WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Kevin Conroy Says Christian Bale's Batman Voice is Terrible

Posted: April 20th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Kevin Conroy Says Christian BaleSubmit Comment
Kevin Conroy has been the voice of Batman in animated shows, movies and video games for nearly two decades. And during his C2E2 panel on Friday, he was asked to comment on Christian Bale's voice in "Batman Begins' and "The Dark Knight."

The question is obviously referring to the bizarre voice that Bale has been using to portray Batman, which has been the focus of many parodies. And you would think that Conroy would have nothing but positive things to say about Bale, but he surprising sided with the fans by agreeing that the voice is terrible.

He said: "[Bale is] an excellent actor. He just got steered wrong. Obviously someone should have stopped him and said 'You sound ridiculous.' But no one did. As actors, you have to trust the people on the other side of the camera, because you can't see what's going on. You're working in such a vacuum that you can convince yourself that anything is great. So you need a third eye to tell you that you're way off base. Unfortunately no one stopped him."

Source: ScreenRant


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
AshTrey writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 8:08:40 PM

Thanks for the update random dude. Bale just sounds like he has to burp for two hours.
GIST writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 8:11:22 PM

I personally thought that his Batman alias-voice should've sounded like a Chris Tucker type expression. Not an overexcited Richard Nixon.
Sinestro writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 8:19:16 PM

Kevin Conroy IS the voice of Batman. And he's right. But Christian Bale still kicks ass. To be fair, the voice was acceptable in the first movie, when Batman was first starting and still experimenting with the alternate persona. But it gets worse in the second movie. Oh, well, whatever... Bale still kick ass as Batman.
skatemaster62 writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 8:25:42 PM

haha he sounded like he needed to gargle some salt water hahaha
RickPeters writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 8:32:00 PM

I've always thought Bale's Batman voice was insanely badass.
johnny_boy writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 8:33:34 PM

Someones upset that he could never act as batman, only do his voice on cartoons
BigUnit writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 8:45:27 PM

if Nolan didnt mind it. I dont mind it.
CCBlev writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 9:03:50 PM

Doesn't bother me all the much, I think Conroy needs to stop crying that he'll never be Batman and get over it
rockkillers writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 9:07:35 PM

Tell us something we don't know. Even coming from a big fan of the two bale films, compared with Ledgers jokers psychotic voice he came up with in the film, it's pretty crap.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 9:10:38 PM

It's really not that bad in Begins. In Dark Knight they seemed to have took it up a notch which was unecessary. I thought it was pretty nice addition in Begins, the suit was also a better in begins because it went well with the voice. Bale was bigger, the suit was bigger, he looked meaner and more intimidating. The suit definitely needed the changes in terms of comfort and functionality for Bale both in real life and in the film, but aesthetically it was too stylish.
*ApocalypsiS* writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 9:31:35 PM

That's bullsh*t, Nolan knows what's he doing
darkraven28 writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 9:44:51 PM

Bale owned by Conroy! Awesome!
Ronsauce writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 9:49:28 PM

Man, some of you seem to have either Bale's or Nolan's c*cks planted firmly up your asses. Insulting THE voice of Batman because he agrees that Bale's Batman voice was goofy makes no sense.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 10:07:18 PM

Is that the same as his quote on TMZ " Christian Bale sounds like he is gargling volcanic lava and Lindsey Lohan's AIDS ridden c*m for hours on end. " ?
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 10:10:26 PM

I never found his "Batman" voice to be that bad. At least he's not doing an Adam West impersonation....although I'd love to hear Bale's Batman say "Some days you just can't get rid of a bomb!"
nope.com writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 10:15:10 PM

I think it's universally known already, Conroy is 2 years late jumping on that bandwagon
nope.com writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 10:15:36 PM

oh yeah and blah blah blah

blah blah blah, f*ck yourself Michael Bay
Lowryder writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 10:43:15 PM

Bales batman voice can be anoying at times, but i still think hes the best batman yet, Conroy is a fat f*ck who was never loved as a child, he was just a voice in cartoons and hez just pissed he will never actually play batman..except in the home movies he makes with is dad
Sinestro writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 10:58:55 PM

What the f*ck? What's with the Conroy hate? The dude has personified Batman for an entire generation. You guys didn't watch the show in the early 90's? Didn't play the new video-game? Most people who read the Batman books will tell you that when they read the Batman dialogue, they hear Conroy's voice in their heads, not Bale. And he wasn't hating on Bale. He's not jumping on any bandwagon. He was asked a question, and he answered honestly. And he called him a great actor, is not like he's saying the dude did a poor job. You guys are harsh.
FBO writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 11:24:05 PM

You calls this harsh? What til we get into a debate about Obama or Bush, that gets harsh. No one here has said anything worse than what we've said about McG; Michael Bay; Bret Ratner; or the GI JOE movie.
FBO writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 11:24:27 PM

Or gay ass FOX Studios
Sinestro writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 11:46:29 PM

lol. I guess. I don't post a lot on here. I always see a lot of fights. And bad things being said about a dude named Vin and his dad. And some other dude who I forget.
lost_addict writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 12:08:03 AM

I like batman voice...beat the hell of of toby spidey fag voice
Dark writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 12:24:19 AM

f*ck you all Conroy haters. I agree with him, bale sounded like a f*cking retard.
ilovemovies82 writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 12:38:13 AM

I think I trust Chris Nolan more than I would trust this guy. Bale's Batman voice is perfectly fine.
encoreyourface writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 1:07:55 AM

no sh*t we all knew that no f*cking secret. i didn't think it was necessarily terrible, but it was not good. but i'm okay with that becuase it disguised his voice well and that's all he really needed to do. no need to be fancy about it he wasn't a negotiator he was a crime-fighter no need to talk much.
kagai writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 1:56:11 AM

His voice can't be all bad, it did spawn this...lol

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NgCM46CSwd8
masht7 writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 2:44:16 AM

Christian sound fine in Batman Begins but in the second one he sounded like he had asthma.
steaknugget26 writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 2:55:56 AM

i really don't mind Bale's voice. It's fine for the movie. the cartoon was different, i grew up with the burton and 90's animated series so for years Conroy was Batman. I saw online a couple years ago a scene from Begins with Conroy's voice dubbed in....now that was ridiculous. Two different actors in two different times.
Projekt SHIN writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 3:54:56 AM

since when do i care what conroy has to say.. his batman was a damn joke...
Lizardking515 writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 6:36:52 AM

It wasn't that bad in Batman Begins. But once I heard him speak as batman in TDK, I believe the line was ("because I'm not wearing hockey pads" in reference to the fake batmen and what makes them so different for those that don't remember) it was just terrible. It sounded absolutely rediculous, and I wondered to myself, y wasn't there any 1 that told him yet?
cgravitt writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 10:32:58 AM

I always believed that the reason he did such a crazy voice was not only to attempt to sound menacing, but also to totally disguise his Bruce Wayne voice. I always thought that was a whole in masked hero lore. Okay you can't see the face, but don't recognize the voice?
Dre-EL writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 10:53:21 AM

Bale sounds constipated, sitting on the throne trying to force one out.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 10:54:49 AM

Actually Conroy could have played Batman as well as voiced him....years ago. Sure older now but in his younger days, he really could have pulled it off.
@Sinestro, exactly right Conroy IS the voice of Batman. I watch other Batman cartoons and hear other actors doing it and it just sounds bad compared to Conroy. And not only does he do Batman's voice perfectly, he does Bruce Wayne's voice perfectly as well. Adding that higher toned, playboy billionaire quality. The guy is aces. One of my top five voice actors hands down.
In Bale's defense, I do agree that perhaps he was going that route since it was technically early on in the Batman's existence to set the tone of fear but it should have evolved. Hopefully it will be toned down in the third because the whole Batman lore is he doesn't have to sound that way to intimidate folks anymore since that is well established.

but yeah I'm not understanding the Conroy hate either. He's not jumping on the bandwagon late, I'm sure he's felt that way from day one. Jumping on the bandwagon is coming out and saying it without being asked in the first place. He was just expressing his opinion and still defended Bale regardless. Classy guy.
billofill writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 12:20:52 PM

Angry Batman voice is a bit much in both films but for the most part i didnt mind it.
billofill writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 12:20:53 PM

Angry Batman voice is a bit much in both films but for the most part i didnt mind it.
BurmaShave writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 12:50:08 PM

I liked the voice in BEGINS, I thought it made sense for Bruce Wayne just figuring out how to be intimidating as Batman. But it became a bit much in DARK KNIGHT, and it seems like he added a lisping quality to it. I wouldn't call it terrible though. It works better when he's yelling than when he's talking. SWEAR TO MAEEEEEEEEE
ChristianNYC writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 1:46:32 PM

I agree Bale DOES sound ridiculous. No doubt
SofaKing writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 5:12:35 PM

No one told him his voice sucks because they didn't want to get cussed out like the lighting guy whoever he was... I still love that audio clip.

"we're f*ckin' through professionally man!"
Eben1277 writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 8:12:51 PM

Kevin Conroy is definitely the definitive voice of Batman. They should have given him some sort of electronic voice altering for the movie. Made him sound like the demon from The Golden Child.
Eben1277 writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 8:13:19 PM

Bale I mean, they should have given Bale.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved