WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Pirates of the Caribbean 4" to Cut $100 Million Out of Budget

Posted: May 4th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Pirates of the Caribbean 4" to Cut $100 Million Out of BudgetSubmit Comment
The original "Pirates of the Caribbean" cost $140 million to make. The sequel cost $225 million. And the third installment had a whopping $300 million budget. All three films made money, but producer Jerry Bruckheimer is not planning to continue escalating the budget to bring the fourth installment to the big screen.

LA Times has learned that Disney has imposed a more constrained budget and Bruckheimer is scrambling to meet it before production begins on June 14th. For those worried that the new film may end up being cheap-looking, it is expected for the budget to still be around $200 million.

The goal is to include far fewer shooting days (down to 90 from 142) and visual effects shots (down to 1,300 from 2,000). Johnny Depp's Jack Sparrow character would also spend more time on land than water, because of the high cost of shooting on the high seas.

"[Disney's CEO Bob Iger] wants to be mean and lean and make these movies very entertaining but also very cost effective," said Bruckheimer. "The hard thing is you have to make painful decisions that cut into some very entertaining sequences."

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 6:46:51 AM

They can't cut the budget. Then that leaves no money for Depp and Burton to have a hotel suite to have their "private sessions" in.
Braino787 writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 6:56:46 AM

@johnny_boy: You are really just an a-hole. As if he is only doing movies with Burton and nothing else besides that, and by the way Burton is the one who sucks recently and Depp likes to work with him because he is like his best friend. Without Depps help, Burton wouldnīt have any success nowadays.
johnny_boy writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 7:02:23 AM

@ Braino.... Depp and Burton are butt buddies and you are such an idiot that you shouldn't have "brain" in your name you stupid celebrity ass kissing *sshole.
Braino787 writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 7:10:25 AM

I havenīt seen such a retarded person like you for a long time.
johnny_boy writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 7:11:57 AM

Then you obviously don't look into a mirror that often do you?
Braino787 writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 7:13:59 AM

People like you shouldnīt be allowed to spread around their stupid comments.
johnny_boy writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 7:15:47 AM

Then why are you on this site spreading your stupid comments. Here on WP we bash on celebs who deserve it. If you wanna go on a site where you can obsess and kiss celebrities asses, there's perezhilton.com, bitch
johnny_boy writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 7:17:07 AM

Also I love how this is your first time on here and you use it to bash on me. Instead of your love for movies, you sign up for this just to bash on me. How pathetic.
Braino787 writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 7:18:21 AM

why should they deserve your stupid bashing? There are far more stupid people out there. It would make more sense if you would bash Sam Worthington, Pattinson or Channing Tatum.
Braino787 writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 7:20:57 AM

Yeah, you are so intelligent and well behaved to call them butt buddies. I could also say that you stuck deep into Iron mans ass.
johnny_boy writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 7:21:21 AM

Worthington is ok. Tatum and pattison are queers. By the way, what have depp and/or Burton done for you to back them up? Do they pay your bills? Do they drive a retarded member of your family around? Do you think they really give a sh*t about a piece of sh*t like you who's dumb but ass the word brain in their name to try and throw people off?
johnny_boy writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 7:22:15 AM

LMFAO! Iron man ain't even real miss intelligent one. Get the f*ck out of here already
johnny_boy writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 7:22:58 AM

Ass= has
Braino787 writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 7:27:15 AM

You think Mr wooden Worthington is ok?? Thats enough stupidity for me. Get back to your bedroom now and tackle your boyfriend.
johnny_boy writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 7:31:06 AM

Yeah worthington is cool. He doesn't have to be butt buddies with a director to get him and himself lots of gigs. He's his own man.
Affliction writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 8:28:29 AM

Hahahaha@ Johnny.....Looks like we got another one. Why are they still making this movie? Depp sucks on Orlando and they all gangbang Burton....Then some how Disney profits from all of it.
BigUnit writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 9:36:50 AM

its still a budget of 200 million. lol The first one cost 140 million and that was the only one i liked.
trailertrash writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 10:12:38 AM

Joined up today just to have a go at you Johnny haha how sweet , think he has a crush on you ...
lost_addict writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 10:49:08 AM

put more effort in a smart script and less in dumb ocean cgi creatures like the dumb sequels.
TheStig writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 10:50:05 AM

This is a good thing....i mean 200 is still a big budget obviously, but hopefully it lies a little more on acting and storytelling then on pointless special FX
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 11:28:04 AM

I think Braino tried to do a prison-approach here, where he tries to beat up the biggest dudes. Sadly he must've missunderstood the concept.


200 mill is still a pretty decent budget. Still not sure if I actually want to see any more of these Pirates-movies.
BurmaShave writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 2:07:51 PM

Ah yes, "lean & mean" 200 Million. Well whatever, Bruckheimer often brings the goods. Still think the director on this is the wrong choice.
rocketman writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 2:14:40 PM

The film should benifit from this,the bigger they got the less i enjoyed them.
Lovin the cat fight^how to ingratiate yourself to the WP locals,lmao...
CCBlev writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 4:13:00 PM

Braino
Wow, that name truly contradicts itself doesn't it? Suprise me say something intelligent! Were you the only one in the litter?
Wallace writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 4:47:55 PM

Wow, only 200 million?! I mean, we don't want another bomb like raiders of the last ark, which was made for lousy 18 mio. and shot in 73 days, right? Please don't!
encoreyourface writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 4:51:09 PM

probably going to use it for the explosions for Transformers 3 ....
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 5:00:57 PM

I thought they already did that by taking out Knightley and Bloom
MadHatter writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 5:06:23 PM

So, finally they have a full official date to start filming Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides, and it about time that they start filming on June 14th, 2010. I bet they'll finish filming it on like November 18th, 2010 or so, and then a Teaser Trailer might come out for it by like December 17th, 2010, when Tron: Legacy gets released to theaters. Other then it's budget cut, that might mean that it'll be alot like Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black pearl.
Eli_1994 writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 5:19:02 PM

Okay, here we go:

Vin12
Dandy
COC

and now introducing:

Briano

Am i forgetting anyone else?
Eli_1994 writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 5:21:11 PM

Oh wait, add:

Robert Pattison
Zac Efron
Lindsay Lohan-g waffle
Megan Fox
Shia LeDouche...

Anymore?
The Seeker writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 6:36:42 PM

For two years I've been watching this site, be ravaged. Time after time ive seen people like Braino come and get destroyed. Y'know what, this whole website needs a little more loving. Everybody just sh*ts on each other and nobody gets anywhere. Braino, welcome to worstpreviews. All the veterans: you guys are great 2. I love everyone. I'm sowing the seeds of love.
johnny_boy writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 7:06:45 PM

f*ck braino. And seeker, how the f*ck should anyone show him love when he signs up for this site just to call someone who frequents on this site an *sshole? If you got an explanation I'd live to hear it
johnny_boy writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 7:09:30 PM

Live= love
m5dmb28 writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 10:41:47 PM

@TheStig
perfectly put.
The Seeker writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 11:26:11 PM

Well it's his opinion. I mean, was that uncalled for, yes. Was it mean, yes. Is he an *sshole, most likely. But nonetheless, *ssholes do deserve their opinions. I mean, look at it, without *ssholes the world would be boring. Everything would be happy and whimsical and everyone would have the same opinion. But *ssholes do have their benefits. I mean the Confederates thought Lincoln was an *sshole, right? Or China thinks the Dalai Llama is an *sshole, right? Without people being *ssholes, there would be no change. I don't really know if this makes any sense, but I'm pretending it does. lol.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 12:22:13 AM

braino-go get your ass ripped.
Man in Black writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 3:19:15 AM

@ seeker ... you make ... some ... sense yes *ssholes have there place and here at WP they will be put in there place ( mob rule style) maybe doucheBraino should had had a counter point to Johnnys post instead of attacking him on a personal level , when your opening volley is calling one of the better and more consistent posters on here an *sshole ... well welcome to being the pivot man in the mosh pit and when you get knocked down here no one is gonna help you up if you no one has your back , like Freudian_Nightmare said wrong approach mate
vaodsi writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 3:38:38 PM

good... maybe we won't have "entertaining" sequences of giant women turning into crabs....
the more money the film-makers have... the worst the film turns out most of the time.
as soon as they have all that money it becomes masturbation. Kinda like george lucas or michael bay or... pirates three.
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 7th, 2010 at 2:54:28 AM

briano dont f*ck wit us. oh yeah and this d*ck aint gonna suck it self so get to it and dont f*ck with johnny_boy ok bitch and depp is always up tim burtons ass i mean come on charlie and the chocolate factory hahahahaha and damn they f*ck each other up the ass more than lohan.
MadHatter writes:
on May 13th, 2010 at 3:45:57 PM

@vaodsi -
Yes, lets hope it does not turn out to be that way for Pirates 4, because the way that Pirates 3 turned out to be was not good, maybe Pirates 1 and 2 were ok, but Pirates 3 was over done!. Pirates 4 does need to be much more like Pirates 1 and/or Pirates 2.
canthelp writes:
on May 15th, 2010 at 1:29:39 PM

@johnny_boy, hi dude. r u from usa? i wanna ask you if it is the great great secret that burton and depp are butt buddies or every dog knows it? i burst into laughing every time i hear what great dads and husbands to their wives they are. here everyone know they are a gay couple.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved