WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Ring 3D" is Being Developed

Posted: April 27th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Ring 3D" is Being DevelopedSubmit Comment
THR is reporting that Paramount Pictures is moving ahead with a third installment in "The Ring" horror franchise. The new film, based on Japanese movies, is being called "Ring 3D." It is being written by David Loucka (Eddie, The Dream Team).

The plot of the original film centered on a young journalist investigating a mysterious videotape that seemed to cause the death of anyone within a week of viewing it.

The new film is being fashioned as more teen-centric than the first, and though the logline is being kept under wraps, the aim is to reinvent the franchise. One potential scenario involves teens finding a VHS player that still works.

No director is on board. The third film will obviously be in 3D.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 49 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 5:35:40 AM

Lindsy lohan should be the girl. She looks like sh*t and won't need any touch ups done. Just don't put her near any rings cuz she will steal it
Rodan writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 5:51:41 AM

"The new film is being fashioned as more teen-centric than the first"

Fuuuuuck. I guess that means it'll be more blood and gore, more of a slasher type. The only reason the first one was so good was because of how creepy it was. I think I remember them using like a special lens for the first one to make it look more gray. That kinda stuff made it pretty good.
Whitta writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 6:11:39 AM

like Rodan said... the reason the first one was a decent watch, was because of the creepiness of it without the use of being a slasher.

'teen-centric' can go get f*cked, no wonder hollywood keep pulling out bullsh*t.

They're making movies for 16yr old twats that are filled with gore and d*ckhead teens running away from a guy trying to slaughter them rather than add in the creepy element and give a decent story.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 6:36:45 AM

I'm convinced that people are making the third movie of some franchises simply so that it can be "Title" 3D. It isn't clever, mkay? Stop it.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 6:51:20 AM

the first Ring scared the sh*t outa me. still kinda does. and thank you Scrooge! it's a gay ass title and it pisses me off!
AYT BALL writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 7:01:37 AM

Sounds crap, the original jap version is creepy as hell with no gimicks or fancy effects, LEARN HOLLYWOOD!!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 7:13:00 AM

"One potential scenario involves teens finding a VHS player that still works."

Touché.
Lizardking515 writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 7:52:39 AM

@ Scrooge
I agree with u completely. Its f*cking retarded that they're taking the most sh*t movies out there simply to make a 3d movie...I can see from the studios stand point that year they'll make the money back cuz its 3d. But also come the f*ck on already. If the franchise is dead then keep it that way. The only 3d movie I might wanna see would be the green lanturn. And if they decide to do it...then kill bill part 3-d. But idk if tarrintino will even stoop that low.
Spankfish writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 7:56:51 AM

This getting beyond a joke. Dig out some old franchise, make some half baked sh*te in 3D, release, then expect us all to shell out more cash for the honour of watching it.

What's next, Howard the duck 3D? Jaws 3D 3D?
AYT BALL writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 8:09:16 AM

@ Spankfish - Howard the duck 3D, we can only dream my friend! lol
shamusot00le writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 8:32:47 AM

The teen bit's not so great, but if used correctly 3D could be awesome in a movie about someone who climbs out of tv screen. If they used it in a similar vein to how the Wizard of Oz used colour. Yes, too much gimmicky 3D around at the moment, but if done correctly this could become a bench mark of how it's done properly. Here's hoping...
shamusot00le writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 8:33:58 AM

..edit button.. i missed an 'a' in there somewhere...
SACdaddy writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 9:10:26 AM

"The new film is being fashioned as more teen-centric than the first"

nuff said I'm out :(

@Spank and AYT: LOL!!! Duck tittes in 3D! I can't wait.

Stuntastic writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 9:22:22 AM

They are a few years too late on this one cuz if they had 3D back when this originally came out I woulda shat on myself. The original was quite a creepfest and if you had 3D during the time that bitch crawled out the TV...lawd have mercy!!!
SACdaddy writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 9:24:22 AM

The last few days have been full of some of the worst news I've ever seen on this site. There is literally nothing but remakes, reboots, sequels, prequels, and comic book movies in the pipeline for the foreseeable future. There's not one piece of news about something original or slightly creative in this entire list of headlines to my left. Hwood is in a really big hole right now and I don't see any shining ray of hope on the horizon.
BigUnit writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 9:41:47 AM

weak
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 9:42:44 AM

why?! why?! why?!
Spankfish writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 9:57:25 AM

I can only dream of the day we get Hudson Hawk 3D.
trailertrash writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 10:08:26 AM

@spankfish- Hudson Hawk you weren't the other person in the world that liked that movie apart from me were you !! lol
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 11:22:23 AM

"The Ring 3D" is Being Developed - Why ?

This reminds me of Blair Witch Project 2.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 11:23:25 AM

Hudson Hawk was friggin' Shakespeare compared to Ring 2.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 11:24:38 AM

a VHS player ? Really ? C'mon. These kids care more for mp3 and Blu-Ray.

While you're at it, Hollywood, why not use an 8-track tape player ?
kagai writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 11:26:12 AM

@SAC

But, it's all going to be in 3D...3-f*ckING-D!

P.S. I would definitely see a movie titled 3 f*cking D. I'm sure it would have a great climax!
trailertrash writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 11:51:16 AM

@max - very true , i turned the ring 2 off and i never turn films off....
rabid writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 12:16:38 PM

Until they release The Illustrated Man on DVD or Bluray, I'm not tossing out my VCR.
trailertrash writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 12:24:10 PM

@rabid- there was talk of a remake of The Illustrated Man , not a great idea but at least you will get the dvd/bluray release of the original ...
LeeMaca writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 12:30:18 PM

Well that sure wasn't what i thought it was!

DAM WP AND THERE SNEAKY TITLES!
encoreyourface writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 12:37:57 PM

"a VHS player ? Really ? C'mon. These kids care more for mp3 and Blu-Ray."

lol

rabid writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 1:34:30 PM

Yeah they're holding off the dvd/bluray until Zach Snyder does that remake, which keeps getting pushed back. Illustrated Man is my favorite film.
Ranger writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 2:50:12 PM

Why not produce a slasher film called: 'Wrists' - starring Lindsay Lohan?
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 4:13:57 PM

This is the first movie idea I can honestly say makes me want to take, not give, a sh*t.
minkowski writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 4:54:19 PM

Better idea: Do it with chickens instead. Have them see dead people in the barnyard pond. Hell, you can title it 'c*ckring 3D' and get away with it...
FreedoM writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 4:57:38 PM

The Ring in 3D makes more sense compared to other movies recently. It would be a cool effect to see the girl come out of the TV/movie theater screen while wearing the glasses.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 4:58:34 PM

fantastic idea. i also want to see a film called "c*nt juice" but i really don't see hwood getting away with that ...
encoreyourface writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 5:02:03 PM

Freed-no, it would be gay and not scary at all surrounded by a hundred people or so. i don't watch 'scary movies' theaters, they're ment to be watched in the middle of the night with the lights off so it's pitch black and when you hear a creak you urn your head and go "what the f*ck was that!?!?!?!"

not in a theate when you hear something yuo just go"oh it was just some faggot chomping on popcorn or splooging"
Ranger writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 5:41:03 PM

@Mink - I was going to post (earlier on this thread): 'Wow... I do not give a f*ck!'
Spankfish writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 6:01:51 PM

Ok, enough bitching. I want to know what was the last original movie you saw? I'll accept comic book movies as long as it was a bold re-imagining. So no f*cking iron man etc.

Something which refreshed your view on the current sh*te being spewed out by Hollywood.

Mine was District 9. Used its budget well and managed to suprise me with a deeper story than I was expecting. And not a blue guy with a tail in sight.
Spankfish writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 6:04:36 PM

And ill accept older films that you may have only just watched. Like my wife who only recently watched Full Metal Jacket.
Spankfish writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 6:04:52 PM

And ill accept older films that you may have only just watched. Like my wife who only recently watched Full Metal Jacket.
Rodan writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 6:30:29 PM

I definitely gotta agree with you on District 9. I was about to say that one even before I saw what you put. Another one has to be The Fall. One of the MOST original movies I've seen is The City of Lost Children, but I saw it awhile back.
lost_addict writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 6:54:18 PM

Schindler's List 3D announced as well...
Ranger writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 7:05:50 PM

SWEET! My favorite part is the kids hiding at the bottom of the outhouse, neck deep in sh*t hiding from our Bud's the Nazi's! Where the hell is 'Smell-o-Vision'?!
Spankfish writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 7:14:57 PM

Come on, be realistic. Ben kingsley in 3D? Wouldn't work. He's one ugly f*cker.
lost_addict writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 8:01:03 PM

come on...his nose in 3D will give new ideas for James Cameron new 4D project 11 years from now
encoreyourface writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 9:43:47 PM

yeah Dist.9 i think was it.
jigsaw23 writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 2:52:37 AM

well not seeing this first one was scarier than paranormal activity then the 2nd one just felt like sh*t.
Salvador writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 5:07:43 PM

What???
koul writes:
on April 28th, 2010 at 5:13:00 PM

the first two are not even scary. they should not make a 3rd one especially in 3-d
seveltoto writes:
on November 10th, 2017 at 1:11:21 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved