WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"A Nightmare on Elm Street" Sequel in the Works

Posted: May 3rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"A Nightmare on Elm Street" Sequel in the WorksSubmit Comment
Now that "A Nightmare on Elm Street" earned almost $33 million (on a $27 million budget) during its opening weekend, Warner Bros has decided to move forward with a sequel. According to Platinum Dunes producer Brad Fuller, the 3D sequel is "already in the works."

This doesn't mean that the second installment has received the greenlight, and there is a good chance that the new movie may never get made. "Friday the 13th" remake performed even better. It took in $40 million (on a $19 million budget) during its opening weekend, but then dropped by 80% the following weekend.

"Nightmare" is being trashed by the critics, which could play a part in the film's quick decline. Plus "Iron Man 2" is coming out, and that's not going to help. But if it is able to maintain decent numbers, then a sequel could be ready by as soon as next year. Stay tuned.

Click here to read our "A Nightmare on Elm Street" review.

Source: Twitter


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
CCBlev writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 10:21:11 PM

Hope the sequel is better than the remake, I don't have high hopes though, but JEH will still be great as Freddy though.
Lordchristo writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 10:45:21 PM

I didn't have a problem with the remake. With the exception of no boobies and less clever deaths, I enjoyed the hell out of it.
bale01289 writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 11:06:54 PM

Not sure about the whole 3D thing, but I wouldn't mind another installment with JEH as Freddy. I really enjoyed the new movie! Sure, it wasn't perfect, but what movie isn't now a days?
bale01289 writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 11:14:26 PM

*SPOILER*

...........ok, the part where Freddy has the grumpy emo kid hanging upside down in his dream (after he was killed), and Freddy tells him "the brain functions 6min after the body is dead......we got 6min of play time"...............classic Freddy Krueger!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 11:25:15 PM

Anyone who saw the box office numbers this weekend already figured this out. It is in the deadly grasp of M. Bay, so ... well, I hope the sequel is much, much, much better, but don't bet on it.

and 3D ? What, Freddy had three d*cks ???
lost_addict writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 11:49:17 PM

oh yes...as if 6 sequels or whatever weren't enough in the last franchise...
rabid writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 12:22:03 AM

666 wouldn't be enough.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 2:17:11 AM

cool.

Bale-yeah that scene was kewl!
steaknugget26 writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 2:30:26 AM

old news. the next "Nightmare" has already happened. Lovag has been given a new movie role as a c*ck-gobbling pornstar...shouldn't be too much of a stretch.
TeemSelami writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 2:31:27 AM

just got done watching the original about 40 minutes ago. didn't know roger rabbit and the landlady from kingpin were in it. After the reaction from freddy fans i think i'll wait for this one on netflix.
J.A.Ottley writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 4:20:18 AM

Sequel won't happen despite that Rooney Mara & JEH are contracted for a trilogy.

ANOES remake will bomb in the UK, despite that we have already received Iron Man 2, but to add to the fact the BBFC overhere have classified ANOES remake with an 18 rating not a 15 like Friday The 13th.

So expect the massive bomnb drop.

And to add to the theory, ANOES only took the U.S Box Office and Iron Man 2 took the Worldwide Box Office, and it ain't even hit the U.S yet and that says something
masht7 writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 4:25:23 AM

In 3D? WTF! The only good thing about 3D is watching porn (that is why Ranger's b'day list has only got 3D TV on it).
J.A.Ottley writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 4:31:15 AM

Check this out people, now this is BADASS

Rutger Hauer in his first image of Hobo with a shotgun

http://www.bloody-disgusting.com/news/20068
encoreyourface writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 4:35:32 AM

mash-that's EVERYBODY'S b'day list!
masht7 writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 4:39:52 AM

What, to watch Na'vi's f*ck with USBs?
encoreyourface writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 5:36:18 AM

f*ckIN A!!
WhoisKyle? writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 6:12:21 AM

@ J.A.Ottley
Friday 13th was an 18 in the UK. i had to sneek in to see it.
masht7 writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 6:16:32 AM

FINALLY! THANK YOU VERY MUCH! (Putting fist in hand and putting it on both sides of my head)
masht7 writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 6:19:46 AM

At the 393rd comment, masht7 puts one through the big sticks.
masht7 writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 6:22:39 AM

393 = 392nd
SACdaddy writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 8:21:59 AM

This isn't a surprise considering they've aleady made 8 of these films. I really dont see the point though. They f*cked up the reasoning for a sequel when they made Freddy a child molester. There are only 2 characters left that he molested as children. He can only appear in those two's dreams, so that makes for a pretty thin sequel. I guess the point is this director f*cked up so bad that he almost cut the sequel's throat. The followups to the original made sense because Freddy was a child killer on a mission to murder every kid left in that town. He wasn't as restricted and could operate on a much larger scale. It doesn't matter though. As long as there are people out there so easily impressed and so easily scared, they'll keep pumping this horsesh*t and keep the industry spiraling down the f*cking drain.
J.A.Ottley writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 8:29:51 AM

@Whoiskyle

Picturehouse were showing it at a 15 rating lol, i dunno but i don't see ANOES doing great in the UK, these slasher remakes never remain long in our theatres, they usually stay on for a week and only have 1 or 2 showings a day.
Blank x2 writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 9:42:02 AM

They need to get some writers and a director that understand the NOES franchise, and horror movies in general.

If not, we're looking at below mediocrity AGAIN
koul writes:
on May 5th, 2010 at 10:52:22 PM

this movie was 10 times better than friday the 13th remake
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 8th, 2010 at 3:28:32 AM

to be honest i liked it but the sequel needs to go somewhere w havent been other than lohans vagina. but it was still a bit different than the original and had some references or homages.
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 8th, 2010 at 3:29:36 AM

and do NOT 3d it please it is still overrated and not that cool as well stuff
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 8th, 2010 at 3:30:52 AM

and bale i loved that part too and the SPOILER LINE
tag your it
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 8th, 2010 at 3:33:27 AM

althought i liked it but please next time put boobies in it just not lohans or Oprah's. katie cassidy loked great but needed more skin but dam nice legs ok ill start my thing and i wont get off so i am done and yes it doesnt stand a chance against the great iron man 2.
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 8th, 2010 at 3:34:18 AM

and change freddy's face a bit so he doesnt look like a rat but do not go to the pizza look hehaha
emanmovieman writes:
on May 15th, 2010 at 7:06:20 PM

freddy should have fall a sleep and killed himself, this movie had so much potenial to be good but with bad acting and lack of story, it sucked ass, bet the sequel will be in 3-d

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved