WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel Working on Dr. Strange, Luke Cage Movies

Posted: April 22nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marvel Working on Dr. Strange, Luke Cage MoviesSubmit Comment
We all know about how little Marvel is willing to pay actors who star in their movies. But now, the budgets of the movies themselves will begin getting cut.

According to Chud, the studio has been meeting with writers and directors to bring many of the less-popular characters to the big screen. The goal is to keep the budgets in the range of $20 million to $40 million, instead of $100 million to $150 million that have been used so far.

Filmmakers are being offered their pick of characters who are only familiar to comic fans. Properties like Dr. Strange, Ka-Zar, Luke Cage, Dazzler and Power Pack are among the many that are being tossed around.

Question: Which third-tier character should Marvel bring to the big screen?

Source: Chud


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
CCBlev writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 8:46:12 PM

This could be good. If they did what they did with District 9 on 30 million, love to see what they can do with 20-40 million dollar budget.
DDTrussoni writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 8:46:25 PM

Se-Hulk!!!!
DDTrussoni writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 8:46:55 PM

woops, I meant She-Hulk!!!
rabid writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 8:49:14 PM

She-Hulk comics are hilarious! I'd love a good she-hulk film.
thedotsays writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 9:02:04 PM

Luke Cage!!, Go grizzly like the first Blade movie. Cast Terry Crewes Nuff Said.
SofaKing writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 9:17:05 PM

Psylocke could be good, as long as it isn't like Elecktra and Catwoman... They can't seem to make a chick bad ass and hot at the same time, why is this so hard!?
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 9:22:06 PM

Squirrel Girl.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 9:25:27 PM

Honestly, though I think Dr. Strange would be the best choice. The character is interesting, and it would be cool to see a "mystical" take on the traditional Marvel superhero template.

My second choice would definitely still be Squirrel Girl, and her sidekick Monkey Joe. I'd just like to see her "defeat" Dr. Doom as she did in the comics, so I can hear Doom say "Confound these wretched rodents! For every one I fling away, a dozen more vex me!"

That would be Marvel cinematic gold.
DetroitFanRick writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 9:45:55 PM

The Dr. Strange animated movie was awesome. If they could do a live action version of it I'm sure the fans would flock to the theaters.
Lizardking515 writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 9:53:05 PM

Black panther!!!!!!
lost_addict writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 9:57:11 PM

who the f*ck is chud?
greed71 writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 10:22:52 PM

they misspronounced it, it's actualy Chode
whoever writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 10:48:30 PM

If they do Dr Strange I think the best choice would be Nestor Carbonell.
AshTrey writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 11:00:58 PM

ugh.. I thought we learned our lesson from movies like the phantom and the rockerteer
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 11:14:43 PM

Doctor Strange. Definitely. And I know who should play him. Johnny Depp or Mark Strong (in the same manner as the villian in Sherlock Holmes, regarding demeanor).

Or my other nominations : Cloak and Dagger, Nth the Ultimate Ninja (New Universe days, a Howard the Duck sequel (NO REMAKE OR REBOOT!!!!) (yes! I will take the rotten tomatoes thrown at me!); Iron Fist (Or Luke Cage & Iron Fist as Heroes for Hire), The Taskmaster and Nomad,
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 11:15:46 PM

The Rockerteer ? There was an old-age superhero in a rocker ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 11:17:51 PM

@lost_addict

I thought it was a horror film from the 80s.
tcu21 writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 11:40:18 PM

Dr. Strange is my 1st choice if they cast the right actor.
Don't know much about Luke Cage.
Power Pack would be pretty lame.
Dazzler would be an Elektra repeat.
Bonzaitri writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 12:15:21 AM

This has the potential to be a very good decision. If they find either an established director with some credibility who can get alot out of a small budget like Del Toro, or go the District Nine route and find a new Neil Blomkamp, someone who has done some impressive work with very little resources and see what happens. Instead of spending 3 or 4 hundred million on a new transformers movie, someone could finance many promising new filmmakers projects instead. I do think that if District Nine could be made on such a small budget, then there is no reason why others can't follow suit and figure out creative ways to deliver the goods on a smaller budget.
IRONDAN writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 12:55:08 AM

I good third tier character that could make a good movie would be Falcon.... think about it

Get a rising star that doesn't need a big paycheck say Columbus Short and you could make a nice low budget action/thriller movie

and in future Captian America movies (assuming the first is good and there is demand for more) you can have them team up if things get boring with just Chris Evans

You don't need a lot of money to make a great action movie. Look at Desperado is cost only 8 million.... then again it didn't have a black guy from Harlem dressed like a big red bird fighting crime..... I think i just convinced myself i had a bad idea?
Eben1277 writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 1:16:02 AM

There was already a low budget Dr Strange movie, it was called Dr Mordred and starred the guy from Re-Animator (Jeff something, I'm drawing a blannk on his last name)

Seriously though, Dr Strange probablyy would be the best way to go. Actually the best would be Silver Surfer, but that couldn't bE done well on a limited budget, and they'd have to throw away the events from FF2. Someone said Luke Cage and Iron Fist, that could have potential, Iron Fist done right is a total bad ass. He actually shared a villain with the Silver Surfer, not that that has anything to do with anything.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 2:03:13 AM

Elephantmen movie is gonna be tits. Can't wait!
encoreyourface writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 2:16:41 AM

comes to no real surprise really a Dr.Strange film is kind of a must. Luke Cage a little more surprising but not really a shocker either.

not a fan of Cage but Strange sounds awesome.
Rodan writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 2:25:45 AM

@whoever, I checked out Nestor Carbonell, that guy looks just like him. Good call, good call. I think Dr. Strange could be done very well. They just need a guy behind the camera who knows what he's doing (not Joe Johnston). I'd like to see Frank Darabont take a stab at it.
masht7 writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 4:43:28 AM

Only Dr. Strange. What I really want to see is Sub-Mariner.
JohnZee writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 4:50:59 AM

Talking sh*t about the Rocketeer on here, why am I not surprised. The comic book series wasn't that bad, decent storyline, and the art was exceptional. Not to mention it was one of the first comics with a healthy dose of cheesecake. The girlfriend of the Rocketeer was based off of Bettie Page. Not going to assume that anyone here knows who she is, but google her name and see how many hits and images you get. Also one of the first non DC or Marvel comic books that got it's own feature film with Timothy Dalton playing the bad guy and Jennifer Connely played the role of the girlfriend that was inspired by Bettie Page. Of course that was when Jennifer Connely had those big ole titties. Excellent comic, and decent movie.

Just another example that Marvel is more concerned with keeping to an extremely low budget then anything else. You know what offering up their characters to any film company that can shoot a movie at $20 million to $30 million is going to do?

Going to end up with a string of seriously mediocre Marvel movies. But their willing to do such a thing in the hopes that they have another C-list Marvel hero mega hit like Blade. And studios that are willing to saturate the market like that with a lot of bad movies in the hopes of getting lucky and having one great movie not only quickly disappoint themselves, but also their fans.

But if I had to pick, I would probable pick Dr. Strange. He certainly has potential, but way too many damned magical items, books, and other crap that does far more to get in the way and make people question his mystical ability.

I'd start it off with someone interviewing him in the big house in Greenwich Village with all of his crappy gaudy sh*t, and then in the middle of the interview have unknown mystical forces destroy all that sh*t, including his mansion. Have him and Wong walking away from the exploding mansion. Then a little knocking the dust and debris off and him showing that he doesn't need any of that crap and in truth it is all just bullsh*t window dressing.

I'd concentrate on the whole Zoroastian thing, you know not the Christian good and evil thing which wasn't really Stan Lee and Steve Ditko's original Dr. Strange philosophy, but the whole truth vs. the lie thing. And have Strange continually peeling away the layers of lies that his enemies have presented to obscure themselves from him and the world.

And of course an escalating progression of more powerful mystical villains. Silver Dagger, Baron Modru, Dorammu, and finally at the end Shuma-Gorath.

Anyone got $30 million dollars I can borrow?

encoreyourface writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 5:22:21 AM

'd start it off with someone interviewing him in the big house in Greenwich Village with all of his crappy gaudy sh*t, and then in the middle of the interview have unknown mystical forces destroy all that sh*t, including his mansion. Have him and Wong walking away from the exploding mansion. Then a little knocking the dust and debris off and him showing that he doesn't need any of that crap and in truth it is all just bullsh*t window dressing.

actually doesn't sound that bad of an idea. good thinking ...
RuGhi writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 5:33:23 AM

What is the darkest underground marvel character????

Not that i think he is the darkest or anything but i would like to see a shocker movie :D or the rise of carnage???
Who's with me?
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 6:05:13 AM

The only superhero film I want made now is Powdered Toast Man.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 6:11:54 AM

Hawkeye, Hercules, Ares, Sentry or Ironfist to name a few more.
dlrippr writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 10:17:44 AM

Mark Strong as Dr Strange.
Stuntastic writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 10:39:20 AM

@thedot: I'm with you on that one. Terry Crews would be perfect.
Eben1277 writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 10:45:27 AM

The darkest underground Marvel character has to be the dude from Terror Inc.
scarface85 writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 11:55:07 AM

luke cage!
Waterford Butter Scoops writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 2:16:12 PM

deadpool would be a cool character for a movie.
Blade12322 writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 3:01:47 PM

Gary Coleman for Luke Cage!!


what? someone had to say it
pomme writes:
on April 24th, 2010 at 10:31:38 AM

dr strange!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved