WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Crazies" Helmer to Remake "Escape From New York"

Posted: April 23rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Crazies" Helmer to Remake "Escape From New York"Submit Comment
Breck Eisner, who recently directed "The Crazies" remake, is now in negotiations to helm the remake of "Escape From New York" for New Line Cinema.

The new film as been a top priority for the company, which picked up the rights in March 2007, with Gerard Butler attached to star and Ken Nolan writing the script. The project then veered into development hell.

Eisner's boarding should bring "Escape" back on track, sticking with the Allan Loeb (Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps, 21) draft which tries to mix an origin story for anti-hero Snake Plissken and merge it with the story of the original.

The 1981 film was set in a futuristic 1997, when Manhattan had been turned into a giant maximum-security prison. The US president's plane crashed on the island, and Plissken -- incarcerated for robbing a federal reserve bank -- was coerced into a rescue mission.

Click here to read more about "Escape From New York."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
PirateDave128 writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 6:07:47 AM

Can't filmakers stop wasting their time and just admit this project is dead?
RuGhi writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 6:12:29 AM

This is the closest we are ever going to get to a Metal Gear Solid movie.......Bummer.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 6:22:03 AM

Not too keen on this remake at all, but I hear The Crazies was actually quite good so maybe he will do a good job.....wait a minute lost my senses there a bit...f*ck THIS REMAKE UP IT'S ARSE WITHTHE BIGGEST DILDO YOU CAN FIND!!!
Vin12 writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 6:52:21 AM

DAMN!! wHAT ABOUT FLASH...OHHHHHH!!!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 6:57:38 AM

I believe I'm one of few people who didn't like the first. It wasn't bad or anything, but after all talk about it, I was a tad disappointed when I finally saw it. So I'm kosher with a remake, if they can find someone who can fill Kurt's eyepatch, which will be hard.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 7:02:39 AM

@ DaveThePhotoGuy - Crazies was a pretty decent movie! its in good hands IMO
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 8:38:28 AM

@aytball- I heard The Crazies was a good remake so yes there is a little hope for this movie, but I'm just not feeling this remake at all, but I will wait for the trailer and who will be Snake to make a better judgment call, if they do go with Gerard Bulter please don't have him do an American accent.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 8:47:13 AM

@ DaveThePhotoGuy - a scottish snake? lol could be interesting! not a fan of his american accent either, if not butler....any ideas?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 9:07:04 AM

@aytball- don't have a clue, what actor fits this profile.

5' 11" (1.80 m) Between the age of 30-35,a convicted bank robber and highly trained mercenary, he has long hair and wears an eye patch, has a thousand yard stare an attitude of "I'm hung like a Grand National winner", has the voice of someone who has been smoking since before he was born.

Maybe Gerard Butler could do an English accent, but that might not sit well with some people.

So basically we need Male actor 30-35yrs old with a f*cked up stare and graverly voice.


Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 9:23:42 AM

Stil Epic Fail.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 9:29:27 AM

@ Dave - mmmm Timothy Olyphant? thinking the crazy stare....plus he has a history with the director now
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 9:34:31 AM

@aytball- him and Garard Butler seem to be the only choices the guys on here seem to agree with, if it is Olyphant probly go with the shaved head look for snake instead of long hair at least it will give him a diferent look, and I think I'm in a minority on this but I thought Hitman was a good film (I knw it wasn't true to the game or anything) and he was really good in it.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 9:52:48 AM

@ Dave - Olyphants always good, would be a good choice i think, prefer him over butler to be honest
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 9:58:49 AM

@Dave

It's an obvious on Gerard right now because of 200 and moreso, Gamer.

He basically was playing a Plissken-type of guy, without the patch and with a girlfriend.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 10:00:01 AM

The thing that made Kurt stand out as Snake (and some other roles under Carpenter) was that he was playing against type (from all those years under Disney) and also because he knew it was campy. That's what make Snake endearing.
SACdaddy writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 10:04:55 AM

This might be a stretch for anyone not a fan of LOST but I think Sawyer (Josh Holloway) would be a great choice to play Snake. He's pretty much been copying Snake for the last 6 years, so why not just make it official? He definitely has the Plissken look and the famous attitude, now all he needs is the eyepatch and an Uzi.

I've said it before and I'll say it again, Butler would be a TERRIBLE choice for Snake. The character is about as American as apple pie, and I'll be damned if they cast a f*cking European with a horrible American accent for the role. Canadians and Americans only need apply.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 10:10:59 AM

@aytball- yep Olyphant is always good in a role, like Sam Jackson.

@max- I understand that completly, I got no problem with Gerard at all he is a good actor and I liked him in Gamer & Law Abiding Citizen, I just don't want him doing an American accent.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 10:16:08 AM

@sac- I'm with you on that one, I have never seen Lost but I think I knw who you mean and yep he would be good.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 11:05:07 AM

Of the three suggested (Olyphant, Butler Holloway) I too would go with Holloway. Olyphant is a tour de force actor, but Snake is supposed to have long hair. I know it's small sh*tty thing, but still. Butler certainly have the looks for it, but as stated, can't do an american accent.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 11:18:50 AM

@ Freud - i dunno man, check it out! ......

http://www.collider.com/uploads/imageGallery/Catch_and_Release/catch_and_release_movie_image_timothy_olyphant__1_.jpg
AYT BALL writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 11:25:35 AM

and snake.... i think its pretty close!

http://www.movieguys.org/images/snake_plissken_escape_from_new_york.jpg
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 12:32:28 PM

@Ayt: It looks pretty similar. However, Kurt manish to look bad-ass, Olyphant reminds me of Barry Watson (from the hardcore series "7th Heaven) in that picture. But, rough him up and slap on an eyepatch and it might work.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 12:36:41 PM

@ Freud - yeah hes a little too pretty there, but a bit facial hair some scars and an eye patch and were rockin! lol.......do i feel another poster mock up coming? haha if only i had the time
AYT BALL writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 12:39:04 PM

http://www.tikitumble.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/the_crazies_timothy_olyphant.jpg
encoreyourface writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 5:08:50 PM

my friend said The Crazies was great gonna watch it online when i get home so I'll post my opinion then from what I've heard he should do a good job.
Vin12 writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 1:13:10 AM

encore
no one cares!!
encoreyourface writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 2:23:34 AM

you're gay. no more words needed.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 1:49:18 AM

ok watched The Crazies thought it was great so i have confidence in this guy to make EFNY
Nekros22 writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 12:01:19 PM

Tack on another car to the Fail Train.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved