WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

JJ Abrams to Unveil Mysterious Trailer with "Iron Man 2"

Posted: May 4th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
JJ Abrams to Unveil Mysterious Trailer with "Iron Man 2"Submit Comment
Three years ago, JJ Abrams unveiled a mysterious teaser trailer in front of theatrical showings of "Transformers." At the time all we knew was that Abrams was involved and that the film was going to be released on January 18th, 2008. It was eventually revealed that the movie was "Cloverfield."

Now HitFix is reporting that Abrams and Paramount Pictures are at it again, and they are planning to unveil another mysterious teaser in front of "Iron Man 2" on May 7th. But the whole thing is so secretive that theater projectionists aren't allowed to sneak a peek at it until late Thursday night. The copies that Paramount sent out are in a locked boxes with a message stating that the code to unlock the box will be given to them on May 6th, 3pm.

The only thing we know about this teaser is that it is for a movie currently being called "Super 8." Apparently it shows a bunch of kids shooting a movie with a Super 8 camera in the 70s or 80s. When they develop the film, they notice that there's an alien creature in the frame.

NY Magazine has uncovered that "Super 8" is absolutely connected to "Cloverfield" and could actually be a prequel or a sequel.

Source: HitFix, NY Mag


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BrundleFly writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 8:30:33 PM

Cloverfield turned out to be not so great, but the mysterious viral merketing campaign before its release was actually pretty fun.
lost_addict writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 8:34:15 PM

I loved cloverfield and the new trailer sounds great.I love mystery.
TeemSelami writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 8:41:24 PM

I loved cloverfield though i never took it seriously.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 8:41:38 PM

Absolutely agree L_A! Really psyched for this.
charmed23 writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 8:55:13 PM

FCK now I want to see Iron Man 2.
The viral marketing for Cloverfield is one of the best entertainment experiment. and I enjoy the movie a lot.

This new movie sounds... not great but I have to see the teaser to tell
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 8:59:31 PM

I heard about this literally hours before this story. f*cking sweet.
CCBlev writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 9:11:30 PM

No sh*t, can friday get here please!!!
Eli_1994 writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 9:13:45 PM

^ lol
tcu21 writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 9:41:08 PM

Cloverfield was amazing, as are 99% of the things JJ abrams does. I was going to see Iron Man 2 already, but now I will see it especially for this. Awesome!!!
jdDiedforyou writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 9:51:59 PM

oh yeah, this trailer is gonna be sooooooo "mysterious", when they just gave away what the movie is about on this website. with cloverfield, no one knew anything about the movie.

"The only thing we know about this teaser is that it is for a movie currently being called "Super 8." Apparently it shows a bunch of kids shooting a movie with a Super 8 camera in the 70s or 80s. When they develop the film, they notice that there's an alien creature in the frame."

FreedoM writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 10:09:58 PM

I liked Cloverfield and its viral marketing. Can't wait to see this trailer.
DetroitFanRick writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 10:15:20 PM

Star Trek made me forgive Abrams for that piece of sh*t Cloverfield. I was so let down from the awesomeness I thought I'd see from the ad campaign. That movie gave me and both of my daughters headaches and nausea from that f*cking shaky-cam.

Now he's doing it again? Aw, JJ, say it ain't so, man.
rabid writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 10:44:13 PM

Cloverfield was garbage. I'm not averse to the shaky camcorder footage. I'm okay with that. It was just a pointless story with no real beginning or end. If they bookened it with a prequel and sequel then I suppose I'll have the opportunity to change my mind.
ian_918 writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 10:49:35 PM

Yeah the whole secret trailer sh*t gives me a hard on haha. He is the king at it. This sounds great. Cant wait for iron man 2!
ian_918 writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 10:53:59 PM

And what i dont get is why people complain about cloverfield when most theaters clearly put up signs that said it had fast cam movement so what the f*ck? And the logical mind would be able to say "ok i dont want a headache cause i know this will". And if you really think about it cloverfield would have been some boring sh*t if it was shot off the normal camera. It being like a recording made it almost come alive in the theater. It was avery fun movie atmosphere. The fast cam movement dosnt bother me so i was able to enjoy it. and the way they shot cloverfield was perfect. real. raw. and live.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 11:21:52 PM

@Rabid: Whats the point of a monster attack though? One thing that never seems to be caught in giant monster movies is scale, and I thought they nailed the scale of the attack in that movie. It was kinda more an attempt to make you feel like you were there (I thought) than an attempt at great storytelling.

Anyways, this made me think instantly of this book I read, The Grays by Whitley Streiber. In it the aliens, the Grays, could adjust their bodies so fast that the human eye couldn't see it... er maybe the better term is 'readjust' their position so that the human eye always had it in a blind spot. But yeah, pretty excited for this.
rabid writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 11:47:00 PM

Yeah, I was harsh in saying that it was garbage. The cinematography and digital fx were well done. It just needs a beginning and an end to be a story.
If they can add more to the mythology than just more panic and fleeing, I'll definitely watch.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 11:55:21 PM

Rabid-that's becuase it was a perspective, in this case the cameras. the camera gonna magically catch the origins of the monster, and see the end of it or humanity (or whatever it is you mean by beginning/ending)? i doubt a camera would catch it.

however i do agree explaining more in a sequel would be ideal.
Dr. Acula writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 11:59:54 PM

f*ckin' great. Thanks for ruining the surprise. Now I have no reason to see Iron Man 2.
disturbed01 writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 12:43:41 AM

sweet
SACdaddy writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 1:02:32 AM

Cloverfield was f*cking awesome! I think its actually the only time the "Godzilla" concept worked on screen without getting completely ridiculous. I'll back whatever JJ's got cooking next. He's definitely earned my respect.

@Rabid: Cloverfield has a long beginning (the party that establishes our protagonists) and a perfect ending (main characters killed and the origin of the creature is revealed). What film did you watch? Between calling this "garbage" and praising the "acting" in the Nightmare on Elm Street remake, your film cred has taken some major hits lately. You're one bad Iron Man 2 review away from being voted off the island buddy :)
masht7 writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 1:24:53 AM

Three great things the Yanks can see with Iron Man 2, the 3rd Inception Trailer, this trailer and the whole movie of Iron Man 2. Cloverfield was a fantastic movie and hope this will be great as well.
trailertrash writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 2:15:31 AM

In the Uk we had uughhrrrr Airbender !!
masht7 writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 2:43:17 AM

In Australia we had Prick of Persia.
Man in Black writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 2:53:55 AM

f*ck yea ! WP more of this whole lot less of tyler ( i make sh*tty movies) perry ,and smurf sh*t ,and twatlite
encoreyourface writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 3:00:39 AM

please
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 3:06:14 AM

Well here in China we are getting Iron Man 2 this week so hopefully it'll be on here too.

Can't wait for this, looks and sounds good, loved "Cloverfield", the "Star Trek" reboot was good too, so I reckon "JJ" can't be wrong on this one.
masht7 writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 3:09:09 AM

My question is will this movie be shot using a hand-held camera or a normal film making camera?
masht7 writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 3:12:29 AM

And also I don't way people complain about hand-held movie, it shows you something but you don't get the full picture, its what you call a mystery and thats what makes these kinds of movies more fun.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 3:14:35 AM

exactly
masht7 writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 3:19:58 AM

way = why
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 5:53:35 AM

Sort of pissed they didn't show this in Sweden. Had to settle with f*cking Jake of Persia.

Cloverfield was great, except for the part where one of the girls just walk of the fact minutes earlier she had a f*cking iron bar through her chest. Other than that I really liked. Hopefully this will be as good.
Hollywood1086 writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 9:36:05 AM

cloverfield was so fun. this is awesome
KindredMac writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 9:55:56 AM

Viral Marketing for Cloverfield: A+
Actual Cloverfield Movie: D-

Due to that ratio... Expectations for "Mysterious Trailer": C-
LOADIE4LIFE writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 2:15:02 PM

this sh*t sounds so cool! cloverfield was really entertaining just they needed better actors... pretty siked about "super 8" sh*t better be a still frame camera too! f*ck that crazy sh*t!
sc_kg writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 4:33:05 PM

There's nothing more that I want to see than Cloverfield Sequel/Prequel, and to get through all this viral marketing hype all over again, but...
...this whole "Super 8" trailer as a set-up for Cloverfield sequel is just a possibility.

It could be easly, and more likely a preview for movie reported here: http://www.iwatchstuff.com/2010/04/jj_abrams_directing_tribute_to.php

Extraterrestrial creatures were subject of early Spielberg movies- so i guess that's the way we should look at.

It's quite possible that, he'll try to link this movie with Cloverfield somehow.

But damnn, with Abrams you can't be sure... I won't be even suprised if this turn to be a comedy about filmmakers in vein of "Son Of Rambow" but with Spielberg as an inspiration.
The_Joker writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 6:21:33 PM

FINALLY
I Waited along 2 years for this new one to come out and im all pumped....bring it on baby:D
jdl107 writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 6:22:34 PM

@ Dr. Acula: Lol the f*ck? Yeah you do, you get to see the trailer... ?
tidedsued writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 7:05:28 PM

masht7.- A new inception trailer???
Man in Black writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 11:57:23 PM

why not the title makes perfect sense ... cloverfield had nothing to do with the movie it was the name of the exit JJ takes to his office in cali...
The Real Joker writes:
on May 6th, 2010 at 2:28:59 AM

hated Cloverfield, it took like 30 minutes before something to happend. And the party thing at the beginning didn't felt real just awkward and boring. And then the running began, shake that cam! >_<

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved