WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sylvester Stallone Abandons "Rambo 5"

Posted: May 1st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sylvester Stallone Abandons "Rambo 5"Submit Comment
Sylvester Stallone has been working on the fifth "Rambo" installment, having already announced the title (Rambo 5: The Savage Hunt) and the plot of the new movie, which would be based on James Byron Huggins' "Hunter" novel that Stallone acquired ten years ago. The only left to do is shoot this thing.

Now in an interview with Empire magazine, Stallone revealed that the movie is dead. "I think Rambo's pretty well done. I don't think there will be any more. I'm about 99% sure," he said, adding that he would rather focus on another franchise. "We're already working on an [Expendables] sequel."

"Rambo 5: The Savage Hunt" would have revolved around a military project that develops super-soldiers (half-human abominations) by bringing out their "savagery." When one of these soldiers escapes, Rambo and a Block Ops squad are called in to save the day.

Source: TheShiznit


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 57 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ted Mosby writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 4:19:09 AM

Thank God... Just do the Expendables sequel
Ranger writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 4:27:56 AM

Yep!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 4:46:03 AM

I always knew Stallone had class. Who else agrees? I mean he could have milked Rambo dry, but ended it and Rocky on a high note. Who else agrees?
nope.com writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 4:58:31 AM

99%... yeah that means he'll do it
johnny_boy writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 5:15:30 AM

Why was part four called Rambo, is part five just gonna be called Rambo 2?
trailertrash writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 5:25:30 AM

Just don't do a sequel to:

Stop Or My Mom Will Shoot or Avenging Angelo !!

Expendables 2 and The Dam will be just fine ...
J.A.Ottley writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 5:55:38 AM

Now here is the true story Sylvester Stallone abandons Rambo 5 for a Rambo Prequel :)
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 6:50:22 AM

Good choice, Sly, for two reasons: The story sounds stupid as hell. Like an Universal Soldier-movie. Secondly, the Expendables is most likely to be one of your biggest successes and sequel will be wanted.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 7:59:33 AM

Why not.

I mean, how many steroids can this guy take before his neck looks like Steven Seagals ...

oh. and he's had to lay waste to an entire state to top the body count.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 8:00:45 AM

@JA

Yep. Rambo : The Hippy Years ....
trailertrash writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 8:35:19 AM

@ja,max- lol , sounds like a winning idea
trailertrash writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 8:36:08 AM

And how could forget Rambo the cartoon:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eliQEStzhu4
rocketman writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 8:36:24 AM

Shame but i can see why,Rambo pretty much wraped it up.Expendables better deliver though.Which it will i'm sure.I bet Stallone puts his swimming trunks on today and cleanes up that oil spill for ya in like 2 hours,coould do it quicker but stopping to fight sharks won't help.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 8:37:03 AM

Got to give it up for Sly. He's never been as dumb as he sounds. He ended the series perfectly with what might have been its most violent installment. Seeing Rambo finally get back to his real home (which he hasn't seen since Nam) was a classic finale for a classic character. I'm sure 10 years from now they'll try to reboot or remake Rambo, but we all know it will never be as good as Sly's masterpiece.

BTW, I think I can officially call the Rambo saga my favorite film series of all time. Four great films and NO disappointments. Name another series that accomplished the same. There have been a few to pull off 3 good films but hardly ever 4.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 9:08:04 AM

@FN and others: I wouldn't be counting on The Expendables to be a huge success. R rated action films just don't have the box office following they used to. America turned in its man card right about the time Arnold decided to run for office and Hwood replaced him with Hugh "I love showtunes" Jackman. The Expendables will make a profit but I wouldn't hold my breath for the big Rocky 4/Rambo 2 money (both made over $300 mill). Those days are over and they "wont be back" :(

BTW, someone at WP must like the new Nightmare remake. Still no "NOES What did You Think" post up yet. I guess someone doesn't want their precious site to be overrun by people like me who thought it was one of the biggest jokes in horror movie history. I went to see a NOES movie last night, but all I got was a 2hr episode of the Droopy cartoon. If its successful the promoters should advertise this hilarious bullsh*t as #1 Comedy in America next week.
trailertrash writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 9:20:56 AM

What is amazing Rambo first blood pt2 took $150,000,000 back in 1985, thats about $330,000,000 today Adjusted ticket prices and all that.

can't imagine an action film doing that today even the Expendables (hope it does) wont hit that sort of money.
trailertrash writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 10:21:04 AM

^ in the usa
CCBlev writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 10:39:36 AM

^Damn thats crazy
darkraven28 writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 10:44:28 AM

That's fine by me. The last one made up for part 3 enough to send Rambo out on a high note. Plus, the character had come completely full circle by the end of 4, what with coming home at last.

I personally would like to see him do The Dam, AKA Cliffhanger 2. I first heard about that in '95 and not much since. IT'd be worth it.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 10:46:17 AM

@SAC: f*ck, those are some nice numbers. The Expendables won't do anything near those numbers. However, as Wanted proved two years ago, R-rated can still pull in some good dough (about 130 mill). The comic itself wasn't that well-known, so there weren't any big fanbase to drive it, and it was also skewed to a mainly male audience.
darthraige writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 11:40:34 AM

Thank f*cking Christ.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 11:43:24 AM

@FN: LOL!!! Lets just hope WANTED didn't ruin it for every R rated action films that follows it. That movie was painfully terrible. I still hear the star of that POS screaming like a p*ssy in my nightmares. f*ck WANTED and screw you for reminding me it was so successful ($340 mill worldwide).
trailertrash writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 11:44:05 AM

@sac - sorry dude just seen you posted those figures too , dam working and WP at the same time lol

It was such a rare thing for a movie to break the $100,000,000 (3 or 4 times a year ) now it's 30 plus so for sly to do it twice in one year was amazing.

Expendables $30-35 weekend total $100-110 bet it does another $250,000,000 rest of the world..

Die Hard is also up there as 4 good movies as well
SACdaddy writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 12:25:00 PM

Didn't really like Die Hard 3 or 4. Both were pretty nutless compared to the firts 2. Bruce was great in all of them, but they weren't all good films imo.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 12:29:18 PM

good move
Goober3000 writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 12:39:20 PM

Stallone sais "Uheher rambo not good no more me do ex-pen-da-buls muvies now. I makes 5 c-quels!"
Ranger writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 12:39:56 PM

The Expendables can count on not counting on my money... until the DVD comes out. I'll be one of the first in line.




OK... who am I bullsh*tting? I'll see it in the theater too!
skatemaster62 writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 12:46:00 PM

thank god!!! Rambo sucks anyway
trailertrash writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 12:49:05 PM

Maybe more than once !! Who know's...
trailertrash writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 12:50:38 PM

@skate- not a fan then ....
Ranger writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 1:01:26 PM

Of the Rambo's (and granted haven't seen the last one yet) - First Blood is still my fav.
trailertrash writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 1:04:24 PM

your right ranger first blood is the best

and you have not seen Rambo !! WTF ... lol
Tyron writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 1:08:16 PM

i dont really have high hopes on the expandables. too many big names, and my theory is that when there are too many big names it will suck, would like to be proven wrong anyway. and still sylvester stallone has done his time now, he was good in his time but after seeing the last rock and rambo(which i regret) i confirm that he should move on and never look back and try to be a director anymore, perhaps persue his "artistic talents" and do some paintings.
trailertrash writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 1:15:28 PM

do some paintings !!!!

Have a little faith, the scene with stallone , arnold and bruce will be worth the ticket price alone...
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 1:18:12 PM

@Ranger: Rambo is one of the funniest movies I've ever seen in a theatre.

@Sac: Glad to be at service :) But you see my point? If Wanted succeded, there's no reason The Expendables shouldn't. Then again, we have Kick-Ass...
Die Hard 3 is solid. It's not as good as the previous ones, but still very good. The fourth was a disappointment, but that was the ratings fault. Bruce and Olyphant still came out as decent.
rabid writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 1:34:14 PM

They should end Rambo exactly how it started. One more film. Rambo vs the USA. Let him play with the CIA like he played with the cops in First blood. And let him die at the end like he was meant to.
trailertrash writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 2:23:28 PM

@rabid- That is true he was meant to die at the end of first blood and they even filmed stallone killing himself but it tested very poorly so they changed it.

I always thought he would die at the end of the last movie , i think thats the only way he would have really found peace.... (glad he didn't though)
rocketman writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 2:30:53 PM

Stallone should remake First Blood and reboot the whole franchise for a new generation.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 3:31:03 PM

'least he's got some brains left.

on a side-note i saw Nightmare on Elmstreet it was great. you guys should check it out if you haven't already.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 3:53:19 PM

rocketman-are you serious? you're starting to sound like a director fresh outa ideas no offense.
trailertrash writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 4:19:29 PM

@rocket - not the beverly hills 90210/ glee generation they wont get it !! lol

@encore good news on elm street then , cool. Will be watching that next week.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 4:38:40 PM

cool
rocketman writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 4:55:11 PM

@Encore.
The films Rambo is nothing like the Books Rambo,it could be made to be a dark faithfull adap.He hunts the cops down in the book and kills them all,snaps psycho.All whilst hes naked with his head and beard half shaved off like a crazy caveman.And IF as they will end up remaking it Stallone would be a good choice,sort of carrying on but passing the torch at the same time.And remakes are fine as long as they are done well,and book adapts are free game,make as many versions as you want for me.Millions of Shakespear plays,same difference.Nowt wrong with fresh ideas though,Avater sure could have used some.
rocketman writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 4:56:39 PM

I mean for Sly to Direct the remake obv not star in it.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 5:28:14 PM

rocketman-to be frank i didn't even know there WAS a book,lol. i suppose if it where to be based off the book (which sounds great)it wouldn't be that bad of an idea.
DeVries writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 5:57:37 PM

There is probably no more injection site left on his entire body, so no Rambo 5.
japaninmotion writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 6:49:40 PM

but rambo 4 ws the best movie ever....it should of won an oscar....really. it was political before all the sh*t went down in burma. pluss it had people being blowed up.
rocketman writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 6:56:51 PM

@Encore,you want to check it out, its more Rambo vs Teasel(who fought in korea,old soldier vs young) but Rambo is a new breed of nutter.Part of his training involves going into a field butt nekid with a knife and he has to kill a cow and gut it and get inside....batsh*t.
vwkombi writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 9:06:47 PM

@ Rocketman

I agree about a new, more faithful adaption of the original novel. As much as i loved First Blood and the masterpieces it spawned, i always felt that the novel deserved a film that didn't kill the message.

Stallone to direct and star as Trautman. With the original ending still in tact. That would be f*cking awesome.
rabid writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 1:55:28 AM

I can just imagine how unsettling it would be to see an Iraq War veteran snap and murder cops in a First Blood remake. Veteran groups would go apesh*t!
encoreyourface writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 4:19:21 AM

rocketman-sounds like any ol' saturday with me,lol.
rocketman writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 5:22:16 AM

@vwkombi
Sly as Trautman would be f*cking awesome.And yeas i agree that the message was lost to some extent,you got the 'War will mess you up'' bit but he was f*cked before he went out due to the conditioning imo.I would love it if they showed all the capture and escape from the VCs and have him go full on psycho killer and kept the real ending ,more powerfull.
rocketman writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 5:23:38 AM

Vision or Encore pissed up, wearing a pig,lol.
oklahomaer writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 7:18:10 PM

i mean another one would of kicked ass as long as it was as good as rambo 4. rambo 4 was the start of his badassness come back
Citizen Creedy writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 8:12:30 PM

Does anybody care?
Dre-EL writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 8:49:20 PM

yahoo oh happy day
Johnny Neat writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 2:20:39 PM

Thank the movie gods!!!!! Now if only he can lay Rocky to rest too. Rocky should have died. When he and the last Bozo he fought fell to the canvas, Bozo knocked out and Rocky dead.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved