WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Bill Murray on the Problems with "Ghostbusters 3"

Posted: April 28th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Bill Murray on the Problems with "Ghostbusters 3"Submit Comment
During the press junket for "Get Low," ComingSoon had the chance to ask Bill Murray about his appearance on "The David Letterman Show," where he said that "Ghostbusters 3" is his "nightmare" and that the movie is just "crazy talk."

"You know, it's really the studio starts this stuff," Murray explained. "They start saying 'Ghostbusters.' They want to do it and it's really the world of sequels and bringing these things back again, and then some wiseacre said, 'Hey, we got a couple of new writers who are going to write something.' And I thought, 'Oh, well, maybe there'll be some writers' and there was always this joke, sort of a half-true, half-joke thing like, 'Well, I'll do it if you kill me off in the first reel.' That was my joke, you know?"

He continued: "So supposedly someone was writing a script where I actually got killed in the first reel and became a ghost, which I thought, 'Well, that's kind of clever anyway.' But then these guys that were supposedly the writers that were going to do it, they wrote a film ('Year One') that came out and people saw the film and went 'We're not going to do it after all, are we?' So it's just a kind of a dreamy thing. They want to create a new generation of Ghostbusters, you know? They'd just like us to pass the torch."

When asked if "Ghostbusters 3" is really his "nightmare," Murray said that the whole process has simply become irritating, but it doesn't mean that he won't take part in the movie. He explained: "The guys are funny and I miss [Rick] Moranis and Annie [Potts] and Danny. I miss them. I think that's really a big part of it."

Source: ComingSoon


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 46 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
CCBlev writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 7:23:18 AM

Just plz make this and I hope to hell that Hollywood doesnt decide to reboot this franchise, b/c if they do I'll burn Hollywood down!!!
trailertrash writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 8:11:23 AM

I just hope if they come up with a good idea Bill gets on board, it wont be the same without him and he did do Garfield 2 A Tail of Two Kitties , so Ghostbusters 3 shouldn't be to much of a problem for him.

@cc - lol , i will bring the petrol...
CCBlev writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 8:21:07 AM

Hell yea, I'll bring the marshmallows.
trailertrash writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 8:23:43 AM

lol , nice ghostbusters link too
CCBlev writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 8:28:42 AM

Then I'll scream out. "Nobody reboots a franchise in my town!" As you light the spark.
trailertrash writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 8:32:22 AM

It's a Deal !!
CCBlev writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 8:34:49 AM

While were at well find Vins house and torch it too. Hey we're on streak so why not?
trailertrash writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 8:40:38 AM

Now that Sounds like a party !! lol
CCBlev writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 8:42:55 AM

I'll bring Ranger and Encore over as well, I know they'll wanna piss on the ashes.
trailertrash writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 8:52:38 AM

lol , is that vin or hollywoods ashes !!
Moose756 writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 9:16:59 AM

I would love for that to be a film. Both CC and trailertrash burning crap i.e. Hollywood/vin's house down would be a summer blockbuster. lol
darthraige writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 9:29:22 AM

The problem is no one wants to see Ghostbusters 3. Leave this f*cking franchise alone. If GB3 is made, it's going to suck big time. Nothing can compare to the first 2. f*cking Hollywood. Women must be running the show down there for Christ sakes.
Spankfish writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 9:40:46 AM

It'll be a sh*t re-boot with either the rock or vin diesel.
CCBlev writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 9:46:08 AM

@trailer
Hell y not both? lol
trailertrash writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 9:47:10 AM

@darthraige-

1 is a classic no doubt 2 on the other hand is just ok i felt it missed more than it hit and bill murray has stated the same thing himself about the movie.

so i would like to see a part 3 just so they can put the wrongs of pt2 right (IMO) ..

@Moose756 - Backdraft 2 lol
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 9:52:08 AM

And it'll be in 3D, which for ghosts, I think I could tolerate.

But definitely GB3 needs to get on some track soon. It's an awesome franchise that today's generation would enjoy.
With all these paranormal shows and so-called ghost hunters all over TV, it would be great to have THE Ghostbusters go up against that genre. Those shows are so annoying.
A great plot would involve all these so-called ghost hunter experts watering down the feild and the original Ghostbusters viewed as relics. Have little baby Oscar as an adult desperately trying to save the team with Peter's actual son the polar opposite of his dad and hate the ghostbusting business but coming in to collect after Pete is killed.
Yea, it seems a bit corny but it sounds good to me.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 10:16:49 AM

makes sense, i just hope this gets made, definitely with Murray involved!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 10:23:57 AM

@trailer & cc- do't forget about me, can I join the party???

Havn't been to a good burning since my local KKK closed down.
CCBlev writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 10:27:49 AM

@Dave
Only if you bring the beer and Crown royal.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 10:30:59 AM

@trailer- "Backdraft 2" isn't that one of vins pornos or something involving his dad and uncle double teaming him?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 10:33:02 AM

@cc- consider it done, I'll bring the ribs too for the BBQ.
CCBlev writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 10:33:07 AM

As a matter of fact the whole WP crew cept Vin and Coc can join. Thought Vindy was coming around till he proved how much of a douche he was earlier, I knew him acting somewhat normal was only an act. Unless his other personality died.
CCBlev writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 10:35:36 AM

@Dave
Great thinking, you can't have a BBQ without some good ribs.
Backdraft 2-yes that Vindy's life story on PBS.
Moose756 writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 10:56:09 AM

Backdraft 2 I call the rights for that one lol.
Moose756 writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 10:59:06 AM

I already have a trailer in mind. the tagline reads "one bad movie too many"
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 11:00:51 AM

@cc- so, you're bringing the marshmallows, trailer is bringing the petrol and matches, I'm bringing the ribs, beers and crown royal...that leaves encore, ranger and most of everyone else to bring chocolate for the smores more booze, food and of hard drugs and easy women.
CCBlev writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 11:03:08 AM

@Dave
Hell yea, right on! WP blockbuster party of the year! If we do it May 1st which is the pagan holiday of May Day, we can bring Lohan and sacrafice her to the gods while we're at it.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 11:05:44 AM

@cc, that will be great but only thing is she is not a virgin lol, and do any of us want to go near her????
KirkLazerus writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 11:16:09 AM

hell yeah some Rick Moranis haven't seen that dude in a long long time, time for a comeback
Moose756 writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 12:04:35 PM

@dave all we need is a long rope to drag her with
Man in Black writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 12:43:29 PM

@ CC just remind ranger and encore while pissing on the ashes"Dont cross steams ! "
Man in Black writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 12:44:37 PM

steams = streams .... f*cking edit button please
darkraven28 writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 1:00:44 PM

If you miss them, then make the damn movie BILL! You can keep your beard and everything. And a lab coat and write your own damn scene! Jesus Christ! I mean, you are a mostly comic actor, man. I think they should just go to you for the rewrites because people severely underestimate and ignore the fact that comics actually have to write jokes and such. I mean, I love your work, Mr. Murray, but why don't you just exercise your power over part 3 and just say "hey, let's do it"? Create your own solution and play the part along with the others of passing the torch. It's not that hard.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 2:37:46 PM

No chance of seeing Moranis, he quit acting ages ago.

Bill is one of my all time favourite actors and he got me into playing golf! I don't think he really wants a new bunch of people taking over from the Ghostbusters at the end of the day.
gobolog writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 3:29:16 PM

Was Bill Murray drunk when he said that comment above. It just looks like rambling.
OneTime writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 4:05:34 PM

right on bill...still shoulda won an oscar...hes rad
CCBlev writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 4:11:29 PM

@Man In Black
Great reference I didn't think of that one.
trailertrash writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 4:53:08 PM

@cc we got a party going now , is dave bringing the easy women and the ribs , nice !!
encoreyourface writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 4:57:07 PM

i'm tired of hearing about Bill Murray and his porblems with Ghostbusters III, just getting f*cking made already.
masht7 writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 6:00:18 PM

I like Moranis and Potts and who couldn't like Dan Akroyd. Please Mr. Murray come back and still be the funniest thing.
CCBlev writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 9:46:21 PM

@Encore
Preach on brother!
Lowryder writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 10:05:27 PM

im am starting to hate bill murray with a f*cking passion! i sware if this movie doesnt get made cuz of his dumb ass, i will find him and kill his cat!
Johnny Neat writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 10:51:40 AM

Sounds like there is a bit of hurt, anger and bitterness in his voice. At first I thought cool, but then I thought f*ck that. I mean why do it? So the studio can make sh*tty sequels off the property and milk it to high hell?

I'm on the no side now. Unless its to finish it all off in a cool final goodbye wave, I'm a nay.
Man in Black writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 12:37:30 PM

Akroyd will sign on to this at the drop of a hat ...probably cause he is swingin vodka these days to pay the bills
DRzFiNe$T writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 10:12:39 AM

@Man in Black
Actually Ackroyd will be the voice of Yogi Bear in the upcoming Warner Bros live actionYogi Bear movie..if Alvin and the chipmunks was a big sucess then i'd say ackroyd might have a good chance to have another franchise under his belt
iL2O writes:
on March 14th, 2011 at 9:30:00 PM

Back in January of this year, Amy Poehler expressed a desire for Bill Murray to guest-star on a tv show. What concerns me is, she said he can sit in a chair the whole time, and would only have to work for a couple of hours (Found at http://blog.sabdesi.net/tag/amy-poehler-bill-murray-parks-and-rec-can-sit/). Something else which concerns me is an article (here: http://www.montereyherald.com/prepsports/ci_17400735?nclick_check=1 ) which as I am reading it, questions whether Bill Murray will attend a function in July. Steve Worthy's comments seem to indicate this is due to question regarding Bill Murray's health.
I started to worry about Bill Murray's health a long time ago. He has not been looking 100% for a while. After the end of the recent Howard Stern interview though, I really started to wonder what is going on with him.

Being a Bill Murray fan, this scares me. It hurts my feelings too a little though (selfish and silly, perhaps) because while I don't know this man, I am among many of have had a high affection for him which stands for the reason of buying movie tickets, and thereby being among many (probably millions) who helped to further the successful career and life he has enjoyed from over the years of his hard work. I think Mr. Murray's response to that should be a little humble, maybe even unselfish and heaven forbid: grateful. If something has happened to Mr. Murray, it would be awfully thankless and just plain nasty for him to take these people for granted. If he is ill and has lied about the reasons for not doing Ghostbusters 3, then he must think nothing at all of these people who care about him; support him; and so, so, many people (mostly young people) on twitter who speak highly of him. Some of the kids out there almost worship him.

If Bill Murray is ill, this is a public request for him to please, please, please tell his fans what is happening. I think it would be a nice (and gracious) thing for him to do. Maybe it'll take some humility for him to do that. Mr. Murray that is certainly nothing you have to do, but it would surely be something nice for you to do.

All of the above being said, it is important to note a possibility that Mr. Murray is not ill (reserving questions as to whatever "when healthy" meant in the Monterey Herald article) and may be fine. The comments posted are out of sincere concern. I hate the feeling of not knowing what has happend to someone who I care about. That's torture, and I'm sure I'm not the only person who feels that way. I do not have any desire to start rumors or anything of the like. For that reason, it is asked that those who do not have true information or do not have permission to share it, please not respond to my post with any information about Bill Murray's health. If Mr. Murray approves the solving of this mystery though (preferrably from his own mouth), his kind cooperation (and mercy to speak up) would be sincerely appreciated.

That's all I have to say. Thank you.



There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved