WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Mark Millar on "Kick-Ass" Box Office Results

Posted: April 20th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Mark Millar on "Kick-Ass" Box Office ResultsSubmit Comment
When the final weekend box office numbers came out, "Kick-Ass" ended up taking first place. The film performed well with $19.8 million, but was at the low end of expectations. Mark Millar, the creator of the "Kick-Ass" comic book, has now released a statement with his response to the film's opening numbers.

"I'm just back from a weekend's break to find messages from Lionsgate, Matthew Vaughn and various actors on the movie buzzing that we were #1 in America this weekend. We were top Friday, Saturday and Sunday which is amazing, considering we're in the middle of a holiday season and up against 3-D competition with an R-rated superhero movie.

It's also worth remembering that we only cost $28 million after the UK tax breaks, and our UK and US gross alone is already at $38 million as of last night.

We're looking at a very nice profit here and word of mouth is spectacular the reviews being among the best I've ever seen and so we're all very proud to find ourselves in this position. Positive advance reviews had some people hoping for a $25 million domestic opening. I wanted 'Avatar' numbers myself.

#1 is brilliant news for all concerned, and it's amazing to see a movie at the top of the charts that was rejected by every studio when we pitched it. The whole gang are feeling very pleased and, since most of us took deferred payments, pretty relieved, too.
"

Click here to read our "Kick-Ass" review.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 5:02:57 AM

The r rating definitely had something to do with it not making as much. Teenagers usually like to go in groups to watch comic films which are usually pg13. Not to mention the uptight front desk people at theathers carding like a motherf*cker. I say it did well, especially on how Vaughn did it by keeping it less Hollywood
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 5:11:56 AM

You know what was wrong? The f*cking trailers were terrible. Made it look like Josie and the p*ssycats. Movie was amazing though of course.
VDODSON writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 5:13:27 AM

Im glad the guy is not down, and not deterred from making a similiar movie. Kick Ass is my favorite movie of the year by far, and will go down as a cult classic. Well done sir.

PS. Screw you Telur, dingbat.
Sev writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 5:16:54 AM

Fantastic film, nice to see it doing well :D
encoreyourface writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 5:37:16 AM

glad he liked his own film ... moving on ... will check back later to see if our favorite preacher shows up!
trailertrash writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 6:10:07 AM

^you know he will !!
jigsaw23 writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 6:38:50 AM

hmmmm i since the bitch sam will pop up. and i know that all the underage ppl bought tickets for how to train your dragon thats why dragon just boosted up out of nowwhere cause seriously the move came out a month ago and them it just bumped becasuse they saw kick ass. yes the trailers were kinda kidish and the R rating did hurt alot but hey R are the best ones. and carding is a bitch
BDeck writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 7:00:46 AM

f*ck here we go sam will pop up and make some snobbish comments about hit girl and how the movie is morally horrible,and bitch about people bitching about ebert.

then people will make some gay jokes,and he'll go man you guys sure do think about gay jokes a lot you must be gay,you're just mad because i hated the movie you guys are so (insert some big word,to try and make himself seem way smarter then he is).you fanboys should go circle jerk in the back of a comic shop.

kickass sucks!

sincerely,
sam"im the one with the bigger thesaurus" clayton

BDeck writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 7:01:06 AM

in other words mark millar knows whats up.
BDeck writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 7:04:18 AM

more on what he said.


"We're looking at a very nice profit here and word of mouth is spectacular the reviews being among the best I've ever seen and so we're all very proud to find ourselves in this position. Positive advance reviews had some people hoping for a $25 million domestic opening. I wanted 'Avatar' numbers myself, but as Matthew sensibly pointed out, we were made on a Tarantino budget and should be more than happy with Tarantino numbers."

which means they have a pretty good head on there shoulders,they know there place.
SAM DA PREACHER MAN writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 7:53:09 AM

I will pray for you all....

HUGS NOT DRUGS!
Teines writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 7:58:13 AM

For those who love his stuff - My radio station will be playing out an interview with Mark recorded a couple fo weeks ago .. while in the UK promoting Kick Ass. This themed show looks at controversial jobs for Christians on the big screen. Mark Millar will discuss how he reconciles making the graphic movie with his deep Catholic faith. Listen in from 8:20am GMT Wednesday 21st April - http://www.premierradio.org.uk/listen/live
trailertrash writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 8:47:57 AM

Thanks Sam , We need your prayers after our sinful like of kickass !!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 9:24:32 AM

Considering what Marvel pays him, he's just happy to get paid.

* Note : This is the only Marvel film (MARV) that didn't have that taint-licker Stan " The Man who needs to ham the screen up like a mofo " Lee sticking his ugly mug in it. That's right! I said it!
SACdaddy writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 9:54:49 AM

Its been a while since I was carded for a movie, but I thought the average ticket booth pimple faced jibroni wouldn't give a f*ck about selling teenagers KA tickets. Why don't you youngsters just Fandango your tickets before you hit the theater? Just pick them up from the machine not a person.
SAM DA PREACHER MAN writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 10:00:38 AM

I bet the profit they make on this money will go towards funding underground bare knuckle fights between lovely young school girls!...... those poor lovely young girls.....

Jesus forgives....Cowboys dont!!
SAM DA PREACHER MAN writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 10:04:15 AM

@ Max, respect your elders sonny! we fought the war for young buggers like you....well Stan was writing comics at the time, but it kept us all entertained! the mans a legend
AYT BALL writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 10:14:28 AM

I have no worries for the future profits on this movie, i know its often said about certain movies, but this will find its home on DVD and Bluray cos anyone can get a hold of those, but getting into a cinema isnt always that easy, and like SAC and others have said there are ways, but not EVERY teen had the balls to try
Moose756 writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 10:29:05 AM

Why is so much emphasis is placed on opening weekend. Word of mouth and great reviews will boost this movie up so its going to make more money.
johnthemon writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 11:22:49 AM

Moose is right. Word of mouth is what makes or breaks a film, Avatar only started with $70 mil...unfortunately people loved it.

A more recent example is How to Train your Dragon which has done very well.
takai writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 1:58:26 PM

@Max - MARV is NOT a subsidiary of Marvel, it's just the name of Matthew Vaughn's production company. If it WAS part of Marvel, I doubt that they would have had to go through this much trouble to release it.

The comics weren't even released through Marvel. They were released through Icon Comics.

So that's probably why Stan Lee wasn't in it.
rocketman writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 2:07:19 PM

It's going to make a mint on DVD//BluRay.
takai writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 2:31:14 PM

@rocketman Totally right. I definitely plan on contributing to that fact.
rocketman writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 2:47:47 PM

Me too, i have small hopes for a extended super directors cut on sweet bluray.
Zalmor29 writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 3:36:24 PM

The movie was great, i wonder are they going to make a Nemesis(Mark Millars new comic book he is working on) movie in the next couple of years.
SixOfFour writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 4:43:01 PM

Theaters were definitely checking every kid in line in front of me to make sure they werent underage to see it. Good thing they don't ever examine my tickets too closely though to realize I buy my tickets through Fanango and alway's purchase senior ticket's for me and my friends. What can say I'm a cheap bitch!
SixOfFour writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 4:43:41 PM

I meant Fandango
Eben1277 writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 4:46:54 PM

I finally got the opportunity to see kick ass... and I liked it! No big surprise though, I like almost everything I see. I liked all 3 Punisher movies, I liked Striptease, I liked Revenge of the Fallen, and I really liked Avatar. So yeah, I'm not really sure what my opinion means on here.

And noww.... I can finally chime in on the debate! I can say I never really liked Roger Ebert, but I wish him no ill will regardless of the fact that he feels my entertainment choices are morally reprehensible... I am pretty morally reprehensible, so I can't get mad at him for telling it like it is.

As far as Sam Clayton goes... part of me doesn't like being talked down to by someone because I used to read comic books and still enjoy the old stories and characters... but at the same time, just like Popeye, I am what I am. I can't let myself get upset because someone I that I've never met, who know's nothing about me personally makes a general statement deriding people that like comic books. And even if the strangers opinion did matter to me, I'd still be able to rationalize my way out of the insult, since I didn't even know Kick Ass was a comic book. And truthfully, outside of his superiority complex demeanor, most of what he says concerning the movie is correct. Without having yet read his back and forth with FN I actually was thinking to myself on the ride home, "they totally blew their whole attempt at trying to make this sh*t more realistic once they introduced the actually crime fighters." Well maybe my thought wasn't in those exact words, but it was along those lines. All the sh*t with the child violence and profanity was inappropriate... and since I'm a very inappropriate individual, I enjoyed it. I know what I am and don't think less of myself for it. I know Sammy boy came on here and basically insulted everyone across the board, but we as a group really need to get over it. He certainly could have said his piece in a less confrontational matter, but he didn't, and it is what it is. The fact is he does have intelligent things to say, unlike certain other posters that have been known to capture the ire of the community, and he's no new guy, I remember reading some very thoughtful posts from him in the past.

And before you all think I'm throwing some big old Sam Clayton party by saying what I have to say about it, I actually did like Kick Ass.
AYT BALL writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 5:04:13 PM

@ Eben1277 - Well said, i agree, none of it is worth losing your cool over, unfortunately sam did, yes there were lots of bad insults flying his way, but only after he began talking down to people (for the record i never went down that route) I say each to their own, live and let live, when other people are mad that you live a certain way and like a certain thing, thats when the fireworks start.....Glad you liked it though! and nice to have a cool headed response.
Eben1277 writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 5:06:11 PM

I always keep my cool, even when DOC and Vin are talking sh*t
AYT BALL writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 5:17:41 PM

lol, well they arent worth getting heated over.....but then who is over the internet?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 20th, 2010 at 10:01:56 PM

@takai

Thank you for clarifying. Yes, MARV is Matthew Vaughn's film production company.

Icon Comics was a subsidiary Imprint by Marvel, so Kick-Ass was published by Marvel
Comics :

Kick-Ass is a creator-owned comic book series written by Mark Millar and illustrated by John Romita, Jr. It is published by Marvel Comics under the company's Icon imprint.


I meant to say this is the only Marvel published comic Stan " the Ugly Mug " Man didn't try to squirm a cameo in.

Icon also published the following :

It was launched in 2004 with Michael Avon Oeming and Brian Michael Bendis' superhero/detective series Powers, and David Mack's Kabuki moving to the imprint, both from Image Comics. In June 2005 the imprint's third title, J. Michael Straczynski's Dream Police was launched, followed in September by The Book of Lost Souls, also from Straczynski. Criminal by Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips is an ongoing crime comic also published by Icon.

(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Icon_Comics)

Oh, @ Sam Da Preacher Man ... go play kickball on a highway during rush-hour.


@ takai ... the reason he is getting a better deal is because it's creator-owned. If it was " pay for hire ", where he created the characters but Marvel owned it (which happened before Image Comics and explains Image), he wouldn't have earned as much.
telur writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 2:59:20 AM

now VDODSON is really n*gger
takai writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 3:52:24 AM

@Max I see I see. I admit to being wrong about Icon being completely detached from Marvel. It just hit me that I didn't even bother to look up Icon's background.

+2 points for siting a source. Not too many people do that anymore.
takai writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 3:52:54 AM

citing* a source
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on April 21st, 2010 at 9:28:47 AM

@takai

It's all Cool and the Gang.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved