WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Avatar" Sequel to Focus on Pandora's Ocean

Posted: April 21st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Avatar" Sequel to Focus on PandoraSubmit Comment
LA Times caught up with director James Cameron, who spoke about an "Avatar" sequel and revealed that 20th Century Fox is planning to re-release the film in theaters again.

Regarding the sequel: "Part of my focus in the second film is in creating a different environment a different setting within Pandora. And I'm going to be focusing on the ocean on Pandora, which will be equally rich and diverse and crazy and imaginative, but it just won't be a rain forest. I'm not saying we won't see what we've already seen; we'll see more of that as well."

He added that the sequel will not explore the Alpha Centauri AB system, where the Pandora moon exists. "We expand out across that system and incorporate more into the story not necessarily in the second film, but more toward a third film."

Regarding re-release: "We're working on finishing an additional six minutes of the film for a theatrical re-release in August. We were sold out of our IMAX performances right up to the moment until they were contractually obligated to switch to 'Alice in Wonderland,' so we know we left money on the table there. We went from declining 8% a week to declining 50%. Clearly, it wasn't market forces directly; it was the availability of theaters.

So we're going to wait until there's a time to come back in, inject the new footage into the mix and see if we can interest people in the 'Avatar' experience in theaters. It'll be interesting because it'll be on DVD by then, but I think 'Avatar' is kind of a unique category where people are enjoying the unique theatrical experience even though they may have seen it on the small screen.
"

Click here to read our "Avatar" review.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 57 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rick Taps writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 4:02:30 AM

Time to plug in the money printer again.
lost_addict writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 4:10:53 AM

rip james cameron.thank you for aliens.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 4:12:58 AM

uh,GAY
johnny_boy writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 4:23:10 AM

Already bored
pomme writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 4:39:31 AM

i see many blue!!!
AYT BALL writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 4:45:41 AM

Abyss 2? in 3D!!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 4:54:40 AM

f*ck ME!!! I am really disliking this man, I forgave him for the piece of sh*t sh*tantic as I knew it wasn't my movie, whilst T1, T2, Aliens and Ghosts of the Abyss (Titanic doc)are, but jesus christ Cameron give it a rest.

As I've said before because the technology is already there maybe they can work on getting the script right!!!!
masht7 writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 4:55:26 AM

It's Offical: This film is in Production and James Cameron is out (thinking of another way to make films R.I.P)and Raja Gosnell is directing it and the movies called: The Smurfs Movie, and it stars Neil Patrick Harris. I CAN PRODICT THE FUTURE!
masht7 writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 4:56:52 AM

Oh, and for the record, I quite enjoyed Titanic, it is overated but not too overated.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 5:10:29 AM

To paraphrase:

FRIG ME I'M SO FANTASTIC AND WOULD LIKE MORE MONEY PLEZ?
telur writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 5:49:17 AM

i still can't believe avatar is number one box office of all time
encoreyourface writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 5:53:32 AM

not a naviblue.com fan i see?

i was on there (for laughs) and i read this one guy was watching it at least every week and has watched it over 35 times ... undoubtedly more since this was before it left theaters ...
masht7 writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 6:15:12 AM

God, I've got to be a member on that site.
Lizardking515 writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 6:48:12 AM

Hope the sequels have more story to them. Ugh
TRUEMAN writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 8:46:41 AM

what a douche bag he looks so retard/gay on that montage!
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 9:20:02 AM

Ok so it is official. Avatar is about Smurfs because the sequel is about the Snorks!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 9:37:39 AM

@Encore: Naviblue is hilarious. Used to go there a lot until I got banned. Twice.
WV-Films writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 10:05:25 AM

Wait a minute. Wait a minute. James Cameron is doing a movie about something in an ocean. Who saw that coming?
CCBlev writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 10:59:10 AM

@Fruedian
What the hell did you do to get banned, twice? lol Maybe I don't wanna know lol
Stuntastic writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 11:04:31 AM

@AytBall: Man, I was thinking the same thing. Plus Avatar sucks on DVD without a 3D TV...that is all
warlord writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 11:04:56 AM

thank god i thought i was the only one alive that realy hates avatar and the *sshole that made it cameron! its good to see others that feel the same..............im not alone :)
Salvador writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 11:57:21 AM

Is this the 'Star Wars" syndrome? :(
Ranger writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 12:21:09 PM

@Stunt - exactly - Avatar in 3D IMAX or not at all. I liked the movie. Won't but the DVD. Don't care for a sequel. I don't mind Cameron milking this first movie. But the sequel is just beating a dead dog.

@Mash - same - I liked Titanic (until that bitch let Jack freeze to death as she hogged up the only floating piece of wood!) - it is a bit over-rated... but not too much (like you said).

Cameron... take your Avatar technology and do another Aliens movie!!!
Ranger writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 12:27:02 PM

but = buy.

SACdaddy writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 12:54:23 PM

James Cameron can do whatever he wants and I'll give it a chance. IMO he's never failed to deliver cutting edge entertainment or made me feel like I wasted my money. Aliens, Titanic (aka p*ssy factory), T1&2, The Abyss, and Avatar were all game changing films and will go down in history as some of the most influential (good and bad) ever made. Even True Lies (his worst film imo) is better than 90% of the films released last year.

Jesus, I cant believe I'm defending the Thundercat at the top of the page. You're not making it easy NaviJC.
Stuntastic writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 1:22:08 PM

@Ranger: Good call on that one Ranger. I'd luv to c some 3D aliens
Ranger writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 1:46:17 PM

@SAC - Titanic re: p*ssy factor - yep.

@Stunt - thx. Imagine Cameron coming out now with an Aliens-class movie with the Avatar technology. We'd be sh*tting in our seats! Do it Jimmy boy... do it!
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 2:00:55 PM

If he doesn't do Battle Angel next I'm going to defecate on a copy of Avatar and mail it to him.
Ranger writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 2:49:29 PM

Post the photos on here please!

HAWT!!!
minkowski writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 4:03:52 PM

Avatar: 200+ minutes of mind-jarring, c*cknumbing live-action ecoesque-Halo meets Thundercats, set in the world of Last of the Mohicans. Now, a sequel?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 4:27:03 PM

Yes Mink, a sequel.

Let's see which movies he rips off this time.
minkowski writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 4:45:24 PM

And yet, you admit to liking the first one, after months of menstruating angst?
DeVries writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 5:00:58 PM

How will we be able to see blue aliens f*cking in a blue ocean, you f*cking James Cameron! I guess you'll invent a new thermal goggles then buy yourself a f*cking planet called MyPenis with the sh*t load of cash?
nope.com writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 5:41:45 PM

*Yawn*
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 6:14:28 PM

"And yet, you admit to liking the first one, after months of menstruating angst?"

HAHAHAHAHA what the f*ck? where did you get THAT from? I said the cgi was pretty good, and that was the ONLY POSITIVE about this movie.
Rodan writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 6:22:03 PM

bunnyfoofoo, he's not doing Battle Angel until after he's done with Avatar. I know, I was looking forward to that one too. I'm sure he'll decide to do a third Avatar film about protecting the ozone, and THEN he might get around to Battle Angel.
Hollywood1086 writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 6:40:16 PM

how about you stfu you greedy f*ck and just be happy with all the millions upon millions the movie did make.
tcu21 writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 7:16:08 PM

While I agree that the movie was good only for its visuals, no one is forcing anyone to sit through it again so who really cares if Cameron is making money in a way that is proven to work?

Doesn't make him a bad director, people have made much worse movies than 'Avatar' that don't get blasted as bad as him.
Ranger writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 8:20:15 PM

@Hollywood - Tinkerbell gives me wood!!!

Oh... as for an Avatar sequel. Hey... what can anyone do.

But seriously... Tinkerbell is that little skirt... BA-BOING!!!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 8:41:26 PM

"Doesn't make him a bad director, people have made much worse movies than 'Avatar' that don't get blasted as bad as him."

It does make him a bad director. Because sure there are way worse movies, but they didn't cost $300 million, AND they didn't push film making into the wrong direction (I was referring to "3-D" for those of you playing at home).
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 8:42:09 PM

I'd also like to point out that, even as a Na'Vi, cameron still looks like a douche.
grizzle writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 9:24:01 PM

YES MINKOWSKI IS BACK

Cameron sucks

End|User writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 9:52:11 PM

it might as well be named, "finding Avatar"
tcu21 writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 9:57:38 PM

You say 'Avatar' makes him a bad director, but look at his past credits, he's done great work. Can't hate on the guy for giving people what they're willing to pay for. If you're interested in a 3-D experience, then yeah Avatar is for you. But if you're looking for an original plot, character development, etc, it's not. So anyone who goes to the Avatar sequel knows what they're getting into. Nothing we can do about it and it's not worth bashing in my opinion. Not while Channing Tatum is still getting work.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 10:28:37 PM

"If you're interested in a 3-D experience, then yeah Avatar is for you. But if you're looking for an original plot, character development, etc, it's not."

I never thought I'd get to quote Harry S. Plinkett from RedLetterMedia.com, but here we go:

"Is that what all this 3-D sh*t [in Avatar] is gonna turn movies into? Like theme park rides? I probably wouldn't bitch about the plot to the Star Trek experience, or the Pirate of the Caribbean [ride]. sh*t, that's been in 3-D for over fourty years!"

Basically this means that you're stupid for supporting a director who clearly has the same post neck-fat disorder that George Lucas has.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 11:10:24 PM

Freudian-yep lol it is a fun site. also curious why you got banned ... did you lay it on 'em thick? by "it" i mean reality and told them Pandora wasn't real then they started whining to the moderators?
SACdaddy writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 11:11:38 PM

"how about you stfu you greedy f*ck and just be happy with all the millions upon millions the movie did make"

Don't you mean "billion upon billions"?
encoreyourface writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 12:47:18 AM

Avatard puts out hand for a handshake "hi i'm ready to kill myself in hopes I'll be reincarnated on a fictional planet"

*shake hands* "hi, i'm reality"

*pulls hand away*
tcu21 writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 8:41:51 AM

@Spooky

Sorry dude, but if you're going to attack someone personally because of their views on a director, then you're the moron here.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 12:25:57 PM

@Rodan, i know, I know, it saddens me to no end. I would so love for him to do BA. But I know this Snorks crap is on deck now.
billofill writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 1:42:34 PM

Pandorum have versions of Dolphin's and Orca's with brain tail thingsies too? Cause Jake could like find the Pandorum Titanic while he's at i.
billofill writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 1:42:37 PM

Pandorum have versions of Dolphin's and Orca's with brain tail thingsies too? Cause Jake could like find the Pandorum Titanic while he's at i.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 5:53:45 PM

Am I the only one around here actually mildly excited? Jeez...
rabid writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 8:26:53 PM

I'm pretty excited. Avatar was the most visually astounding film I've ever seen, and had a pretty decent storyline to boot. I'm more than mildly excited about this.
thedotsays writes:
on April 22nd, 2010 at 9:07:06 PM

Ha Snorks, I get it.
Affliction writes:
on April 23rd, 2010 at 7:23:25 AM

@Ranger---I would have thrown the old lady back in the water at the end of the movie until she found that diamond. And if she kept coming up with out it I would push her back down with a stick until she came up with something. Old c*nt.
johnthemon writes:
on April 30th, 2010 at 1:03:55 AM

I don't think this will be successful. Just put the director's cut on DVD, with some actual extras maybe. Idiot pompous bitch.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved