WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Iron Man 2" Already Earned $100 Million

Posted: May 3rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Iron Man 2" Already Earned $100 MillionSubmit Comment
Even though "Iron Man 2" won't appear in US theaters until Friday, the movie has been playing in foreign countries for the last five days and grossing over $100 million.

Paramount Pictures says the sequel finished in first place in 52 of the opening territories, beating the original film's opening overall numbers by 26% in local currencies. (It missed the top spot in Colombia).

"Iron Man 2" also grossed $2.25 million from 48 international IMAX venues, grabbing the box office record for a 2D title at foreign IMAX locations. Previous record holder was "Transformers: Revenge of the fallen," which opened to $2.1 million.

And if you're wondering why the sequel is being released a week after the foreign release, it turns out that the studio wanted to give the film more time in theaters before the month-long World Cup begins in South Africa on June 11th. The soccer tournament is the most widely watched sports even in the world and draws the same audience as "Iron Man 2."

Click here to read more about "Iron Man 2."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 63 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 5:46:09 AM

I take it you Americans don't give a crap about the world cup and the 1st group game England V USA then !! LOL
johnny_boy writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 5:49:38 AM

We sure don't, trailer.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 5:52:14 AM

i'm glad. WHY HASN'T iT f*ckING COME OUT IN AMERICA!!!!!!!!! couple more days ... sh*t.
johnny_boy writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 5:52:16 AM

Guess Colombia wouldn't know a good movie if it bit them in the ass. Bet they would've watched it if it was titled IronFace or cocaine man
trailertrash writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 5:56:31 AM

@johnny - Scareface is still the Number 1 movie there isn't it ?! LOL

@encore - if you guys there liked football you would have seen it this weekend too !! LOL
encoreyourface writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 5:56:54 AM

or "hey you wanna sell a brick?"
masht7 writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 5:57:38 AM

Could beat Avatar is what I thought user on WP would be thinking about now.
trailertrash writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 5:58:30 AM

But guys get the Expendables a week before us !! Now that's a gutter !!
trailertrash writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 5:59:22 AM

*you guys ....
johnny_boy writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 6:02:25 AM

@ masht7.... Iron man 2 will beat Avatar. Americans will love this film andcwatch it more than once.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 6:13:03 AM

Its because the soccer played now is for pussies, but i won't get into this argument!
trailertrash writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 6:20:24 AM

@skippy - Isn't that the truth !!
Ari Gold writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 6:27:34 AM

It's a fun movie, I enjoyed it more than the first. I would of liked to see more Mickey Rourke though.
telur writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 6:38:52 AM

Mickey Rourke look dead.
Sam Rockwell is arrested.
Iron Man need War Machine to beat Whiplash.
Tony Stark is drinker
The best scene is at Monaco fight (not Indy car)
nothing more spoiler because you just now everything on trailer
Affliction writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 6:48:59 AM

No trailer we dont watch soccer. Or what you Appropriately call football. Cheers mate.... Stationed in England for the past 3 years.
J.A.Ottley writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 6:58:50 AM

Guys feel free to check out my review on Iron Man 2.

Got a screenplay review of ANOES, as well also going to have a review of THOR's screenplay soon.

Feel free to check out the blog, for movie critics and people in the film industry :)

http://www.jayaottleywritersjournal.blogspot.com/
Whitta writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 6:59:35 AM

@Telur
Until you change your Avatar, dont talk.
J.A.Ottley writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 7:02:07 AM

@ Telur

Was there any reasonable reason for such a comment like that, there are a lot of people that haven't seen this flick, so there is no need to spoil it for people.
But agreed with you on the best scene, the Monaco sequence was bad-ass, as stated in my review.
whoever writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 7:48:22 AM

Saw it last night, not as good as the first but not far from it!
shayhiri writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 7:49:30 AM

I like Colombia for the chiquitas, but that's a big red point too. :)

It's a lazy Monday afternoon at my place, so I'm going out to finally see IM2 for a price of 2$. You fanboys envious? :)
LeeMaca writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 9:17:35 AM

TELUR- no need for that, now go hang yourself
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 10:17:11 AM

Makes sense, nothing beats the draw the world Cup gets. IM2 will do well but it's definitely not part one. It's getting some serious marketing though so that's a plus.

and yes football....err soccer today is definitely nothing like it was before.

Viva Espana!!!
SACdaddy writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 10:27:46 AM

Americans (especially ones living in city with large hispanic populations) are gaining more respect for "soccer". MLS is giving us more exposure to the sport, and there are tons of clubs and minor leagues popping up everywhere. But in the long run there will never be a real place for it amongst the top American sports. There's not enough scoring, contact, or fighting for our tastes and short attention spans. If they would have released Iron Man 2 on SuperBowl weekend in the US it would taken a huge hit a the box office.

@trailer: we care about the World Cup about as much as you Brits care about the NBA finals :)
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 10:31:54 AM

Lucky old Blighty gettin it a week before the U.S and China, getting it here end of the week, 7th May. And I don't think it's in 3D thank f*ck!!!

Just a little off subject- Got round to watching Clash of the Titans, don't LL did a bad job with it, action scenes were ok, script could've done with a little work, Liam Neeson was again just beillant innit, Ralph Fiennes was doing an impersonation of Voldermort for some reason but was still pretty good, don't think SW has the charisma to be a leading man in an action movie though.

But in general wasn't that disapointed with, will def buy it on Blue-Ray can see myself putting it on one afternoon just I like I do with Star Wars, nothing on nothing to do so watch a movie.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 10:34:07 AM

beillant= briliant*****mental note stop grooming asian girls while writing views on worst previews****
KirkLazerus writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 10:43:24 AM

Money money yeah yeah
TRUEMAN writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 10:59:48 AM

@ johnny_boy

agree the colombians are cocaine lover`s a was last year on Bogota and all the people where high, even me ofcourse (just kiding :() they don't go to the theaters because of the drugs and the guerrilla problem!
TRUEMAN writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 11:04:12 AM

hey for those who can't wait to see IRONMAN 2 in the theaters here is my special preview

http://peliculasid.com/peliculas/iron-man-2.html

enjoy!
trailertrash writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 12:00:56 PM

@Affliction- sorry dude we do love our football over here ,it's a bit of an obsession really and no other sport gets a look in , but sky does some good american sports coverage though.

@sac- NBA only gets mentioned here when David Beckham is watching a game or is it one of the cheerleader's, they always have a dodgy photo of him copping a good look LOL
Man in Black writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 12:42:24 PM

it seems like kojay and telur just got to sh*t in everyones cheerios by posting spoilers or spam ... so do us the favor and stop posting and go suck farts out of each others asses ... your f*cking clown shoes
rabid writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 12:42:28 PM

I still have to wait a few more days to see it here in the states but I wtched the bootleg. I give it 10/10. Pure fun.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 1:02:45 PM

Not to skew this into a World cup thread but it doesn't matter how far the US goes deep or even if they were to somehow win it all, there will never be the passion behind supporting football here in the US as it is overseas. @SAC you are right on the money, as usual.
I love the leagues coming up here in the States (I already have my Philadelphia Union gear!) But if the women's soccer victory a few years back and the US's recent push into the games a few months ago didn't spark a rush here, nothing will.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 1:16:03 PM

Dammit!! I thought I changed my avatar!! Why is it going back to the old one?
Ranger writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 1:30:19 PM

This movie gives me a boner.

Then again so does The Expendables, Tron... and Piranha 3D!
Ranger writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 1:34:11 PM

And Lohan's potential jail time.
rabid writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 1:53:40 PM

Nobody in the US really cares about the World Cup, so I suppose it hardly matters whether or not we win.
AYT BALL writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 1:54:33 PM

Just got back from seeing Iron Man 2, the bad reviews werent fair at all! great follow up, probs wouldnt stand very well as its own movie but was never ment to, deals with all the new characters well, everyone gets some good screen time without it feeling too crammed, RDJ rocks as always, think most of you will love it! and stay til after the credits, i know WP has already shown it but its still nice to see
Matiax writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 1:54:39 PM

Don't complain for just one week! Here in Argentina Kick-Ass will release in June 10! (Right when the World Cup starts, prove that they don't give a sh*t about it)
AYT BALL writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 1:55:40 PM

oh and i cant stand footy (soccer), sorry trailer, i compete in MMA, so footy is kinda gay to me! lol 70s footy is a different story!
shayhiri writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 2:06:23 PM

8/10

Not bad. Kind of ridiculous. Could have used more action.
Ranger writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 2:16:29 PM

I'll bet your mother gets all the action she can handle!
shayhiri writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 2:22:13 PM

Feel better speaking this way of departed people?
Ranger writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 2:27:25 PM

Yes. That gives me a boner as well.
Ranger writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 2:27:55 PM

(and I just thought this site was overdue for a mother joke).
trailertrash writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 2:48:15 PM

@ayt- your right there, 70's football was brutal, They want to turn into a none contact sport now !!! MIMA ?? sports medicine ? ...

@ranger- A mother-in-law joke is always good..
pomme writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 2:54:02 PM

just saw it in France!!! ...it's flat and lame even if the male casting is good!
Lowryder writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 3:26:10 PM

hahaha i live in michigan and i already have iron man 2. i downloaded it from the piratebay and it has really good picture, its not perfect though, which is why im gonna wait til friday to go see it
skatemaster62 writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 3:55:03 PM

good news glad to hear its doing well
AYT BALL writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 4:18:35 PM

@ trailer- lol M M A (mixed martial arts, cage fighting!)
trailertrash writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 4:39:34 PM

@ayt- Ahhh MMA mixed martial arts, cage fighting !! makes sense now lol !!

You might be needed in the stands at games after all the fighting thats gone on this weekend !! LOL
AYT BALL writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 4:48:42 PM

@ Trailer - to windmill in with a fist full of keys?! lol dont need me for that
TeemSelami writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 4:48:52 PM

super psyched for the 7th.

descended from worm food
trailertrash writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 4:58:50 PM

@ayt- bunch of keys or pool balls in a sock !! but i was thinking bodyguard for the players !! lol
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 5:07:35 PM

Iron Man 2 is gonna kick @$$!
Kid_A writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 5:30:52 PM

WTF!
Chewbacca writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 5:49:27 PM

"Mickey Rourke look dead.
Sam Rockwell is arrested.
Iron Man need War Machine to beat Whiplash.
Tony Stark is drinker
The best scene is at Monaco fight (not Indy car)
nothing more spoiler because you just now everything on trailer"

I'm new here but I can already tell your a sh*thead that no one likes.


Chewbacca writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 5:49:32 PM

"Mickey Rourke look dead.
Sam Rockwell is arrested.
Iron Man need War Machine to beat Whiplash.
Tony Stark is drinker
The best scene is at Monaco fight (not Indy car)
nothing more spoiler because you just now everything on trailer"

I'm new here but I can already tell your a sh*thead that no one likes.


fsport81 writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 6:07:24 PM

we should all just do black widow in da butt
Ranger writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 6:37:03 PM

I call shotgun on da Widow's butt!
DetroitFanRick writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 6:51:55 PM

Soccer? Football(futbol)? World Cup? What language do you speak? All I care about is Lord Stanley's Cup. And that's from a small-town, mid-western boy who grew up on Cardinals' baseball and John Wayne westerns. lol

But seriously, for a moment, looks like IM2 is gonna raise the bar like IM did. Even if it doesn't raise it too much farther. Got high hopes here.
kmccarney88 writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 7:30:23 PM

@ Johnny_boy - Iron Man 2 doesn't have a prayer of beating Avatar. I'd be willing to bet it doen't even pass the $1.0 billion mark, let alone $2.7 billion! Even if it was in 3D, which it's not, it still wouldn't come close.

No Way, Not happening, End of Story.

Besides, this movie has yet to get a really good review! First one was good but I wont be surprised if this one is overkill.

encoreyourface writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 2:29:28 AM

kmccarney-okay we get it won't beat Avatar shut the f*ck up.
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 6th, 2010 at 2:15:35 AM

cant wait going in the morning and i would like to be with black widow too.

f*ck AVATAR iron man 2 is way cooler

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved