WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ron Howard to Direct Stephen King's "The Dark Tower" Movie

Posted: April 30th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ron Howard to Direct Stephen KingSubmit Comment
A few months ago JJ Abrams revealed that he will not be moving forward with a film based on Stephen King's "The Dark Tower" book series. He returned the rights back to the author, and now Ron Howard, Brian Grazer and Akiva Goldsman have picked them up.

The three are in discussions on a scenario that would see an adaptation begin as a movie, to be written by Goldsman (A Beautiful Mind, I Robot) and directed by Howard (The Da Vinci Code), that would lead to a TV series produced by Imagine's small-screen division.

"The Dark Tower" encompasses not just a narrative about the Man in Black and Roland, the Gunslinger, that spans seven lengthy books (and one short story), but also the entire universe of King's fiction. Characters from his other novels flit in and out of "Tower" in minor and major ways.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
encoreyourface writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 5:47:00 AM

i liked I robot s this could be good. never got into the Dark Tower comics, any good?
darkknight1985 writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 5:47:20 AM

Hugh Jackman for Roland. FTW! Ever since I read the book I thought he looked perfect for the part. This may be because I think that Jackman looks a bit like Clint Eastwood in the Dollars Trilogy. Yet he would look awesome as the lone gunslinger.
darkknight1985 writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 5:51:19 AM

@encore - Its a series of novels not comic books. The story is a dark fantasy. Might not be for everyone but still it has the classic Stephen King touch.
Rodan writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 5:59:02 AM

"Characters from his other novels flit in and out of "Tower" in minor and major ways."

This part kinda sounds like a bad idea.

@darkknight, hey what about me? I think I look kinda like Eastwood.
johnny_boy writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 6:05:04 AM

That Ginger head bastard is gonna direct it?

encoreyourface writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 6:16:02 AM

darkknight- you're wrong. i know they've been advertised on Marvel.com, not to mention i saw them myself. don't mean to be rude sorry if it seems that way but you are half-right the comics are based on the novels.
SamuelClayton writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 6:34:19 AM

Ron Howard is directing? Oh brother. When he's not making mediocre Oscar-bait, he's putting out sh*tty "thrillers" like The Da Vinci Code and The Missing. And let us not forget that Akiva Goldsman was the dumbass who wrote the script for Batman & Robin.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 6:47:37 AM

hey as long as there is no child violence or cussing right?
SamuelClayton writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 7:07:29 AM

Wow, you *still* think that's the reason I thought Kick-Ass sucked? Do I have to, like, spell this out for you, or does your religious devotion to the film impede your comprehension skills?
CCBlev writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 8:25:52 AM

I've been wating for this one. I hope Howards does this right, this maybe big!
SACdaddy writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 8:52:43 AM

Finally some progress! I was beginning to think this would never happen.

@Sam: Howard's missed a few lately but is typically one of the better directors in Hwood today (imo). Don't forget, he's just coming off his 4th Oscar nom for Frost/Nixon which was an excellent film. I always thought the Da Vinci and Angel and Demons material would be difficult to adapt to screen, so I didn't blame him much when the final product somewhat missed the mark. I don't know if you've read any of the DT novels, but its not your usual western or fantasy bullsh*t. Its going to require a director that can operate on a larger scale without letting the film run away on him if you know what I mean. The lead character goes through some pretty tough challenges and eventually deals with a lot of mental and emotional scarring that you usually don't see in the genre. It took King almost 30 years to complete the saga, so it wont be an easy project to tackle. Frankly, with Grazer's involvment I think its a brilliant idea to use the film (The Gunslinger) to set up a TV show that can deal with the wealth of material that follows. If they get HBO or ABC to produce the show, this could work out very well!
SACdaddy writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 9:19:22 AM

Don't know if anyone's an fan of The Mist (which I'm in love with), but the painting Thomas Jane's character is working on at the beginning of the film is what eventually becomes the promotional artwork for King's The Gunslinger novel. I always liked that depiction of Roland.

@DK1985: Jackman could have worked for Roland before he made Austalia and Wolverine. Now I don't want him anywhere near this project. Roland should have Jackman's look, so why not get Olyphant, Hamm, Hartlett (if he can grow some stubble), or Jane for the part. I would say Matthew Fox but I dont know if his nice guy voice would fit very well. This is also a role that can be played by a none American. It may have a western look to it, but since its on another planet/alternate dimension the character doesn't have to have a country accent. I'm sure the Brits and Aussies will be all over this like flies on sh*t, but please NO BALE!!!
tcu21 writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 9:37:24 AM

I was much more hopeful for this when it was going to be JJ Abrams.
Buddz writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 10:29:52 AM

i've been a huge fan of this site a while back..
this is my first post but before that i would like to thank all of you guys with everything that you share here.. cheers!

@SACdaddy, i loved "the mist" it one of my fav films. as for the dark tower, i hope they treat it like how Peter Jackson did for the LOTR. he put so much time and effort to create a masterpiece
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 11:01:14 AM

Great. It's " Maximum Overdrive " all over again .... the horror ... oh, the horror ...
tcu21 writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 11:29:03 AM

@Sac

'The Mist' was awesome, it would be nice if they gave Darabon the Dark Tower, or every Stephen King film adaptation haha.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 11:35:17 AM

Lol! Maximum Overdrive, I actually liked that when I was a kid. I always got a little scared around electric carving knives after that movie.

@Buddz: Welcome to the message board. While I agree that they should put a lot of time and effort into this film(s), I'm a little torn on them creating some kind of massive trilogy before they hit TV. I would probably rather see Howard just do a great film adaptation of The Gunslinger and maybe The Drawing of Three because that establishes most of your main characters for the series. These books will require some great scale and imagination on Howard's part as he must establish Roland's strange world, his past and upbringing, and his mission to find the Man in Black and the Dark Tower. The Drawing of Three will require whoever directs it to deal with alternate dimensions, possession, racisim, drug addition, gangsters, and monsters, so it will require a serious effort also. But I could see the rest being played out of TV over several years. This isn't a small venture by any means.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 11:40:00 AM

@tcu: Darabount knocked that film out the park, and he didn't cheapen the film by giving it the typical Hwood ending. I still think that's one of the best horror films ever made. I need to look up his next project.
lawman writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 11:49:59 AM

SAM>>>> Personally, I think you not liking ANYTHING is pretty cool. Makes you stand out you know? Makes you, at least in my eyes, appear very intellectual and above most of, if not all, of the people on here. Nothing and no one has done anything that has impressed you thus far, and I for one, feel that is because someone with your impecable level of class and good taste, is not easily satisfied! Good for you for having some culture!
tcu21 writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 11:53:06 AM

Yeah I heard a lot of people complain about the ending, but typical Hollywood ending would have sucked and audiences may have been even more pissed by the book's ending, which is ambiguous and doesn't resolve anything. Not complaining, but a lot of people would've hated that.

I believe he's trying to do Farenheit 451 next, but that movie has been in development for quite some time, so we'll see where that goes. I think he also has "The Long Walk" on his list, another King classic he can put on the big screen.
Man in Black writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 11:53:06 AM

YES !
jatilq writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 12:28:19 PM

Long time fan of site and first post.

About time!

@Rodan It was an excellent idea in the books, this was Kings life work.

My favorite book is the Talisman, a project that never left the ground film wise.

This could be very good or very bad
rabid writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 12:45:59 PM

I'd love to see a film version of The Talisman, and it was actually being shopped for a big budget film a while back. Someone on youtube filmed the opening scene of the book.
KingAdash writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 12:51:00 PM

BIG, BIG fan of The Dark Tower series, and I've got to say...Ron Howard? I really don't think that's the right decision for this series of books.
KingAdash writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 12:52:11 PM

And as far as playing Roland.....Viggo Mortenson would be perfect! I think Josh Brolin would be a good choice too.
SamuelClayton writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 1:09:52 PM

@ SAC; I guess you have more faith in the man than I do. Besides maybe Apollo 13, I have never seen a Ron Howard movie that truly impressed me. The Missing was a heavy-handed, corny remake of The Searchers, Cinderella Man was a schmaltzy audience picture that put nearly everything (plot, character development, period insight) on the back-burner to make the audience "feel good" about its protagonist, the two Dan Brown adaptations were completely tedious exercises in club-footed storytelling despite the source novels written in a way that was so nakedly anticipating film adaptations (not sure how you thought they would be "difficult" to adapt), Frost/Nixon was irritatingly devoid of any sort of historical or narrative honesty to wrench a simplistic "Good vs. Evil" liberal fantasy out of what was - at best - a footnote in American history, and A Beautiful Mind is one of the worst films that ever won the Academy Award for Best Picture. I still cringe when I'm reminded that he beat Peter Jackson, Ridley Scott, Robert Altman and David Lynch that year for Best Director.

These films aren't necessarily *awful*, but they are painfully mediocre. There are dozens of filmmakers that "can operate on a larger scale without letting the film run away on him" much more skillfully than Howard, and I guarantee whatever edginess were in those novels (I've never read them) will be undercut by his directorial style.

But he might surprise me, who knows?

@ lawman: Might want to think before you make broad, sweeping generalizations like that. Makes you seem arrogant AND ignorant. As SACdaddy can attest to, I am an unapologetic fan of The Hurt Locker, and have expressed my admiration for plenty of other films in the past on this site. Not trying to be "intellectual" or "above everyone," but if my more discerning taste in film and my refusal to worship at the feet of the internet hype machine makes me "cool" in your eyes, I won't stop you.
Rodan writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 1:16:06 PM

@jatilq, oh I misread the article. I thought the filmmakers were making that change. If King is the one who did it, then that makes more sense.
lawman writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 1:29:41 PM

Sam>>>> It does make you cool. One day, I too wish to be half the film guru you are. God bless you sir! You are a god among men. Honestly, you just come off pompous! But whatever, your not worth any further energy.

SAC>>> Thought the mist (movie) wasnt that bad. The monsters looked f*cking aweful but it was cool. The short story was really good though. As a King fan, I am a bit biased though. Now whoever brought up "The long walk" AWESOME! I would LOVE for someone to do that. But do it well of course!
tcu21 writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 1:36:07 PM

I think Josh Brolin is officially going to destroy his Western cred with Jonah Hex. Even though I know this isn't "technically" a Western, it's got the genre along with 10 others haha.

I heard Christian Bale was on their short list a while back, he'd be a good pick, he has the Western cred from 3:10 to Yuma also.

I guess one of the good things you can say about Howard and his crew is that they are very good casters. So I hope they don't screw that aspect for this film.
joshmihaly writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 1:59:16 PM

Not too bad of a choice, let's see where it goes.

@sac: The Mist was amazing. The book and movie were both very well made. The ending to the movie is also one of the best I have seen in recent years.

@encore: All seven of the Dark Tower novels were already written when the graphic novels came to be. They were made mostly just to bring in a wider audience since a lot of people have not heard of the Dark Tower series.
rabid writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 2:05:49 PM

good! make a film of this sh*t because I can't finish reading through it all.
I did read excerpts from the ending where they're hopping into the realities of the different Stephen King stories. Very cool. Looking forward to someone finally making this series make sense to me. The comic book hit like a wet noodle.
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 2:45:16 PM

i thought the dark tower was comic book?
Ranger writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 3:12:56 PM

@Sam - sorry Bud... but I liked:

Frost/Nixon (a story worth telling/re-living).
Both DaVinci's I've watched (best friend's wife's pick on her movie night).
Apollo13
Backdraft (been forever since I've seen it though).
Splash.
I even liked Cocoon (for what it was, in it's time).

No, I have no prob. with Howard's work.
joshmihaly writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 3:13:58 PM

@skatemaster62: nope, the novels were written from 1982 until now since Stephen King is currently writing an eighth book in the series called The Wind Through The Keyhole. The graphic novels (comics) were made from 2007 to 2009 and served as prequels to the novels.
Ranger writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 3:15:26 PM

@Rodan - u think Josey would have a problem with that picture at the top of this thread?

'You gonna pull them pistols, or whistle Dixie?!'

@Sam - sh*t... and I forgot:

A Beautiful Mind and Cinderella Man. To be honest... I never get tired of those movies.

You're with a hate-on (not as good as a hard-on) for most things on here lately. You ridin' 'The Red Pony'?
dman500 writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 3:53:20 PM

the dark tower is my favorite series of stories ever...i have been waiting for this to happen...a transition into a tv series is a great idea...
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 4:02:16 PM

@josh
thanks
joshmihaly writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 4:24:21 PM

@skatemaster62: any time man.
SofaKing writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 4:59:41 PM

I like Jackman or Viggo for Roland but I wish Eastwood was still young enough to pull it off.

Eddie is a drug addict so I like Jim Caviezel or Guy Pierce for that role.

Susannah could be anyone from Halle Berry to Zoe Saldana...

Jake the kid could be anyone for all I care.

And Oy should be Gary Coleman...
Ranger writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 5:08:12 PM

@Sofa - lol... those Coleman jokes never get tiring at this end my friend!
encoreyourface writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 5:36:15 PM

Sam- i just like f*cking with you. it's fun.
Eli_1994 writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 5:56:57 PM

OMG heres a pic of Chris Hemsworth as Thor, aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhh!


http://www.comicbookmovie.com/fansites/Poniverse/news/?a=17657

Read more: http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=17544#ixzz0mchDfq1y
SofaKing writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 6:10:05 PM

Awesome, thanks Eli!
shadowfax845 writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 7:27:47 PM

if ron-ron screws up Roland of Gilead there will be no escape from my wrath.

Oy shall live!
Tyrkae writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 7:31:58 PM

Ugh..and Brian Grazer too...I've officially lost all faith in this becoming a movie I'd actually want to see.

WHY WHY did JJ Abrams have to back out Why!!!!!!
Eben1277 writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 10:32:25 AM

I'm incapable of watching Million Dollar Baby unless I can follow it up immediately with Cinderella Man to pull me out of my sadness stupor.
Farradin writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 1:10:39 PM

I still think Sam Raimi would have been the perfect director for this.

Or alternately a group of horror directors taking on film each including Sam Raimi, Peter Jackson, David Cronenberg, John Carpenter and Niel Marshall.

As for Ron Howard, I liked Willow and a few of his other 80's films in their cheesy ways but I'm definitely undecided as to whether this is a good idea or not.

Finally encore could you please explain your I, Robot comment because I fail to see the connection between projects.
Eddie writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 5:45:24 PM

Frank Darabont should be directing this.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved