WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"A Nightmare on Elm Street" - What Did You Think?

Posted: May 1st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"A Nightmare on Elm Street" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
The remake of "A Nightmare on Elm Street" is now in playing in theaters. If you already had the chance to see it, we want to know what you thought. Write your mini-reviews in the comments section below.

On RottenTomatoes the film has only a 15% fresh rating, with most critics stating that the remake is boring, unimaginative, and completely unnecessary. The only thing "Nightmare" has going for it, are the visuals.

The new movie cost only $27 million to make and it took in almost $16 million just on Friday. Come back on Sunday to see how "Nightmare" performed over the weekend.

Click here to read our "A Nightmare on Elm Street" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 93 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
encoreyourface writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 4:08:12 PM

awesome. the ending was great and Freddy had a great, new and serious direction.however he crack some minor jokes, but was still very serious and cold about it. also good (minor spoiler) because he was an actual pediphile like originally intended. at least that was what was implied.

The_Joker writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 4:21:02 PM

Awesomee...I loved the endingand i love the new freddy:D

The_Joker writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 4:22:31 PM

ending and*
trailertrash writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 4:24:35 PM

just over $15,000,000 on friday, so all is going well for this , can't wait till next week !!
encoreyourface writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 4:36:52 PM

The_Joker-the ending rocked!
rocketman writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 4:44:59 PM

So is it scary or just fun? As good as the original?
skatemaster62 writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 4:47:21 PM

i havent seen it yet
maddasahatter writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 5:03:21 PM

Now is Freddy innocent of the child molesting stuff or is it like the original? If they turned him into a f*cking pansy ass Blagojevich type character f*ck it I'll watch the original.
on May 1st, 2010 at 5:04:00 PM

Man, I went with a group of people and we really enjoyed this movie. It's not perfect. Some of the acting is stiff. But overall, this is a quality nightmare sequal. I like the new Freddy. He's different, but good in his own way.
SofaKing writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 5:14:16 PM

f*ck dat, Robert Englund is Freddy! That being said I will rent it...
encoreyourface writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 5:24:33 PM

maddasahatter-no he's a pedophile alright.

plastic man is right, a couple of times the acting can be bleh. but it is still good

Rocketman-it's more of a slasher so no it isn't really scary, but there will be moments, even if you're expecting them, that you'll jump out of you're seats. watch it and you'll see what i mean.

Sofaking-true dat. Jackie Earle Haley's performance was very good however i thought he didn't look enough like the original, which really isn't a bad thing but to fan like me it kind of threw me off a bit. but Englund will always be Freddy to me.
bale01289 writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 5:28:13 PM

I loved this remake! I though JEH did wonderful playing Freddy. WP failed to mention in its article that NightmareOnElmStreet also has a 75% user approval rating on Rotten Tomatoes. If you are a fan of Freddy, go see this movie!
Gates writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 5:34:22 PM

It's funny to see your guy's posts right after seeing the Tomatometer for this movie lol
bale01289 writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 5:41:03 PM

Once again, 75% of average movie goers liked it. Only 15% of critics gave it good reviews. Critics don't know sh*t about horror movies. They never give a horror film a good review. Freddy FTW!
darkraven28 writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 6:08:40 PM

Haven't seen it yet. But still will probably. It is Freddy after all (even though it's NOT). (Sighs). Another f*cking remake.
Blank x2 writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 6:15:40 PM

I know people won't like it, but this movie missed the mark. It COULD have been great. Haley was a good Freddy, but he wasn't the problem. I went into this thinking I wouldn't like him as Freddy in the end, but he ended up being one of it's bright spots. He was as good playing Krueger in the flashbacks before the burns as he did in the makeup (which, come on guys, wasn't all that) Also, can Hollywood PLEASE stop throwing cheese ball CGI (Freddy coming out of the wall? WORSE part of the movie. Terrible) and high pitched noises for "scares" when they are clearly not needed? And I'll give you guys one thing...the ending was good in the house with Nancy and her mom. The last "fight" with Freddy and the two surviving kids? AWFUL

The remake was okay, but it still missed the mark on so many parts. Could have been SO much better. This remake was simply okay, and does not even begin to come close to the original. Not even close.

I'd give it an average rating. 5 or 6 out of ten. Oh, and for the record, almost every character in this movie should be in the next Twilight. "Emo" kids everywhere. And had he been innocent and not been a pedophile, I would have burned the theater to the ground.
Blank x2 writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 6:19:03 PM

I think you can lump this one in with the Friday the 13th and Texas Chainsaw remakes. It's on their level. Not great. Not terrible.

NONE come close to their originals, though.
blahblah writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 6:28:09 PM

movie sucked!! bad acting and wtf is the deal with freddie? you dont change the look of the main character!! what would a friday the 13 be if jason wore a football helmet instead? walked out half way through. dont waste your money going to the theater.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 6:56:24 PM

It wouldn't be hard to say this movie really sucked, because it did, but I would be lying if I said I didn't have a good time watching it. I laughed all the way through! The acting was comically terrible (but that's nothing new for horror films). Every guy in the movie wore eyeliner and was a total p*ssy. One tried to run and it was so gay I nearly choked on my popcorn. None of the women could act worth a sh*t, which wouldn't be so bad if they were hot, but they weren't.

The visuals were very cheap and unoriginal. More than 20 years have past since the original and all they could come up with was a snowing room (1408), a tar pit floor, a cartoonish CGI wall effect (The Haunting), and tunnel vision (easily the cheapest effect of them all). There was such a lack of effort with the dream sequences that you couldn't help but laugh and enjoy the mediocrity.

JEH and the changes to Freddy's origin story were about the only things that kept me awake through the monotonous predictability of the film. He's no Englund but JEH's lines and delivery were pretty creepy most of the time. The make up was questionable, but as we've seen in the past Freddy face changes with every new installment. I know the predictability is to be expected from a remake, but this film still feels extremely lazy with its repetition and stale performances. Scenes are just thrown together without the same level of execution of the original. In the long run the audience is left with more of an impersonation of a Nightmare on Elm St. film thats heavy on the cheap BOO's and light on creativity that all of its predecessors possessed. Its good for a laugh but not a good movie imo. Not a bad date film though, most of women in the theater were screaming every 5 minutes.

5/10 (the last scene probably bumped me up from a 3/10 rating)
Blank x2 writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 7:49:52 PM

You said it better than I did, SAC. The only thing I would disagree was I thought JEH was good, but I blame the writers and such more than him. Instead of finding it laughable, it just hurt my feelings. The one dream I did like was the one with the snowing room, which went in front of the preschool (that replaced Freddy licking Nancy through the phone in the original).

After all that hype, this movie was not good. If you are going to knock other movies for lack of, well, everything, you have to knock this one, too. I honestly don't see how people can rate this so high. I did enjoy it in parts, but I enjoy Troma films, and those are awful.
Blank x2 writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 7:50:42 PM


Not even close to the original.
nope.com writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 10:24:58 PM

stick with the original kids

Why the f*ck did they even cast a fantastic actor like J.E.H if they were going to underuse his appearance on the screen?

f*cking waste
encoreyourface writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 10:28:37 PM

i really don't blame many people for not liking it, if you're expectations are to high or you're not a big fan of the original, it can seem ... iffy. also one thing i didn't like, which somebody already said, was the emo characters. i was rooting for them to die. but of course i would be anyway becuase i like seeing people slashed up by Freddy.

if they do a sequel or not (which they probably will considering the money it's making) it's fine with me either way.

what the hell am i saying do a sequel Freddy pwns!!!
Blank x2 writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 10:30:07 PM

If they do a sequel, God knows I'm praying it will be better.

LOTS of wasted opportunities in this movie. Trust me, Encore, I went into this film with LOW expectations. It barely managed to exceed them. Barely.
masht7 writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 11:24:34 PM

Haven't seen it yet, but I really want to. Jackie Earle Haley kicks ass in anything he does.
masht7 writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 11:27:13 PM

By the way, I watched the original ANOES a few days ago and it was better than expected. It was jumpy and pure WTF weird scenes in parts but around the middle it was getting a little boring like in the mental hospital but then it got back on track. Robert Englund is pretty hansome.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 11:27:14 PM

sorry to here that Blank, but to each is own right?
blinkbomber writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 11:27:39 PM

SAC, Blank - couldn't of said it better!

i didn't hate it, i liked it. i just wanted to love it. too many stupid jump-scares. and three of the five main characters were out of the movie within the first half hour! Jackie totally made Freddy his and saved the movie, but the rest of it was just eh.

on my personal totem pole for the series, i place this one better than parts 2, 5, and 6... not better than 1, 3, 4, and 8.. it's kinda tied with 7, though... :-p
CCBlev writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 11:36:54 PM

I liked JEH as Freddy, he was great, but that was the only thing good about it. I know its a remake and some changes were neccessary but I don't think it worked well. The house Nancy lived in cmon, that's Freddy's house! Why did they have to change that? The house was almost a character in the original series. They left out Nancy's dad too, I know a remake and changes but thats a big a part of the original, and Spoiler ahead!!
When she goes to the preschool and realizes she needs to bring him out of the dreamworld, she just lays there on Freddy's bed and goes to sleep, wtf? What made the original Nancy smart was she planted boody traps and such to kill him once she brought him into the real world, this Nancy just falls asleep with no plan, what did she plan on killing him with, talking dirty to him. I know they had the blade from the paper cutting machine, but cmon show alittle brains and plan something. Overall I was rather dissappointed, it doesnt have to be an exact remake of the origianl but alot of the key elements we're missing that made the origianl great! Sorry Encore i know you loved it but I'll have to wait for the DVD to come out and watch it again, and maybe I'll feel alil better about this.
CCBlev writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 11:46:09 PM

by the way maybe I missed it, but what was the technicality that got him acquitted? I don't even remember if they said what it was in the original series. Tampered evidence or something, I really can't remember?
The Dini writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 1:04:10 AM

It was about as lame as this website
matternm58 writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 1:15:54 AM

If i remember from one of them they said that something wasn't signed in the right spot or something. And in the original Nancy's mom said all the lawyers got fat and the judge got famous for whatever reason that made them drop the case.
matternm58 writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 1:18:36 AM

I haven't seen the movie yet because my wierd ass work schedule but just by looking at the trailers i agree with the actual critics as far as how weak and powerless this Nancy is as opposed to Heather Langenkamps Nancy which i loved. This Nancy just looks like she is about to cry every two seconds and needs a man to help her. I love a woman who can take charge personally too. lol
matternm58 writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 1:19:25 AM

And the part in the trailer of freddy's figure coming out of the wall looks like total crap compared to the original movie over Nancy's bed.
matternm58 writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 1:21:48 AM

But I still can not wait to see this movie. I know i'm gonna like it just because I loved all the nightmare series, but nothing will ever ever come close to the original movie and to Robert Englund. I was hoping robert englund would have some kind of cameo for old times sake but I guess i will have to see when i see it on monday night.
matternm58 writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 1:22:44 AM

Or until someone spoils it saying he's not in there. lol
encoreyourface writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 1:52:14 AM

CC-in the original someone forgot to sign a search warrant or was some technicality i think. it sort of pissed me off that the remake wasn't true to the original in that way, but like i said earlier really glad he was an actual pediphile like originally intended.

also they probably had no plan becuase they've been awake for three days? don't think to strait after that. also what exactly plan could they come up with not a whole lot to make traps with in the room. lastly they're retarded emo people they're ... retarded.

i'm sorry not many people on here liked it, but that's okay with me, i really do understand why you didn't. i probably like it so much cause i'm a horror/Freddy fanboy,lol.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 1:55:44 AM

matt-if you're a fan you'll probably like it, except if they where trying to make his face look like the original they TOTALLY f*cked up. but i'm pretty sure they where going for a new look and JEH doesn't really look anything like Englund, but his Freddy still looked pretty cool. but compared Englund ...
rabid writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 1:58:10 AM

So far all my friends have enjoyed it. I'm going to try and see it this weekend. I'm fine with making his burn scars more realistic. As great as it looked on classic Freddy, it was pretty over the top.
MyCircusLife writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 2:08:28 AM

RENTER! Paying to see this in the theater means you suck at life.
trailertrash writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 3:18:11 AM

@the dini-

"It was about as lame as this website"

Thanks for those words of wisdom, and for taking the time to post on somewhere you dont like !!

If You dont like it on here you can f*ck off somewhere else .... :)

encoreyourface writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 4:03:11 AM

rabid-the burn scars are pretty cool,read that they used the same thing that Two-Face had in Dark Knight.
lost_addict writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 4:06:54 AM

Haven't seen it yet.Too busy having multiple orgasms making tantric sex to my lovers.
trailertrash writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 4:13:29 AM

Just read that J.E.H , went with johnny depp to the original casting of a nightmare on elm st , how cool is that !!

Sorry if that's old news , but that's first I've heard of it !!
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 4:29:35 AM

jigsaw23 writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 4:30:42 AM

and sure some parts were predictable maybe because we just know freddy to well like in the end relection.
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 4:32:41 AM

so it ities with the originals and the very first one. and the sequel will be new and fresh start sine the freddys revenge is the worst one.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 4:40:42 AM


thank you! could not figure out what it reminded me of!
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 4:51:26 AM

o and i did like the casting although i didnt really like who played nancy and her mom but it worked she couldve been hot like heather but she was cute but not megan fox hot. and i like katie cassidy in it and they did not focus on nancy as much as the original. katie was hot. and hahah john conner who will save us now. things were expected and if movies scared me i would jump oh and yeah oops spoiler alert hahahaha.
rabid writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 5:16:05 AM

Heather Langenkamp was so hot as the original Nancy. I remember when I was a kid they'd sometimes show the edited version on Sunday afternoons... except they didn't edit out her tits when she's changing toward the end.
Blank x2 writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 7:16:30 AM


What did the poor English language ever do to you to deserve that?
SACdaddy writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 7:35:52 AM

LOL!!! ^^
Vin12 writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 9:10:39 AM

Guess Sam Bayer might direct the boys now...
SACdaddy writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 9:15:53 AM

@encore and others: I can appreciate people liking this film for what it was. If you go the movie expecting nothing, technically nothing can disappoint you. If you like loads of unimaginative jump scares or need to get rid of the hiccups, this is definitely the film for you.

When I was a kid, I was scared to death of the original. I mean really, what's scarier for a child than the boogey man? My dad (who might be a genius) recorded it on HBO and told me that one day I would I would love that movie. Damn the man was right! That film ended most of my childhood fears and ignited my love for horror films in general. The only thing scary about the remake is what it says about the state of Hollywood right now. A total lack of imagination and effort in a movie based on the IMAGINATION is a clear sign that Hwood doesn't give a flying f*ck about the product its selling. Even though the Nightmare series got somewhat ridiculous with a comedic Freddy, each installment still tried its best to top the dream sequences of its predecessor. This forced a competitive creativity that kept the frachise alive for almost 20 years. Those films left enough of an impression that your average fan can recall at least some of the dream sequences they've provided over the years. Its been nearly 2 days since I've seen the remake and I barely remember anything past the opening throat cut. IMO this represents a huge step backwards for the franchise and the horror genre in general. Its success is the only thing that scares me. I keep wanting horror films to take that next step forward, but crap like this keeps getting in the way of progress. I don't know, maybe the Human Centipede can save the genre from mediocrity.

For what its worth check out these films if you would like to see how good new horror can be:

The Descent
The Host
The Mist
The Strangers
The Crazies
The Fourth Kind
Let the Right One In
Blank x2 writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 9:42:50 AM

^^^I agree

I think one of their main problems in this remake was that they tried to make Freddy himself the scary part. That wasn't the scary part in the original. The scary part was not being able to discern the difference between "dream" and "real", and the infinite possibilities of what could happen to people once they figure out they are dreaming. This movie lets you know EVERY time a character goes into the dreamworld. There is no wondering if they are dreaming or not. Show their face, change the lighting to darker, and there you go. SO stupid. Putting all of their effort into making Freddy the center of the scares made them fail miserably with the dreams, and well, everything else.

I'm trying to find positive things to say about this one, but the more I try, the harder it is. It's hard to say good things about a movie they put this much effort into, and was simply outdone in EVERY way by the 1984 original. Nothing to me is better about the remake. NOTHING.

Plus, WHERE is Nancy's dad? The notion of having him in the first movie was key, as he was a cop AND a father, making him the ultimate "protector". Instead, we get Quentin, the ADD emo-kid. f*cking ridiculous.
J.A.Ottley writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 10:24:32 AM


The technicality that he was acquitted on was that the search warrant wasn't signed, and his house was searched and therefore due to the warrant not being signed the evidence pulled from the search was dismissed within the courts and the jury's verdict.

LOL hat can i say, i'm a hardcore Kruger fanatic, that's why i want a prequel and stick my middle finger up to this remake
J.A.Ottley writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 10:29:47 AM


I haven't seen it yet, we have to wait an extra week over here in the UK which kinda sucks.

Englund was meant to have a cameo as Dr Robert Britt, but according to some sources the character was removed from the final screenplay.

Roll On May 7th, i'm only seeing this because i'm a fan of the original and the tickets are free :)
J.A.Ottley writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 10:45:00 AM


and to make it worse...its gonna be in 3D!


RiCardoLopeZ writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 11:15:52 AM

Send her ass to jail...Wake up call
SACdaddy writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 11:35:11 AM

@Blank X: I totally agree. There are so many things I want to point out that had me slapping my head, but don't want to ruin it for those who haven't seen it yet. The film has so many flaws besides the main one you pointed out that its almost worth seeing to believe. I got a great laugh out of it though and a better appreciation for all the installments that came before. I also gained more respect for RZ's Halloween remake. He essentially did the same thing that this remake attempted by shifting the focus of the story from the heroin to the killer, but he had far more success. By showing Michael Myers grow from this weird fatheaded bullied kid that has a homicidal breakdown to this HUGE killing machine, Zombie significantly adds to the characters legend by explaining why he is what he is. Turning Freddy into a child molester instead of a child killer only diminishes his legend and the story.

In the original you find out that Fred Krueger had murdered more than 20 children (with his razor tipped glove it shows him making in the title sequences) before he was arrested and released on a technicality. This was all the motivation the town sheriff (Nancy's father) and the angry parents needed to turn murderous and get revenge which in turn lead to their big secret. In the remake, changing FK into a molester pokes holes in the entire story! He's not a murderer so what's up with the glove (his infamous calling card for chrisssake!!!). Molesting a few children is horrible but its nothing the legal system couldn't handle even if the guy left town before he was charged. With a murderer on the lose the parents might be justified in taking action, but their children were in no danger from a pedophile that had already fled town. In the first film Freddy continues his killing spree by going after the surving kids of the town (thereby setting the premise for all the sequels to follow). These kids were too young to know what was going on around them at the time of the original murders. In this remake, you're forced to believe that at least 10 kids have all managed to suppress their memories of a man who molested them. Not ONE remembers a thing? Come the f*ck on! This just goes to show the director just didn't give a f*ck about continuity or common sense, and he obviously didn't understand the first film. There's so much more to say, but I'll take a break for now. I'm getting dumber just thinking about this sh*t.
trailertrash writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 11:37:56 AM

I was looking forward to the movie until the last 3 different post !! lol

Like you guys i loved the first movie and even though they became a bit silly in the end they were always worth watching mainly because of Robert Englund as freddy , still cant believe its the same guy who played willie in V.

When i was at school if you had seen nightmare on elm street your street cred went sky high !! lol , but that was the reputation of that film. Will that be the same for kids today ?? doubt it..

When i heard they were making this i thought a prequel was a better way to go, see what a bastard he really was and what the parents did to him and then maybe end it with robert englund emerging as freddy as we know and love , just a thought..

I hope they dont use any blow up dolls like thay did at the end of the original, that they can improve on in this movie.. lol

Blank x2 writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 11:49:21 AM

LoL. Once again, total agreement. Not to say I didn't enjoy this movie. I did. But not in the way the makers wanted me to, and certainly not because it was scary. I was okay with him being a pedophile, because that is scary sh*t, but I agree that the lack of him being a murderer makes just that...lacking. The director gave us evidence of WHEN Freddy and the glove, but besides us accepting it because it's Freddy, gave us zero reasoning. He just has it and that's that. And yea, it's also difficult to believe that an entire pre school of molested kids doesn't have one single memory of it. Like I said, it was entertaining, but for the wrong reasons. They dropped the ball on this one. Big time.

Similar to when Ang Lee's Hulk came out, I went into that movie thinking The Hulk himself would be the one thing I wouldn't like. Turns out, he was about the only good thing about the movie for me. That's how I feel about this movie, just substitute Freddy for the Hulk. JEH was about the only good thing about it, and he could only do so much with what he wsa given. This remake, probably more so than the others, seems like it was made ONLY for the money. They put no effort into it, slapped the name "Nightmare on Elm St" on it, and said "Here, America. Bend over."

Blank x2 writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 11:57:34 AM


By all means, if you are a fan, check it out. Like I said, I was entertained, because it's FREDDY. I just really think after twenty six years, they could have done a LOT better. They changed some stuff, and I will give them credit for staying close to the source material, but the changes they made were either unnecessary (the wall effect, one of many examples), or WHY DID THEY DO THAT changes (No Nancy's dad, the levitation death, the end "fight" with the emo twins) that really were, as SAC said, head slapping. They tried, and I'll pat them on the back, but this is C- work at the absolute best from me. I really do think that a sequel with JEH COULD be epic. But they need people who realize what they have first.

It would have went over better with me if they just named it Nightmare on Elm St 8: (Enter surname here). That wouldn't have hurt so bad.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 12:28:31 PM

Nightmare on Elm St 8: Freddy Loves Nancy

NOES 8: Freddy's Aroused

NOES 8: Dream Child....Rape

NOES 8: I Dream of Nancy

NOES 8: Tina's a Tornado In the Sack!

NOES 8: Mommy I Licked Freddy's Dreamsicle
trailertrash writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 12:32:10 PM


I will watch it i guess..

Wonder why they never brought Wes Craven in somewhere and how much input Robert Shaye had as producer he knows the series better than anyone, sure he wouldn't want them to see them c*ck it up.

Part 8 would have been fine with me ...
trailertrash writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 12:33:36 PM

nice list !! lol
Blank x2 writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 12:50:38 PM


Wes didn't have anything to do with it. Here's something from before it was put into production.


Needless to say, if he was at the least a consultant, adviser, etc., this movie may have been alright. Bayer may make good music videos, but he doesn't seem to understand the concept of making a film yet.
rabid writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 12:55:18 PM

Are there titties in this movie?
KalVicious writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 1:12:03 PM

It was pretty good. :) Lol. :)
trailertrash writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 1:33:30 PM

@blank - good link , what a shame as you say even on a consultancy basis they should have had him involved, seems like he would have done it too , a missed opportunity to me.
rabid writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 1:52:37 PM

I disagree. If they're going to go through the trouble to remake something, then they should put their own creative spin on it. What would be the point in a straight remake? Seen it.
Blank x2 writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 2:31:23 PM

Rabid, nobody said they wanted a "straight" remake. And they should put their own creative spin on it. They just forgot about the "creative" part. There were so many places were they took the easy way out.

And no, there are no boobies.
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 4:46:59 PM

@Blank x2
What did the poor English language ever do to you to deserve that?- nothing but if it is about my type i just type and miss spell things it happens.

oh and robert cant always be freddy cause come on it will be rebooted again sure he is great but jackie brought the dark freddy back
The Dini writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 4:59:35 PM

@ trailertrash

I hope your trailer burns down, with you in it
Citizen Creedy writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 8:00:08 PM

encoreyourface writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 8:34:05 PM

SAC-1408 and the Crazies where great, I'll have to check out the others thanks for the list,bro.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 9:04:26 PM

The Dini-oh! good one! hahahaha-NO. go eat a d*ck.
Blank x2 writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 9:47:00 PM

Encore, check out The Mist. Not great, but has a FANTASTIC ending. Frozen is pretty good, too.

And yea, Zach and Dini Make a Porno, nobody cares. Promise.
rabid writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 1:21:40 AM

Just got home from watching it. I wasn't expecting much, so I was pleasantly surprised. The story was pretty tight, the acting really good, great dialogue. he worst actor in the film was Clancy Brown and he's awesome regardless. I was dismayed that there was no glove shown in the flashbacks. Why did he create it and what did he use it for? Why do you need knife fingers to rape kiddies?
They needed just one scene of him using it as a gardening tool or something.

I was pretty ticked off that there were no titties, but I wouldn't want to see that Nancy-girl's flapjacks anyway.
Blank x2 writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 1:45:48 AM


Sorry, I lost you after "the acting was really good".

What were you saying?
rabid writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 2:00:37 AM

That the acting was good. Or at the very least, Sam Bayer knows how to get what he needs from his stars.
The blonde chick who played Kris has a bloodcurdling scream.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 2:05:24 AM

Blank-I'll have to do that. hopefully I'll be able to watch Anchorman also today or tomorrow 'cause i finally borrowed it from my freind.
trailertrash writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 2:40:51 AM

@encore- couldn't have said it better myself !!
trailertrash writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 2:44:30 AM

on topic

Watch the Mist great film , with a really good ending too and as a dad f*ck me the last 5 minutes blew me away !!! ... Brilliant movie
encoreyourface writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 4:44:10 AM

i'll have to do that
makingcircles writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 10:41:08 AM

This movie failed in all the ways I expected it to. The director did what Bryan Singer did to Superman (sorry Ranger)and built a shrine of Freddy and then proceeded to piss all over it. Wes Craven's original concept stemmed from two things 1.) News articles about nightmares killing people in their sleep and 2.) A creepy man in a fedora standing in the shadows that a young Craven was freaked out by. Okay so the biggest issue was that they brought Freddy to much into the limelight. He was so overexposed that it took all the fear out of it. *SPOILER* Then the end scene he just became a normal ol' pervert while trying to molest Nancy in a room that was pretty well lit. Not to mention the horrible CGI on the wall scene and even the very end scene. The director, being new to feature films, seemed to take delight in trying numerous camera tricks and effects instead of sticking with one vision and mood. The one effect that I thought was great and that he should have stuck with is the bathroom mirror scene when Freddy almost flickers like the Japanese horror movies sometimes do. That was creepy. Freddy dragging his claws down the pipes while sparks were flying was just stupid and a poor attempt to throwback to the original. It just seemed that they threw it in along with that girl in a bodybag. Just random "Freddy Shrine" bullsh*t. The emo thing was weak too. Needed more strong characters. JEH did his best and really is a great actor. The only thing besides JEH's acting that was good was Freddy's backstory and how you weren't sure if he was innocent or not till the end. Everything else sucked and could have been so much better. 4/10 Somebody needs to come around and reinvent horror like the Warchowski bros did with Action Movies via The Matrix.
rabid writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 12:41:08 PM

Wes Craven's concept really wasn't that original. He was totally ripping off the villain from Dreamscape. He even had trouble finding a studio to fund Nightmare because it was such a blatant ripoff, right down to sharp claws leaving their mark.
makingcircles writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 12:54:56 PM

@ Telur - Not sure if your comment was directed my way but I never said Wes's idea was original. It's the execution of the ideas that can make or break a movie.
Blank x2 writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 12:57:46 PM


Nightmare on Elm Street came out about two months after Dreamscape. Seems hard to completely rip off a movie, write it, film it, edit it, and release it all in two months.

Nice try with the whole "NOES isn't original" thing, tho. If Dreamscape came out a year before, maybe, but two months? No sir.

Then again, you claimed the new one had "really good" acting. If that's good acting, Uwe Boll deserves an Oscar.
makingcircles writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 12:58:41 PM

I see how my wording seemed like I said that btw...not my intention. I realize that all movies and their creators borrow from past ideas, stories, and movies as well as non-fiction material.
makingcircles writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 12:59:33 PM

Oops and all that was meant @Rabid...not Telur. Guess I was scrolling too fast. lol
rabid writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 1:59:37 PM

Dreamscape took much longer to produce than Nightmare on Elm Street. Dreamscape had already been shopped around and was being filmed and nobody wanted to make a duplicate pic. New Line offered to take the script so long as they upped the violence to distinguish the two.
rabid writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 2:02:39 PM

I have no doubt in my mind that wes Craven had read the Dreamscape script when he was hangin out at Columbia Pictures.
Interestingly enough, the first crew interested in his script was Walt Disney, although they wanted to turn it into a family friendly clone of Dreamscape.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved