WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Avatar" Sets Blu-ray Sales Record

Posted: April 23rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Avatar" Sets Blu-ray Sales RecordSubmit Comment
Even though "Avatar" has become the highest-grossing film of all time, many were still skeptical that the 3D movie would be able to sell a high number of DVDs and Blu-ray discs, since both offer only the 2D version.

Now that "Avatar" has hit stores on Thursday, THR is reporting that discs were flying off the shelves. Blu-ray sales are at 1.5 million copies, which is much higher that the first-day sales of "The Dark Knight," the previous hi-def record holder.

The overall disc sales of "Avatar" surpassed 4 million units, putting the film on track to become the year's top-selling release to date.

A theatrical re-release of the film is expected in August, and a 3D Blu-ray version should hit appear in stores early next year. 20th Century Fox is waiting for sales of 3D Blu-ray players to increase first.

Click here to read our "Avatar" review.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Kid_A writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 6:06:06 AM

I don't understand why people are urged to buy its DVD's with this much of anticipation. Or maybe FOX is paying for some websites and newspapers to write like this so that others may think of it as bestselling and they will buy too. I guess the promotion of the movie is still going on, this time on DVD and Bluray. :P
johnny_boy writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 6:25:02 AM

How cute. Avatar is selling alot of BLU rays about people who are BLUE

(sorry, couldn't help myself)
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 7:16:38 AM

Of course it was going to sell like small boys in the Vatican. I bet that the Naviblue community pre-ordered three copies each. And then the 2-disc special editition will sell just as much and after that the 3D-version is going to cause riots.

Cameron hasn't just found his golden egg-laying goose, he created it.
Hollywood1086 writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 7:48:13 AM

well thank god they're rereleasing it in theaters so it can make even MORE money for a mediocre movie
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 9:18:52 AM

Should'nt the head line say.

"Mass day release of Mentally Challenged people cause Revatarded to be best selling Navi-ray so far this year"
Eli_1994 writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 9:25:05 AM

I Was at best buy yesterday evening and the associate told me that the 3D version is coming out in July this year, not next year
TRUEMAN writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 9:26:49 AM

LET'S MAKE A QUIZ!

1. who in this site is going to buy this piece of blue sh*t????
2. who the hell is a Sam W. and J. Cameron lover???
coldplayesence writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 9:37:39 AM

^^ Answering number 2: Aparently you, because you just write about them, sometimes in caps.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 9:43:50 AM

Worst Previews < Thank you, Mr. Obvious.

You know what ? I may be the only human on the planet who hasn't seen Avatar. And doesn't plan to.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 9:44:39 AM

It looks like a Smurf ripoff of ThunderCats being f*cked in the ass by manga anyway.
jeffw1978 writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 10:20:46 AM

So the f*cking avatards were going ape sh*t yesterday then.
warlord writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 10:22:02 AM

it will allso brake records as the #1 trade-in at movie stop
Eben1277 writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 10:49:07 AM

Let the Hate Begin!!!!
rabid writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 12:10:51 PM

Not a surprise. I'm holding off for the 3D bluray.
Ranger writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 12:31:29 PM

I liked Avatar.

Won't buy any of the DVD's (it's only at it's most reasonable in 3D IMAX).

Nice thing with a release like this is... the Avatards are too busy creaming in their girdles to come here to WP thinking Cameron needs or values their support.

Good for James.
Good for Avatards.
Let's move on.
SuluNakamura writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 12:32:11 PM

Wow, enjoy rebuying the movie when it's released again with special features, *ssholes.
Ranger writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 12:49:29 PM

@Sulu - exactly. Even when Cameron himself comes out saying that this Earth Day version pretty much sucks... and other/better versions are coming out... this still sells.

LOL!

Avatar - Blu-Ray - available at every garage sale within a year (NO wait... Avatards will be worshiping that DVD, what am I talking about?!)!
SACdaddy writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 12:54:34 PM

f*ck it, I'll buy it when the next Blockbuster has a going out of business sale and I can get it for $5.
Ranger writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 1:00:33 PM

$5. will include a blow-job from the little princess working behind the counter by then as... well... she'll be out of job! I already have the girl(s) at my Blockbuster picked out.

lost_addict writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 1:08:09 PM

'Avatar' sucked.James Cameron last movie was 'true lies'.After that he died.
Ranger writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 1:19:32 PM

Loved True Lies.

Cameron even made Tom Arnold funny in that!
takai writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 1:55:01 PM

All of this money being made, and it's STILL not bigger than Star Wars (popularity/legitimacy).
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 3:33:15 PM

Another example of human de-evolution
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 3:34:58 PM

"All of this money being made, and it's STILL not bigger than Star Wars (popularity/legitimacy)."

(Originality, story, character, plot)
KirkLazerus writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 3:53:51 PM

@ Ranger- Tom Arnold is never funny

well he did marry Roseann, my bad Ranger i take back my statement.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 4:54:34 PM

who gives a sh*t. i no longer will set my expectations for anything about this film low money-wise and will always expect it to break records. f*ck you Avatards and go pet a blue waffle.
Lister writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 5:54:23 PM

@takai

Yes of course. I forgot the final say on whether or not Avatar is as big as Star Wars is determined by some faggot on WP.

And for christ's sake, Star Wars is not more original than Avatar. You guys need to wake up from your dream worlds, its pathetic. This place is pseudo-intellectual heaven, f*ck.
jigsaw23 writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 5:57:01 PM

i am still not going to buy it
jigsaw23 writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 6:01:02 PM

i will just have sex with mystique from x men if most do not know. so f*ck the blue aliens in avatar.
jigsaw23 writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 6:03:31 PM

and what i want do do is make a shirt or something of a predator ripping the navi's heads off
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 7:26:12 PM

^Aliens vs Predators vs Navi. Its all 20th century fox; they been planning that sh*t from the start...
vwkombi writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 10:15:38 PM

@ Lister

Actually, i would love to hear your views on why Avatar could be considered this generations 'Star Wars'.
Rodan writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 11:42:15 PM

Wait are you saying Star Wars was completely original while Avatar was completely unoriginal? I'm sure Lucas wrote a TON of thank you notes to Akira Kurosawa, not to mention he put about every archetype that exists into play.
Rodan writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 11:44:28 PM

Don't get me wrong, though, I love Star Wars. And you won't ever see me arguing that Avatar WAS original.
Lister writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 12:27:40 AM

@vwkombo

Maybe the fact they're both scifi movies that steal from different stories, packed with revolutionary effects, and became the highest grossing films of all time. Not to mention the crazy fan base and the cultural impact, such as China renaming a freaking mountain after it and Palestinians dressing up as Na'vi. Add to that the pseudo-intellectual hate, which is everywhere on this website, I'd say you've got a Star Wars. Regardless of whether or not some user called Takai on a movie news website whose forums are populated by porn spammers keeps denying it or not.
vwkombi writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 8:21:36 AM

@ Lister

Honestly, i think the movie to compare it to in terms of cinematic influence is Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within (blind Avatar followers, feel free to stop reading here, take my words out of context and make nonsensical arguments).

Sure Star Wars had a formulaic story (the reluctant chosen one, princess in turmoil, wise old mentor, evil wizard with a big army etc). It was imaginative in a way that truly captured the imagination and presented something new people hadn't ever seen so vividly before. Also, look at the story behind Star Wars. Even now it engages younger audiences who have grown up on far superior visual effects.

Now look at Avatar. James Cameron said he didn't want the story to take away from his visuals and his imaginative world. So essentially he gave us a heavily cliché script with about as much depth as Megan Foxs personality.

Now, to my original point of comparing Avatar to Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within. FF was the first mainstream movie that utilized 100% computer animation to create realistic humans. But it had such a terrible story and nobody really paid attention to anything beyond the effects. 9 years after its release, it has been pretty much forgotten because better films have come out.

I think Avatar is destined to suffer the same fate. Sure, everyone is circle jerking to it now and companies are sucking every dollar they can out of it. But in 10 years, better movies will come out with the same tech and Avatar will become second place to them.

Also, don't get me wrong, i actually enjoyed Avatar (it got far more right than wrong), but calling it this generations Star Wars is almost insulting. That says that this generation is slow-minded and will suck up anything.

Wait, Transformers 2 made millions, Twilight and Harry Potter are major cultural icons and Avenged Sevenfold are viewed as one of the greatest metal bands. Hmm, maybe Avatar is the best we are going to get.
Lister writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 1:47:00 PM

Yea, in 10 years everybody will totally forget about Avatar. Especially when the super budget sequel comes out, or if countries plan on renaming anymore mountains after it.

Final Fantasy? You're crazy.
vwkombi writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 9:33:44 PM

@ Lister

Yep. I don't see Avatar as a cinematic gem or a game changer. Like FF:TSW it started something, but another film is going to come along and out-do it.

About the whole mountain thing:
http://www.thaindian.com/newsportal/world-news/chinese-peaks-name-change-not-inspired-by-avatar_100311057.html
Rodan writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 1:00:34 AM

@vwkombi, I don't think it's accurate to compare FF to Avatar. FF made $32 million domestically on a $137 million budget while Avatar made $745 million domestically on a budget of probably a few hundred million (I couldn't find an exact number). People don't remember FF because they didn't like it. As you know because of the many records Avatar has broken (box office and now Blu-ray apparently) the general population likes Avatar. So people saw something in Avatar that they didn't see in FF. Therefore your likening of the two is pretty inaccurate, other than technological innovation. Maybe Avatar will be forgotten in 10 years. But I hardly think FF is a case that proves so.
vwkombi writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 4:33:34 AM

@ Rodan

I know Avatar is a little bit more popular than FF. But Avatar also had a far better marketing campaign, big name actors and was James Camerons return to film making. If Cameron had've used the FF script instead of Avatars, it still would've been praised. You know as well as i do that's true.

FF does have a good following, and everyone i show the film to enjoys it. Most people who jerk off to Avatar would love FF.
takai writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 4:43:58 AM

@Lister - I never said Star Wars was original. I merely said that it was still bigger than Avatar as far as popularity/fans/credibility go. And it shouldn't be that way. It took Star Wars 30+ years to build it's 'empire' (oh snap reference!) James Cameron doesn't want to spend that kind of time, but he still wants the fruits of that much labor. That is why I point out his failure at said achievement.

Oh, and thanks for letting your 8 year old self come out long enough for him to seriously type the word 'faggot' on this board. Bravo

@Rodan - Yes, Lucas has credited Kurosawa time and time again for many ideas and inspirations that went into making Star Wars, and rightfully so. (Kurosawa fan right here)

Again, I am in no way saying Star Wars is completely original, but I can definitely say that it masks it's theft of ideas way better than Avatar does, whether or not some infant named Lister wants to come on here and misinterpret what I say, only to make himself look more ignorant.

@vwkombi - The FF parallel is a little hard for me to agree with, considering the names involved with Avatar, let alone the records it set.

Don't get me wrong, I would love for everyone to forget it 10 years from now, but I don't think that'll happen.
takai writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 4:45:23 AM

@vwkombi - I would recommend Advent Children before Spirits Within, even though Spirits Within's story is easier to keep up with.
takai writes:
on April 25th, 2010 at 5:03:09 AM

correction to my first response :

I merely said that it was still bigger than Avatar as far as popularity/fans/credibility go. And it SHOULD* be that way.


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved