WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Parts of "Avatar" Were Converted to 3D. Can It Be True?

Posted: May 1st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Parts of "Avatar" Were Converted to 3D. Can It Be True?Submit Comment
James Cameron has become Hollywood's 3D expert. Many of the biggest filmmakers are coming to him for advice and he tells them the same thing over and over: "Shoot your film using 3D cameras, rather than convert it in post-production."

After seeing "Clash of the Titans," which was converted to 3D, I can see why Cameron feels so strongly about doing it the hard way (3D cameras are expensive, very heavy, and time-consuming) rather than a cheap quick conversion. But did you know parts of his "Avatar" movie were converted?

During an interview with MTV, producer Lorenzo di Bonaventura was asked whether "Transformers 3" will be shot in 3D. He replied: "We're literally in the middle of that. I think the answer is that as James Cameron, who had plenty and plenty of time to [make 'Avatar'], even he converted some of it. So I think the answer is that you're going to do some kind of combination if you end up doing it."

This is the first time I have heard of this and would love to know which parts of "Avatar" were converted and why. As with most things in Hollywood, money plays a huge factor in filmmaking. This is exactly why Cameron has no issues with converting "Titanic" to 3D and claiming that 100% of "Avatar" was shot using 3D cameras.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 45 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
telur writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 4:36:35 AM

well, i still don't understand why avatar become no 1 box office of all time, and again weird the blu ray and dvd very in demand
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 4:37:53 AM

I f*cking hate avatar
Ranger writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 4:53:49 AM

Looks like James is looking to throw his 'spear' into that little native girl.

HAWT!
Ted Mosby writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 4:56:14 AM

@Ranger
...or is it a man? Clinging on to his money bag...
johnny_boy writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 5:14:18 AM

Bet if he/she were blue he'd wanna f*ck him/her even more.
CCBlev writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 7:15:20 AM

NOOOOOOO
It can't be true, then the whole movie is a lie!!!! WHY GOD? WHYYYYYYYYYYYY?
Who gives a sh*t?
Sev writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 7:30:20 AM

A lot of the film wasn't even in 3D at all, I went to the toilet during the film and took my glasses off, and a load of shots weren't even in 3D, just 2D haha!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 8:01:59 AM

This one's for DOC ...

" Aaaaah, Jim's found a new bride ... kiss the bride, Jim! "
rocketman writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 8:43:58 AM

Bought on Bluray yesterday,still can't be arsed to watch it?
3/5
lost_addict writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 9:14:50 AM

Avatar=worst James Cameron movie ever.
SACdaddy writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 9:49:06 AM

I rented it on Blu-ray and liked it a lot more than I did in theaters. Sure it took "several" bong rips and about 5 or 6 hrs (with breaks) to watch, but it looked more like a Cameron film without all the distractive 3D. Not expecting much from the plot this time around was also a nice bonus. The film doesn't really deserve all the hate, but after seeing the DVD I am starting to hate Cameron for opening the 3D flood gates. If the film looked this good without 3D, then he opened Pandora's Box for nothing. Now there's no turning back and even major directors like Bay are being FORCED to adopt the format. There was a trailer for f*cking Step It Up 3D before Nightmare. STEP IT UP 3D?!?! WTF!!!!
darkraven28 writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 10:41:30 AM

Who gives a sh*t!?! You don't even need the 3D to enjoy Avatar. The movie kicks enough ass on its own (moreso in the 2nd half. Montage OVERLOAD was getting to me by the hour mark.) And then Stephen Lang saves the whole DAMN movie by kicking loads of ass. Watch it again!
ProfMovies writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 11:01:39 AM

The way the fanboy morons treated theaters who did not have 3D because they do not have the huge money all of the "McTheaters" do to convert at this time, was shameful.

I know of one independent theater owner who is contemplating closing his wonderful classic-era theater simply because he can't afford to convert to 3D!

This 3D mania is Cameron's fault, yes, but it is also the fault of all of the mouth-breather turds out there who must have this extra-sensory input in order to feed their short attention-span!

In case you lames don't realize it: 3D is a FAD, and will start to lose steam by the end of the year.

PLUS, people are sick and tired of paying those 3D fees! Guess what? The theaters get the 3D glasses for FREE, so their charges are just plain GREED!

3D gave the studios, and by extension the theater owners, a license to steal!

So, I am glad all of you AVATARIANS and 3D freakoids have all this money to throw away in this horrific economy.
Your mommy must have raised your allowances!
Vin12 writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 12:11:15 PM

prof
What the hell do you know, Shut the f*ck up and stop judging people u f*cking turd
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 12:31:25 PM

PARTS OF AVATAR WERE CONVERTED?!!!??@

Oh, wait, I forgot: I DON'T GIVE A sh*t
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 12:34:24 PM

Shut the f*ck up, vin12, I know a theater manager too and he's going through the EXACT same problems.

3D is totally a fad, you'd have to be retarded to think it's the new direction of cinema or whatever.

companies have been trying to tack on this useless dimension to our movies for decades, it's NEVER stuck.
skatemaster62 writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 12:40:30 PM

hahaha could you imagine Titanic in 3d? that chick(cant remember her name)'s tits just poping out at you?....holy sh*t i just had a great idea.....3d porn!!!!
thetheeyecreature writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 12:47:40 PM

God, I hope this latest 3D craze goes away, like it has three or four times before. Hey, Cameron -- next time forget about 3D and get a good script.
vaodsi writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 12:58:36 PM

i don't care... movie still kicked ass despite some bad dialogue.
rabid writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 1:51:02 PM

3D isn't a fad. Maybe it's less than sustainable in its current form, but film will always be keeping up with technology to be more immersive and realistic. If we have holographic tvs fifty years from now, this is where it will have started. And the technology only grows when its profitable to improve on it. Cameron proved that it was.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 3:28:56 PM

who f*cking cares?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 3:40:47 PM

"3D isn't a fad. Maybe it's less than sustainable in its current form, but film will always be keeping up with technology to be more immersive and realistic. If we have holographic tvs fifty years from now, this is where it will have started. And the technology only grows when its profitable to improve on it. Cameron proved that it was."

Rabid, has anyone told you that you're a f*cking idiot?

I don't even need to approach your comment directly, because it's stupidity speaks for itself.
encoreyourface writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 3:48:34 PM

skate-we thought of 3d porn months ago,lol.
rocketman writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 4:59:35 PM

Large parts of Avatar were sh*t when i rewatched it on Bluray this arvo.The battle at the end.15 mins max,the rest was boring as hell.
skatemaster62 writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 6:19:21 PM

@encore
but its still a great idea and sadley i missed that conversation.....think about it sitting in your house late one night watching back-door-sluts-9 you got your pants off and your 3d glasses on trying to lick the tit of the sexy girl coming out(no pun intended) at you......isnt technoligy great!
kmccarney88 writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 8:30:59 PM

I'm calling it right now, that guy pulled that out of his ass! None of the movie was converted because no 2D cameras were used in Avatar!
HIRONAKAMURA86 writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 10:05:50 PM

I agree with the first half of ppl on here and there comments, some shared my exact same opinion(terrible film and who gives a sh*t and what 3D there was, was poo anywa) then the others that joked(tho prob true, with him mid raping her or him getting wet dreams over blue ppl etc) Btw, il resubmit but wow Iron Man 2 disappointed me, was at best alright tho the Grand prix scene was great and there were good scenes with Sam Jackson, Sam Rockwell & Scarlett Johansson
Man in Black writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 10:15:57 PM

for what it is ... a great visual spectacle, looks good on a 1080P LED 240HZ series 8 samsung blu ray .... hope better scripted films are shot this way ... but not 3d , sorry 3d fans
encoreyourface writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 10:35:35 PM

skate-that sounds tit-tastic!
triggax writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 1:33:54 AM

Im a theater owner in BC, Canada and since Avatar came out i haven't heard the end of this bullsh*t 3D conversion crap... stupid f*cking teenagers... If the godfather was in 3D does anyone think it would be a better movie? Its a f*cking gimmick.. technology altogether is a f*cking gimmick.. Theres no soul to anything anymore.
MyCircusLife writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 2:10:39 AM

just got done converting some turds to 3-d. hoping to charge people to come and watch them float around.
rabid writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 4:08:03 AM

Conversion is pretty retarded. Filming 3d is the way to go.
Sony even has a 3D camcorder coming out next year. The thing's got two eyes.
jigsaw23 writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 4:58:07 AM

who gives a f*ck hahahaha i will still never watch it and send the predators to f*cking kill them f*ck james that is is stupidest movie everrrr it doesnt even look like a movie i would kill myself over to go to a sh*tty magic land. the smurfs a pissed and will kick there ass
MyCircusLife writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 10:45:48 AM

@kmccarney88
there were definitely parts that were converted. got a friend who does fx in L.A. he worked on part of the converting just 2 weeks before it was released. cameron wasn't going to make his deadline and a ton of the post prod. work was outsourced to a bunch of fx companies.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 12:14:13 PM

"I don't even need to approach your comment directly, because it's stupidity speaks for itself."

That or you don't have a legitimate argument. CG animated movies like Up have been coming out in realD 3d consistently for over a year now. Theater chains have already invested in the tech, so what, are they just gonna toss out the projectors because all of society is gonna suddenly realize that 3d is a gimmick? Especially now that people download movies so much. There's a need to bring people to the theaters.

@Rabid: a 3d camcorder? Sheeeit. Is it one of the crappy handy cam kinda things or is it a big expensive beast?
rabid writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 12:58:03 PM

Something in between by the look of it.
rabid writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 1:54:22 PM

It's called the EX3. It's supposed to be much lighter and cheaper than Panasonic's $21,000 3D camcorder.
LOADIE4LIFE writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 2:48:57 PM

this information is worthless... its not like people could tell the parts that have been converted... Plus.... f*ck 3D!!!
Spankfish writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 3:42:22 PM

Just looked on naviblue.com. comparing zoe saldana (blue chick in avatar, uhura in star trek) to angelina jolie. I'm no huge fan of aj(except her tits), but delusions of grandur or what?
Citizen Creedy writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 8:14:27 PM

Avatar is one of the worst movies ever made
rabid writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 1:27:33 AM

Sure. That must be why it's grossed over 2 billion dollars before it even hit dvd.
Affliction writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 7:25:27 AM

For you Avaretards! Avatar was an Epic movie. I give you that much. It did have great scenes and an imagination of a genius director. 3D made it even more memorable and it has become an instant classic. DVD sales are off the chart and the movie has grosses millions.

Now with this being said.....f*ck Avatar and f*ck James Cameron. Him and that little indian, hawaiian, native boy can live life to the fullest. We all know JC got the idea for this movie from this picture. f*cking Fagots.
Affliction writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 7:26:31 AM

grosses = Grossed
rabid writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 12:35:12 PM

billions, with a B, not millions.
joshmihaly writes:
on May 3rd, 2010 at 5:25:36 PM

This would actually explain why the 3D did not look as good during the last half of the film, that's something I noticed while watching it in theaters.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved