WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Friday the 13th" Sequel is Dead

Posted: April 22nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Friday the 13th" Sequel is DeadSubmit Comment
We've been hearing about a sequel to "Friday the 13th," ever since the 2009 film grossed $40 million during its opening weekend. Movies usually end up earning three times the opening numbers, but "Friday" only ended up with $65 million domestically. Still not bad considering that it only cost $19 million to make.

Platinum Dunes producer Brad Fuller has been promising more creative kills, a story that would take place at a snow-covered location, the return of Derek Mears as Jason Voorhees, and to have the film in theaters by this summer. But that was many months ago, things have changed.

Fuller was just asked about the status of the sequel, to which he responded: "it is dead - not happening."

Click here to read our "Friday the 13th" review.

Source: Twitter


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
OwenWilsonsNose writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 5:20:40 AM

Good. Sick of the sh*tty young actors that are in all of these movies.
burman writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 5:39:33 AM

Indeed. The remake was OK but it was still sh*t compared to the originals, I fear for the new freddy film too. The only remake I would be interested in is Hellraiser.
vwkombi writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 5:41:33 AM

Wait, where will i see boobs. Wait, i'm on the internet. Awesome.
trailertrash writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 5:41:39 AM

Jason Doesn't Live...........
blinkbomber writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 6:27:06 AM

well maybe i'm the only one who finds this sad news. i mean i liked the remake and all, not the greatest but i always enjoy watching Jason kill folks... plus the prospect of crystal lake in the winter seemed enticing... *sigh*
johnny_boy writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 6:46:53 AM

That's a shame. Not cuz the first was good( which I thought it wasn't) but cuz they know how to cast women with great tits. The girl in the begining getting boned in the tent and the girl at the end boning the friend, those were some great tits!
CyberpunkCentral writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 6:48:16 AM

That sucks. I mean sure the remake or reboot whatever the f*ck you what to call it, wasn't as good as the originals. But that doesn't mean a sequel has no potential.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 7:02:36 AM

I'm sure they'll change their minds eventually. There's a lot of potential for F13 sequels and the studio will realize how much money they won't be making. The worst possible thing would be to wait a couple years and try to reboot it again. This one wasn't that bad. The main problem with it was all the bitching from people that had never seen the first 3 movies. "Jason doesn't run - he's a zombie - he always wore a hockey mask - too many scenes with the teenagers."
lost_addict writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 7:40:27 AM

stay dead.
Eddie writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 8:22:45 AM

Good. This remake was one I was excited for only to have my childhood icon sh*t on. Not only did they turn Jason Voorhees into something entirely different but the use of barbie and ken looking actors was a bit too much. I remember sitting in the theater thinking Im still giving this a chance, it may get better. Then I looked at my watch and realized it was an hour into the film. I'm not against remakes of older horror films but it just seems none of them capture what they orginally did. TCM was one I actually thought was good and a worthy remake. But Friday failed in every aspect. I would rather see a direct sequel to the old series (taking place before the space crap of course).
CyberpunkCentral writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 9:13:14 AM

@Eddie How did they turn Jason Voorhees into something entirely different?
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 9:18:58 AM

GOOD cause Jason can now kickback from digging anymore strategic underground tunnels and relax with some more pro archery time as he practices more bi-locating onto room tops with ease.
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 9:23:10 AM

@Eddie
Agreed
@Cyberpunk
they made jason turn into a "smart" killer with all his stupid ass spot light setups... and all his unbelievable underground tunnels made... and his ability to lead someone with an arrow as they drive a speed boat ... and get a HEADSHOT? really? thats not jason... thats like... Jason BOURNE sh*t!
johnny_boy writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 9:49:26 AM

@ Ted.... Very good analysis
makingcircles writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 10:04:49 AM

@Ted...Good Call

@Johnny... Dude, the first thing I thought of when I read this article is "Damn...those titties were some of the best I've ever seen in a movie!" lol. Referring to the chick at the end. Damn she was hot.
The-BRAD writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 10:32:08 AM

Right there with you Johnny Boy, & Makingcircles
warlord writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 11:50:41 AM

we will hear the same about nightmare on elm street
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 12:12:11 PM

Lol, yeah it's dead.......and as you walk slowly away, it sits up suddenly and starts chasing after you!!
SaulSilver writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 12:28:28 PM

Probably a good thing...they did a good job of giving Jason his hottest set of girls to slice and dice....but that was about it.
makingcircles writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 12:34:59 PM

I googled her... her name is Julianna Guill
rabid writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 12:40:17 PM

Bummer! I was looking forward to seeing this. I thought the last remake was creative. I was looking forward to seeing Camp Crystal Lake in the winter.
greed71 writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 12:44:43 PM

true but i hate those false endings, plus supernatural f*kin rocks so im thinking Sammy went demon killer on his ass... or realy just hopeing........sweep the leg and runnnnnnn
SACdaddy writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 12:58:09 PM

LOL!!! I'll believe it when I see it. Something tells me the only thing dead is this guy's involvement in the series. We all know you can't kill Jason, especially now that he's actually "sprinting" in his movies.

I didn't mind the last film. It wasn't really a remake so it didn't sh*t on any childhood icon imo. Jason looked badass and he did his usual bang-up job with the kills, so what's not to like? The film made money and didn't really piss anyone (especially those with a pair of testicles) off, so why not keep it going? Its not like it takes very much to put one of these films together. $20mill is a great bargain for the results they got from the first reboot. Jason will live again.
Whitta writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 1:15:25 PM

get f*cked, i want a friday 13th part 13
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 1:43:22 PM

@Johnny_Boy & makingcircles
Thanks... I just was so let down with the movie... I LOVE Jason Voorhees to no end but the recent one had too many "WTF?" moments... and in result of that, its making me have some doubt for the new Nightmare on Elm Street... even though I'm really pumped for it... but then again so was I for Friday the 13th 2 years back... made by the same company n Michael Bay -_- so lets home they got their act together for Nightmare on Elm Street ...or look forward to a severe breakdown from Ted Mosby AGAIN!!
JohnZee writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 2:08:33 PM

Crappy remakes of crappy horror movies.
Growing up the only Friday the 13th that ever scared me even for a split second was the very first one. Nightmare on Elm Street the entire franchise was about as laughable and as juvenile as they come.

Do these movies actually scare anyone, besides an occasional baby?

I've seen drunken Santa Claus at the mall invoke much more fear in a group of people...

CyberpunkCentral writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 2:36:26 PM

@Ted Mosby

I never really saw Jason as dumb killer. Like how the way he attacks it's prey, and being able to take care of himself as a young boy. You know Jason isn't like Leatherface where he's ordered to kill people like a mentally retarded henchmen. Jason knows EXACLY what he's doing.

Oh and if you seen "Friday The 13th: Part 3" you should know that Jason killed one of his victims in the eye with a speargun.
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 2:46:03 PM

@Cyberpunk
yeah but it wasn't shot from 100 yards away while on a speedboat moving at high speeds... He had to LEAD the guy for the HEADSHOT... theres NO WAY he could do all that... I mean the guy almost got fooled by the girl at the end thinking it was his mother... He must be a genius huh... Do you really buy that Jason was able to dig all those underground tunnels?
makingcircles writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 3:11:51 PM

@Ted - If Nightmare on Elm Street blows I'll be breaking down with ya.
CyberpunkCentral writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 3:15:01 PM

@Ted Mosby

I never said Jason was smart. He's just not as dumb as people think.

"Do you really buy that Jason was able to dig all those underground tunnels?"

Isn't it possible though? I mean it's not like he has anything better to do all those years living in Camp Crystal Lake besides killing sex-crazed teenagers.
jigsaw23 writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 4:55:40 PM

dammit these reboots are better than the originals although i did like them
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 5:07:46 PM

@Cyberpunk
i REALLY doubt he'd be able to do that ALONE... pretty much build mining tunnels alone? hes a serial killer not a Prospector! Even if he did WHY would he do that? Is trying to find coal as a side job when killings are slow?...
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 5:09:38 PM

@makingcircles
hahaha agreed... I still have high hopes but I have that "I'm not really surprised" attitude towards it... I know Rorschach will rape it as Freddy... hes a great actor i have faith him completely.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 5:28:01 PM

@ Ted Mosby - totally with you on those points, the tunnels and the shot that even Martain Riggs couldnt have pulled off!

BUT, think back to every single one of those movies, are we all forgetting his ability to teleport?! one min hes behind walking like he has piles, the next hes stepping out infront of some poor screaming fool.......now i get that he KNOWS the woods really well.....but come on! a distance is still distance! lol not complaining though, grew up with that cheese!
Ted Mosby writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 5:32:47 PM

@AYT BALL
hahah dude i agree about him teleporting around is fine ... its in ever classic horror movie but the thing that bothers me in the newest friday the 13th was the scene after he killed the asian dude in the shed... then axed the black guy... then suddenly... hes on top of the roof? How'd he get up there? Watch the scene... jus LEAPS up there in seconds lol Jason must be rockin some Air Jordans or something to make that leap of faith...
trailertrash writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 6:05:36 PM

Jason and Michael Myers scared me most because not matter how fast you could run (which would be f*cking super quick if it was me they were chasing) they will just walk at that same steady speed and catch you up !! WTF that just freaked me out no end...

Looking forward to the new nightmare movie, fingers crossed it will be half as good as the original and i will be happy..
trailertrash writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 6:06:32 PM

no matter !! edit button
Left On The Moss writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 6:06:38 PM

I say it's about time. I've had enough of film producers making the same movies over and over again.
J.A.Ottley writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 7:53:37 PM

Would be beautiful if this title said Platinum Dune Remake producers dead.....
rabid writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 8:20:33 PM

It's not farfetched to assume Crystal Lake could have once been a mining town.
My favorite takeon Jason so far is from the DC comic where his mom was raped and battered by her satanist husband. Jason started talking to her from the womb telling her to chop him up. Later he was born deformed from all the physical abuse and Pamela went on the run, hiding out as a cook at Crystal Lake.
DetroitFanRick writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 9:54:11 PM

No big loss in my book. Never did like slasher films. They just don't do anything for me.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 10:52:00 PM

Someone's holdin' out for more money.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 11:20:51 PM

@Left of the Moss

You're not the only one on that. There is a concensus on that, trust me.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 2:21:37 AM

sounds real convincing. would be surprising if they really where making it. am i the only one who thought the remake was a great slasher?

Rabid-that sounds f*cking awesome, i gotta read that some time.
Rodan writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 2:31:10 AM

That's fine with me. If you've seen one Friday you've seen 'em all. Never understood why they were so successful. Maybe good filmmaking will be resurrected to take it's place.
masht7 writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 4:33:44 AM

To be honest, I was really interested with how they were going to clear ou the mistakes they did in FT13th remake. And honesty again, I would of seen this this anyway.
Eddie writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 9:16:40 AM

what ted mosby said. plus, jason doesn't kidnap. sacdaddy- I'm glad you found enjoyment from the film. I just felt MY childhood icon was sh*t on. It's all a matter of perspective I suppose. The remake just wasn't what I expected of a $ason film. It bored the hell out of me and I stand by my statement that Jason was portrayed out of his past established character. I did enjoy the funny redneck but found it lame how Jason got his hockey mask. It's cool I guess if others enjoyed the remake. I still have my original run to enjoy myself. Would really like to see a bad ass sequel though done right. The winter setting does indeed sound cool.
warlord writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 10:17:02 AM

so was escape from new york but that back on

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved