WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Kiefer Sutherland Waiting for "24" Movie Script

Posted: April 28th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Kiefer Sutherland Waiting for "24" Movie ScriptSubmit Comment
Kiefer Sutherland spoke to Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung newspaper about adapting the "24" television series for the big screen. The actor explained that he is very excited about getting away from the real-time concept of the show.

"You should sit down and try to write a story in real-time - from minute to minute - to see how hard it is," said Sutherland. "Very few writers have succeeded and some quite extraordinary writers have failed trying that. Believe me, it's incredibly complicated."

He continued: "Now we are exempt from that. We can do something that was impossible for us - we can cut. Again an example: If the first sequence in the film takes place between one and three clock in the afternoon, we can now jump to six o'clock in the early evening - that was previously impossible."

Sutherland was then asked for some plot details. The actor obviously refused. "Wait a bit to see what we come up with," he said. "We are already in pre-production, the whole concept will be certain in a few weeks time."

Click here to read more about "24: The Movie."

Source: Frankfurter Allagemeine Zeitung


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 12 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 8:16:24 AM

Tick - Tock - Tick - Tock - Tick - Tock
SACdaddy writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 9:00:20 AM

"You should sit down and try to write a story in real-time - from minute to minute - to see how hard it is," said Sutherland.

No sh*t Kiefer, but its what separates your show from the rest of the pack and makes it unique. The industry is so saturated that it takes a little more effort to be different and still be successful. This is a bad time to start getting lazy and follow the crowd. There's a major opportunity to bring a highly successful format to the film industry where it would have no peers. With Bourne and Bond on the outs, this is a perfect time to start a real time based film frachise about Brauer. If the writers can't handle the challenge of creating a 2hr real time script, get new writers! If they can do it for a Van Damme film (Sudden Death) and be successful then the 24 crew really has know excuse. They should take their time with this and try to create something that will both honour the show's tradition and add something new to the film industry. Don't become, as Sam puts it, "just another Bourne clone."

BTW, I need to take back anything negative I've said so far about this final season. The last 3 episodes have once again saved the show from mediocrity and brought back its fading luster. When will they learn? You can set off a nuclear device on US soil or assassinate the President, but don't f*ck with Jack's woman. Now everybody's got to go down, and there nothing the terrorist, the Russians, or the President herself can do about it. Should be a great finale :-)
SACdaddy writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 9:04:14 AM

know excuse = NO excuse (sorry my brain is taking its time waking up this morning)
drshakalou writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 9:08:08 AM

i have so much respect for this guy.. he is the man.
trailertrash writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 9:15:40 AM

@SAC-

Your right thats the hook of the show and they need to carry that on to the movie , if they dont do that it may as well be another The Sentinel and really what's the point of that !!

Take your time and get it right !!
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 10:24:20 AM

I'm hard pressed to see how they could carry over the real time premise to 2 hours. For the content of 24, to drop a crisis in Jack's lap and expect him to resolve it in 2 hrs seems off to me. Now if you squeeze the 24 hour time into the 2 hour film, I can definitely roll with that.
I would though still like to see it go beyond the 24 hours. This would open the door for international travel, more plot. Although the 24 hours does pump the show with extreme amount of stress.

@SAC you are so absolutely right!! These last few episodes kicked 24 into high gear. Jack's out to get everyone!
I have to applaud how they are shaping the President's character. It's amazing how they are taking a very upstanding character and exposing her flaws and changing her before our eyes. I am captivated by seeing this powerful and righteous woman slowly being corrupted and showing that nobody is above evil.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 11:25:22 AM

@Bunny: Too true. The President is always the second most important role in the show and they're pulling out all the stops with this one. They've even brought in a former Pres in to corrupt her all in the name of peace. Brilliant!

I'm also really jazzed to see Chloe and Jack (my 2 favs) got head to head finally. They're the 2 smartest peolpe on the show and they know each other almost too well. It really makes for a nice twist and interesting race to the finish. It also probably means that Chloe will survive to be in the film.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 11:28:42 AM

brain still a little slow. An edit button would be a blessing WP.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 2:03:26 PM

@SAC mmmmmmmhmmm yes sir!! I love Chloe but not her every two minute pouting face!! lol I think it's in her contract to pout at least 6 times an episode.
Watching them two go at like an evenly matched chess match matching move for move.
And I'm really surprised at Freddie Prinze Jr. I thought the worst of him joining but I stand corrected, he's doing great.
My big disappointment is Starbuck. Up until the traitor exposing, she had me bored to tears compared to how she was so great on BSG. And even the traitor turn didn't do much.
Skywalker121289 writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 6:02:21 PM

Freddie Prinze Jr surprised me- I thought from the first episode that he would just be another casualty in the making, however he's really built up the story over the season.

I like how Jack finally has someone who isn't a completely dumbass as a partner. I liked Chase a lot in Season 3, but without that hand of his- tsk tsk, they had to write him out reaaaaal fast.

I swear, after all of these crappy President's, it really makes me miss David Palmer. Dennis Haysbert was Jack's equal- but the politics player. [sigh] Oh well, Bauer will just have to kick everyone's ass in this time. lol

Loving the season so far... I have doubts about this movie though.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 12:00:45 AM

I'm still a little put off by Freddie. I'm sorry, he sounds a little retarded and has that weird c*ck eye look. I would have been a lot happier with his character if they let him kick the sh*t out of Dana Walsh. I was happy to see someone finally get to use her head like a basketball for a minute. That may have been the best interrogation scene of the series! Jack really leaned into to her :)
Skywalker121289 writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 1:08:04 PM

Hey- the season's not over yet: Jack can still beat the crap out of her and then Freddie will shoot her when she tries to escape.

Problem solved.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved