WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Restricted Trailer For "The Interview" Comedy, with James Franco and Seth Rogen
Sep 21st, 2014
"Deadpool" Movie Will Be PG-13
Sep 21st, 2014
Marvel Says "Daredevil" TV Series Won't Make Same Mistakes As Ben Affleck's Movie
Sep 21st, 2014
Is Jennifer Lawrence's "Serena" a Terrible Movie?
Sep 21st, 2014
Roberto Orci Drops Out of "Power Rangers" to Direct "Star Trek 3"
Sep 21st, 2014
Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed
Sep 20th, 2014
Deadpool Creator Comments on "Deadpool" Movie Announcement
Sep 20th, 2014
Two New Posters for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Sci-Fi Film
Sep 20th, 2014
"Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel Loses Director
Sep 20th, 2014
Angelina Jolie to Next Direct "Africa"
Sep 20th, 2014
Trailer For "Low Down," with John Hawkes and Elle Fanning
Sep 20th, 2014
If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You
Sep 19th, 2014
Trailer For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Sep 19th, 2014
Matthew McConaughey NOT Returning For "Magic Mike" Sequel
Sep 19th, 2014
Restricted Trailer For "V/H/S: Viral" Horror Film Arrives Online
Sep 19th, 2014
"Insidious: Chapter 3" Unveils First Poster
Sep 19th, 2014
"X-Men" Spin-Off "Deadpool" is Finally Happening, Release Date Announced
Sep 18th, 2014
Trailer For "A Most Violent Year," From "Margin Call" Director
Sep 18th, 2014
Sony Unveils Animation Test For "Popeye" Movie
Sep 18th, 2014
See Batmobile in Action on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set
Sep 18th, 2014
"Jason Borne" Producer Says Both Matt Damon's and Jeremy Renner's Films are in the Works
Sep 18th, 2014
"Paranormal Activity 5" Gets New Title and Release Date
Sep 18th, 2014
New Posters For Matthew McConaughey's "Interstellar" and Brad Pitt's "Fury"
Sep 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Robert Downey Jr's "The Judge"
Sep 18th, 2014
David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull
Sep 17th, 2014
Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience
Sep 17th, 2014
Jack Huston to Star in "Ben-Hur" Remake
Sep 17th, 2014
Poster for Disney's "Into the Woods," with Meryl Streep and Johnny Depp
Sep 17th, 2014
Tom Hiddleston to Star in "King Kong" Prequel, "Skull Island"
Sep 16th, 2014
Poster for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Arrives Online
Sep 16th, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Plot Synopsis Revealed
Sep 16th, 2014
"I Know What You Did Last Summer" is Being Rebooted
Sep 16th, 2014
Leslie Mann in Talks for "Vacation" Sequel as Audrey Griswold
Sep 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First "Iron Man 2" Reviews Are In!

Posted: April 27th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First "Iron Man 2" Reviews Are In!Submit Comment
"Iron Man 2" reviews are hitting the net and all of them are pretty much in agreement. The sequel is much worse than the first film and all the action scenes may be seen as boring by the general audience since the characters are wearing metal armors and don't seem to be getting hurt. Check out some of the reviews below.

Cinematical: "Ultimately, Iron Man 2 can really only be faulted for being okay, rather than really great."

Empire: "This sequel feels inessential, over-busy and a little, well, mechanical."

JoBlo: "Favreau did his part and made a very satisfying sequel for those looking to expand their idea of a superhero flick. But I have a sneaking suspicion some will be left disappointed if they are expecting something else."

ComingSoon: "It may be hard for anyone to claim that "Iron Man 2" is nearly as mindblowingly amazing as the first movie was for its time, though it's still better than 95% of the movies based on Marvel Comics characters."

View London: "Disappointing in places and fails to deliver the thrills of the first film but it's still worth seeing."

Variety: "Iron Man 2 isn't as much fun as its predecessor, but by the time the smoke clears, it'll do."

THR: "Here, Tony has to fight too many over-the-top characters for audience attention. He loses that battle."

TimeOut: "It's shiny, likeable and never boring. But it's also wildly uneven and unnecessarily convoluted."

IGN:: "This entry in the franchise almost certainly matches and exceeds the wit of the first film."

HitFix: "A blast of pure confidence and charisma, absolutely effective, and I expect audiences are going to devour the film."

FanTheFireMagazine: "It'll be tough to find a more fun way to spend a couple of hours."

NewsOfTheWorld: "This'll be remembered as the time Jon Favreau not killed the goose that laid the golden eggs."

Mirror: "Given the strength of part one, the sequel is not just a terrific failure but a terrific disappointment."

Source: Various


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 121 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Spankfish writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 7:22:08 PM

My god. I'm so suprised. Ok, I'm not.

I thought the 1st one was ok at best and hoped this would be better.

I am a fan of the cell-shaded style cartoon though.
masKritic writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 7:23:15 PM

figured. Too many characters.
trailertrash writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 7:25:11 PM

roll on thursday then i will make my own mind up !!
OneTime writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 7:31:06 PM

not suprised one bit...there have only been few sequels to do well in the box office...fail..i wont go see this in theatre...
AYT BALL writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 7:41:07 PM

will make up my own mind, never listen to critics anyway, its just a dudes opinion
scarface85 writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 7:42:29 PM

i dont care i still love this movie
thedotsays writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 7:49:02 PM

Not surprised, heard the same from an online critic friend of mine. Fav did too good a job on the first and just may not be able to bring it let alone surpass it.
I'll save my judgement til I see it.

Funny though as one critic put it, IM2 is still better than 95% of the other Marvel flicks. I have a feeling that I'll have to agree.
lost_addict writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 7:52:47 PM

you can't beat 'the dude' as the villain from the first one :-)
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 7:55:06 PM

I made a comment on the last source hours ago. The Mirror is a very poor newspaper in the UK and the review showed.

It might be sh*t but it won't stop me from looking...similar to Megan Fox really.
SamuelClayton writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 7:58:55 PM

Gee, is it any surprise that one of the lone glowing reviews comes from IGN?
SofaKing writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 8:02:47 PM

Well if the critics thought it was just OK then I am going to love it! I am like that special kid who likes anything shiny! IGN liked it at least...
Sinestro writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 8:10:00 PM

So basically its a good movie. That's cool. Personally, I was torn about the first movie. I thought Tony Stark was great, but the Iron Man action bits were canned and boring. The second one looks a bit better, but again, I see the same dull action scenes when he is wearing his armor. You get better stuff out of cut-scenes in video games. But then again, I still liked the movie. I hope it does well. As a big comic book fan I like seeing the characters from the books do well in other medium.
greed71 writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 8:40:29 PM

considering i shouldnt like you, i agree with wat u speakin. I think they need to bring in a more hands on character for iron man to fight, sorda like what they did for hulk vs abomination. Lets see tony gets his ass kicked improvise a new tech then lay all to waste.
Sinestro writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 8:43:38 PM

Is that Bender in a Larfleeze get up? WTF? Mind=blown. That much awesome cannot be contained.
highdefw writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 8:48:56 PM

I'm still gonna see it in IMAX
Lowryder writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 8:50:48 PM

critics are always waay to hard on sequels, its like they dont even watch them and just say "hey its a sequel, so were gonna give it a bad review" i will decide for myself how good this movie is on may 7
LeeMaca writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 9:18:44 PM

It was never going to be better than the first one dont think anyone expected it to be that good i also thought after all hiring was done there was going to be too many characters HOWEVER I'm still going to see it on thursday and i still cant FREAKIN wait
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 9:20:47 PM

I actually agree with Samuel's sarcastic quip about IGN
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 9:24:17 PM

Also here's my obligatory "IMMA STILL C IT IN THEETERS CUZ CRITICS R FAGS":

I'm looking forward to it, kinda. I KNEW this was going to have too much story for one movie, and I was right, so, I guess I still have the same expectations.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 9:28:57 PM

bit mixed more then i thought i admit i figured it would do better. still gonna see it in theaters.
nightjunkie writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 9:31:39 PM

IGN isn't credible, they enjoyed Transformers 2 too.

And I trust critics, Iron Man 1 has a 79 on Metacritic, and Spider-Man 2 has an 83 on Metacritic. Those movies were amazing. Hopefully Iron Man 2 is "okay" and not God-awful like Fantastic 4 or Ghost Rider
guitar_dudester91 writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 9:31:56 PM

The Critics sites I trust were the only ones to give it good reviews ha. f*ck the rest of em
CCBlev writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 9:40:22 PM

Hey critics f*ck You!!! I'm still gonan watch it 2 maybe 3 times just despite you motherf*ckers!!!
nope.com writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 9:42:23 PM

It was a disaster. If RDJ wasn't Iron Man, who by the way pretty much continued to give a top notch performance, this thing would've been a straight bust.

A damn shame considering how well the first one was executed.

*courtesy of Neil from filmschoolrejects.com for premiere tix*
nope.com writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 9:45:13 PM

btw they have to go somewhere with the 10 rings storyline and introduce the alcoholism storyline in the next one. Because of the influx of uninteresting plot points in this film they barely got to focus on the character of Tony Stark and where his story will go in the future.
nope.com writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 9:48:10 PM

and as for the *secret* scene after the credits, don't bother. It's not worth sitting through the creds just to see Tho... meh I won't ruin it for ya.
If you're a huge Marvel fan stay, if not it's not worth your time.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 10:00:19 PM

nope-! does Thor really appear? don't f*ck with me! if i watch it 10 days(i think) from now and figured out you where lying .... well,i will yell and scream at you over the internet which you may not even read ... damn threatening over the internet blows,lol.
Aido4258 writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 10:13:31 PM

I saw it last night and there is definitely more action than the first.
True, it does suffer from too many characters, but Favreau does his best to balance characters stories, also if you didn't see the scene at the end of the credits from the first one, you won't understand a thing in third act, because Nick Fury just appears out of nowhere.
The score was a little dull, I liked the first soundtrack better. Overall I thought the movie was still good, Whiplash was good as the main villian.
Aido4258 writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 10:15:07 PM

Thor does not appear, Telur was right about the end credit scene, but there is a reference to Captain America.
CCBlev writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 10:17:21 PM

@Encore,
your goofy as sh*t lol I love it!
CCBlev writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 10:18:26 PM

and I mean that in a nonVindy way lol
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 10:23:05 PM

Iron Man 2 is at 82% on Rotten Tomatoes....only 3 bad reviews out of 17. I'm not too worried.

I'm still bettin' on this being a fun summer comic-book blockbuster.
Man in Black writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 10:52:39 PM

cant be as bad as catwoman , fantastic 1&2 , x3 ,origins i can keep going but f*ck it its my friday and im drinking
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 11:30:48 PM

Wasn't a huge fan of the first, but didn't hate it at all. Thought people were a little high on it. It was promising, but the third act was terrible. Heck I wasn't impressed with the narrative at all.

This one didn't have my attention from the start, but I didn't expect it to get lashed like this though. I mean some of these bottom line quotes above indicate the movie is pretty bad, but people should go see it cause its the summertime and its okay for summer flicks to be shallow. f*ck off. Hire a better screenwriter next time and tell Favreau to spend more time polishing up them directing skills and less time on Twitter.
SaulSilver writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 11:44:34 PM

I really think people are looking at Iron Man through some form of like Movie Beer Goggles. Sure, it was great and it helped launch this entire string of Marvel movies headed our way, but it was very far from Perfect. I really think, had it not been for RDJ...would've been a major disappointment. Stane just didn't do it for me as a villain and with that it kinda fell apart in the second half. So, to say that it doesn't live up to the level of the first is just confusing because everyone is sucking IM1's d*ck.
Will judge for myself...like most logical movie fans.
Iam_Jack_smirking_revenge writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 11:45:14 PM

It still holds an 82% rotten tomatoes and i really dont care what the critics say this film is going to be bad ass.
autiger10 writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 11:49:02 PM

its pretty simple if you go to the theatre may 7th:
"iron man 2" or "harry brown".
ill do with either, prob. worth the $8.50 (plus the candies snuck in from walgreens lol)
secondbest writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 11:51:58 PM

With reviews like that, it'll probably make millions. :/
johndillinger writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 12:01:05 AM

"Iron Man 2" reviews are hitting the net and all of them are pretty much in agreement. The sequel is much worse than the first film and all the action scenes may be seen as boring by the general audience since the characters are wearing metal armors and don't seem to be getting hurt.


how much more amateur can you get? judging my the reviews above, where does it say in any one of those reviews that its much worse than the first one and the action scenes are boring since the characters are in metal suits and aren't getting hurt? Were the characters not wearing metal suits in Iron Man? people still loved that.
telur writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 12:18:39 AM

hidden scene is only someone find Thor's hammer in a dessert. but nor Thor or Captain America not in it.
telur writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 12:26:02 AM

Is simple. If you want Thor and Captain America appear on hidden scene than maybe Marvel need to pay the actor, so is cheaper if they only give Thor's hammer...
telur writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 12:26:46 AM

Is simple. If you want Thor and Captain America appear on hidden scene than maybe Marvel need to pay the actor, so is cheaper if they only give Thor's hammer...
Aido4258 writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 12:48:57 AM

You barely even see the hammer
theoey writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 1:19:18 AM

Sitting at 82% right now at rottentomatoes...you consider that bad? Man you guys are wacked here at worstpreviews.
SaulSilver writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 1:35:22 AM

I am inclined to believe it is going to be much better than the first, for me at least. Just a hunch
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 1:48:07 AM

Marvel if there was any other reason than these-

*NewsOfTheWorld: "This'll be remembered as the time Jon Favreau not killed the goose that laid the golden eggs."*-

and-

*ComingSoon: "It may be hard for anyone to claim that "Iron Man 2" is nearly as mindblowingly amazing as the first movie was for its time, though it's still better than 95% of the movies based on Marvel Comics characters."* -

To give Faverau complete creative control over Captain America and any other Marvel movie he choose's to do.


Ranger writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 2:01:32 AM

"It'll be tough to find a more fun way to spend a couple of hours."


--- how about f*cking barely 18 twins that are into incest?!
Ranger writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 2:05:50 AM

... and bring their own bag of ferrets to the game?!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 2:16:54 AM

@ranger- how about the mother joining in, then the Grandmother walks in and takes out her false teeth and sucks on your balls, while the dad & son are jerking off in the corner...wait a minut this sounds like a joke I've heard before...????
Ranger writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 2:21:06 AM

Sounds like a family reunion at the Clampetts!

DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 2:26:03 AM

or The Aristocrats or is it The Aristocats lol
Ranger writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 2:41:07 AM

lol... love that joke!
vwkombi writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 2:49:26 AM

Well, 84% on RT is a damn good score.

I am going to see it tomorrow and i am pretty psyched. I only hope this isn't one of those times i disagree with the critics and come out agreeing with them.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 2:49:38 AM

Not many people do, I don't think they understand it, I love the joke and the Doc*mentry about it.
Ranger writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 2:53:15 AM

@Dave - Bob Sagett had the worst mouth... with Howie Mandel running a close 2nd. Pretty funny sh*t though.

Try to find (if you haven't seen it already) - Sam Kinison's 'Breaking the Rules!' on DVD. Priceless!

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0307403/
jigsaw23 writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 2:56:39 AM

critics suck they bash the good movies and rub the sh*tty ones(paranormal activity) and whatever they say about it i will still like it and go see it.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 3:08:52 AM

@ranger- I knw, mad innit some comedians you think a real pussies and they end up being the most filthy....lol

Will try to find that one cheers.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 3:15:12 AM

CC-lol,thanks mam
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 3:39:58 AM

I hate critics as much as i hate Tyler Perry... so regardless of what they say... I will still continue to see Iron Man 2... and look forward to it!
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 3:44:47 AM

now all we need is to see the predictable 2/10 review from a WP critic...
markoz writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 3:49:30 AM

And this is why I never listen to critics
johnny_boy writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 4:16:35 AM

So what top of the line school of critics did these geniuses go to? Think they expected way too much but didn't get it cuz that would've dragged the film. I'm sure it's good. I think all that matters is that it's a comic film for comic fans, these *ssholes are too dumb to realize that and try to review as a if it were some regular action film. It's a comic book movie and has different styles and that's why fans love it. We'll let the box office sales do all the talking in the end
johnny_boy writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 4:19:52 AM

@ Ted.... You can't hate Tyler Perry or else you're a racist. That's what some of my friends told me after I called him a hack and that I think he's awful. Sad part though is two of them were white and one was black
encoreyourface writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 4:26:24 AM

Johnny-lol! i hate it when people play that stupid ass race card. i mean holy f*ck you can hate somebody for other reasons then skin color!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 4:39:58 AM

@johnny & encore- only if the person you hate is white, if they are of any other ethinicity you're f*cked.
Mudders writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 4:43:27 AM

gonna wait till saturday to make my mind up...seems like they(critics) going the same way as T2:ROTF...i f*ckin hope it aint that way
Zubostl writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 4:44:50 AM

After I was told to hate Clash of the titans, Transformers 2, Death race, Gamer etc. but didn't and was told to love The hurt locker, but didn't, I started ignoring reviews and going to see movies without letting other people tell me what to think about the movie, before I saw it myself and it played out pretty nicely for me.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 4:46:29 AM

DaVve-i know it's really gay.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 4:55:21 AM

@encore- that's the nicest thing you can say about this problem lol
masht7 writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 4:58:49 AM

And did these reviews give Avatar: The Smurfs Movie a 5/5? Screw critics and enjoy a movie that you've always been wanting to see.
johnny_boy writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 5:02:56 AM

Lol @ Dave and encore.... You guys are aussies right? Love you Aussie bastards.

But if I wanted to hate Aussies it would be cool cuz who cares you're white and I'm not so I somehow have the right to. I hate "political correctness"
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 5:11:26 AM

@johnny- CHRIST NO, I AINT NO AUSSIE!!! I'd rather be Welsh lol, I'm English mate and white so I got the rough end of the stick haha.

This PC sh*t is f*cked up, but in some areas it is needed though.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 5:12:37 AM

@johnny- CHRIST NO, I AINT NO AUSSIE!!! I'd rather be Welsh lol, I'm English mate and white so I got the rough end of the stick haha.

This PC sh*t is f*cked up, but in some areas it is needed though.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 5:13:43 AM

Don't knw why that happend twice
encoreyourface writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 5:14:48 AM

Johnny-haha,no i'm straight up American.
J.A.Ottley writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 5:15:19 AM

@ Autiger

Don't knock Harry Brown, that film is brilliant, probably better than IM2, consider the budgets and the differences of the films.
But Harry Brown was definately one of the best films to come out of the UK last year.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 5:20:04 AM

... and i'm also white.
masht7 writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 5:20:53 AM

@johnny

Am an Aussie and proud of it! Don't believe that racist sh*t from Hey Hey Its Saturday.
johnny_boy writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 5:46:32 AM

I couldve sworn you guys were Aussie. My bad. I've been up all night and drunk some medicine for my fever. Whatever it was it worked. I just feel like almost everyone on here is Aussie. But you guys are still cool.
johnny_boy writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 5:48:21 AM

.... Even though you're white(jk)
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 5:50:36 AM

Just heard on the news Idris Elber (I think I've spelt it right, Black guy from The Wire) has been cast as a God in the new Thor movie and it hasn't gone over to well at the moment.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 5:52:36 AM

johnny-lol thanks. i think you're pretty cool as well, and so are many others on this site 'sept the lurkers.

long live WP!
trailertrash writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 5:53:13 AM

@dave - rather be Welsh lol

@J.A - Harry Brown very good movie Michael Caine was excellent in that.
johnny_boy writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 5:54:02 AM

@ Dave.... Yeah isn't that old news? He's like the god that gaurds the bridge. People upset cuz the actual character is white, but I say f*ck it. It's a minor character so it doesn't matter what race it is.
trailertrash writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 5:56:56 AM

@johnny - that was the white thing to say !! lol
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 6:10:12 AM

@Johnny
Call it what you want but still haaaate him... he sucked the teet of oprah and suddenly his movies make money at the B.O. ? I'd rather watch Big Mamas house consider thats more original that half the f*cking crap he produces... i mean really ... "Why did i get married... too" ... you REALLY couldn't think of a better title for a sequel you twat waffle?

BUT the one thing i TRUELY despise about Tyler Perry the most is that SOMEHOW... he managed to get a role in the Star Trek movie.... HOW THE f*ck did that happened? WHO ALOUD THAT & WHY?!!!! someone PLEASE explain that to me
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 6:12:41 AM

god damnit... i just realized i've been posting on the Iron Man article & not the Tyler Perry one... -_- FML!!!! hahahaha I'll just copy and paste me sh*t there...
johnny_boy writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 6:18:17 AM

@ Ted.... Good post. Also hope you weren't taking my comment as knocking you. I hate him too. He's a hack. Can't stand that he's viewed as some guy who's a good example on the black community but has madea always talkin violent and where's her gun and to knock someone out. And in regards to how he got the role in star trek i think noone will ever know. Maybe he was on break from making one of his horrible shows or movies and had free time and got lucky getting the role
johnny_boy writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 6:19:20 AM

Lol @ Ted.... I was beginning to wonder why we we're
talking on this thread about Tyler perry
Rodan writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 6:32:21 AM

Critics are the sc*m of the earth. I don't know many professions where some prick tells you how to do your job and gets paid for it.
Valerie writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 8:52:00 AM

Really? News of the World, and Daily Mirror? f*ck off!!!

Its a cool fun movie, not an academy contender, it will be huge at the box office regardless!
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 9:06:17 AM

Well, I saw it (thanks to my new best friend ever!!) and it is definitely nowhere near as good as the first. Yes RDJ saves this film but in a way he also hurts it. From my comic reading days, Tony Stark is much more serious and darker than how RDJ portrays. I really shouldn't compare since RDJ's Stark is pre-alcoholic as the comic Stark. But from what I remember, the comic Stark has always had demons. It just doesn't seem like RDJ's Stark is really suffering inside. Maybe I'm wrong and being biased and splitting hairs.
And yes, IM2 is so weighed down with too many characters who they try desperately and unsuccesfully to dive into. This is why I am a HUGE fan of Joss Whedon heling The Avengers movie. If multiple characters are an issue in just an Ironman film, Lord knows how that'll be multiplied in The Avengers film. But Whedon can handle that. In IM2 it wasn't handled good.

All that being said, it was STILL a good flick. It was so much fun to watch.

Yeah, and the easter egg footage after the credits.....nothing like the past Marvel films. Casual fans would be like "What??? Who??? Ohhh Ehh" Marvel fans would skip the What, Who, and Oh and go straight to the Eh.
darthraige writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 9:25:41 AM

Leave it up to these c*nts of critics to bash a movie. It's their f*cking opinion. I'm sure my opinion will be it's f*cking great. All Marvel movies are f*cking awesome. Critics are just nothing but a bunch of f*cking c*nts.
makingcircles writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 9:52:49 AM

@ Bunny Foo Foo - I haven't seen the movie but before I read you comment I've been thinking that this movie is just going to be filled with action and no true struggle like Stark's "demons". That's where they should have went with this one. The first was pretty action packed...this one should have been more character driven. This is all just my thinking without seeing the movie. The previews have said enough and now these reviews...why doesn't Hollywood get it?? You know who got it? Christopher f*cking Nolan.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 10:26:36 AM

To be honest, I really doubt they'll ever do the alcohol problems in this franchise. There are way too many toy and video game tie ins with little kids going as Ironman for Halloween for them to put that to film.
Ranma-Irias writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 10:39:57 AM

i knew it, i had such high hopes but at the same time had a feeling it would feel like Spider Man 3 or X Men 3
Ranger writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 11:16:47 AM

@Bunny - good post. I too don't suspect they'll go down Tony's alcoholic path. Were it a weekly TV series on HBO... sure. But they want to crank out as many light-hearted, action-packed sequels as possible and take the cash and run.

And you're right about Stark from the comics being darker with demons. It is almost too bad in a way they haven't done a realistic (like Stark being a real human, father issues, burdens of running a multi-billion $ company, etc... still being the playboy though... etc.) in these movies. A 'Nolan-class' dark(er) side would be amazing! And I don't (seriously) think would take away any of the action, story or interest for all ages. Their argument may be RDJ jokes as Start because he does have those demons to contend with... fair enough. I would have loved to see the 'real' Stark come out for these movies.
rabid writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 11:19:24 AM

In the 21st century, bad reviews get more webtraffic. Simple as that.
I think we know this movie will rock.
Moose756 writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 11:20:09 AM

Its a trilogy. Of course the second one is not as good as the first one but it leading up to an epic conculsion im sure
dissident187 writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 11:20:50 AM

Well, I saw IM2 yesterday at the premiere. It's actually a very good film, and though it's not better than first one, it comes very close to it.
To describe the nature of the story, you could say its a cross-breed of Dark Knight and Spiderman 3. Dark Knight, i say coz of the complexity involved with theme of how war and peace are the flip-sides of a coin. Spiderman 3 because no one really gets a good amount of time. Moreover, the Spiderman 3 issue lies with the fact that

*************SPOILER ALERT********************
There is a really cheesy bit which involves a fight between Iron Man and War Machine that takes place to the beat of "Another One Bites the Dust".

*************SPOILER END***********************

With regards to performances,

Mickey Rourke - Truly the best scene-stealing performance of the film.

RDJ - Very good. A step up from the first film. A lot of heart.

Gwyneth Paltrow - Pretty good, although she does not add much to the film.

Scarlett Johansson - Good but she isn't there a lot in the film.

Sam Rockwell - A very average performance, but the he can't be blamed because the script didn't give him much to do. Isn't there much as well.

Don Cheadle - 10x better than Terrence Howard. But isn't given much to work with. Only in the film for 15 - 20 min tops.

Sam Jackson - I love every film of this guy. But he was pretty bad here. If you read the comics, Nick Fury (black or white) does not act ghetto. The same cant for the film

In short, a great film that does not live up to the first, only because there's too much to digest. A lot more technical and a little less heart. But still, a bloody good time.

Iron Man: 9/10

Iron Man 2: 8.4/10
Ranger writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 11:52:05 AM

@dissident - good post... thank you.
drshakalou writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 12:01:17 PM

f*cking critics
makingcircles writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 12:28:28 PM

@Moose...interesting theory but dare I remind you of the Matrix Trilogy.
Man in Black writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 12:34:52 PM

is it may 7th yet here in the states
rabid writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 12:36:09 PM

That would be great if in the final Avengers film, Nick Fury pushes a button on his belt and his black Samuel L hologram fades away to show an old white guy chompin a cigar.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 1:39:57 PM

That's so weird because I checked Wiki and Rotten Tomatoes and Iron Man 2 holds a rating of 82%, which is considered real good. What kills me is half of the magazines mentioned here I've never heard of. No offense WP, but from this point of view it seems like you really took the worst previews and left out the best. Seriously, check it yourself. I may change later but for now Iron Man 2 is actually looking pretty good.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 1:40:02 PM

That's so weird because I checked Wiki and Rotten Tomatoes and Iron Man 2 holds a rating of 82%, which is considered real good. What kills me is half of the magazines mentioned here I've never heard of. No offense WP, but from this point of view it seems like you really took the worst previews and left out the best. Seriously, check it yourself. It may change later but for now Iron Man 2 is actually looking pretty good.
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 2:20:25 PM

@Johnny
hahaha yeah I just f*cked up I guess... big biggie fry.... but yeah at FIRST i read your post earlier and thought... "WTF? yo f*ck you Johnny boy for defending this tool bag? I thought you were cool!" then i re-read it and saw that you were referring to your friends haha so its all good between us, didn't mean to seem like i was pegging you back, we can both just hate TP together lol I just wish someone knew why he go the role in Star Trek... or who he blew to get on set...
dissident187 writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 3:35:45 PM

@ranger - Thank you. Just thought everyone should know so that they can brace themselves.
johnthemon writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 4:48:13 PM

Not surprised. I can't imagine it being better than the original, I'm just hoping for "good" at this point. The thing is, this won't change anyone's mind, this movie will still make crazy bank.
koul writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 5:10:21 PM

i don't care what the hell these reviews say. i'm gonna go watch this film
masht7 writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 6:04:25 PM

I really don't care if it lives up to the first one as long its still a great movie.
Lister writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 7:03:44 PM

LOL at the fact the people who are relying on IM2's RT score are the ones who bash Avatar even though it has an even higher score. f*cking hypocrites.
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 9:59:17 PM

im wondering if this is gonna be aimed at comic book fans more then the general public. i still think that this gonna f*cking rule because every little piece of information on this film weve gotten has been great, looked great, and just plain awesome!!!. critics are dumb f*cks who cant find there asses from a hole in the ground, and someone said it here(cant remember who) but they said "critics give sequels bad reviews regardless of how they do in the theaters and in the minds of the general public...in simpler words f*ck YOU CRITICS....SUCK A c*ck!!!
supaflywill writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 2:45:17 AM

since terminator 2 there has never been a better sequel for a movie -( well maybe dark knight at a push ) just gonna watch it and enjoy it !! mr stark will always deliver !! roll on tonight !!!
SaulSilver writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 2:53:32 AM

I agree with what Ranger said about Dissident's review. That's how a real person reviews a movie. As usual, it's best to tone down expectations.
rhopkins writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 6:58:09 AM

Don't listen 2 the majority of these critics,i saw the film last night aand thought it kicked ass! Robert Downey Jr. was exceptional yet again, Mickey always plays a great villian and Scarlett Johansson, well do i need to say any more? lol
Great fight scenes and action, thought there was alot more action than the first film delivered. I also thought the easter eggs were great.
I doubt the fans of the first film will be dissapointed at all.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 10:49:14 PM

Very Very entertaining movie, Australia gets to see it early than America.

I don't think that there were too many characters to cause issues, no one was complaing about Scarlett Johanssen undressing scene in the back of Tony's car.
Jergyn writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 6:40:39 PM

f*ck them I've already seen it and I think it's way better than the first
Jergyn writes:
on May 2nd, 2010 at 6:42:59 PM

Even here in Peru we got to see it early
murphyslaw93 writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 11:51:17 PM

I just watched an online version and it was pretty decent quality. Hard to hear some audio and any captions for locations were in Russian. Therefore, all of Mickey's Russian lines were unsubtitled. However, it did the job and I watched the entire film and wasnt exactly disappointed being that I didnt have high expectations. The film is no better and no worse than the first one (which I thought was just ok at best). It does the job, but is very uneven with its story and contains too many characters, some with too much to do and others with barely anything. The action scenes are a little better this time around, but Favreau's biggest weakness is still formulating engaging superhero film action sequences. The final battle between Rourke and Downey is, much like the previous one between Bridges and Downey, is way too short and disappointing. Its decent, but nothing spectacular


Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014

"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America

If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You

Warner Bros Has a "No Jokes" Policy For Its Superhero Films?

David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull

What Happens to Jimmy Olsen in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved