WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Conan O'Brien Still Angry at Jay Leno

Posted: April 30th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Conan OSubmit Comment
I'm a big fan of Conan O'Brien, but I don't blame Jay Leno for taking back "The Tonight Show." NBC asked Leno to step aside, despite his domination over the competition. O'Brien stepped in and stunk up the place, causing many affiliates to call for his removal. Some argue that he needed more time, but his ratings were so poor that it caused the network to eventually fire him. NBC immediately brought back Leno, who now has more than double the viewership of David Letterman. If O'Brien had good ratings, the network would have never let him go. And if Leno never returned, it would have been someone else who would have replaced O'Brien.

Since then, O'Brien has signed with TBS to host a late night talk show. And he will appear on "60 Minutes" on Sunday to discuss his new gig and how he felt about Leno taking back "The Tonight Show."

CBS has released an excerpt from the interview. Conan said: "[Leno] went and took that show back, and I think in a similar situation, if roles had been reversed, I know me, I wouldn't have done that. If I had surrendered 'The Tonight Show' and handed it over to somebody publicly and wished them well -- and then ... six months later. But that's me, you know. Everyone's got their own way of doing things."

The one thing that O'Brien doesn't mention is that many years ago, he threatened to leave the network unless he was given "The Tonight Show." In a desperate attempt to keep O'Brien, NBC kicked Leno out despite his amazing ratings. Leno never actually wanted to leave and was shocked when the he found out the network's plans. If anyone is to blame here, it's NBC, not O'Brien or Leno.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
encoreyourface writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 5:49:33 AM

f*ck off Conan. i'm REALLY tired of hearing news about you and your beef with Leno, it's annoying. i can't say about his comedy never seen his show but God guy give it a rest yeah maybe he promised something to you and didn't do it, well who the hell told you life was fair?
johnny_boy writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 6:03:57 AM

In about 6 months, we'll read an article about him and George lopez fueding. f*ck team coco, I'm on team loco.
als125 writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 6:04:26 AM

Conan O'Brien was not fired. He quit when they wanted to move him ahead 30 minutes and put Leno on for 30 minutes at 11:30 pm. The affiliates DID NOT call for Conan's removal. They called for Leno's removal from his disastrous 10pm prime time show which had poor ratings and caused the affiliate's 11pm news to lose viewers because of the poor lead in. Many believe this poor lead in caused Conan's poor ratings which took a dive when Leno's show came on. Leno had poorer ratings for 3 years when he first took over from Johnny Carson than Conan had for his only 7 month long run. Check your facts before writing your articles.
masKritic writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 6:12:23 AM

Conan f*ckin rocks!
lost_addict writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 6:38:07 AM

Conan is so much funnier then any other talk show host but his humor doesn't fit the audience of 'the tonight show'.he should stick to late night shows.
SamuelClayton writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 6:39:09 AM

I was going to admonish WP for their shoddy journalism, but it looks like als125 beat me to it. Nice job!
Ryanlawson writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 7:44:27 AM

i think WP is on team loco
Arlo11 writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 8:26:14 AM

Im WIth COCO!!
CCBlev writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 8:33:03 AM

personally I think these 2 need to bone andget that sh*t overwith!
warlord writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 9:01:04 AM

he should be pisst at nbc leno is a douch bag
exilefromiraq writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 9:11:43 AM

Who researches this sh*t? More than double the ratings? Dude, you're a douche bag go report your opinion on Facebook.

darthraige writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 9:16:31 AM

Jesus Christ man, let it go. We get it, you're pissed at Leno. Move the f*ck on.
Ranma-Irias writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 9:18:03 AM

I'm still with COCO!
SACdaddy writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 9:51:49 AM

Who the f*ck researched this article? Its almost all complete bullsh*t. Must be a Leno fan.
TheHundreds writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 10:03:38 AM

haha seriously we don't need your opinion WP and everyone knows NBC is obviously at fault this article MIGHT have been relevant a couple months ago
Theatrdude writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 10:22:55 AM

WP please turn in your media badge and don't let the door hit you on your way out.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 10:59:54 AM

Take it on " Celebrity UFC " ...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 11:37:33 AM

I would take Conan's freakishly long legs over the arse face of Leno.
Ranger writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 1:43:15 PM

@als125 - nice job. Exactly!

@darthraige - I agree. I suspect Conan wanted (and 60 Minutes thought it worth getting (even) more into the open) Conan's thought. Hey Conan, you were paid $32.5 million to leave. Take the high ground and just move on Bro.

AND this article... it's 'facts'... I've read elsewhere. This info has been 'spun'... read als125 post for clarity.

But Conan... whatever you feel f*cked you. Shove a tampon up there and move on. You're only a bigger man is you act like one. The Leno rape is a done deal.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 1:44:47 PM

And what, wasn't it like years ago that Leno came up and said that Conan would be taking over? Like, five years beforehand?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=51Qaih-kErA

Plus, times change. Saying 'you've got five years' is not 'you're kicked out'.
miaou writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 1:57:09 PM

http://tvbythenumbers.com/2010/04/22/leno-following-conans-tonight-show-ratings-trajectory/49502

Leno's ratings are trending in the exact same fashion as Conan's.

While Conan was on, he was also beating Letterman. So the fact that Leno is beating him too, is sort of a moot point if you look at the entire picture.
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 2:04:04 PM

i agre with sam and als on this one this article is complete bs.....it must be a slow day here at wp? or they just dont check the facts cause non of this sh*t ever happened(conan demanding to leave if he didnt get the tonight show)
Ranger writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 2:05:42 PM

@lost - we all have our flavors. I think Craig Ferguson is far more creative than the entire lot of them (and I'm not even including Failed Fallon in that list).

Sounds like Letterman got lucky and established himself when he did. Because it sounds like if he were new now with the ratings I hear (on here) he's getting, they'd kick him to the curb too.
Jojotocujo writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 2:28:32 PM

als125 speaks the truth. This article is sh*t.
jdl107 writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 2:37:36 PM

"The one thing that O'Brien doesn't mention is that many years ago, he threatened to leave the network unless he was given "The Tonight Show." In a desperate attempt to keep O'Brien, NBC kicked Leno out despite his amazing ratings. Leno never actually wanted to leave and was shocked when the he found out the network's plans. If anyone is to blame here, it's NBC, not O'Brien or Leno."

Pfft, see I didn't even know that. Those f*cking execs need to get their sh*t together. And O'Brien's a f*cking hypocrite.
Skulls and Ice Cubes writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 3:18:17 PM

Conan got a raw deal. Jay Leno completely threw Conan under the bus the first moment he had. AT the first instant it looked like there was going to be a ratings issue with Conan, instead of Jay supporting Conan, he was giving interviews in the media saying 'I'd take the show back if they offered it to me.' What a dispicable human being. It's no wonder now why so many people in Hollywood don't care for Leno. I have not and will never watch that phony again. I'll watch George Lopez's show before Leno's - the site of him makes me sick...yes, Conan's version of the Tonight Show had its issues, but they were fixable (for example, having Andy Richter as the voice of the show I think hurt the tonight show brand. He was the first person you heard, and his sarcastic intros to the tone of his voice turned off a lot of older viewers - they should have used Goddard or someone else - and just let Andy be the couch-sitting sidekick) and although Leno is good for NBC's ratings now...ten years from now they will mourn the day they opted to keep Leno and piss off Conan. I can't wait for Conan's new show in November. NBC you're pathetic. Leno you're a phony and you're pathetic.
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 3:28:28 PM

@als125
TOUCHE! nicely said... still...

TEAM COCO!
mmmmmm...simpsons writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 5:21:14 PM

That makes sense

angrey mob at NBC studio anyone can joy

except vindy we don't want shabamging anywhere
Eli_1994 writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 5:56:42 PM

OMG heres a pic of Chris Hemsworth as Thor, aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhh!


http://www.comicbookmovie.com/fansites/Poniverse/news/?a=17657

Read more: http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=17544#ixzz0mchDfq1y
dougieperzo writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 2:19:12 PM

whoever posts articles on worstpreviews stop kissing leno's ass he's talentless and having more ratings means nothing from the u.s because there mostly f*cking idiots the only smart ones watch conan
encoreyourface writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 3:46:24 PM

"Jesus Christ man, let it go. We get it, you're pissed at Leno. Move the f*ck on."

THANK YOU!
skooterz writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 7:21:18 PM

This is just a whole big mess and I wish people would just ignore it at this point.
DRzFiNe$T writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 6:01:17 AM

what pisses me off is that Conan is still acting like the "victim"..He needs TO STOP THIS CRAP..he GOT PAID a $36,000,000 settlement!..and he didnt even had to end up doing the whole contract..they let him off early..there are people and families suffering in this country and HE's acting like the freeakin victim..giv me a break..dude needs to move on..if i was him i'd be glad to just to have that money and move on to other things

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved