WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Toby Jones is the Villainous Zola in "Captain America"

Posted: May 7th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Toby Jones is the Villainous Zola in "Captain America"Submit Comment
THR has learned that Toby Jones (Infamous, The Mist) is in final negotiations to portray a villainous scientist named Arnim Zola in "The First Avenger: Captain America."

In the comics, Zola was a genetic engineer who created clones and various monstrosities for Hitler. He also captured his own mental self, inserting it into a robot, and survived the war. Zola is now the second bad guy in the movie, with Red Skull (Hugo Weaving) being the first.

Joe Johnston is directing the World War II-set movie, which sees Chris Evans as the famed superhero. Sebastian Stan is playing sidekick Bucky Barnes, while Hayley Atwell is the hero's love interest, Peggy Carter. The movie shoots this summer in England and will hit theaters on July 22nd, 2011.

Click here to read more about "The First Avenger: Captain America."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masKritic writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 4:45:22 AM

stupid
masKritic writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 4:53:56 AM

I like the actor i just hate the story they're going with and i hate Johnston.
masKritic writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 4:54:31 AM

and why do they need two bad guys?
VDODSON writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 4:59:17 AM

How many f*cking characters are they cramming into this movie? By the time it starts filming, they will have at least 8,000 super heroes in it.
VDODSON writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 4:59:34 AM

Yes they deserved to die, and I hope they burn in hell!
trailertrash writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 5:04:41 AM

ahhh the little house elf as a baddie...
encoreyourface writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 5:13:16 AM

as i a fan i'm loving it, great watching your fav. characters on live-action screen ... but i know if they add more and more characters it'll end up a steamy pile of sh*t. stop it JJ!!! you're killing it!!
masht7 writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 5:15:17 AM

This guy looks something out of Sharkboy and Lavagirl. In other words, it looks completely stupid.
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 5:15:26 AM

I didnt know the exorcist woman was still doing movies.
jdl107 writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 5:22:52 AM

You know whats funny? Marvel is still good at putting together a cast that you can look at on imDb and just be like damn... this may be interesting. I just hope this quality doesn't fade...

But it will.
jdl107 writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 5:26:35 AM

But I was gonna say, I read the "second bad guy" part and right before I read the backlash I thought of the weirdness of putting two villains in a superheroes debut. I'm not familiar with the comics or the original (I call them the real) storyline so is this Johnston fellow doing this right so far?
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 5:38:55 AM

Batman Begins had 3 main villains and it worked out better than most movies that only have one. Also, I must've looked at the title of this article 5 times. I kept seeing it as "Tom Jones is the Villainous Zola in Captain America." Now that would have been some amazing casting news. He could have tried to beat up Cap with his huge dong.
Skywalker121289 writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 8:42:08 AM

I really like Toby in the Mist- he had the pugnant, 'I'm not Arnold but I can still kick your ass' effect that I really liked about him.

Evil- It's early in the morning- but weren't there only two villians in Begins? I neeeeed more coffee. Grk.
CCBlev writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 8:57:36 AM

@Encore, my friend, the day JJ got signed on it was doomed, I have a glimmer of hope but its very small at this time.
Rodan writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 9:35:17 AM

Damn, no wonder every actor's making like $30 for this movie. They're casting like every character. By the time they start writing the script for Captain America 3 the writers are gonna be like "sh*t! We have LITERALLY ran out of villains."
jeffw1978 writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 10:30:43 AM

I thought They have been killing this since day 1.
Skywalker121289 writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 10:37:38 AM

"sh*t! We have LITERALLY ran out of villains."

lol
Ari Gold writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 10:41:26 AM

I dunno if you guys remember.. But this guy looks like the real life version of the brain looking dude that was in that robot who was in the TMNT cartoon..
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 10:54:47 AM

I might just be high as a kite but Wasn't this character in hellboy 2? Which sucked major balls by the way
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 12:06:17 PM

I think you're just high as a kite :)
VDODSON writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 12:36:14 PM

Hell Boy 2 was superior to the piece of sh*t called Hellboy 1. He just got his ass beat the entire movie.
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 12:51:59 PM

@Freudian I guess so, an @vdodson both hellboys were pieces of sh*t
LOADIE4LIFE writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 1:00:34 PM

This guy rocked the sh*t in "the mist" but I dunno if Chris Evans is going to fit the spot of being a hero...
LOADIE4LIFE writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 1:03:11 PM

joe johnston is going to f*ck this up! he already sh*tted on it...
vaodsi writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 1:07:20 PM

wow i would actually maybe one day pirate this since it has toby jones. He is brilliant. Why is he in a pile of sh!t like captain america?
vaodsi writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 1:11:11 PM

@evil
ras al gul
scare crow
carmine falcone
i guess falcone was more side-line though....
TeemSelami writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 1:17:25 PM

not familiar with his roll in the comics but if he is an evil scientist he is probably a secondary character and maybe he doesn't get that suit until the end. just trying to be optimistic. for a genetic mistake toby jones seems to be doing well for himself.
hardcorehogan87 writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 1:31:49 PM

@VDODSON - Hahahaha, love that Sammy J. quote.
Ranger writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 6:08:37 PM

That's it Johnston... keep piling on the elements to an already OVER-loaded story. You planning on shooting long and telling the studio the only way to shovel your crap is to split this into 2 movies?

This movie is more jam-packed than Lindsay Lohan's *sshole on any given night!!!
Ranger writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 6:27:44 PM

This guy is in 12 projects THIS year alone.

Amazing!
encoreyourface writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 6:52:23 PM

they couldn't do the TV stomach, that would most likely end up pretty gay. here's a thought:

Zola and Skull become competitors for Hitlers favor. however Skull sets up an "accident" for Zola which wrecks his human form.however being a super genius he has downloaded his mind into a super computer and goes after Red Skull. just food for thought.

although i think he and the rest of the WWII heroes/villains need to take a f*cking cameo back-seat.
JohnZee writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 7:02:09 PM

Arnim Zola? That's a pretty clear example that this movie is going to be crap. Zola was the guy that was classic cheesy mad scientist type that could do more with the science of genetics in the 1940's then even modern day scientists could do today. Crazy stupid sh*t like splice together a tomato and man to make a human being with an head that was actually a ripe red tomato.

Most Captain America fans just ignore any panels with Arnim Zola in it, he just screws up the whole mojo. Honestly do you really think the Nazi would have lost the war if they could clone and manipulate genetic material on the level that Arnim Zola has routinely been shown capable of doing in Marvel comics?

Zola means cheeky special effects, super powered, comic book movie. And it pretty much confirms that First Avenger: Captain America will be a standard four color superhero movie, just set during World War 2.

At least there's a reason to use Baron Zemo, he's the one that kills Bucky and gets Steve Rogers frozen in the icy waters. And Zemo is far more believable then box-for-a-head Zola...

Captain America, Red Skull, Arnim Zola, The Howling Commandoes (And they don't call them Nick Fury's Howling Commandoes for nothing.)

A movie crammed full Marvel characters. You would think that Marvel was trying to establish ownership of as many characters for film projects as they can possibly use in a movie.

Especially considering most of their recent films have been jam packed with Marvel characters. I wonder who could be threatening their ownership of so many characters that Marvel would feel the need to pump as many Marvel characters into a movie project as they can?

But you know Stan Lee may have been the man, but Jack Kirby will always be the king. :)
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 10:40:38 PM

So Toby will look like a gay dwarf ? How f*cked up is Hollywood ?

He's gonna wind up as f*cked up as the dwarf who played Howard the Duck.
Lined Paper writes:
on May 8th, 2010 at 12:19:16 AM

Baron Zemo NEEDS to be in this! Not Zola! And Dr. Faustus! f*ck Zola!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved