WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jon Favreau Says "Iron Man 3" Villain Will be The Mandarin

Posted: May 10th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jon Favreau Says "Iron Man 3" Villain Will be The MandarinSubmit Comment
Marvel Studios has just confirmed that "Iron Man 3" will be released in 2013. And now, director Jon Favreau tells MTV News that the third installment will need to finally introduce The Mandarin character, a martial-arts expert who has superhuman powers that can tear apart Iron Man's suit with his bare hands.

"You've got to do the Mandarin," Favreau explained. "The problem with the Mandarin is that the way it's depicted in the comic books, you don't want to see that. He has 10 magical rings that just doesn't feel right for our [franchise]. So it's either tech-based, or the rings are not really rings. But maybe with 'Thor' and all those others, you'll introduce magic to that world and it won't seem so out of place."

He added that it's too early to start thinking about the details of the third installment. "There's so much left to understand about what the world is going to be like then," said Favreau. "You've got 'Thor,' 'Captain America,' 'Avengers' all happening with different directors before 'Iron Man 3,' and that's all going to affect 'Iron Man 3.'"

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 55 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masht7 writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 6:52:51 AM

All I can say is: Finally!
Sonic writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 7:04:10 AM

Chow Yun-Fat
blinkbomber writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 7:06:15 AM

At least he's putting some thought into it this early in the game... that's a very good sign.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 7:15:02 AM

Just hope they can get Sam Rockwell back as well. His character was a bit underused and I always felt like they were saving him for the next installment.
TheStig writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 7:47:01 AM

I agree Freud.

I am constantly impressed with Favreau. He clearly knows his source material better than just about anybody, but h knows how to take some creative liberties when he needs to without destroying the characters....like him a lot.
Melancholic_barbarian writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 7:47:39 AM

I co-sign on that sam rockwell sh*t. He's dope.I wonder who will play Mandarin.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 7:55:45 AM

Iron Man 2 set pretty low standards as far as realism is concerned so why does it matter anymore? Faverau should consider on laying off the cocaine for this next installment and make a more sensible film.
guitar_dudester91 writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 8:00:48 AM

The Thing I like about this is that Favreau isn't c*ckin off saying how much Iron Man wouldn't ever fit in the real Marvel universe with all those superheroes. A lot different than another superhero director.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 8:21:56 AM

@Guitar_Dudester: I'm guessing you referring to Christopher Nolan. If not, you can totally disregard this post (which you can do either way).

Nolan's Batman is a bit more "realistic" than Favreau's Iron Man. I'm not saying that Batman is without suspension of disbelief, but everything isn't implausible. Which is pretty much the case with Iron Man.
JohnZee writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 9:50:52 AM

Here's a clue Favreau that knows his source material so damned well. The Mandarin's rings are not magical, and haven't been from the very beginning. Now it is true that the average drooling idiot in China or elsewhere might mistake the rings for being magical, but they were actually found in a wrecked alien spaceship. And although hinted that they had something to do with the propulsion system, they are not and will never be "magical" rings. Alien tech yes, but not magical in any way.

And let's face it, who wouldn't want to see Iron Man mowing down legions of Marvel's resident evil ninja clan "The Hand", with a few notable leaders wearing one of the Mandarin's rings to soften Tony up for the eventual Iron Man vs. Mandarin man to man slugfest?
makingcircles writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 10:21:44 AM

I have faith in Favearu. Whatever he wants to do is fine with me at this point. He has proven himself worthy.
Bunny X writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 11:41:32 AM

Hopefully, he will incorporate Starks drinking problem into 3 as well although rumor has it they want to stay away from that as much as possible with all the toy and video game tie ins.
Don't want the kids going to school with IM bookbags carrying some Jack.

Me I'm honestly torn. I would like to see it as it truly shaped Stark and redefined Ironman, but on the other hand, I would hate to see that tired cliche of superhero fallen only to face his demons and rise up against a greater challenge.

but still, it could take the IM franchise to new heights.
SofaKing writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 12:13:29 PM

"Fictional Characters..."
koul writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 12:22:24 PM

Cary Hiroyuki Tagawa should definitely play the Mandarin. he is always good as a asian bad guy in movies
rabid writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 12:32:20 PM

Favreau said that he won't be going any deeper into the alcoholic storylines than part 2 does, for the sake of kids watching. I'm fine with that. There's been enough character development over 2 films, so that leaves the third open for nothing but action story. I still hope they'll tie Mandarin into the history of Stark and SHIELD. If an alien landed on earth, SHIELD should know about it.
rabid writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 12:36:01 PM

Maybe they could write the dragon alien to be a scout for the Skrulls and use it to set up Avengers 2.
Man in Black writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 12:38:25 PM

do it but cast stephen chow from kung fu hustle as mandarin im sick of seeing chow yun fat and jet li type cast over and over .... also what metal did tony create or recreate for his arc reactor ? vibrainium ? too lazy to search marvel.com
theghost writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 12:52:34 PM

Palladium I believe
Bonzaitri writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 12:57:19 PM

Tony Leung please, one of the best actors on the planet, speaks great english too in all the interviews i've seen.
ChainsawX writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 1:04:00 PM

The novelization of the iron man 2 book had references to the ten rings..but the movie did not...ah well
LOADIE4LIFE writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 1:12:15 PM

USE TONY JAA! anyways... jon really knows how to use tech-based weapons I wouldnt be surprised if the rings were actually gloves or brass knuckles with some kind of iron destruction... sh*t on it!
jimxcon writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 1:21:27 PM

Ken Watanabe is The man for the part!
Ranger writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 1:34:43 PM

@Bunny - good post. I for one (big IM fan here), hope the rumors are true and the DON'T go down the drunken path with Stark. Were this a weekly TV series, or a TV movie mini-series, sure, but not for the few installments (as compared to a TV series) this franchise will see. Not just for the kids - but because the IM character is over 40 years old, they have a TON of very entertaining, back-logged material from which to draw upon other than a dark, Spidey III Tony goes depressed Emo thing. Sure the booze thing would make Tony look more flawed and human... but they're touching upon that already (Favreau has it covered).

So Tony, ditch the booze, keep nailing the hotties and keep flying high (no pot reference intended).
rabid writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 1:37:10 PM

It'll probably be that Faran Tahir guy from the first one. He was supposed to play the Mandarin from the start, but Favreau didn't want to waste Jeff Bridges role in the film, so he rewrote it to make Stane the villain.
I don't see why favreau would recast Tahir since he's already played the role and is willing to return (plus that actor probably comes pretty cheap).
Ranger writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 1:40:39 PM

Because he's a camel jockey is what you're saying rabid?!?! Shame, shame on you!!!


lol.
Ranger writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 1:43:31 PM

Awww crap!

Lena Horne passed away. Beautiful woman... accomplished life... long life.

RIP my dear lady.
gotsghostrider writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 1:44:38 PM

I agree that chow yun-fat would be good for the mandarin the only problem is that whenever i see him all i can think about is Hard Boiled, and the years before he started putting out bad movies (i.e. Dragonball)
Bunny X writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 1:50:20 PM

@Ranger, true true, there is soooooooo many stories for IM to play out but in all honesty, are they going to give that to us in this franchise? How many more movies (let alone good ones) are left in this franchise before the reboot stick starts waving around? Is there any good franchises out there that continued any level of acceptability beyond part 3?
I would just hate to lose that portion of Starks story out before this franchise is done because I would love to see RDJ pull that one off. If anyone can relate to battling those inner demons and coming out on top, it's RDJ.
Because that's what endears me to Ironman so much. He has everything, money, women, the balance between superhero and real life persona with everyone knowing he's IM but of all the fights he's had outside the armor, it's the fight inside the armor that makes him.
I guess I'm expecting this franchise to cover the whole lore of IM and why not? With Favreau at the helm, it's been handled so very nicely thuse far. but I guess the realist in me understands that this franchise won't be forever and thus cannot cover the entire canon of Tony Stark / Ironman.

Although I will hold out for Joss Whedon to cover that in The Avengers film. As I stated before, Whedon is a genius when crafting a story with multiple leads and has proven before on many occasions that he can have one of his title characters fighting an inner struggle while at the same time fighting the fight outside with the rest of the team.
rabid writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 2:00:15 PM

I was watching this great episode of The Office last night, and it turned out that Joss Whedon had directed it.

Mandarin is half Chinese, half British, so he doesn't have to look full-on Asian. Besides, the difference between Afghanistan and eastern China is like the difference between Ontario and Michigan.
Ranger writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 2:15:18 PM

@Bunny - well said (as was your post(s) in the 'Waiting for Superman' thread on teachers).

Maybe we'll see more chinks in Stark's armor when the hotshot he is has to take back seat to CA, Thor and the likes. And no argument here that Tony's boozing would not only make him more human considering the demons (in a bottle) he's fighting. The relationship with his dad. Knowing Stark Industries has killed friendly soldiers. The government (Big Brother) riding his ass for his secrets to the armor, etc. etc. A LOT to explore for sure.
Bob82 writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 2:23:18 PM

Saw "Iron Man 2" last night. Awesome movie.
Inception writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 2:25:19 PM

The second was garbage and the third will be literally the sh*t.
Bunny X writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 2:27:24 PM

Ironman, Batman, and more than likely the upcoming Green Lantern movies are just proof positive that Hollywood HATES SUPERMAN!!!

These are the franchise treatments Supes deserves.
Ranger writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 2:29:07 PM

Superman should be done using Nolan and that trilogy story about Supes being the last man on Earth.
Bunny X writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 2:34:49 PM

Lol @Ranger, I wish. I just hope they reboot it (but bring back Routh) and have Supes wake up on his trip from deep space to realize that Returns stuff with the kid and crap was just a dream.
Get back to Earth, fight Bizarro, Brainiac, and a superpowered Luthor and go from there.
FBO writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 2:37:30 PM

I am actually sad that they didn't bring Singer back for his Man of Steel movie. Superman vs an Alien badass story line is the only way to go.
Ranger writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 2:44:19 PM

@FBO - haven't seen that yet. Sounds interesting.

@Bunny - aka: the Dallas Bobby and Pam in the shower episode? Yep.
rocketman writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 3:57:54 PM

Right i'm going to have to read some IM comics because im totally in the dark.Then again like with Green Lantern i might just leave it and get sucked into it from the other way round.

And the new Conan looks GAY as hell,f*ckin Xena extra.
Ranger writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 4:05:11 PM

@rocket - IM and GL, as I'll gather you're gathering are fantastic characters.
rabid writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 4:31:16 PM

I have a feeling the Superman movie might be starring Tom Welling. 2012 is the rumored projected end of Smallville (say what you will, but its soon to be the longest running sci fi show on tv). So if Smallville winds up the spring before the film comes out... there's an amazing opportunity to weave the two together. This way they can reboot while skipping the origin story.
rocketman writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 4:31:41 PM

@Ranger
Yeah,im liking the idea of both of them.I've a huge back-log(sn*gger) of stuff to read at the mo so im going to go into it the other way round and then compare it.But so far regards GL+IM i'm in.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 4:43:20 PM

'bout f*cking time. should have had him in the first place ...
SofaKing writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 5:31:26 PM

Get the guy from Brotherhood of the Wolf... You know, the guy who hosts Iron Chef. He's probably cheap and he can kick ass...
murphyslaw93 writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 7:37:30 PM

Well looks like we'll never see it, doest the world end in 2012?
Ranger writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 8:12:34 PM

God-willing!
telur writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 10:06:17 PM

mandarin is racialist character
Man in Black writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 3:13:28 AM

@ theghost.... thanks but is it used anywhere else in the marvel universe ?
encoreyourface writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 3:40:52 AM

telur-oh my God please don't start that sh*t you f*cking douche nozzle ...
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 4:51:32 AM

i have faith i loved both the first and second movies. and i can not stop thinking of Scarlett johansson in that suit.
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 4:54:39 AM

and at least he has 3 years well 2 to get some more good ideas and story unlike some movies and sequels.
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 4:57:44 AM

and get everyone who lived back and i hope Scarlett returns as black widow she was perfect and i dont care about the russian accent she was better to look at then who played pepper potts
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 5:29:47 AM

every dam time telur pops up and ruins things
The Real Joker writes:
on May 11th, 2010 at 10:17:19 AM

It's funny in swedish Mandarin means Tangerine.
I would like too see that villain.. The Tangerine.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 16th, 2010 at 2:57:43 AM

so true jigsaw ...
rebel writes:
on May 17th, 2010 at 11:06:24 PM

just to contribute to the discussion involving nolans issue of batman not existing in the same universe as other DC heroes:
its flat out f***ing retarded. batman. does. f***ing. exist. in. that. world.
nolan needs to pull his head out of his ass. hes doing a great job so far. he doesnt need to f*** it up by separating batman from the rest of the DC universe.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved