WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel is Developing a Luke Cage Movie

Posted: May 6th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marvel is Developing a Luke Cage MovieSubmit Comment
We recently learned that Marvel is planning to allocate $20 million to $40 million to develop film based on some of their third-tier characters. LA Times is now reporting that the first of these projects may end up being a Luke Cage movie.

The paper claims that talks are underway to give the hero his own film and that a notable Hollywood star in now having preliminary talks with Marvel about the property and its potential. At one point Tyrese Gibson was in the running to play the character on the big screen. No word if that's still the case.

Cage earned his steel-hard skin thanks to a stint in prison. In exchange for early parole, he volunteered to undergo biological experiments which subsequently gave him superior strength and impenetrable skin, powers he used to break out of prison and embark on a career as a "hero for hire." In his early days, Cage would solve any problem and take down any bad guy, so long as the price was right. In the '80s, he enjoyed a successful partnership with the super-powered martial-arts expert Iron Fist, and more recently became a bedrock member of Tony Stark's new Avengers team.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 49 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SofaKing writes:
on May 6th, 2010 at 7:16:42 PM

Please please please please don't be Tyrese, that guy could not carry a whole movie by himself...
oklahomaer writes:
on May 6th, 2010 at 7:20:37 PM

i hope its mr t or gary coleman
IRONDAN writes:
on May 6th, 2010 at 7:27:20 PM

Dude please be Terry Crew... if there is one guy that i want to see get his own movie its him... hes always good and would be bad ass and funny at the same time
pomme writes:
on May 6th, 2010 at 7:30:30 PM

gary coleman!!!!!!
SofaKing writes:
on May 6th, 2010 at 7:34:54 PM

What if Gary Coleman got into a little tiny machine and then he could control Terry Crews!? Like avatar but Black instead of Blue! I think I am on to something here...
Ari Gold writes:
on May 6th, 2010 at 7:47:58 PM

Looking at this picture. Terry Crews for sure! He's Arnold Schwarzenegro.
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on May 6th, 2010 at 7:52:20 PM

As long as they dont pick 50 cent im in. Did i say dont... cause i totally meant only.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on May 6th, 2010 at 7:52:51 PM

Sweet Christmas!
AshTrey writes:
on May 6th, 2010 at 7:57:48 PM

so luke cage... a black superhero... got his powers in prison.

racism at its best
AshTrey writes:
on May 6th, 2010 at 7:58:26 PM

do it will smith!!
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on May 6th, 2010 at 8:40:15 PM

Michael Jai White would be awesome as Luke Cage. Will Smith, as much as he annoys me at times, would probably do good. No way he could get that big though. Even when he played Ali he wasn't big enough. Terry Crews would be good too, but not sure he's bankable enough to star in a big picture like this.
Ranger writes:
on May 6th, 2010 at 8:47:07 PM

Awwwww... f*ck! Too late for the Coleman jokes!!!

How about Marvel work on not f*cking up Captain America first, then go whole-hog on whatever they please?!
CCBlev writes:
on May 6th, 2010 at 8:48:49 PM

Gary Coleman, you are being summond, your comeback has arrived, and no you don't have to lick this comeback off your lips to make a buck.
Ranger writes:
on May 6th, 2010 at 8:55:19 PM

Lohan is really letting herself go!!!!

http://tinyurl.com/LohansMudFlaps
CCBlev writes:
on May 6th, 2010 at 9:07:04 PM

Omg Ranger, Im scarred now lol No sleep for me tonight.
Ranger writes:
on May 6th, 2010 at 9:11:53 PM

Welcome to the Sleepless Club!
CCBlev writes:
on May 6th, 2010 at 9:22:01 PM

I feel sorry for the guys that sucks on those tittie, talk about getting a hair in between your teeth!!
Ranger writes:
on May 6th, 2010 at 9:26:28 PM

Handy for flossing after eating a plate of Lohan Blue Waffle!
CCBlev writes:
on May 6th, 2010 at 9:37:09 PM

as long as those Blue Waffles are covered in alot of powdered sugar and maple syrup
Ranger writes:
on May 6th, 2010 at 9:40:03 PM

... and AIDS meds.
DetroitFanRick writes:
on May 6th, 2010 at 9:57:47 PM

Agree on Terry Crews. But who's gonna play the woman he gets all jungle fever with?

Ranger, feel free to cut loose here. lmao
Ranger writes:
on May 6th, 2010 at 10:03:11 PM

@Detroit - LOL.

Lovin' your avatar my friend!
thedotsays writes:
on May 6th, 2010 at 10:28:43 PM

Hell f*cking Yes. Get some Luke Cage on screen bitches!!!
TeemSelami writes:
on May 6th, 2010 at 11:01:25 PM

I vote for Jai White
DetroitFanRick writes:
on May 6th, 2010 at 11:07:48 PM

"The multiplying villanies of nature do swarm upon him. Disdaining fortune with his brandished steel which is saoked with bloody execution."

Hell of an opening line.
DetroitFanRick writes:
on May 6th, 2010 at 11:16:01 PM

And speaking of avatars...what about Selami's? Is that what I think it is?
lmao
Bunny X writes:
on May 6th, 2010 at 11:33:18 PM

Crews. White is cool but he's more a finesse guy. Crews is just raw and that's Cage. He's not doing spinning roundhouse kicks he's just whooping asses
rabid writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 12:11:45 AM

This is one of those occasions when they really should consider casting a wrestler or fighter or big giant meathead. A lean guy ain't gonna cut it.
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 12:50:47 AM

Please, Please, Please pick Michael Jai White. If you haven't seen Black Dynamite, do yourself and your friends a favor (No, I don't mean round-house blow jobs). You could just watch the trailer and see why he is perfect, but I recommend buying the movie.
johnny_boy writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 1:36:36 AM

Please no tyrease Gibson. He's as bad an actor as he is a singer. Terry crews MAYBE. So how's the relationship with Terrance howard and marvel going. Maybe he can play luke cage if they want him light and talking like a nerd.
Affliction writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 2:11:38 AM

My vote is for Terry Crews..........
Doc_Brown writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 2:23:51 AM

what do you call that big black f*cker in the wire!? That guy for this!
encoreyourface writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 2:39:36 AM

this was already confirmed wasn't it?
trailertrash writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 2:42:52 AM

@ranger- nice pic, lindsay seems less hairy there now, has she started chest waxing ?
trailertrash writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 2:53:45 AM

encore- Joan collins she was the original supe bitch !! lol

http://img.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2007/08_02/035JoanCollins_468x296.jpg
trailertrash writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 3:09:21 AM

supe= super
trailertrash writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 3:16:47 AM

@ doc- idris elba
dissident187 writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 4:13:42 AM

WorstPreviews may never put this up, but you guys need to see this. It's fan video directed by Joey Ansah (Desh from Bourne Ultimatum).

Street Fighter: Legacy

http://www.joblo.com/index.php?id=32033
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 4:55:26 AM

First I must ask: Why the f*ck do you want to give a prison inmate super-powers?

My first thought says that Terry Crews would be perfect, but then a second thought enter and says no. Crews is a funny guy and if he do this it'll lean towards the comedy-territory. I can't picture him being serious. Take Gamer for example.
ebola44 writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 8:30:54 AM

tyresseee is perfekt for cage
SACdaddy writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 8:35:13 AM

@FN: I've got the same concerns about Crews. As big as he is most of his talent lies in comedy not action (kind of like Charlie Murphy). Anyone backing Michael Jai White is forgetting what a TERRIBLE actor he is in everything accept Black Dynamite. I still have nightmares about what he did to Spawn. I've always thought Idris Elba would be perfect for this, but if Rampage does well as BA, I say give him a shot.

BTW, Tyrese is not a horrible choice for the part. He was pretty good in Death Race and definitely has the look and the attitude for Luke Cage.
lost_addict writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 9:32:35 AM

Every second grade super hero is getting a movie this days...
Bunny X writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 11:32:12 AM

Crews has been funny because the material he's given is angled towards funny. @SAC, you're spot on with the C Murphy comparisson. funny as hell, but looks like he can seriously put the boots to that ass.
As serious as Cage may seem, he's not all ice-cold hearted either. He has some light moments and is just more down to earth than anything else. If written without keeping in mind Crews' past work, Crews would do this part justice.
He looks the part, is chiseled out of granite and has some considerable films under his belt.

If they do this, they had better drop an Iron fist movie too!!
koul writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 3:24:21 PM

can't wait for Luke Cage. i really do want to see Tyrese play him. Tyrese needs to be a superhero for his next movie because it will be his first biggest movie if it does do good in theaters
JohnZee writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 7:15:47 PM

Jimmie Walker. You know the guy that used to play J.J. on "Good Times". The man has filled out a bit and ain't as skinny as he used to be. And then they could just CGI a muscle bound body around him.

And is the old woman that played the Beaver's mother on the old TV show "Leave it to Beaver" still alive? Because if she is I would love to see her helping to translate Cage's hip, gangsta, in-the-hood lines into something that everyone can understand.

Maybe they can make the movie political and call it "Black Power Man."

And oh yeah, prison inmates get experimented all the time, easiest way in the world to get an early parole...

...Of course most inmates end up in the get syphyllis or AIDs line, instead of the get steel hard skin, super strength, and limited regeneration line...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 10:53:49 PM

Terry Crews is perfect for Luke Cage ... he's got the charisma and build for protraying him on screen ....
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 10:55:07 PM

Or Michael Jai White, if he played a straight faced version of Black Dynamite, minus the afro ....
aarttyst writes:
on May 8th, 2010 at 1:39:14 AM

Before i count out Terry crews I wanna see Expendables.
Michael Jai White- negative, he is a good martial artist and all but uhh no.
I'm for Idris Elba as of now, I know he could pull it off.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 8th, 2010 at 2:46:30 AM

@ranger- Lohan is really letting herself go!!!!
http://tinyurl.com/LohansMudFlaps-

And you wonder why Muslim men have their women covered up lol

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved