WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ridley Scott Planning Two "Alien" Prequels in 3D

Posted: April 25th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ridley Scott Planning Two "Alien" Prequels in 3DSubmit Comment
Collider caught up with director Ridley Scott during the "Robin Hood" press junket and asked whether the planned "Alien" prequel will be in 3D.

"Of course, it'll be 3D," he replied, adding that the film will be shot in 3D rather than converted later. The big obstacle, however, is that 3D cameras can't shoot in low light and "Alien" is all about darkness and shadows. Scott said that they'll tackle this issue in post-production.

The director also mentioned that the goal is to eventually have two prequels. "It'll be two. It'll be prequel one and two. Then Alien 1," he explained. And regarding whether the two new films will be shot back-to-back. "At the moment I'm just trying to get the first one out."

Source: Collider


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
encoreyourface writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 2:27:38 AM

i beleive somebody on here mentioned this in the last Alien thread ...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 2:36:46 AM

Huh? and huh?
masht7 writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 3:26:39 AM

This is only one of very few movies that I think well be cool in 3D. At least they aren't converting it into 3D after filming.
lost_addict writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 3:50:15 AM

too distracted to comment as I'm not sure wtf is the avatar porn advertise on the right side of the screen...
masht7 writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 4:03:19 AM

Speaking of Avatar, a question for the Yanks, is there really a smurf sex scene on the Avatar DVD because I can't find it on YouTube.
Rodan writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 4:03:46 AM

I feel like these could be good with Ridley behind the wheel. Necessary? Of course not, but hey, what the hell. Ridley's very good at the period-piece epics, but this'll be a good change of pace. I feel like he hasn't done science fiction in a long time. Alien and Blade Runner (I might be forgetting a few), then he went on to other things.

@lost_addict, don't click on it! IT'S A TRAP!
dissident187 writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 4:11:09 AM

I saw this would work in 3D. When the Xenomorph open its mouth and its tongue.....
encoreyourface writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 4:30:15 AM

i must be the only lucky one on my computer the ads are blocked out on Wp.
vwkombi writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 4:36:14 AM

f*ck, imagine an Alien tongue coming out of the screen at you.

Might be the only time (outside of porn) that 3D could actually make the film better.
rocketman writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 5:41:23 AM

Aw nice if its an 18 cert,dark and scary as f*ck like the first one.Just hope i don't get a headache watching it in 3d like i got off Avaterd.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 6:26:14 AM

Only Scott or Cameron can save this franchise, and bring ti back to what it really was about...true horror that made you jump off your set whilst you have been sitting on the edge the whole time!
AYT BALL writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 7:55:08 AM

The alien is enough of a bad ass creature when directed right, without the 3D gimick!
Rush66 writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 8:38:44 AM

I really hope Ridley Scott won't turn into George Lucas...
CCBlev writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 9:36:53 AM

@Rush
Ridley Scott's way more intelligent than to turn into another Lucas
dbreuning writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 9:51:35 AM

Well a GOOD horror movie in 3D csn be very cool. I hope they just do the franchise some justice.
VLAD*the*IMPALER writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 10:15:25 AM

this news kinda sucks, 3d cameras are too big and heavy to do the same shots normal cameras can do (that is if the technology is the same as 2 yrs ago).
look for very small scenes, very little camera movement
im all for seeing different directors points of view with filming techniques but im not sold on this 3d stuff
SACdaddy writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 10:28:26 AM

"Of course, it'll be 3D"

f*ck, is 3D that much of a no brainer for even the great directors now? I hope he knows that the studio will never let him spend the type of money and time its takes to shoot in 3D on a R rated film. We haven't seen a single film shot in 3D come out with a budget of less than $150 mill. They'll be enormous studio pressure to recoop that money, so they won't want to limit the audience to just adults. Even though the Alien franchise has no business being targeted at kids, Hwood will do it just to make a profit (and to justify another film). Just prepare yourself WPers, if this prequel turns out to be PG-13, it will suck a massive d*ck.

Only Russell Crowe can save this film (imo). Oh yeah I forgot, the star has to be another f*cking female, so never mind. Angelina Jolie will get the job, and I'll have more senseless bullsh*t to bitch about. I hope to god Ridley wakes up soon and realizes he's making a huge mistake. This could turnout to be as bad as the Star Wars prequels.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 10:33:18 AM

It cant be a good sign that I'm not the only one getting a strange George Lucus vibe from this news.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 11:51:14 AM

^ Eh... its Ridley Scott. He's done enough in his day to give him the benefit of the doubt. Of course, I saw a Good Year and that Leo Dicaprio one and they were both kinda crap, but maybe sci fi will bring out the best in him.

And we kinda already knew this 3d sh*t too, didn't we? He was one of the guys who visited Cameron's set and "got excited enough to revisit sci-fi". Two prequels... I'm cool with that. I can just imagine seeing those aliens on the ceiling of a hallway sitting still, and then seeing the disturbance of their moving in 3d. That could be some creepy sh*t.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 12:29:29 PM

@Money: Hey the guy that did Hannibal, Kingdom of Heaven, and G.I.Jane obviously can f*ck up just as bad as the next guy so you may want to dial down the blind faith. Remember, this isn't a series that needs a prequel. Fans of the first film haven't been clamoring for years for an explaination of the "space jockey" or a "discussion of terraforming." The last 3 films arguably may have killed most of the fan loyalty for the Alien character, so where do the box office returns come from? The 3D should be enough to break even but I don't see a studio being OK with just that for two films. The most common thing to do to combat this issue now is to edit out the violence and gore and shake the camera as much as possible to secure a PG-13 rating, which imo has no place in the Alien universe that Ridley created and Cameron perfected. Everything will hinge on the rating.
rabid writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 1:18:48 PM

If any horror film needed to be in 3D it's this one.
SofaKing writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 6:06:59 PM

@ mash

There is kind of a sex scene in Avatar on Blu Ray but I never saw it in theaters so I don't know if it is different. There is no ummm... blue nudity or anything its kinda stupid but I guess that goes without saying.
jigsaw23 writes:
on April 26th, 2010 at 12:48:53 AM

hmm stop this 3d but i believe that these ones with the creator will pass
Salvador writes:
on April 26th, 2010 at 12:16:09 PM

Cameron-George Lucas Syndrome?

Come on, Scott, you're better than that.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 26th, 2010 at 4:06:39 PM

So much for Ridley Scott being perfect.

I guess he's getting neck-fat too...
supaflywill writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 1:53:36 AM

sounds awsome - proper filmmaking !!!! ridley is one of the best !
Dre-EL writes:
on April 27th, 2010 at 4:21:17 PM

Never thought I'd want to bitch slap Ridley Scott but, there you go.


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved