WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"A Nightmare on Elm Street" Kills the Competition This Weekend

Posted: May 2nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"A Nightmare on Elm Street" Kills the Competition This WeekendSubmit Comment
"A Nightmare on Elm Street" remake took first place at the domestic box office this weekend with $32 million. Even though horror films drop off by their second weekends, "Nightmare" is already headed toward a solid profit since it only cost $27 million to make.

The new movie wasn't able to match the opening numbers of "Friday the 13th" remake, which grossed $40 million in February of 2009. The film ended up earning only $65 million domestically, which was too low for the studio to proceed with a sequel. Regarding "Nightmare," however, New Line Cinema is already having talks about a second installment.

This weekend's other new wide release, Brendan Fraser's family comedy "Furry Vengeance," bombed with just $6.5 million. The movie stars Fraser as a housing developer assailed by the cute woodland creatures whose habitat is threatened by construction.

Click here to read our "A Nightmare on Elm Street" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
lost_addict writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 1:57:15 PM

sequel title confirmed:Freddie got Fingered.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 2:09:57 PM

Hey, Worst ... gotta question for ya ...

WHAT f*ckIN' COMPETITION WAS OUT THERE ????
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 2:10:41 PM

I bet when Freddy starts fingering your little daughter's vag, it's gotta hurt.
Eli_1994 writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 2:11:09 PM

^ lol good point
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 2:11:30 PM

This weekend's other new wide release, Brendan Fraser's family comedy "Furry Vengeance," bombed with just $6.5 million. The movie stars Fraser as a housing developer assailed by the cute woodland creatures whose habitat is threatened by construction.

Was it even out ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 2:12:39 PM

Freddy would finger Lindsey's vag, but his claws would rust and Armor-All or Rustoleum doesn't help.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 2:13:33 PM

Oh.

And Danny Trejo wasn't in this either. So much for the latino audience, hunh, Danny ?

Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 2:14:28 PM

Shia was offered a role in this. But then the director had him come in and said, " Hey, this isn't Megan! " and sent his bitch ass home ...
Coasterkid345 writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 2:15:12 PM

...the f*ck is a furry vengeance? A bunch a hairy beavers attacking Brendan Fraser?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 2:17:12 PM

In the next one, they oughta have Freddy invade the cast of GI Joe : The Rise of Cobra ...

Chatum Tanning's guts spilled out in 3D as he tries to figure out how to get the devil on speed-dial and reneg on his contract and get his Chippendale job back (and soul) ... that would be worth a $ 1.00 to watch ...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 2:18:17 PM

Those bombs near Clooney's house ? The idea for " Furry Vegeance ".
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 2:19:00 PM

I bet Brendan Fraser wishes he could have his agent " Buried ", instead of Ryan Reynolds.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 2:20:34 PM

Well, at least when Lindsey goes to jail, she can be glad she wasn't in " Furry Vengeance " ... if she was they'd have to rename it " Forbidden Vag ".
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 2:21:35 PM

I guess pretending to be a gay man in " Gods and Monsters " prepared Brendan for the buttf*cking known as " Furry Vengeance ".
trailertrash writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 2:37:41 PM

Furry Vengeance $6.5 mil, thats $6.4 more than it deserved to do, that looks like a poor movie...

see kickass took another tumble as well !! why is know one seeing this movie !! (not you sam lol)
trailertrash writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 2:43:49 PM

@max- you've inspired me i'm going to watch Stripes tonight ,love that movie !!!
LOADIE4LIFE writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 2:58:26 PM

brendan fraser is still making sh*t! furry vengence is at best an ABC family straight to T.V. movie. Whack ass animal movies, I was done after DR.Dolittle!
LOADIE4LIFE writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 3:01:32 PM

brendan fraser doesn't even deserve to get his name capitalized... gotdamn Ass-Spelunker!
johnthemon writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 3:11:29 PM

no real competition out there. it obviously was going to take #1. I'm guess it will fall off FAST next weekend. I wouldn't be surprised if it dropped 75%
jdDiedforyou writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 3:28:32 PM

wow, kick ass must not be all its cracked up to be since its dropping fast down the box office an furry vengeance is ahead of it. thats sad.
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 4:30:50 PM

well next week iron man 2 will top it and thats the only competition out there ahahaha and no sequel for fury nutsack. i like the new nightmare sure it was a remake but they changed alot. jackie was good but not an englund but he was good although they didnt have to make freddy look like a rat from in front but on the side he looked better.
CCBlev writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 5:13:30 PM

can't wait to see what Iron Man 2 does next weekend. I just got watching the original Nightmare on Elm ST. Wow, the remake sucks that much more to me now.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 5:19:12 PM

Watch this nose dive next weekend when Iron Man 2 opens.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 5:47:08 PM

I enjoyed the new Nightmare. Not as good as the original and I was hoping for a cameo by Robert Englund.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 5:48:06 PM

Mr. Fraser, you need to fire your agent. Pronto.
J.A.Ottley writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 6:12:39 PM

LOL

I wonder how ANOES will perfomr when it hits here in the U.K

FYI
IRON MAN 2 IS PRETTY EPIC, the final showdown though is a massive letwdown compar to what it could have been.
Scrlett & Mickey Rourke steal the show...

WHIPLASH is just epic.

The Skippy Spartan writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 7:27:38 PM

I was about to say how can this defeat Iron Man 2

then i remmeberd

The Americans have seen Iron Man 2 yet!!! :)
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 8:06:53 PM

Brendan is two bad movies away from giving Peter Falk and Burt Reynolds a good blowjob, all the while being ass-punched with a Louisville Slugger by Dennis Farina.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 8:28:02 PM

awesome. it was a good film.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 8:40:39 PM

" f*ckedUp Vagina " starring Brendan Frazier, Lindsey Lohan, Paris Hilton, Mylie Cyrus and Megan Fox ...

in SMELLLOOOOVIIIISSSION
encoreyourface writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 8:50:51 PM

NOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Ari Gold writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 8:52:36 PM

I'd watch that Max..
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 8:52:47 PM

Brendan and Danny must be cornholin' the same agent ...
masht7 writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 10:19:58 PM

Has anybody seen Robert Englund in that episode of Bones? I watched it last night and god his still got the freakiness in him. ROBERT ENGLUND FOREVER!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 11:10:10 PM

If Comedy Central had their way, Brendan would be in a sausagefest sandwich with Carlos Mencia and Dane Cook ...
CCBlev writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 11:23:40 PM

^Kinky! lol
encoreyourface writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 2:00:51 AM

mash-lol yeah i saw that Englund was awesome.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 8:31:08 AM

@Rabid: Just had a question if you're out there. How the f*ck did you think the acting in this movie was "great"? Are you sure you were watching the NOES remake? Maybe you were so bored that you fell asleep and dreamed about your ideal Freddy movie and then woke during the last 10 seconds of the real film. We've disagreed in the past but if you really believe this, its going to be difficult to take anything you say from now on seriously.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 10:02:52 AM

A few things I liked about this remake:

I loved how fast the police responded to Tina's bedroom murder. Nobody witnessed it or reported it but the entire police force is storming the streets guns drawn less than 5 minutes after it happens. In the original, it takes them a day before they catch her boyfriend.

I loved how Nancy character was stolen right out of Not Another Teen Movie. At one point in the film she tells her friend that she doesn't exactly "fit in". LOL, she's a perfectly norm looking girl who likes to paint, WTF? OK "normal" might be stretching a bit. Did anyone else notice the weird stick figure artwork she had in her dinning room.

I liked how it only took a half full can of gasoline to set off a huge explosive fire in what looked to be a pretty big industrial building. LOL!!!

I liked how there was no explanation for Freddy's glove or why everyone dreams of boiler rooms that neither Freddy or the other characters have ever been to. In the original, he actually lived in the school's boiler room and was killed there. Nancy follows Tina's dead body down to the schools basement where Freddy was murdered, but the remake flashes Tina standing in the school hallway because it never bother to established the significance of the boiler room. And the MAJOR plot holes keep coming.

I liked how the preschool just allowed all the children to play with the creepy janitor and didn't expect anything bad to happen.

I liked how we're expected to believe that all the kids repressed their molestation memories and managed to avoid each other all the way until they hit highschool. I couldn't help but laugh at how many times Freddy said "remember me" and nobody did!

Most of all I like how they left out almost any and everything that made the original famous. Johnny Depp's death scene with the fountain of blood...gone. Freddy murdering 20 kids before he's caught....out. Nancy's enpowerment....nonexistant. Parents with a guilty conscience (Nancy's drunk mother and overprotective sheriff father)...nixed.

Its getting harder and harder to respect anyone that liked such a flawed film. Either yall have never seen the original, don't respect it, or are generally VERY easy to please. This is easily one of the worst remakes ever released, and that's a FACT not an opinion.

jigsaw23 writes:
on May 8th, 2010 at 3:46:36 AM

hey SAC Kris was the name not tina which is ok cause she is a tina but it was changed to Kris ah nevermind

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved