WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Nicolas Cage May Be Replaced in "Ghost Rider 2"

Posted: April 24th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Nicolas Cage May Be Replaced in "Ghost Rider 2"Submit Comment
All Marvel's superheroes will one day revert back to Marvel, but for now, Sony Pictures is scrambling to get as many "Spider-Man" and "Ghost Rider" installments into theaters as possible.

"Spider-Man 4" was set to be released during the summer of next year. Sam Raimi and Tobey Maguire dropped out, forcing the studio to reboot the franchise or face losing the character to Marvel.

Sony is now having a similar issue with "Ghost Rider," since the deal requires for the studio to be in production on a sequel by November 14th. The plan has been to bring Nicolas Cage back, but now it looks like the actor may be too busy.

Cage definitely wants to make the sequel, which is why Sony is asking Marvel for an extension. But his commitment to "National Treasure 3" may force the studio to replace him in "Ghost Rider 2" or possibly reboot the whole thing. Stay tuned.

Source: NY Mag


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 55 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Vin12 writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 6:23:59 AM

good, he sucks at acting like COC SUCKS AT LIFE
Vin12 writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 6:25:19 AM

MATTHEW FOX FOR MITCH RAPP
masht7 writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 6:30:35 AM

Thank you for saying something that's true Vinny.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 6:32:13 AM

Sucks at acting? I think not.

Unless your still upset that he did not put out for you like the time Data rammed his hard drive up your ass and transferred a terabyte worth of spunk.
masht7 writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 6:34:55 AM

Well, he acted like a bad-ass in Kick-Ass and he hasn't acted like one since Con Air.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 6:36:39 AM

I know the dude has made a sh*t load of awful films but there are still some classics like Matchstick Men, Leaving Las Vegas, Raising Arizona, Adaptation and Face Off.

The dude needs the work to pay off his comic book storage mansion. Everyone needs one of them, right?
rocketman writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 6:59:36 AM

Anyone know when Marvel get Spidey back? or the Xmen for that matter?
Nemonian writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 7:01:29 AM

'May be replaced'? Must be replaced!
jigsaw23 writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 7:03:51 AM

ok but i would prefer and hard R reboot but i dont really know who else can be him and he did kick ass in kick ass but im pissed that spoiler.
jigsaw23 writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 7:04:36 AM

@vin23 i like matthew fox but what is MITCH RAPP. sorry if i am being stupid.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 8:10:08 AM

Cage was a good Ghost Rider but it needed hard R like Jigsaw suggested.
VLAD*the*IMPALER writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 8:23:53 AM

if sony looses ghost rider to marvel the world will move on just the same. hell, sony already drove spidey into the ground with that last one (shudders)
SACdaddy writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 8:34:07 AM

LOL!!! The first film was terrible! I can't believe anyone gives a sh*t about a sequel. The guys got a flaming skull for a head and rides a motorcycle. If that's not a recipe for box office poison I don't know what is.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 9:01:37 AM

@Sac: I don't know. A flaming skull and a flaming bike actually sounds pretty sweet. It only looks retarded.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 9:11:03 AM

Well, I guess he can stop calling himself Johnny Blaze.

Why not just replace Ghost Rider II ? With something better.

You know, Sony loses character even if they still have Spiderman and Ghost Rider.

Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 9:12:23 AM

@Vin12

He was pretty decent in Leaving Las Vegas. But he's like Crispen Glover. He's got to be given quirky, eccentric character to stand out.

Otherwise, you get Ghost Rider.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 9:15:16 AM

@Ricky

Not to mention his pyramid. Because, God forbid, he should die without being stuctured in something that makes Tom Cruise's final resting place look Mormon/ remind Cage of his sexual escapades at the MGM Grand/ can be used for public storage once his body decays to rot.
johnny_boy writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 9:19:52 AM

Sam and Toby dropped out? At least tell the truth that Sony was being a bunch of corporate pricks and wanted to reboot it cuz they wanted sh*t done their way only
CCBlev writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 10:01:39 AM

@Vin
Are you ok? Are you on your meds? I'm kinda scared now!
As for this, I dunno if I care or not.
pomme writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 10:29:44 AM

Cage is great in "kick ass" and "bad lieutenant:new orleans" recently so there always is some hope!
dissident187 writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 10:33:05 AM

I've always been a fan of Nicolas Cage, through the Good times (Razing Arizona, Face/Off, The Rock and Lord of War) and the extremely Bad (Ghost Rider, Bangkok Dangerous, Knowing and Next), and I'm really happy with his comeback with Bad Lieutenant and Kick-Ass (haven't seen it yet). But I do want him to comeback as Ghost Rider, only to redeem himself for the awful performance. And also, to clear his debts.

@jigsaw: Ghost Rider with Hard-R????? Never gonna happen. I want that too, but you and I both know that Punisher: Warzone's performance serves Hollywood as a cautionary tale and even Kick-Ass, despite the hype and expectation, has underperformed and is making profits very slowly.

I'm no expert but I've notice that most of the studios have only cared about the opening b.o numbers and the final domestic gross, not the foreign figures which tend to be much more.
dissident187 writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 10:43:07 AM

But, seriously fan, f*ck his wigs
dissident187 writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 10:43:18 AM

But, seriously fan, f*ck his wigs.
dissident187 writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 10:43:29 AM

But, seriously man, f*ck his wigs.
HideousSecretion writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 10:48:01 AM

When the key strategy of a film's production is mad scramble to get it done, we cannot expect even a shred of quality.
HideousSecretion writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 10:53:01 AM

and MITCH RAPP is the key character in a series of novels written by Vince Flynn. They are spy/action thrillers. Good stuff.
Vin12 writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 11:07:28 AM

@HIDEOUS
gerard butler amd colin ferral are also up for the role, but when i read the books i picture fox who ironically is also in the running
WV-Films writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 11:54:10 AM

Oh no! Why!? He was so good in the first one!
rabid writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 12:02:14 PM

That sucks. I liked Cage as Johnny Blaze, and I never cared all that much for Dan Ketch. If they do another, they should introduce Brother Voodoo and Son of Satan.
gotsghostrider writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 12:52:30 PM

If they're gonna replace Cage then they should just take out Johnny Blaze and use Dan Ketch (Blazes brother and second Ghost Rider)
Ranger writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 1:23:03 PM

NO one has screwed over Sony more than what Sony has done to themselves.

NO extensions.

Marvel get all your sh*t back home in one basket. Get it under Feige's control.

Get Favreau directing a LOT more Marvel stuff.

Cage I didn't mind in the first Ghost Rider (the movie should have been a HELL of a lot darker... playing Hell's Agent and all). Cage wasn't bad... the movie itself was kind of lame.

Sony, you screwed over Raimi and thus Tobey.
Wasted everyone time.
f*ck off and die!
Blank x2 writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 1:27:32 PM

Change "may be" to "will be" and I'm a happy guy
rabid writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 1:51:16 PM

yeah I still don't like Sony's ditch on Raimi's Spidey series, but at the same time I'm glad they didn't devote a whole film to the Vulture.
A teen Spidey is not something I want to sit through again. They should just do a reboot in the style of the Incredible Hulk where, instead of restarting, they just go with the flow and assume you know the story to this point.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 2:05:19 PM

@Ranger

Agreed. Bottom line, this was a movie that sounds good on paper, but when it's on the screen ... the one scene that made me realllly pissed off was the angels/devils scene at the bar.

It made no damn sense.

So, yeah. This script was one of the most expensive rolls of toilet paper on screen.

WITH the streaks.
KirkLazerus writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 3:56:42 PM

f*cking Castor Troy
filmaddict24 writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 4:05:40 PM

Seriously, Sony has got to be one of the dumbest movie studios ever. They should reboot Ghost Rider franchise. It sounds as if they want to make a sequel to the first movie. DId they like Ghost Rider or something?
filmaddict24 writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 4:08:44 PM

Also, did Sony really want to make another Spiderman movie. I mean this needs to end eventually. It's like making it into a Saw franchise is an option.
japaninmotion writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 7:05:25 PM

why when they have to replace an actor it has to be rebooted? just continue the goddamn story. they did with jack ryan and bond
Man in Black writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 7:16:48 PM

as much as i hate to say it he'd be better off money wise to do NT 3 and we all know he needs it . not sure if marvel is to keen on letting one of there movies get the R unless its a straight to dvd sequel . that pg 13 just has a wider audience
greed71 writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 7:52:00 PM

"Take cover child!!!!!!!"
lost_addict writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 8:14:00 PM

you don't need cage....just his hair piece,it has a life of its own now...
encoreyourface writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 8:15:44 PM

lol
Ranger writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 9:19:47 PM

@Max - 'WITH the steaks' - lol.
Affliction writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 1:11:00 AM

@ Ranger....Agreed!
Rodan writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 1:12:58 AM

No more Ghost Rider. That was so bad a good sequel would just remind me of the first one. Just kill it off and start a Hell Blazer franchise.
Affliction writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 1:42:25 AM

Who cares right now? Honestly. We all know that Sony is going to keep putting out pure sh*t. Marvel, take it all back. All of it. Sonny can kiss my taint
dbreuning writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 9:47:57 AM

Just give all the characters back to Marvel, Sony. You had your run last decade. This way Spidey can be in The Avengers. And maybe Marvel can make a better Ghost Rider.
Sveppi writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 11:03:30 AM

I think that the property going back to Marvel is the best thing that could happen.
rabid writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 1:23:08 PM

If Marvel did get the rights back, it'd probably be years before GR ended up on their priority list. Let Sony make one more film before Ghost Rider slips into obscurity for another decade.
gotsghostrider writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 2:57:10 PM

Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance was a reboot in some ways and took place a couple of years afterwords I use the past tense because the plot may change to fit Dan Ketch into the series if they replace Cage or should I say Nicholas Coppola (since that is his real name thanks to his uncle Francis)
Eben1277 writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 4:11:35 PM

The Dan Ketch series was better
dlrippr writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 7:38:41 PM

Hearing that All Marvel's superheroes will one day revert back to Marvel made me very happy. What are the details on this? when does marvel control its marvel universe? how many more crappy xmen rip offs can fox make before marvel can do them correctly?

Johnny Neat writes:
on April 26th, 2010 at 11:45:21 AM

Reboot, please. Someone younger and a better comic oriented story.

f*ck that original sucked HARD.
acreshakers writes:
on April 26th, 2010 at 3:11:37 PM

Oh by the way...I really need the money!
SIGNED...N. Cage
P.S. He ain't lying! SIGNED...The IRS
darkraven28 writes:
on April 26th, 2010 at 5:55:49 PM

Haven't actually sat thru Ghost Rider yet. Should I? Or would I be walking into the bad version of an eye-f*ck?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved