WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Placing 3D TVs Next to Cable Wires is Dangerous

Posted: April 26th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Placing 3D TVs Next to Cable Wires is DangerousSubmit Comment
Samsung is the maker of the first 3D television sets. And with all new things, the company is warning its customers of potential dangers this new technology brings.

Samsung's Australian website urges viewers to stop watching and consult a doctor if they experience any of a slew of possible symptoms, including seizures, dizziness, cramps or "loss of awareness," and warns against 3D viewing "if you are in bad physical condition, need sleep or have been drinking alcohol."

The warnings extend to other dangers as well, like placing your TV near cables. The warning states: "DO NOT place your television near open stairwells, cables, balconies or other objects that may cause you to injure yourself."

Usually companies deny the risks that experts uncover. This time, it's the other way around. Experts around the world are actually having trouble finding any evidence that watching 3D programming can be harmful.

University of California's Dr. Martin Banks, a professor of optometry and depth-perception, stated: "There's essentially no evidence to back up some of these concerns. It's a way of covering their behinds, I think, to try to foresee the full range of possible things whether there's evidence or not."

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 38 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
CCBlev writes:
on April 26th, 2010 at 9:07:31 PM

"Samsung's Australian website urges viewers to stop watching and consult a doctor if they experience any of a slew of possible symptoms, including seizures, dizziness, cramps or "loss of awareness"
So 3D tv's will give me pms everytime I watch em?

AshTrey writes:
on April 26th, 2010 at 9:14:57 PM

I NEVER THOUGHT OF THAT... YOU CAN'T WATCH TV DRUNK OR HUNGOVER... YOU'LL DEF YAK.


I SAID IT ONCE AND I'LL SAY IT AGAIN... f*ck 3D AND ITS BULLsh*t GIMMICK. THANKS AVATAR FOR RUINING TELEVISION.
OneTime writes:
on April 26th, 2010 at 9:32:44 PM

stupid....and deff a gimmik that will fade out.
ian_918 writes:
on April 26th, 2010 at 9:33:17 PM

This is only the beginning to a huge cluster f*ck to come. People are gonna get f*cked up if they watch 3D all the god damn time. This is common sense people.. 3D is STUPID.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 26th, 2010 at 9:43:16 PM

It's dangerous because they're f*cking gay
Ari Gold writes:
on April 26th, 2010 at 10:12:23 PM

Am I really the only one here excited to be watching 3D porn?
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on April 26th, 2010 at 10:21:03 PM

experience any of a slew of possible symptoms, including seizures, dizziness, cramps or "loss of awareness,"

A typical night down the pub then.
greed71 writes:
on April 26th, 2010 at 10:22:48 PM

YES , WAIT NO, NEVER MIND THAT NOW WE MUST FOCUS ON WHATS REALY AT HAND!!!! Im working with several associates of mine on a theory that this new wave of tech will sumhow start the zombie apacolypse. I'll keep ya'll posted but its not looking good.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 26th, 2010 at 10:45:01 PM

They figure every Samsung buyer is Larry the Cable Guy.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 26th, 2010 at 10:47:11 PM

I'm still waiting for the " Don't stand in the bathtub full of water, while holding your Samsung 3D television, which is pluged in to the wall socket " disclaimer.

Why does this remind me of Idiocracy ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 26th, 2010 at 10:49:26 PM

Why do they keep pushing 3D on the public when a large number of the movies that were in 3D were as bad as Dr. Tongue's 3D House of Stewardesses on Count Floyd's show ... ?
Ranger writes:
on April 26th, 2010 at 10:59:32 PM

"...possible symptoms, including seizures, dizziness, cramps or "loss of awareness,"


Just wondering how much more bitchier women could get watching a 3D TV whilst they're straddling the gauze?!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 26th, 2010 at 11:06:37 PM

@Ranger

That's what the sleep mask is for. It enhances their hearing without enhancement of their rag-ness.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 26th, 2010 at 11:07:15 PM

@ Ranger

Could this cure Lindsey of her stupidity ?
Ranger writes:
on April 26th, 2010 at 11:10:10 PM

No, but a shotgun would do the trick.
Ranger writes:
on April 26th, 2010 at 11:19:18 PM

Does each TV c*m with 2 HAWT Asian models?!
Sinestro writes:
on April 26th, 2010 at 11:45:46 PM

Video games have the same warning. What a terrible article.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 26th, 2010 at 11:49:02 PM

@ranger- if the tv's did come with that they would sell out in a day, and you'd be on the waiting list for it for years lol.

"seizures, dizziness, cramps or "loss of awareness,"....I felt like this after reading about Avatar 2 & everytime Hollywood talks about remaking great movies.
rocketman writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 12:26:52 AM

f*ck 3D ,headache inducing gimmick.
jigsaw23 writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 12:37:34 AM

@Ari Gold
well when porn is 3d the only 3d elements will be d*cks and c*m flying out.

and cables plug into tvs so what is the deal
CELLiousPLuvGood writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 12:44:44 AM

Meh, Ill wait a couple years and see what the final judgment is. Never was a fan of jumping on the bandwagon immediately.
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 12:46:19 AM

well it's a good thing that i'm poor and hate the idea of 3D TV...and @Ari Gold....you don't need to have a 3D TV to watch 3D porn...that opportunity has been available long before 3D TVs were even thought of...besides, what a waste of money that would be, like it's the future of entertainment haha, it's more lame than holographic tv portrayed in back to the future part 2, which is actually a better idea by far...but that's just what i think
Man in Black writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 1:17:19 AM

no no no bury this sh*t just focus on OLED tech and make sure it debuts at 1080P and 240hz ... looking at you sony
Rodan writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 1:23:40 AM

When I'm ready to go on my own terms, I'm just gonna grab a bottle of Jack and watch some f*cking 3d television. That's how I wanna be remembered.
masht7 writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 1:23:41 AM

@Ari

Don't worry mate, its still on the internet.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 1:34:31 AM

when the f*ck did they get 3d television all the sudden?
KirkLazerus writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 1:38:33 AM

i hope people who buy 3D Tv turn super gay and get AIDS and i'm not talking about Magic Johnson AIDS i'm talking about Tom Hanks in Philadelphia AIDS.f*ck U 3D
Ranger writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 1:51:18 AM

@CELLious - my thought exactly. If it sticks around... it'll get better and cheaper. Does everyone forget Beta VCR's and Laser Disc's already?!
Man in Black writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 2:52:48 AM

@encore - where you been for about the last month 3 large gets you a 40" samsung led 3d hdtv with a 3d bluray player a copy for monsters vs aliens and 2 pairs of the special 3d battery powered glasses ... cause the ones everyone steals from the theater after paying an additional $3 and they want you to return them dont work with them
synthetic1985 writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 3:00:38 AM

@ Ranger...i was always fascinated with laser discs...they were like giant DVDs before DVDs ever came out and now they got blu rays...can't imagine what would be next...kind of funny names though...DVD standing for digital video disc, and blu ray having no significance to its name
encoreyourface writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 3:14:38 AM

man in large-lol i'd never return mine suck it theaters! also i think I'll pass i can live without 3d ...
AYT BALL writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 4:24:15 AM

no big deal, its new and untested by time, so they warn you of everything now then you cant sue later.....hows this news?....this is just the instruction manual isnt it?
rabid writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 11:40:52 AM

These tvs aren't going to catch on until the eyeglassless models come out next year. I had a friend who just bought one and it came with a pretty sweet web browser on it too, which is a bonus! I'm holding out for the Philips.
Ranger writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 1:51:05 PM

@synthetic - yeah, I have no idea where 'Blu-Ray' came from. But it does make Sony a pile of $'s!
Man in Black writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 11:41:40 PM

they use a blue laser rather then a red laser to read the disc its a more focused beam of light to read the info on the disc up to 50GB per disc on a bluray and only 4.7GB on a standard DVD HDDVD only had at best 30GB of info and went the beta-max route cause microsoft wouldn't allow other companies to make there players other then Toshiba and an add on to the xbox 360 they sucked on the business end of there own shot gun
popcorn writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 3:30:07 AM

the only this to worry about watching 3D is when the c*m shot comes flying out of the screen and my slut of a girlfriend opens her mouth
Vlahka writes:
on April 29th, 2010 at 5:10:07 AM

I believe all of those warnings are there so people cant go suing happy when they hurt themselves and try to blame the tv on it. 'I was drinking ONLY A LITTLE and the 3D made me dizzy when I stood up and I tripped over cables. 9 million for my sprained ankle plz'.

Millions of people have already used 3D in the cinema or in pubs and clubs watching 3D sports events or shows. I dont think anyones come up claiming they half died or something.
OzBox writes:
on May 1st, 2010 at 9:09:04 PM

I've already got a 3D device, it's called a WINDOW. Best thing is I can look at it all day, especially at work. And if you want things coming straight at you for a bit of excitement, walk out onto the freeway. Gets the adrenaline pumping everytime.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved