WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ryan Reynolds' New "Buried" Teaser Trailer

Posted: April 30th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ryan ReynoldsSubmit Comment
Lionsgate has released a brand new teaser trailer for the upcoming Ryan Reynolds' "Buried" thriller, which once again reveals very little about the movie. Check it out below.

Plot: Paul Conroy (Reynolds) is not ready to die. But when he wakes up 6 feet underground with no idea of who put him there or why, life for the truck driver and family man instantly becomes a hellish struggle for survival. Buried with only a cell phone and a lighter, his contact with the outside world and ability to piece together clues that could help him discover his location are maddeningly limited. Poor reception, a rapidly draining battery, and a dwindling oxygen supply become his worst enemies in a tightly confined race against time- fighting panic, despair and delirium, Paul has only 90 minutes to be rescued before his worst nightmare comes true.

The new film is directed by Rodrigo Cortes from a script by Chris Sparling and is expected to hit theaters on September 24th in limited released. It will then expand on October 8th.

Teaser Trailer:

If you cannot see the player, click here.


Click here to read more about "Buried."

Source: Lionsgate


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Gates writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 7:19:26 PM

This movie could end very quickly if the phone had the PING feature lol.

I have to admit, I will probably see this.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 7:29:42 PM

I have the script!

Buried

INT. Coffin - Day

Paul:
I'M IN A f*ckEN COFFIN, I GUESS I SHOULD DO SOMETHING OR SOMETHING.

He tries clawing his way out for an hour and a half before dying

Fade to black, THE END
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 8:10:24 PM

looks interesting
masKritic writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 8:28:22 PM

Cell phones don't have dial tones.
dorkus1226 writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 9:12:04 PM

i love me some ryan reynolds =)
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 10:47:44 PM

Buried with poor reception ?

Like we don't get that already and we are standing on terra firma !
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 10:51:55 PM

found this " spoiler " review on IMDB.

Enjoy.


was quite excited for having the opportunity of seeing this film at Sundance yesterday. Luckily for me I don't get claustrophobic so I wasn't deterred from seeing the film like some I've spoken to. Initially I was concerned at first as to how a film could remain interesting when its complete focus was on one character trapped inside of a box, but with multiple twists and turns throughout, I was amazed at how engaged I was in the film and found myself quite literally sitting on the edge of my seat.

The movie centers on Paul, a driver who has been hired to distribute supplies and such to different areas of Iraq. The film begins with Paul waking up to find himself trapped inside of a coffin. While it is quite believable that finding yourself buried alive would cause any person to begin hyperventilating, it does get annoying rather quickly because Paul's heavy breathing and a black screen is all the audience gets to experience for the first five minutes of the film. Once the movie kicks into gear it's quite amazing how quickly you feel your heart pounding. No truer words were ever uttered as director Rodrigo Cortes introduced the film by stating "take a deep breath because it will be the last one you take before the film ends."
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 10:54:36 PM

And another from FearNet :

A few years back I visited with a bickering couple trapped in Open Water with a bunch of hungry sharks. Just last month I watched three unlucky kids get Frozen on a forgotten ski-lift. And just a few hours ago things got really claustrophobic as I watched Ryan Reynolds get Buried inside a coffin. I call 'em "gimmick thrillers," which isn't a knock -- unless you can't pull the gimmick off.

Yep, virtually every frame of Rodrigo Cortes' Buried takes place below ground, inside a coffin, with poor Ryan Reynolds clinging to every last drop of breath ... although actually he never really comes close to suffocating, which is part of the flick's problem. But more on that later.

The premise is this: Paul Conroy is an American truck driver working in Iraq, and as the film opens ... we find Paul buried in a coffin with nothing but a Zippo (that is apparently heat-proof), a Blackberry, a pen, and a flask of alcohol. Slowly he begins to realize that this is no ordinary case of being buried alive (if there even is such a thing) -- Paul is actually being held hostage in a rather impractical way. Apparently Paul's abductors will come dig him up if someone can wire the kidnappers five million bucks. In two hours.

So at this point you're probably wondering how a film can fill 90+ minutes with just one guy in a box, but (aside from a few roadblocks and narrative glitches) Cortes does a pretty slick job of presenting his crafty little gimmick. Unfortunately for every solid jolt and every worthwhile contribution from Reynolds (who really is quite good throughout), we get something that simply strains credibility to the maximum.

Conroy's cell phone, for example, gets better reception underground than mine does on a mountainside. Plus we never really get a sense that Paul might actually asphyxiate (despite his constant usage of an oxygen-devouring mega-flamed Zippo lighter), nor do the moments of claustrophobic panic ever come close to the creepiness of similar sequences in films like Kill Bill, The Vanishing, or Buried Alive.

And yet ... for all the little glitches and strange diversions (Conroy phoning his senile old mama is a goofy misstep), there's still something quietly impressive about Cortes' commitment to his narrative trick. For example, the director actually finds several slick and interesting ways to display the inside of a rectangular box, and for a flick that spends its entire running time inside a coffin, Buried sure isn't boring.

Buried is at its best when its jumping from phone call to phone call, with Conroy desperately trying to find the right bureaucrat who could save his life. Chris Sparling's screenplay wrings some fun from the whole "Americans shouldn't be in Iraq in the first place" angle, and Conroy's frequent conversations with a hostage negotiator named Brenner are both intense and strangely fascinating. (There's also a throwaway bit involving a "coffin visitor" that's quite creepy.)

But for all off Cortes' visual flair and Sparling's subterranean roadblocks, Buried is pretty much Ryan Reynolds' show all the way. The actor, generally known for action, comedy, and wise-assery, helps Buried to coast past the rough spots and truly sell the film's highlights, particularly in Act III, when a few nasty surprises show up.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 10:55:37 PM

@MasKritic

He's dialing out. When dialing out, you may get a dial tone.
CCBlev writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 10:56:42 PM

Great find Max, looks like it may be great afterall. Wonder if we'll hear Ryan Reynolds saying"Write that down!" during this?


Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 11:31:54 PM

@CC Blev

No probs.

Worst Previews is like a 1000 chimps at typewriters working on Shakespeare ... all you get is flung feces all around.
lost_addict writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 1:40:11 AM

Burt Reynolds looks really young in this movie...wow.
Tyron writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 1:03:35 PM

from the trailer it seems this is going to be a big budget movie :)
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 2:22:40 PM

I will be the first to predict a possible sleeper hit.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved