WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

William Shatner Earned $600 Million for Priceline Ads

Posted: May 4th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
William Shatner Earned $600 Million for Priceline AdsSubmit Comment
William Shatner has turned out to be a financial genius. Toronto Sun is reporting that when the actor signed on to become the pitchman for the internet travel website Priceline in 1997, he decided to be paid with the company's shares instead of cash.

The stock plummeted to $1.80 during the dot-com crisis in 2,000, but is now trading close to $300. And although the company won't disclose how many shares Shatner received, sources are reporting that it's about 2 million. This means that over the years Shatner has been paid close to $600 million.

The company is more than happy with Shatner, whose personality driven ads for the website made it so popular. The quirky marketing campaign features Shatner karate chopping, dancing and negotiating down the prices for hotels rooms.

Source: Toronto Sun


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 47 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 6:50:06 AM

He deserves every penny of that money. I hate him for having it, but at least he's cool for me to say he deserves it all
Ted Mosby writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 7:16:04 AM

damn he got lucky... but i still have a grudge against him for turning down a cameo in Star Trek... yet Tyler Perry gets one...
japaninmotion writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 7:16:26 AM

wow good for him...he was the joke with other entertainers...who decided to get paid with stock rather then cash and got shafted when the buble burst...now all that needs to happen is for mp3.com to make a comeback and then alanis morrisette to get back her 100 mill investment
johnny_boy writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 7:24:09 AM

@ Ted.... Least Perry doesn't have 600 million to throw around. f*ckin hack
SACdaddy writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 7:35:23 AM

I wonder if Shatner and 50 Cent have the same agent/business manager? 50 landed that huge $400 mill+ Vitamin Water payoff by opting to take 10% of the upstart company's stock before it was bought out by Coke for $4 bill. Now Shatner tops that with those hilarious Priceline hookup. 50 only had to make one commercial for his payday while WS is still working for the company, but we all know how muck WS love exposure.

Who do yall think made the best deal (aka got the luckiest)?
Affliction writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 8:12:40 AM

Lohvadge got the best deal out of them all. She is still alive and getting gigs. Lucky AIDS infested c*nt. God I want to f*ck her.
Affliction writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 8:12:57 AM

Lohvage....
trailertrash writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 8:20:54 AM

well beam me up scotty !! good for you bill
CCBlev writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 8:44:41 AM

Hey Bill can I borrow 5 bucks then?
wonderBOY writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 9:01:25 AM

he can build his own enterprise with this kind of cash. 600 million wingwangs
Blank x2 writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 9:44:07 AM

Genius. Pure Genius.

Bill Shatner is the man. End of story.
trailertrash writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 9:45:02 AM

@cc- he will lend it to you , But he charges 45% interest !!!
CCBlev writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 10:06:22 AM

@Trailer
Well sh*t I need to pull a double at Mickey D's then to pay that back to him then!
trailertrash writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 10:43:51 AM

lol
Ranger writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 11:13:55 AM

Good for Bill!

It was win-win for him. Even if he took the original stock at only $1.80 x 2 million shares, he was willing to do all their commercials for $3.6mil. (still good money), but yes... smart on him for doing the deal.

I know several people personally that have made PILES of cash on stock options (free from their employer).

Alannis Morisette took a tour gig years ago. They offered her $200K in stocks that shot up to $40mil.

And Bill and those commercials are made for one-another. Good for that attention whore to keep fighting to stay in front of the camera. Tenacity pays off.

Sidenote - I met Leonard Nimoy less than 2 weeks ago (when he announced his retirement from acting). Nice guy.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 12:30:25 PM

Lol awesome! Bill rules!
Ranger writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 12:40:37 PM

Bill has come a long way since sleeping in his camper AFTER filming the original Star Trek series.

He's a fighter (plus he got to bone green slave women!)!
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 1:06:04 PM

@SAC, obviously 50 made the best move. Although $600 MIL is one helluva paycheck, it's all dependandt on the success of the company. All it'll take is for Priceline to fall out of good graces or it's competitors to beat it out (doubt that's happening anytime soon but you never know). If that happens, priceline could be back down to that $1.80 per share trade price.
with Vitamin Water, Coke basically shelled out the $4 BIL, to ow nthe rights and distribute it. So if a MAJOR company like Coke comes to me and says, "Hey, we like your product and want to sell it using our business model that's worked for God knows how long. Here's a check." You're damn right I'm going to take that check and go buy an island somewhere. If he didn't sell, what was he planning to do? Go toe to toe with Coke once they developed their own brand similar to Vitamin Water and eventually squash his? Then they go to him and say "Hey, we still want to buy you out. Here's $12.16 chump"
From a business standpoint, it makes so much sense nowadays to develop something that catches a little fire with the public and just let some big giant company come along and buy you out. You either get one ridiculously large check and go buy an island or the company lets you stay on and you get more modest ridiculous checks and make payments on an island.

I want an island......
SACdaddy writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 2:56:24 PM

I agree Bunny, but you know it ain't about the cash anymore with Shatner (unless you want his autograph). As long as there's a camera or an audience in front of him, he's happy. I bet Nic Cage is slapping himself reading this article though.

On another note, we just got the f*cker that tried to set off a carbomb in Time Square. LOL, the FBI official in charge just said "I know Jack Bauer usually does it in 24 hours, but 56 hours is pretty good too." Actually all it took to stop the bombing was an ex-Nam vet street vender with good instincts and an alert NYPD officer. "See Something Say Something" works a lot better than CTU.
Ranger writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 3:04:28 PM

And Jimmy Fallon is to host the Emmy's (not that I watch)... so, gag on that news!
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 3:31:33 PM

Yep @SAC, the money ain't bad, but you still have to stay relevant. and staying in front of the camera does that better than anything.

I've been all over that news since it happened. That vet vendor should be honored. Wasn't it another vet who saved that person from being hit by a NY sub a while back?
I hate how the US treats it veterans especially when they do honorable things like this.

@Ranger, uggh. Well, it won't take a vet to point out all the bombs Fallon has on stage hosting.
I love the Emmys but damn he's going to make it tough to watch.
Ranger writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 3:47:20 PM

@Bunny - Fallon must is the least funny person on television (and I'm including dramatic actors in that list!). Ugh! Well said... Emmy's OK... Fallon not!

@SAC - glad they caught the guy.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 4:37:12 PM

good for him i suppose ... not like he doesn't have enough mont but whatever he was Kirk so i can dig it ...
hunter207 writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 4:48:35 PM

@Ted- Did you, or anyone else for that matter notice Seth McFarlane had a cameo in Star Trek??

On topic, thats crazy yet awesome. Guy knows what hes doin
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 5:07:39 PM

Shatner = $$$$$$$$$$$$

" Make fun of Mister Tambourine NOW, bitches! " W. Shatner
Eli_1994 writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 5:26:01 PM

@Ranger

How was Sir Nimroy? I've always wondered if he was the nice guy he always looked like
Ranger writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 6:16:03 PM

@Eli - he was nice.

I asked him if he'd give me the Vulcan Neck Pinch. He replied: 'Naw... I'd probably hurt you!'

lol.

Quite the living legend for sure though. It grateful for having met him.
Ranger writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 6:29:18 PM

it = I'm (so much for typing whilst on the phone)!
trailertrash writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 6:30:33 PM

ranger- guy is a legend and a nice guy too , they dont make them like that anymore.....
Ranger writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 6:42:24 PM

Very true.
johnthemon writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 7:03:15 PM

holy crap
DetroitFanRick writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 10:31:58 PM

Shatner is the f*cking man!!!!
That Canadian knows how to do it right.
masht7 writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 1:49:39 AM

@Affliction

I don't want to be rude or anything but its Lovag.
Ranger writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 2:48:02 AM

@mash - maybe he has an accent.

BloVag.
LoSlag.
SlowSag.
BlowHag.
ThroatGag.
LoVadge.
Lovag.

Potatoes... aluminum.

encoreyourface writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 3:07:13 AM

?
Ranger writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 3:16:32 AM

Potatoes... po-tat-os...
Tomatos... to-mat-os...
Let's call the whole thing off!

C'MON EVERYONE... SING IT!!!
Ranger writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 3:17:22 AM

Me tinks encore you're overdue for watching: 'When Harry met Sally'!
masht7 writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 3:18:23 AM

Oh right, so thats way his got a Hulk avatar.
masht7 writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 3:18:25 AM

Oh right, so thats way his got a Hulk avatar.
Man in Black writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 3:42:40 AM

@ bunny foo foo are those spartan rabbits ? if so great avatar
DrMounty writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 8:22:43 AM

I think it's only apt that I comment on this article...

I turned down the cameo in Star Trek because:
a) I'd lost my girdle?
b) I was counting my $600 million share windfall?
c) I died 3 films before?

Answer on a postcard to...f*ck you Nimoy!
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 9:25:09 AM

Ok ok what is going on with my avatar? I'm trying to change it but it keeps going back to my first one?!?!?!
ARRRRGGGHH
Man in Black writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 3:30:19 PM

@ foo foo remember to save your changes mmmmkay
Salvador writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 4:31:40 PM

Of course, he's the captain Kirk!
filminizle.com writes:
on May 6th, 2010 at 2:05:40 AM

vovvv (:
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 6th, 2010 at 3:03:13 AM

f*ckin dammit f*ck lucky basterd. dam if i had that much i could payback Holly the Hooker for letting me do the nasty
Bunny X writes:
on May 6th, 2010 at 9:15:46 AM

@MIB, I did and in my profile it would show as the new avatar but each time I posted, the old one would show. So F it, I just made a new profile.
Although I will truly miss the FooFoo, X is now here!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved