WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Anchorman" Sequel is Officially Dead

Posted: April 30th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Anchorman" Sequel is Officially DeadSubmit Comment
Just recently, director Adam McKay said that Paramount Pictures has been crunching the numbers and was really close to greenlighting the sequel to "Anchorman." All the actors are eager to return and there is already an idea in place. And since everyone involved is now major Hollywood star, they decided to cut their salaries substantially to make the movie happen.

Unfortunately, McKay has just updated his Twitter account with the following message: "So bummed. Paramount basically passed on Anchorman 2. Even after we cut our budget down. We tried."

It's not surprising that the studio passed. The first film only grossed $90 million in worldwide ticket sales. And even though everyone lowered their prices, the sequel would still have to be a major hit for Paramount to recoup its production and marketing costs.

Source: Twitter


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Thomassi87 writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 5:26:46 AM

Sad news
encoreyourface writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 5:42:56 AM

still waiting to see the first, gotta get a copy ...
Rodan writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 5:43:55 AM

At least we have Zoolander 2 to look forward to.
Whitta writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 5:45:47 AM

this is f*cked...
and then they go ahead and greenlight sh*t like a Spiderman remake or another sh*tty Rom-Com with Sandra Bullock.

don't get me started on Avatar 2 over Anchorman 2
trailertrash writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 5:51:41 AM

That sucks, when you get sh*t films like Furry Vengeance being made , pretty sure it would have done better business than the 1st one......

@encore it's a must very funny...
johnny_boy writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 6:02:32 AM

What a shame. By the way, I was reading the reviews here on WP. Ain't it some sh*t WP scored human cetipede a 8/10 but nightmare on elm street a 5/10?
trailertrash writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 6:06:50 AM

@johnny- that sucks ass !! lol
Rodan writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 6:08:05 AM

@johnny, but is Nightmare on Elm Street 100% medically accurate?
johnny_boy writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 6:11:58 AM

@ rodan.... I don't think NOES is that bad that you're gonna give a movie about sucking ass that ain't a porn a better,not to mention higher score, than a movie that has plenty of potential plus Jackie Earl hart(think that's how you say his name) in it
lost_addict writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 6:32:36 AM

I predict the future,in 1 week here on WP:"Anchorman sequel is not dead!"
encoreyourface writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 6:44:40 AM

lol
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 7:00:16 AM

I think this is a blessing in disguise. As much as I love the first one, I rather see no sequel than the first tainted.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 7:28:39 AM

WTF!!!! They act like this was going to cost them $100mill to make. Movies based on boardgames and Magic 8balls are getting funded, and there's no room for an Anchorman sequel? The first film made $90 mill on a $26 mill budget and is a cult classic! If that's not grounds for a sequel these days I don't know what is. Nothing makes any f*cking sense in Hwood anymore.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 7:38:24 AM

FU Paramount!!! First you fire my boy Tom Cruise for doing a little couchsurfing and now you give my favorite guilty pleasure the axe for NO sensible reason. I hope Iron Man 2(which I'm hearing is about as mediocre as it gets), Shrek, and the Last Air Bender fall flat on their expensive fat asses.
CCBlev writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 7:55:35 AM

@Sac
Thats what I've been saying we need to burn Hollywood down, I know Trailer's got the Petrol. lol
masht7 writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 8:15:37 AM

I don't care, Will Farell wasn't been funny in along time.
warlord writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 9:03:51 AM

good farell was better on saterday night live anyway his movies suck
VLAD*the*IMPALER writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 9:18:54 AM

sac, my thoughts exactly! hollywood is out of touch with reality, as much as i am a transformers fan (even though i dont like bay, and the movies turn corny after 30 seconds) i blame the transformers movie for all this crap being green lit.
lets look at this logically: an original toy line, turns to successful movie, makes lots of money, .... why not try others.
meanwhile we have to suffer for the next few years with movies like:
stretch armstrong (toy)
battleship (board game)
monopoly (board game)
eight ball (toy)
ouija board (wtf)
im sure there are more i can't think of now because they are so f*cking moronic.
next will be a god damn rubiks cube movie - just watch.

f*cking jihad terrorists, instead of going after trey and matt over a cartoon - just nuke hollywood, some of us may start to back you if you do.
m3talface writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 9:50:42 AM

Whitta... I'm just as sad as you about this, but can you honestly not get why they would make AVATAR 2 over this? It's only the sequel to the HIGHEST GROSSING FILM OF ALL TIME. lol
Lizardking515 writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 10:33:03 AM

This is truely a sad day.

@ sac....totally agree and hope every major budgeted film they make falls flat on their asses.

Now...say they made this movie....first one made triple the money they put into it. U take the money they made from it and say "hey, anchorman is one of the greatest cult movies made, I'm sure if we sink 30 mill into it that it'll be bigger than the first" that's wut I would think when ppl ask me bout an anchorman sequel.
Now with will farrell, who's career keeps getting worse n worse, paul rudd, and steve carel alll taking pay cuts from their quotes....major f*cking pay cuts, seeing as they are the most wanted in the comedy world, why would you pass this oppetunity up.
All I can do is cross my fingers and hope they don't pass on old school 2 as well
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 11:09:28 AM

They kill this, yet they want to do a movie about a ball that predicts the future and a board that lets you speak with your dead relatives ? Oh, and they keep Michael Bay paid ?


Hollywood is officially f*cking dumber than that redneck fluffer who blows Shia before his sex scenes with Megan Fox.
TRUEMAN writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 11:38:24 AM

Good news he sucks like diaper crap!
Whitta writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 11:44:19 AM

@m3talface
i understand why theres gonna be an Avatar sequel, but i would much... much much much prefer an Anchorman 2 over an Avatar 2
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 11:47:21 AM

I think that given the post success of the cinema release ie dvd sales, this would go on to make much more money than previous.

I love lamp.
Bigcheese writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 11:57:10 AM

I might cry...
Zubostl writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 11:57:36 AM

Thank god we live in a world where Twilight gets ten sequels, but the greatest film known to man doesn't even get one. Anchorman is the funniest, most epic, most quotable movie of all times.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 1:01:32 PM

I can't believe it. Anchorman was when Will Ferrell was starting to get his heat in comedies and now all the star are basically famous. They should have given it a try.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 1:19:51 PM

Possibly the most quotable film after Withnail & I.
TRUEMAN writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 1:46:52 PM

HEy first image of thor here

http://www.taringa.net/posts/tv-peliculas-series/5356669/Primer-imagen-de-THOR.html
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 2:14:52 PM

@trailer
i totally got that pun...nice work my friend
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 2:18:35 PM

hey everyone here is are first look at thor!!!

http://www.comicbookmovie.com/fansites/Poniverse/news/?a=17657
EvilDeadAlex writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 2:55:04 PM

it would easilly make back an 80million pound budget, bad move paramount
rocketman writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 4:01:40 PM

Gutted. Glass case of emotion etc...
ian_918 writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 4:33:49 PM

f*ck HOLLYWOOD IN THEIR AIDS INFESTED ASS.
nmball writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 4:40:49 PM

f*ck all the remake bullsh*t.....focus on making this movie!
encoreyourface writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 5:11:02 PM

skate-f*ck he makes a great Thor. very close to comic roots much like The Destroyer.
Eli_1994 writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 5:58:12 PM

OMG heres a pic of Chris Hemsworth as Thor, aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhh!


http://www.comicbookmovie.com/fansites/Poniverse/news/?a=17657

Read more: http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=17544#ixzz0mchDfq1y
nope.com writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 7:18:53 PM

lol, Paramount has the budget for Monopoly, Battleship, sh*t board game films.. but no love for Anchorman?

Way to go fags @ Paramount
HOCK writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 8:08:41 PM

It WOULD have been a huge hit. It would have done better than the first.
Man in Black writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 11:48:24 PM

yes it makes so much more sense to make a total sh*t movie with zero fan base and bitch when it fails then make this sequel with a huge fan base and would buy the dvd to add to there collections ...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved