WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Arnold Schwarzenegger's "Commando" Remake is Moving Forward

Posted: April 29th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Arnold SchwarzeneggerSubmit Comment
Deadline is reporting that 20th Century Fox is planning to remake Arnold Schwarzenegger's action flick "Commando" and has already hired David Ayer (Harsh Times, Street Kings) to write and direct.

Ayer will put his own real-world spin on the original premise, which revolves around a retired elite special forces operative who sees his daughter kidnapped and is told she'll die unless he gets on a plane and kills the rival of a nasty exiled dictator.

The actor who will replace Schwarzenegger will be less brawny, but more skilled in covert tactics and weaponry. Back in June of last year, Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson was rumored to step into the role, but that will likely not happen.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 62 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
gobolog writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 7:00:35 AM

Chuck norris anyone?
SACdaddy writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 7:47:00 AM

"The actor who will replace Schwarzenegger will be less brawny, but more skilled in covert tactics and weaponry"

No sh*t WP, nobody on the planet could match muscle with Arnold in his prime. How many Mr. Olympia and My Universe titles did he win? Too many to count.

"Covert tactics and weaponry"? Did these idiots see the first film? There isn't anything COVERT about it and that's the f*cking point! Arnold was an unstoppable force that could give a flying f*ck if the bad guys knew he was coming or not. As far as the "weaponry" goes, I ask you, what weapon didn't Arnold use in the first film? He literally use every weapon in the toolshed in that movie.

Remaking Arnold films or trying to follow in his footsteps is a horrible business venture if you ask me. Hwood has been trying to fill his mighty shoes for 10 years now and hasn't come close to succeeding. Terminator and Predator both took huge hits without him, and the Conan remake instantly became a joke when they cast Arnie's Hawaiian replacement. Hwood should just move on and forget about coattailing someone who has no equal. Eastwood and Brando material seems to be off limits, and Arnold's films should get the same respect.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 7:57:57 AM

@sac- you said it better than I ever could, I applaude you sir.
trailertrash writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 8:09:54 AM

@sac- i agree again big man !!

You can't really remake any of Arnies films because with out him they are just B movie action films.

He made them into classic action movies the one liners , the looks, the blantant disregard for the rules, that was all him, he was the star of the movie , not a star in a movie (if you get what i mean).

Even if you put the rock in this, it will end up looking like he's copying Schwarzenegger why would you want to see that.

Just go and watch the original which i did the other day and it was still bloody good nearly 25 years later, will the same be said of this remake ??!! Me thinks not....
AYT BALL writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 8:10:07 AM

How dare they mess with a classic!! With possibly the campest bad guy in cinema history spouting out lines like...

"I love listening to your piss ant soldiers talk tough, they make me laugh, if matrix was here, hed laugh too"

"John, i'll be ready john"

"Im not gonna shoot you between the eyes, im gonna shoot you between the balls!"
trailertrash writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 8:18:51 AM

@ayt lol

Remember, Sully, when I promised to kill you last?

I lied.
trailertrash writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 8:20:32 AM

Veron wells he was camp/ mental in mad max 2 the road warrior too...
AYT BALL writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 8:21:42 AM

lol and then flips the yellow porsche over and we see all the damage on the side has vanished as he drives off.....oops! all part of the charm though
AYT BALL writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 8:22:41 AM

Yeah!! with assless leather chaps! whats camper, chaps or a string vest and leather gloves?! lol
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 8:26:10 AM

@aytball- lol, anyone else saying those lines are just gonna suck as much balls as vin does.
trailertrash writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 8:30:36 AM

I love that porsche c*ck up !! who was in charge of continuity that day !!! lol
AYT BALL writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 8:32:10 AM

Ooh hello sailor!

http://www.freeclassicimages.com/images/VERNON%20WELLS.jpg

http://www.hokutonoken.it/cinema/vernon_wells.jpg
trailertrash writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 8:42:58 AM

dont forget weird science:

http://www.madmaxmovies.com/flubs/references/images/WeirdScience/weirdscience.jpg

always worth a look mrs ex steven seagal

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_eXQh6Qsh7Z8/SnuTCBypavI/AAAAAAAABXg/jF0fzAa-bTU/s400/kellyLebrock.jpg
AYT BALL writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 8:45:19 AM

Ah the good old days!.......think i need to go watch the woman in red! lol
trailertrash writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 8:46:23 AM

The air vent scene you mean !! lol
SACdaddy writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 8:47:29 AM

Wow I never noticed the disappearing scratches on the Porsche. I guess I was still stupified by the fact that a man had just flipped a car by himself.

LOL! Vernon Wells must have had a blast during his career.

This movie was a one liner classic:

"Please don't disturb my friend. He's DEAD tired."

"I eat green berets for breakfast, and I'm VERY HUNGRY!"

"These guys eat too much red meat!"

"Let off some steam Bennett" (best oneliner of alltime imo)

"What happened to Sully? I let him go."
CCBlev writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 8:51:35 AM

God Hollywood f*ck you and die! I think we really need to burn down Hollywood now!
trailertrash writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 8:53:12 AM

LOL , great lines

Even had his I'll be back with bennett on the end !!

No one does one liners like arnie , that was his gift to the movie world !! lol
trailertrash writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 8:54:02 AM

@cc- i've got the petrol dude !! lol
SACdaddy writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 8:54:50 AM

Instead of remaking the movie, why don't they just make a Commando video game and let Arnold do the voiceover. That movie is just one big first person shooter anyway. Just fill the game with lots of action and one liners like they did Duke Nukem back in the day. "Your face, your ass, what the difference?" (they totally missed the ball not making that game into a live action film)
trailertrash writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 9:05:24 AM

Duke Nukem forgot about him , they would have made a good movie ,would have been better than Doom that was a bit of a disappointment.

Commando the game Yes please lol
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 9:14:53 AM

Pfffft make it a WWE film staring John Cena or someone so I can really be disgusted.
shayhiri writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 9:15:13 AM

LOLz @ the fanboyz.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 9:17:01 AM

I will cry like a baby the day Arnold leaves this earth. The man is legendary!
rocketman writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 9:18:08 AM

f*cking awesome. Man films,can't fault em.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 9:22:32 AM

LOL Cena!!!
trailertrash writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 9:26:09 AM

@sac- that he is !!

@rocket- the women just dont get them do they !! lol
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 9:35:54 AM

Whoever stars in this sh*tfest, Quick! Run to da choppppaa!!!!!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 9:36:45 AM

I wonder if Alyssa Milano will get a cameo as a stripper in the club of the bad guys ....
SofaKing writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 9:37:57 AM

@Everyone

You guys are great, I got on here to leave a pro Arnie comment but it seems like I was not needed this time. I hope they have his DNA somewhere so we can make a new one when we have the technology... He has a son but it appears he got to much of his mom's genes and he'll never be that big, oh well.

Don't forget about the opening montage with Alyssa Milano where they feed a deer and shove ice cream in each others faces, awesome!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 9:37:58 AM

Lindsey Lohan as Big Bad Bitch Mama ... and Gary Coleman as Tatu!

Da choppa, da choppa!
rocketman writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 9:45:21 AM

@Trailer. you're right,must be all the washing up they do,scrambles their poor little brains,bless em.
Ari Gold writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 9:48:35 AM

If Matrix read this, he'd laugh too.

Dolph Lundgeren for Duke Nukem.

I would love to see Arnie back in Hollywood.
wasted talent HK5 writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 9:59:31 AM

Blow off some steam, Bennett!
trailertrash writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 10:11:40 AM

@sofa - That was a beautiful montage , who would have thought he would be slicing someones spam off with a garden blade later on in the movie !! lol

@rocket- LOL, I think you right , it's not the cooking my wife doesn't do that ...
rocketman writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 10:51:23 AM

@Trailer,lol.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 11:05:47 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iNItKv7EMfs

The buzz saw frisbee toss was classic but I think Arnold took a little too much off the top for that guy's taste.

God I love this movie!
trailertrash writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 11:21:18 AM

Forking hell !!! lol

That guy who gets his arm chopped off, him and Al Leong were in everything on tv and movies back in the 80's .....

Great clip
SACdaddy writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 11:27:08 AM

This guy might be the only actor with enough power and charisma to fill Arnold's shoes :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vpiGCLcsEbQ

I don't know if you Brits get these commercials, but they're f*cking crazy!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 12:33:51 PM

@SAC: I love Old Spice-commercials (have you seen the one with Bruce Campbell?)

Yeah, Terry Crews is the only one that is even worthy consideration for a Commando-remake. He got the muscles and charisma. But even then it's a stretch.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 12:50:03 PM

LOL!!! I was just joking about him replacing Arnold. It was just an excuse to put a crazy Terry Crews video up :)

Dont think I've seen the BC Old Spice yet but I'll peep it.
rocketman writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 12:56:09 PM

@Sac WTF,thats was f*cking loony lol. We need that stuff in England asap,i could use some coz im alergic to deodorant.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 1:06:50 PM

Joking or not, all things considered, if you must remake Commando: who better than Terry Crews?
AYT BALL writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 1:09:55 PM

@ SAC - AWESOME!! lol never seen those before! crews is funny as hell!
Ranger writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 1:33:57 PM

@SAC - pretty funny commercials. Thx. Bro.
Ranger writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 2:10:33 PM

And 'Commando' can never be re-made. It's Arnie for f*ck sake! I guess they just need the title (it's a good title)... so references will be made.

Arnie is irreplaceable... we all know that.

rocketman writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 2:32:55 PM

Ditto on Arnie,the films premise is ripe for remake.Get some dude like this,go realistic as opposed to slo-mo sixpack shots and it would f*cking own
http://www.daviduri.net/images/Special_Forces_soldier.jpg

Just thought....A spec op badass goes after his daughter whos been kidnapped...is Taken
an unoffical Commando remake?
rabid writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 2:54:35 PM

mehh... without Arnie it'll just feel like a rehash of Taken.
dissident187 writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 2:55:31 PM

I would have to agree with the majority on this one. A modern day version with a "realistic" approach would not work because of the ridiculously cheezy nature of the original. The charm of this film lied in the stereotypical (in a good way) Arnold as John Matrix. You had this bad-ass dude who kicked-ass and took names without batting an eye, while splurting out one-liners that made you forget it you were watching an action film. Not to mention opponent that could go toe-to-toe with John Rambo, if it ever came to that.

On the other hand, Predators can definitely work with Brody. The original was not just an action/thriller/horror/sci-fi flick, but a modern day interpretation of Beowulf. The Predator represented Grendel, who cannot be harmed by conventional weaponry, until Dutch (Beowulf) uses elements of nature (with some help of his knife and grenade powder). Casting Brody for Predators allows for the David v/s Goliath touch to the story and it could work.

darthraige writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 3:26:11 PM

Of course there's gonna be a remake. Why not ruin another f*cking classic? Hollywood blows, come up with some new ideas you f*cking c*nts.
SofaKing writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 3:42:34 PM

@dissident

Beowulf was the original Hero story... If there is anything I learned in my Humanities class its that every story with a hero is using elements of Beowulf. Now the 13th Warrior was a very close retelling, even had characters with the same names.
minkowski writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 4:32:30 PM

Actually, the original classical, romantic 'hero' story has many of its plot elements derived from the story of Jesus. Jesus predates Beowulf. But you'd never hear such from an uber-liberal humanities class, as they're more intent on brainwashing then openminded thought.
minkowski writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 4:37:51 PM

And by 'hero' story, I am not referring to the more violent aspects of that trope, definitely a Germanic addition to the often more sedate vein of classical classical literature, but more a reference to the character stereotype elements of the lead hero: the selfless sacrifice, the solidly good nature, the kind but strong visage, the redemptive attitude, the compassionism, even some of the humor, et cetera.
minkowski writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 4:40:31 PM

Hell, I doubt even Beowulf is terribly original. The Odyssey, the Epic of Gilgamesh, the Enuma Elish, even the Iliad all predate Beowulf and yet contain some of the same elements.
trailertrash writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 5:50:27 PM

@sac- lol , great link.

I like Terry Crews he always reminds me of Keith David.

Terry is in the Expendables too so thats another good reason to see that movie , along with the million other ones !!
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 5:52:35 PM

i agree with sacdaddy and several other posters on here...hollywood needs to understand that arnold is a one of a kind and that there's no such thing as a 'next arnold' like they tried to say about dwayne johnson...remaking ANY movie of his is a bad decision...without arnold, these movies wouldn't even have the popularity that they do...if anything, this commando remake would look more like 'metal gear solid' and that's about it
welsher007 writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 6:11:23 PM

This is gonna be sh*t.
I don't see anyone remaking citizen kane or casablanca. Its because you don't f*ck with a classic.

"You're a funny guy Sully, I like you. That's why I'm going to kill you last"
rabid writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 6:51:54 PM

hahaha Liberals afraid to bash Jesus? I believe that's backwards. It's the fundamentalist conservatives who don't have the stones to view it as cultural mythology.

Beowulf is a retelling of an ancient aryan tale from what is now russia. There it evolved into a repeated political myth that became Dobrynya. It probably shared an origin with the proto-hindu origins of Gilgamesh, which like Jesus mixed ye olde messianic hero with contemporary politics. Same for all of Egypt.
I'm not sure I see any parallels between messiahs and Arnold Shwarzenpepper tho. I do like how you snuck in the totally incoherent attack on liberal education though, without the likes of which this nation would evolve into something not to different from the Taliban. In some alternate universe Reagan is still alive and Pat Robertson is his secretary of war.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 9:16:17 PM

stop ruining Arnie's movies ...
greed71 writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 3:42:15 AM

Dont f*ck it up
Mudders writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 4:24:08 AM

i dont think anyone is trying to replace arnie,just think they are trying to update a classic action film...i mean with all the technology cgi wise and new military gadgets on hand it could give it a pretty worthwhile reinvention.

i hope they dont rape the sh*t out of it too much and keep the odd cheesy one liner and of course the ability of matrix to not get shot while standing in an open field with 15 plus guys shooting straight at you...absolute class
Salvador writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 4:52:08 PM

"Eastwood and Brando material seems to be off limits, and Arnold's films should get the same respect..."

@SACdaddy: You made a point.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved