push away Conan fans? Seems like a bad business decision.
Orias writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 6:53:52 PM

Frank Frazetta passed away yesterday, he was the official artist of the Conan covers. To see how big Conan should be look no further. http://www.comicsbeat.com/2010/05/10/frank-frazetta-rip/
rabid writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 9:31:05 PM

Conan isn't anything like a Norwegian. He's a Cimmerian. Cimmerians were basically the forefathers of the Persians/Iranians. Their empire stretched from Russia to the Fertile Crescent.
The Cimmerians in the books are the remnants of Atlantis, and Atlantis has never been thought to have existed in northern areas.

I don't see a big deal in a Hawaiian with a weak tan playing a character who is basically an eastern european/middle-easterner. And on the old pulp covers, Conan isn't all that big. I've even seen him drawn smaller than Momoa.

HideousSecretion writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 11:45:21 PM

Cimmerians weren't Persians. They were based on Celts. And they certainly weren't Hawaiian fags.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 2:55:27 AM

rabid- it is true on the fact that old Conan comics he was drawn like a pretty regular guy, but more recent like 70's+ or something he was more strong looking. and you're right Arnie ruined it for us(in a manner of speaking) no one can top how f*cking cool and awesome he look(s)
encoreyourface writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 2:55:57 AM

"And they certainly weren't Hawaiian fags. "

f*cking A!
wlcm2thdwn writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 10:16:31 AM

Jason Momoa is fine actor and he's the best choice to play a warrior role like this. People should not judge this man or movie before it's even hit the screen. Go Jason.
Orias writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 10:35:33 AM

Actually you are both wrong, Conan was always meant to be a big guy. You both act like the Comics started it all when it was the short stories in Weird magazine and then the books of those acc*mulated stories after he killed himself back in the 1930ís that actually started it. Robert E. Howard was a contemporary of HP Lovecraft and they exchanged story themes and ideas for some of their stories.

Anyway, Robert really started the idea of what we take for granted as modern fantasy. Hollywood didnít glamorize it anymore then he intended it to be, he always wanted it to be a world of fantasy where every Hero is gigantic and rippling with muscles and every maiden secretly a slut with huge tits. That is the idea, itís the id running wild, you imaginary self kicking ass in the books. When you sit back and fantasize about how you wish you were do you think of yourself as only slightly taller, slightly stronger, and a slightly bigger d*ck? Hell NO! You imagine yourself a freaking Hulk that can BP 700 pounds that towers over other men with a 9 inch d*ck that all the women canít get enough of, that is sword and sorcery genre boiled down to its most basic elements. Everything in his stories are magnified, bigger, stronger, and more epic. Keep in mind Robert E. Howard himself with a big athletic guy as it is and he felt like he was born out of time and should have been born thousands of years before where he could have used the brute force of his to take what he wanted and make something of himself in battle. In a peaceful modern civilization you cannot do that because we have things like police and the great equalizer in battle, guns. Robert was also crazy and when he was writing Conan he hallucinated that he saw Conan as a massive shadowy giant lurking in his house with a bloody battle axe threatening to cleave him in two if he did not write down his adventures to share with the world that he told him of.

As for the Cimmerians they were supposed to be predecessors of the Gaels. For a modern day comparisons I used the Nordic countries as a bloodline since that is the closest modern day equivalent in my opinion-most of the Northern Bloodlines all have mixed Viking blood in them now days from their conquests. In the books they have a map of Hyperboria superimposed over a modern map of Europe. Cimmeria is like where Northern Scotland and parts of the Nordic countries would be now plus parts of the land in between those areas now underwater.
Orias writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 11:16:55 AM

Jason Momoa is the wrong actor to play Conan. Conan is a Menís fantasy and when we want a hero in a menís fantasy adventure we want him to be tough and intimidating and epic in proportions. Jason is not epic, he is not intimidating either and he is too much of a soft-faced metrosexual (that is fodder for womenís fantasy not our admittedly sexist realm of the sword and sorcery genre). Remember the scene in Sin City when Marv is sitting at the bar and Jack Rafferty says something to the effect of ďlook at that guy, if it were a thousand years ago they would be throwing women at him.Ē That is the essence of Conan, the manís man, hard, brutal, someone you donít want to f*ck with in a bar or back alley. Jason is not that guy, more like a pampered, pedicured cur born and bred in the city and comforted by the vain and venal soft sophistication of modern times suckling from the teat of GQ and esquire.
Orias writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 12:12:48 PM

Conan is a big guy, he just looks small compared to the sh*t he fights. http://www.bscreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/CONAN-movie-characters-nispel.jpg

But if you read the books he is wrestling with giant man-eating gorillas and cleaving shields and people or ice wyrms in two with one stroke of a sword (all sh*t that a normal sized guy cannot do). All his deeds are the feats of a agile but HUGE man.

And here he is fighting Frost Giants that are like 10 feet tall!
http://www.unbsj.ca/arts/english/jones/mt/images/cimmeria.gif
Orias writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 12:40:01 PM

No more foolish allegations that Conan is Persian, here is a map of the Hyperborean world of Conan superimposed over a modern map of Europe to clear that all up.
http://i43.tinypic.com/281sak4.gif
jaizadon writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 4:29:02 AM

Two words...Cristian Bale.....oh yeah
rabid writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 9:52:47 AM

I'm trying to find the one and only description of Conan in the books. He really isn't meant to be that large. The description explains his height and weight and it's not that large.
And I never said that Cimmerians were Persians and lived amongst Persians. I said that they were the race of people who conquered the slavic lands and eventually became localized and grew into the Persian people. Conan stomped around what should have been trade routes somewhere in southwestern Russia. They've never been connected with the Gaelic, but people just tend to assume that because of Howard's inherent racism.

And Momoa doesn't even look that Hawaiian. He looks vague enough to be from any country on earth.
Orias writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 11:27:17 AM

Conan is Howard's id, his imaginary fantasy self. Robert E. Howard was a very large, muscular, athletic Irish man who lifted weights and boxed. Keep in mind this was back in the 1930's before lifting was popular and before UFC, these were the most extreme sports of the time available to him. Conan was big, all his feat of strength are of a large muscular man, like Howard was himself. Yes, as a product of his times he was a bit of a racist, just as people of the future will say the same of us. Conan was white, not Persian; the predecessors of the Persians are the people of Iranistan far away from Cimmeria. If he thought his character was made into a non-Caucasian character bedding white women he would roll in his grave. The Gaelic ancestry for Conan comes because he like HP Lovecraft played up and were proud of their ancestry. Stand aside; I feel like Darth Tyrannous talking to Anakin and Obi-Won in Episode II here, you have met you better (in Conan lore).
Orias writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 12:06:01 PM

here is a description of Conan: 'Conan is darkly tanned, has "sullen" or "smoldering" blue eyes, a "mane" of long black hair, and is scarred - Howard mentions most often the scarring on his face. Contrary to many modern illustrations, Conan is hirsute:

So formidable was his appearance, naked but for short leather breeks and sleeveless shirt, open to reveal his great, hairy chest, with his huge limbs and his blue eyes blazing under his tangled black mane, ... [The Hour of the Dragon, Chapter 3]
He is exceptionally tall and strong. Howard is never explicit in his stories, but in a letter to P. Schuyler Miller he wrote:

At Vanarium he was already a formidable antagonist, though only fifteen. He stood six feet [1.83 m] and weighed 180 pounds [82 kg], though he lacked much of having his full growth.
Conan's height and weight as an adult are subject to speculation - some estimates make him 6' 6" (2 m) and up to 250 lb (113 kg) - but extrapolating the growth of the 15-year-old Conan based on modern data would make him at least 6' 2" (1.88 m) and 216 lbs (98 kg) at 18. This talies with a comment Howard wrote in another letter that his crusader character Cormac Fitzgeoffrey is a double of Conan and that Cormac is 6' 2" and 215 pounds.

In Howard's tales no human is ever described as stronger than Conan, although several are mentioned as taller (such as the strangler Baal-Pteor) or of larger bulk. "
from http://conan.wikia.com/wiki/Conan
shayhiri writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 4:27:23 PM

Looks like some Hawaiian dancer.

A female one.
Orias writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 6:21:48 PM

lol, Give Jason some scars and explain away his skin as sun-tanned brown and he can play a 14 year old Conan. That is as far as I am willing to compromise. Here is more info on Conan's ancestry:

"Though several later authors have referred to Conan as "Germanic-looking," Howard imagined the Cimmerians as a proto-Celtic people with mostly dark hair and blue or grey eyes. Racially the Cimmerians to which Conan belongs are descendants of the Atlanteans, though they do not remember their ancestry. In his pseudo-historical essay "The Hyborian Age", Howard describes how the people of Atlantis (the land where his character Kull originated) had to move east after a great cataclysm changed the face of the world and sank their island, settling where northern Scotland and Norway would eventually be located. In the same work, Howard also described how the Cimmerians eventually moved south and east after the age of Conan. "
Orias writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 6:32:14 PM

these pics are how Conan is supposed to look, note he is much bigger and waaay cooler looking than Jason Momoa.
http://fc02.deviantart.net/fs36/f/2008/286/0/e/Conan_the_Barbarian_by_JoeJusko.jpg

http://doodiepants.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/07/conanearlnoremjr1.jpg

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved