WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"X-Men: First Class" Director, Release Date and Plot Revealed

Posted: May 5th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"X-Men: First Class" Director, Release Date and Plot RevealedSubmit Comment
Since "Kick-Ass" director Matthew Vaughn previously declined to helm 20th Century Fox's "X-Men: The Last Stand," it was assumed that he was also going to decline the chance to helm "X-Men: First Class." It turned out that he did, but as soon as Fox started having talks with other directors, Vaughn reconsidered and returned to negotiate a deal.

The studio is now happy to announced that Vaughn has been signed to direct "First Class" and that the new movie will hit theaters on June 13th, 2011 (less than thirteen months from now). In addition, Fox has also unveiled the official plot synopsis for the film.

Plot: "X-Men: First Class," following the classic Marvel mythology, charts the epic beginning of the X-Men saga. Before Charles Xavier and Erik Lensherr took the names Professor X and Magneto, they were two young men discovering their powers for the first time. Before they were archenemies, they were closest of friends, working together, with other Mutants (some familiar, some new), to stop the greatest threat the world has ever known. In the process, a rift between them opened, which began the eternal war between Magneto’s Brotherhood and Professor X's X-Men.

Source: 20th Century Fox


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
encoreyourface writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 4:02:01 AM

cool ... little more then a year ...
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 4:04:06 AM

Now that Vaughn is attached and after seeing Kick-Ass, I am now looking forward to this and I never thought I would.
masht7 writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 4:15:19 AM

What are you doing Mr. Vaughn? This is a Hollywood film, is Hollywood brainwashing our great directors again?
Man in Black writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 4:28:46 AM

is the ink dry on that contract ... cause your f*cking with my chi!!!!
johnny_boy writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 4:32:54 AM

@ masht.... People can't stick to their guns in Hollywood. I'm sure they paid him a sh*t load of money to convince him to direct ths"Hollywood" movie.
Monash writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 5:06:59 AM

Who's going to be in the first class?
They can't include Iceman and Angel with the ages they cast them in the other films
telur writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 5:28:36 AM

Basicly Matthew Vaughn f*cking liar. Its all about money anyway
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 6:13:59 AM

There's no need for this movie to be done. And I'm sorry to say this, but this make Vaughn sound like a hypocrite.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 6:37:30 AM

Well, f*ck me sideways!
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 6:39:35 AM

So what, he's a hypocrite. Every single person on here would gladly take a sh*tload of money to do something they love to do. Hopefully, he'll start fresh and fix all the continuity mistakes that Singer and Ratner made.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 6:50:09 AM

Well, neither of us has gone on record saying that Hollywood is dying and say that we want nothing to do with them. And if he loved this, why say no the first time and only come back when they discussing with others? Don't get me wrong, I would like to see what he can do with X-Men, even tough I don't believe further installments are necessary.
BDeck writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 7:11:00 AM

doing big flicks that are going to make you a lot of money is how you keep all of your indy and passion projects alive.

you also build relationships with people in high places that make other movies easier to get financed.its not what you know its who you know.

this is the reason why kevin smith did cop out,he knew he would make money and build a relationship with the big dubyea bee.

hes just playing smart.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 7:41:43 AM

Oh well, guess the guy has to "advance" his career like everyone else. I can't blame him for that. Hopefully it will open more doors for him, so he can get back to producing and directing the kind of material that made him famous (ie Lock Stock, Snatch, and Layer Cake).
Lizardking515 writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 8:16:12 AM

If the studio doesn't interfere with this then it should be really good. Haha we should have a teaser poster and trailer by christmas
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 8:29:16 AM

Given the plot, I feel like Vaughn signed on because he realized he can start the X-Men movies over in a fresh direction.

I don't think that comic book movies should go the trilogy route any more because it never works in terms of build-up. If what people say about Iron Man 2 is true (not as good as one), Favreau may be playing it safe to knock 3 out of the ball park. To me, the first one was ok. People should view it first before seeing 2 to make a better comparison.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 8:45:30 AM

So is this a straight-up prequel to Singer's "X-Men" movies, or is a reboot?
jeffw1978 writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 10:20:08 AM

I for one would take a sh*t load of money to direct anything even if I did sound like a hypocrite, Pretty much I would be like I have a sh*t ton of cash and you don't f*ck the past and ethics all together.
KirkLazerus writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 11:10:10 AM

why do people love matthew vaughn? stardust was okay, kick-ass was decent but I don't think its better than Layer Cake, he's smart take a sh*t load of money now while everyones on your sac

btw Kick-ass overrated
rebel writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 11:26:08 AM

this only works if its something of a "reboot". which needs to happen anyhow.

if we consider "x-men origins: wolverine" and the upcoming 2nd installment separate from the 3 x-men movies we were previously given, and then have first class come out as a complete reboot, then it works, and ill trust vaughn with it.
on the other hand, if it is tied to previous x-men films, then no matter what vaughn does, its screwed.

singer can get all the fanboy praise he wants. i thought all 3 of the x-men movies sucked. the third was only the worst.
lost_addict writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 11:28:04 AM

so maybe they will make cyclops a bad ass for the first time?or is going to be super gay like in the previous movies?
rocketman writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 11:35:39 AM

f*cking origin storys suck...except for Kick Ass strangly enough...Dilema time.I hope the First class does'nt mean we are getting teenage Cyclops and co.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 11:36:36 AM

I wonder how they plan on addressing any of the continuity issues the X-Men / wolverine movies created.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 11:38:29 AM

Dang @SAC, how did you change your avatar?? Mine won't change and I keep trying. I can't get it off of the Watership Down avatar that I started with.
dman500 writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 11:38:41 AM

i'm on board for this movie...i don't think it needs to be a reboot or direct prequel to singer's films...there was very little back story given in the singer movies, with the exception of the young magneto holocaust scene, and only a few of the characters will crossover...and the origins of those characters was never really explored by singer...i think vaughn can do his own thing and still create a film that fits nicely into the marvel movie universe.
Bunny X writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 11:53:31 AM

ok
Gates writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 1:48:53 PM

Vaughn is a sellout for making those comments about Hollywood then doing a Hollywood movie but hey a man's got to eat.
Blu22 writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 2:03:05 PM

I REALLY hate origin movies!!..This plot sucks!...We all already kno what happens to those old farts!...The reason fox wants to go backwards is because they f*cked up & killed off a few REALLY important characters...So now there gunna pretend it never happened?!..I really don't think it will be that good without wolverine,iceman,or rogue...i'm tired of magneto.
dissident187 writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 2:25:05 PM

MACHETE film trailer OFFICIALLY released by AICN

YLink: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nnOczvV5Arc

Enjoy, peeps.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 4:34:51 PM

Couldnt care less about this movie, but i trust vaughn to do a good job
encoreyourface writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 5:04:40 PM

SAC-interesting new avatar,lol.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 5:49:02 PM

oh f*ck that sh*t
vampires_suck writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 9:26:55 PM

How is Vaughn a hypocrite? He tried shopping Kick Ass round to every single company out there and they all passed, so its not like he wasn't willing to do a 'Hollywood' film, it's just to keep the integrity of his vsion for Kick Ass alive he did it all himself.

As for First Class, we all know that unless Fox backs the f*ck off and lets Vaughn do something he wants do to, this will be sh*te. With the last few Fox comic films it didn't matter who was directing coz the execs just came in and shat on everything anyway; and there aint nothin anyone can do bout it! Coz they're the money.
koul writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 10:57:38 PM

this is a stupid storyline. just make part 4 already! so pathetic. i don't want to see them young teenagers.
Rick Taps writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 11:00:17 PM

Just another case of a person speaking before they truly know what they want to do.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 6th, 2010 at 3:03:46 AM

koul-don't worry it won't be that bad(i hope,lol), remember Spidey was only like 17-18 in SM1.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved