WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ridley Scott Reveals "Alien" Prequel Details

Posted: April 23rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ridley Scott Reveals "Alien" Prequel DetailsSubmit Comment
MTV News had the chance to speak to director Ridley Scott about the prequel to his 1979 sci-fi classic "Alien." In his response, Scott revealed several major plot details.

"As we speak, I've got a pile of pages next to me; it's like the fourth draft," he said about the status of the project. "We're not dreaming it up anymore. We know what the story is. We're actually making the film. I've already got people working graphically on designs."

Scott continued: "It's set in 2085, about 30 years before Sigourney [Weaver's character Ellen Ripley]. It's fundamentally about going out to find out 'Who the hell was that Space Jockey?' The guy who was sitting in the chair in the alien vehicle there was a giant fellow sitting in a seat on what looked to be either a piece of technology or an astronomer's chair. And our man [Tom Skerritt as Captain Dallas] climbs up and says 'There's been an explosion in his chest from the inside out what was that?' I'm explaining who the space jockeys were."

He said that the Weyland-Yutani company has yet to be formed. "Weyland hasn't joined Yutani yet, so they go and see Weyland," Scott explained. "[The film] is about the discussion of terraforming taking planets and planetoids and balls of earth and trying to terraform, seed them with the possibilities of future life."

Regarding Weaver's participation, Scott said: "It will be before she was born! [But] the main character will be a woman."

He added that the alien will have to be updated. "I have to design or redesign earlier versions of what these elements are that led to the thing that catapults out of the egg, the face-hugger. I don't want to repeat it. The alien in a sense, as a shape, is worn out."

Finally, Scott said that the plan is to have the prequel in theaters by end of 2011 or find the best date in 2012.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 5:57:41 AM

Nice something to wash away the sh*ttyness that was AvP 1 and 2
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 6:14:31 AM

I always wondered who the big dude in the chair was since I saw the first one.

I just presumed they would skip over that subject so its good to see it explained.
masht7 writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 7:05:43 AM

The AVP movies were alright and hopefully Predators will good, but I'm more of a Alien fan and Ridley Scott is directing this so I'm happy with this. I'm also happy Fox didn't hire Jim Cameron even though Aliens was a bad-ass movie.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 7:05:44 AM

mmm would still like to have seen them hit earth and a big war to kick off.....but guess i will keep my fingers crossed for this.
lost_addict writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 7:17:40 AM

Russel Crowe as the Alien?
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 7:19:29 AM

Since it's Ridley himself who stands behind this project, I have more faith in this than other prequels.
Rush66 writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 8:22:08 AM

Wow! He seems really confident that it will be good and the story is actually very interesting. Damn, that man is good!
CCBlev writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 8:43:50 AM

My faith is now renewed in the Alien franchise, thank you Ridley Scott.
BigUnit writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 9:12:23 AM

the only thing i didnt like was "But] the main character will be a woman.".. come on ridley change it up a bit.


SACdaddy writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 9:19:50 AM

I haven't liked any of the AVP movies, but this plotline that Ridley is going for sounds pretty questionable too. An entire movie based around the big alien in the captains chairs...very weak imo. There aren't any humans on that planet so wtf? Will the entire film be CGI? I hope this is just a minor brain fart and Ridley realizes that he needs actual actors to pull this off.

Why change the creature? That was the worst thing about Alien 3. Its still one of the best creatures ever created for film, so why change a good thing? It sounds like Ridley is addressing all the wrong things with this prequel and frankly this is not what I was expecting.

I really thought the right way to go with the series was to make a prequel to ALIENS that showed what happened to Newt and her family before the Marines arrived. You get all your terraforming with that and you get a plot that still has humans in it. It also gives you an opportunity to figure out the Company's true intentions behind sending the colonist to a planet it knew was alien infested. Most importantly, by focusing on a child surviving this alien holocaust you bring back the fear factor that made the first film famous. I hate to pat myself on the back but that sounds like a much better film than what Ridley is planning.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 9:24:36 AM

Of course this ^^ is the film I would have liked to have seen Cameron make instead of another Avatar.
RepoMan20 writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 9:32:24 AM

they already kind of explained who the jocky was in the comics like "newts tale", But most of the early cannon comics pretend alien 3 and 4 never happened, i wonder if they'll draw anything from there
Vlahka writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 9:40:35 AM

Sorry SAC but thats not really much of a prequel. You'd have the people and their little domestics be central to the story instead of the alien horror. And we already saw a little of Newt in flashes from the extended version of Aliens.

The Alien would have to be redesigned, this is just normal. After something is infected with the alien it takes on characteristics of that creature. Humanoid style with the human, dog like with the dog in the 3rd film, and that butchery of the predalien. This one will probably be close to the chair person or something completely different depending. Its a good idea. I want to see the original Alien.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 9:42:30 AM

... I say wait and see.

If it ruins the series, then it won't be any more devestating than the three Star Wars prequels.
makingcircles writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 10:03:01 AM

This sounds awesome! I'm glad he isn't going with more of the same with this franchise. I think refocusing it on different elements is a great idea and he is a good story teller. I'm behind this 100%. BTW...Alien was the best followed closely by Aliens. I feel bad for Alien 3 because they had so much to live up to at that point. I thought there were redeeming qualities to it and I enjoy the acting in it. Alien Resurrection was a pile of sh*t that should be erased from everyone's memories.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 10:13:38 AM

@ makingcircles - I put aliens first cos it inspired me to make a comic book of Alien 3 (way before the movie) and probably the reason im a graphic designer now, but Alien is a close second, i still like Alien 3 alot, but when you hear all the sh*t fincher had to put up with, it could have been so much better, dumb studios getting involved again!......altho i hated hicks and newt dying like that!
makingcircles writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 10:22:09 AM

@Ayt - It's weird because I've watched Aliens more than any of them in the series but I had to give the #1 spot to Alien only because it was so cutting edge when it came out and still in my mind the scariest. They are damn close though. I really like the 3rd one but like you I remember being in the the theater and just pissed that they killed of Newt and Hicks. I do like Charles S. Dutton in his role though. That speech toward the end is pretty awesome.
OneTime writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 10:29:54 AM

starrring shia labeef and sam worthington
SACdaddy writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 10:35:17 AM

"Sorry SAC but thats not really much of a prequel. You'd have the people and their little domestics be central to the story instead of the alien horror. And we already saw a little of Newt in flashes from the extended version of Aliens"

I really don't understand your complaint. The extended version of Aliens showed Newt's father going out and finding the aliens but that was about it. The original Alien was focused around people too. In fact you barely saw the creature until the end of the film. Its very simple, begin the film with the Company sending the colonist to the planet to terraform it, show Newt's father being infested, and then spend the next 100 minutes showing how Newt survives all the terror going on around her. This gives you a great opportunity to tell the story from the perspective of a scared little girl and fill in the gaps that Camerons film eludes to (ie the aliens in jars and the colonist "last stand") . The idea of one person (let alone a 10yo girl) being trapped alone on a planet with hundreds of aliens gives me goosebumps just thinking about it. Its also a direction the series has never explored.

As for the comics, I could really give a sh*t where they went. The films inspired the comics (like Star Wars), not the other way around, so they really owe them nothing. The films really took a turn for the worse when they tried to tranfer the comics to the big screen, so I say to hell with that bullsh*t material.
nefilim writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 10:44:51 AM

@SAC "An entire movie based around the big alien in the captains chairs...very weak imo. There aren't any humans on that planet so wtf?

go on and read again what Ridley said : if main character is woman it cannot be all about aliens and dead captains in chairs and so on ...
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 11:17:18 AM

Alien 3 is highly underrated. I'm still loving the scenes were trying to lure out the alien down in the tunnels.
The fourth really isn't that bad (not saying that's good), but it's hard to hate a movie with Ron Perlman, Brad Dourif and Michael Wincott. Still pissed Wincott died so early in the movie.
Blank x2 writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 11:37:42 AM

They've talked about doing a movie examining the Space Jockey's originis. Sounds good to me.
rabid writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 12:13:53 PM

The plot sounds pretty decent. I agree that the Alien design is worn out. Hope they come up with something gnarly.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 12:15:12 PM

@nef: Good point, but does anyone else have a problem with this timeline. If I remember correctly, the company doesn't start terraforming planets until after the first film is already over. Paul Reiser tells her about this when he's explaining the situation with the colonist in the second film. Why would this come up in a prequel?

I also have an issue with the focus of the film being based around another set of aliens (the Space Jockies). The humans in the first film have no knowledge of their existence, so I think its strange to have your female protagonist interracting with them in this prequel. Scott has a lot to explain while still having to give the audience the real creatures it came to see. I should trust Scott by now, but I guess I'm just a little upset with the route he's chosen. Now Newt's amazing story of survival will never be told. That is unless Cameron comes back and makes his own prequel :-)
SACdaddy writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 12:27:38 PM

Oh "the discussion of terraforming". I get it.
Salvador writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 2:00:58 PM

I strongly prefer the mistery in the first one.

The Space Jockey needs no explanation, period.
DeVries writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 2:18:02 PM

Lohan with no make up would be a nice exploded corpse for background use.
rocketman writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 2:48:16 PM

Sounds like it could be amazing.New.
darkraven28 writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 3:41:30 PM

Sounds good. Need to do something to make up for that American Gangster bullsh*t. Although Robin Hood looks fine (other than the PG-13 bullcrap). Make me believe again Ridley Scott! I haven't really liked what he's been doing recently. Although his run from Gladiator to Matchstick Men was pretty fun for four movies straight.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 4:52:40 PM

eh sounds okay to me. but why the f*ck must the protagonist be a chick? it was a women for ALL the Alien films, change it up a bit.

she better show tits,btw
jigsaw23 writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 5:54:41 PM

ok just make it R
masht7 writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 10:35:11 PM

I have a feeling Russell Crowe is going to be in this.
J.A.Ottley writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 7:36:27 PM

Ok is this in 1 filkm or 2 films because i've just found out by an article on MOVIEWEB

This will be shot in 2 movies, so 2 prequels and both will be in 3D...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved