WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Richard Dreyfuss Made "Piranha 3D" Only for Money

Posted: May 9th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Richard Dreyfuss Made "Piranha 3D" Only for MoneySubmit Comment
Actor Richard Dreyfuss says that President Bush wanted the poor people of New Orleans to die during hurricane Katrina. He also takes every chance to blast Republicans, calling them corrupt and a bunch of thieves, but at the same time he says that he is all about bi-partisanship.

While he sometimes sounds like an insane old man, Dreyfuss is actually involved in an initiative to get America back on its feet. He wants kids to learn about what made the country great and to understand that everyone has a duty in order to maintain America's values. And it is this initiative that was the reason why he reprises his role as Matt Hooper (from "Jaws") in "Piranha 3D."

"I had said 'No' because I didn't want to make fun of my own career," Dreyfuss told Hollywood News. "I was on the phone with Bob Weinstein and he said: 'We can give you a lot more money,' and I told him what I was involved in. I was describing to him this [idea of] bringing civics back, so that people understood their own civic authority. Because if we're bound only by ideas and don't teach them, we're not bound. And he interrupted and said: 'If it hadn't already been written, I would have said 'you had me at civics.'' He wrote a check that was this big to the Initiative, and I said: 'Okay, I'll do the film.'"

The site then asked if "Piranha 3D" was his opportunity to add some maturity and substance to the film. "No, it was an opportunity to get money into the Initiative," he replied.

Click here to read more about "Piranha 3D."

Source: Hollywood News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 56 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 4:52:17 AM

Hey... no need to explain yourself d*ck! I'm looking forward to this movie.
johnny_boy writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 4:54:23 AM

This title is written as if he was some awful guy. Least he's honest.
trailertrash writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 4:54:35 AM

Michael caine did the same thing for Jaws revenge good for you ..
lost_addict writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 4:58:19 AM

newsflash:All actors make movies for the money...
Ranger writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 5:00:01 AM

And the bitches (unless you're Jerry O'Connell).
Inception writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 5:01:23 AM

for money and p*ssy.
Ranger writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 5:11:29 AM

For money and c*ck (if you're Jerry O'Connell).
Inception writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 5:13:48 AM

Well most of these hollywood actors go straight for the c*ck instead of a nice p*ssy meal.
Ranger writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 5:15:12 AM

Sure... it's all fun and games until somebody loses an eye!
trailertrash writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 5:16:19 AM

I'm hungry now !!
encoreyourface writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 5:16:29 AM

shocker .... especially with this film who knew it was only for money ... i'm also guessing the money is for weed 'cause he looks f*cking baked ...
Ranger writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 5:18:20 AM

@trailer - LOL!
Inception writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 5:22:12 AM

wait a minute, look at his left eye, he did lose one in action thanks to O'Connell.
Ranger writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 5:25:01 AM

Richard Dreyfuss comments: Do you how I know Jerry O'Connell is gay?

Reporter: How?

Richard: His d*ck tastes like sh*t!
trailertrash writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 5:26:17 AM

There's nothing like a bit of muffin in the morning !! Movie star or not !!
Ranger writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 5:27:08 AM

Yep... and I got the hot butter.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 5:29:18 AM

Ranger-last two comments-LOL!!!!
trailertrash writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 5:30:43 AM

LOL , like your style....
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 5:36:49 AM

Didn't know he would be playing Matt again. Nerdishly fun. Also great to see some actor actually being honest.
Inception writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 5:46:29 AM

He literally looks the same way he did at the end of Mr. Holland's Opus, except there will be no audience for him this time, only O'Connell's ass.
wonderBOY writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 5:47:30 AM

he is doing a laurence olivier. Making any movie if the pay is good just to leave it for his family when he dies so is john malkovich, why else would he do transformers 3
Carl Erik Rinsch writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 5:50:54 AM

You like to repeat news, dont you WP, I read this news a long time before
trailertrash writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 6:55:49 AM

Gonna need a bigger pay cheque for pt2
@nchorman writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 7:40:26 AM

some ppl make movies so they can eventually get into porn...lohvag, im looking at you!!
rocketman writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 7:48:58 AM

Is he actually playing Hooper?

(Shaged Chief Brodys wife in the book Jaws)
trailertrash writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 7:56:14 AM

@rocket- And he died in the book didn't he ??
AYT BALL writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 7:56:57 AM

lol everyone does a movie like this for the money! they know they aint gonna bag an oscar! no big news here other than hes playing MATT FOOKIN HOOPER!!! how did i miss that?!?!?
AYT BALL writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 7:58:40 AM

@ trailer he did indeed die in the book! jaws came up with him in his gob and muched him infront of the fellas!
trailertrash writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 8:07:31 AM

Ayt - cheers , thought so and the shark lived as well !! It was a good book !
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 8:12:06 AM

Judging by the trailer it seems like Matt Hooper finally meets his destiny. Then him, Quint and Brody can swing some beers in the great beyond.
trailertrash writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 8:25:53 AM

^Singing!! Show me the way to go home I'm tired and wanna go to bed !!
AYT BALL writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 8:55:46 AM

@ Trailer - basically hooper gets eaten, Quint gets dragged into the water by the harpoon rope and drowns and then broady is sitting waiting for the shark to come without any gun or spear, and the sharks coming at him.......then just dies from its wounds, kinda sucked a little
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 10:39:05 AM

Richard Dryfuss : Thinks he's Teddy Roosevelt and is looking more and more like Wilford Brimley.

This money-whore has fluffed other director's c*cks and cornholed himself in such money making classics as :

Poseidon

Who is Cletis Tout ?

Krippendorf's Tribe

Mad Dog Time

Moon Over Parador

and Valley of the Dolls

Yep ... he's his own self parody.
gummijoker writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 10:43:03 AM

This is gonna be an EPIC
trailertrash writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 11:53:15 AM

@ayt- I saw an interview with spielberg once and he said the hooper / brody affair was in the book to give some love interest to the readers and thats why they cut it out of the movie it slowed the pace down, which then meant they could keep him alive (morally he had to die i guess in the book).

Quint's death was like Ahabs in moby d*ck. They wanted him to be eaten by the shark so they changed it.

For the best IMO, might have to watch this again now !!
SACdaddy writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 12:22:16 PM

Somebody needs grab Dreyfuss and:

Show him the way to go home,
He's tired and wants to go to bed,
He had a couple drinks about an hour ago,
and they went right to his head.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 1:15:24 PM

@ trailer - yeah cant be doing the Chiefs wife!! he was supposed to die in the movie but they got those great shots of the shark going nuts on the empty cage so they changed it and had him escape so they could still use the footage, in the book it got hold of him and pulled him out.....again for the better i think!
triggax writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 1:54:00 PM

Encore, do you EVER write anything that isn't completely retarded? Or even slightly comprehensible.. Im starting to think nay.

As for Dreyfuss... He said the same thing about W. he hated the script and thought it was a giant f*cking joke, but did it for the money regardless...

Didnt know they were bringing back hooper from Jaws.. Seems a little cheap considering...
trailertrash writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 1:56:13 PM

@ayt- Love those shots of the shark going crazy on the cage at the end , Thats all ron and valerie taylor's work.

They have shot some awesome shark footage over the years. There was a 3 part doc*mentary on them a few years ago and they showed them filming alot of the jaws stuff and spielberg going through the shots with them it was good stuff...
trailertrash writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 2:03:04 PM

trig- not sure how right that is , seen him else where listed as Dr. Gordon Raybanks..
triggax writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 2:08:18 PM

Hmm yeah, seems more likely that the comparison to Hooper may have been taken out of context somewhere down the line.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 2:24:36 PM

@ trailer - yeah ive seen all that stuff from the Taylors. those two are nuts! lol but got some awesome stuff!

As for his character in this, IF he dies i think he should be Dr. Gordon Raybanks, if he lives....Hooper! :-)
AYT BALL writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 3:00:09 PM

im gonna stop looking for stuff on google, ruins the fun!

Piranha SPOILER here if anyones interested

http://www.horroryearbook.com/545006/kelly-brook-piranha-3d-pictures
LOADIE4LIFE writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 3:37:47 PM

WAIT WHAT!!?!?!?! I thought all actors do it for money!!!?!?! thanks captian obvious!!!
LOADIE4LIFE writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 3:37:57 PM

WAIT WHAT!!?!?!?! I thought all actors do films for money!!!?!?! thanks captian obvious!!!
Ranger writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 3:52:28 PM

@Loadie - lol... lovin your avatar!
@nchorman writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 3:52:52 PM

People!! People!!! the title is to just throw you off!
Dreyfuss obviously made this movie for the Fame and Critical Acclaim that is going to come with it.
The next Robert Deniro or Richard Attenborough etc...
trailertrash writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 4:49:25 PM

Ayt- good call on Hooper , in the preview it doesn't look good for raybanks !! LOL

Will check link when I get in...
encoreyourface writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 5:56:02 PM

hey Trig! my fanboy posted again! I'll refer you to my reply on the naked chicks for Piranha campaign.

have a great one Trig the Troll.
Ash20 writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 8:55:16 PM

Oh, Wow... I totally didn't see that coming.
f*cking Jew...
Ranger writes:
on May 9th, 2010 at 11:47:39 PM

lol.
vwkombi writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 3:58:27 AM

Little off topic, but how many of you are actually signed up to WP on Facebook?
Ranger writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 5:29:45 AM

I'm not even on FB (and friends give me hell for it all the time).
encoreyourface writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 5:40:25 AM

don't get me started on f*cking facebook. that, twitter, and myspace can go suck a fat sweaty f*cking c*ck! seriously it amazes me how much time people spend on that sh*t ... haha .. reminds me of the newest South Park episode ...
warlord writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 3:44:21 PM

its ok richard all democrats are two-faced why should you be any differint
vwkombi writes:
on May 10th, 2010 at 10:17:09 PM

@ encoreyourface

I use it purely for hearing about up-coming gigs and metal night in my local town. I always knew it would be good for something.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved