WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Photos: Ian McKellen Mistaken for a Homeless Man

Posted: May 10th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Photos: Ian McKellen Mistaken for a Homeless ManSubmit Comment
Ian McKellen (Lord of the Rings, X-Men) is currently in Australia for the international tour of the "Waiting for Godot" play. During a break, the cast (dressed up as homeless men), stepped outside into the streets of Melbourne and sat on a bench.

As pedestrians walked by, they didn't recognize McKellen, but instead saw an old bearded man dressed in rags begging for money. This is why people threw money into the actor's hat.

"I headed out to have a breather at the stage door, dressed in my tramp costume," said McKellen. "I had my bowler hat between my feet and there were passers-by, and one of them turned back and said 'do you need help, brother?' And $1 fell into my hat!"

He continued: "I didn't have time to thank him. If that man would like to identify himself, we would like to invite him to come and see 'Waiting For Godot.' And if he insists on paying, we'll knock a dollar off the ticket price."

McKellen has the coin above his dressing room mirror and considers it his good-luck charm for the rest of the tour.

Photos: (click to enlarge)


Source: Herald Sun


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masht7 writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 6:59:21 AM

Ian McKellan audtioned to sequel to 'Hobo with a Shootgun'.
wonderBOY writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 7:08:21 AM

because hobos dress like they were in the 1850's. WATCH OUT OLIVER TWIST
guitar_dudester91 writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 8:03:14 AM

Ya really wonderboy. Ha looks a little too staged for me.
trailertrash writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 8:23:27 AM

@mash- if he did i bet he got the part, no problem...


I think he's raising money for x men: magneto
VDODSON writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 9:10:40 AM

He's still a cool gay guy.
VDODSON writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 9:20:45 AM

Apparently, the passerby assumed he had been transported back to early 18th century London.
trailertrash writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 9:27:03 AM

Is the guy at the back Matthew kelly ??

If so , tonight matthew i'm going to be a camp-tramp..... lol
lost_addict writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 9:47:55 AM

thats joaquin phoenix in 5 years from now.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 10:43:16 AM

lol hes cool!
otis writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 11:17:17 AM

I don't understand the surprise. It looks like he staged this whole thing and was expecting money to come his way. Betcha he really got at least 15 bucks and spent it all on whiskey, like a real homeless man.
johndillinger writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 11:28:57 AM

"As pedestrians walked by, they didn't recognize McKellen, but instead saw an old bearded man dressed in rags begging for money. This is why people threw money into the actor's hat."

oh i thought it was because he wasnt begging for money.
Agent Calavera writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 12:08:16 PM

@trailertrash that HAS to be Matthew Kelly, look at that smile!
Ranger writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 12:36:05 PM

"If that man would like to identify himself, we would like to invite him to come and see 'Waiting For Godot.' And if he insists on paying, we'll knock a dollar off the ticket price." --- Ian, you cheap c*nt.

Ranger writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 1:05:27 PM

Way to reward a guy giving money to what he believed was a homeless person. Giving him the same dollar he's already given off a ticket price to a play he'd probably never pay to see anyway. I love your acting Ian, but you're a cheap whore.
Inception writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 1:35:04 PM

Grumpy old men meets Philadelphia.
Ranger writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 1:55:58 PM

I'm sure he's just joking about the $1 off the guy's ticket. But it's fun to pick on the aged.
warlord writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 3:42:01 PM

been thare
encoreyourface writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 4:48:45 PM

haha ... homless people are awesome ...
Ranger writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 8:13:03 PM

I like stealing their cans.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 8:41:43 PM

I would still f*ck him.

(Yes, I know he is gay but I love him in the X-men movies)
Ranger writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 8:54:20 PM

lol.
Ranger writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 8:55:29 PM

McKellan isn't any more gay than that ad running to the right of this thread about putting your own name into the Twilight story to fall in love with Edward. f*ck me!
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 8:58:56 PM

Thank all that is holy that I don't see that ad Ranger. It's bad enough to see the Macgruber ads every time I come to this site.
Ranger writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 9:19:11 PM

Don't shoot the messenger!

http://www.bookbyyou.com/teen/default.asp

Any purchase before this week ends and they'll throw in a FREE AIDS Test coupon (good at anyone's local clinic)!
encoreyourface writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 9:38:16 PM

Ranger- ... NO. thst link that scarred me ...

Ranger writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 9:41:59 PM

It did me... I'm sharing the scarring!
trailertrash writes:
on May 12th, 2010 at 3:02:24 PM

@Agent Calavera - LOL , pretty sure thats him !!
johnthemon writes:
on May 15th, 2010 at 11:08:16 PM

awesome

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved